Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tinker (US 2022/0091289 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 16, Tinker discloses a method and a system for determining a location of a seismic event comprising:
detecting three or more seismic signals in seismic activity associated with the seismic event that is monitored by three or more geographically spaced apart seismic signal detectors [[abstract] first seismic sensors in a first three dimensional array containing sensors; [0046] array server … array processor; [0050] overlapping coverage may be created with more than two or three arrays as required by the accuracy and precision goals of the deployment; [0002] multi-sensor array configurations for acquisition of seismic signals and determining location of the source of the seismic signals. Signal data may be processed to characterize the source, extract derivation information, and determine that the identified signals originate with a source of interest.];
for each of the detected seismic signals detected by a respective seismic signal detector [[0057] sensors react to these seismic signals and other propagating seismic energy arriving at the sensors and the diffuse seismic noise by generating an analog voltage proportional to the amplitude of the seismic wave, or a time derivative of the amplitude of the seismic wave]:
classifying [[0013] monitoring systems according to the invention form patterns of beams along directions defined by an array response pattern and use multiple volumetric arrays to detect, locate, and classify multiple, spatially distinct sources, some of which may be simultaneous; [0027] disclosed local area monitoring systems effectively sense and process seismic frequencies ranging from a few Hertz to at least 2 kHz because the signal sources of interest provide enough detectable power over the relatively short ranges of interest], by the respective seismic signal detector a corresponding detected seismic signal with a respective frequency content classification [[0169] frequency content and the propagation velocities across the sensor array determine the wavelengths of the signals of interest; [0225] evaluates each frame of data associated with each sensor for analyzable content, with similar operations as those performed on the beamformed data, but using different operational parameter sets to detect signals of interest. Time and Frequency Domain Detection are described in detail in respective sections of the Detailed Description] based on determining whether a frequency content of the corresponding detected seismic signal exceeds a frequency content threshold [[0160] array elements may each be a three-component-seismic sensor package comprising three seismometers, geophones, or accelerometers, that respond to strain along one axis, and are oriented such that the three principal components of strain may be output as three separate signals; [0311] filter operation may also be performed by any adaptive filter for active noise reduction based on a single channel or beam. In other embodiments, the argmax function is applied to each frequency bin to find the point in slowness space that maximizes the power in that frequency band; [0312] fmax may be subjected to a threshold based on formulations of a constant-false-alarm-rate, signal-to-noise (power) ratio, or accumulations of power over sequential analysis frames within that pixel of slowness space. Additional threshold criteria may be based on minimum F statistics. With the threshold operation defined as];
determining for each of the classified seismic signals a respective seismic signal onset timing corresponding to an arrival time of the classified seismic signal at the respective seismic signal detector [[0032] compression waves, shear waves, and surface waves travel at different propagation velocities, and over large distances. The clear phase separation exhibited for multi-modal wave propagation renders interpretation of reflections, depth phases, and the like apparent, and useful to understand the origin and the nature of the seismic sources; [0051] embodiments generate beams for determining the angles of arrival of signals from a source of seismic energy. Additional information at the single sensor level may include time of arrival to support multiple methods of source location used in the Aggregator Server Subsystem]; and
determining the location of the seismic event [[0002] determining location of the source of the seismic signals] based on the respective seismic signal onset timings and the respective frequency content classifications of each of the classified seismic signals [[0032] surface waves travel at different propagation velocities, and over large distances; [0367] a set of three events associating together could result in two event locations. The location algorithm may also be based on time difference of arrival (TDOA) when such information is available and adequate, or it may be based upon triangulation based on beam geometries of the events when no time-defining information is available or when time-defining events drawn from the signals are not tightly correlated across multiple sensor arrays 22 providing the information objects].
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Tinker teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 16, wherein the frequency content threshold varies in accordance with an ambient frequency content for the respective frequency content classification [[0305] threshold for detection may also take into account the estimated value of the diffuse noise; [0042] coherently process real-time data streams across array data channels of each single array to automatically detect and classify SOIs embedded in the ambient noise field that could be associated with sources and activities of interest; [0054] spacing between elements in an array is based on the design frequency and the propagation velocity of the media where the array is installed. The required gain and ambient noise conditions dictate the minimum number of elements in an array; [0065] such signals are often of a relatively low power level, close to or embedded below ambient noise levels; [0169] base the number of sensors on the array gain required to observe signals of interest, relative to ambient noise levels and the nature of the ambient noise].
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Tinker teaches the method of claim 1 and the system of claim 16, wherein determining for each of the classified seismic signals the respective seismic signal onset timing comprises determining when the frequency content of classified seismic signal exceeded the frequency content threshold [0311] filter operation may also be performed by any adaptive filter for active noise reduction based on a single channel or beam. In other embodiments, the argmax function is applied to each frequency bin to find the point in slowness space that maximizes the power in that frequency band; [0312] fmax may be subjected to a threshold based on formulations of a constant-false-alarm-rate, signal-to-noise (power) ratio, or accumulations of power over sequential analysis frames within that pixel of slowness space. Additional threshold criteria may be based on minimum F statistics. With the threshold operation defined as; [0338] example, if the angular velocity is consistently greater than a predefined threshold value, or if the range or variance of angle vs. time exceeds threshold values, this track is deemed originating with a nonstationary source and a flag is set on this feature. For stationary sources, then the azimuth angle, the dip angle, and slowness computed from the argmax of the accumulated track power is the preferred solution for those dimensions].
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Tinker teaches the method of claim l and the system of claim 16, wherein classifying by the respective seismic signal detector the corresponding detected seismic signal with the respective frequency content classification comprises: deconstructing the corresponding detected seismic signal into a plurality of frequency bands [[0310] the values that the variable band in Equation 28 can take on may represent more than one frequency band within the entire available bandwidth. For example, band may be a set of defined sub-band]; and determining the respective frequency content classification by identifying in which frequency band or bands the seismic signal exceeds the frequency content threshold [[0311] filter operation may also be performed by any adaptive filter for active noise reduction based on a single channel or beam. In other embodiments, the argmax( ) function is applied to each frequency bin to find the point in slowness space that maximizes the power in that frequency band; [0312] fmax may be subjected to a threshold based on formulations of a constant-false-alarm-rate, signal-to-noise (power) ratio, or accumulations of power over sequential analysis frames within that pixel of slowness space].
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Tinker teaches the method of claim l and the system of claim 16, wherein detecting three or more seismic signals in seismic activity monitored by three or more seismic detectors comprises determining for each of the seismic signals whether a power measure of the seismic signal exceeds a power measure threshold [[0310-0312] fmax may be subjected to a threshold based on formulations of a constant-false-alarm-rate, signal-to-noise (power) ratio, or accumulations of power over sequential analysis frames within that pixel of slowness space].
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Tinker teaches the method of claim 5 and the system of claim 20, wherein the power measure threshold varies in accordance with an ambient value of the power measure [[0065] such signals are often of a relatively low power level, close to or embedded below ambient noise levels; [0224] series representing the RMS power over a moving window much shorter in duration than the data frame, the series representing an estimated point-by-point signal-to-noise ratio (SNR); [0267] sums and stores the results as frequency domain frames that are the equivalent of a time-domain delay-sum operation. The magnitudes of these numbers squared are the sensed coherent power at that frequency, for each beam; [0303] value for the test cell is compared to a threshold based on formulations of, for example, a constant-false-alarm-rate, a signal-to-noise (power) ratio, or accumulations of power over sequential analysis frames. Additional threshold criteria may be based on minimum F statistics].
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Tinker teaches the method of claim 5 and the system of claim 20, wherein the power measure is a normalised harmonic power of the seismic signal and the power measure threshold is a harmonic power threshold [[0316] noise estimates are derived over multiple frequencies as well as multiple frames and may include multiple adjacent beams. Other examples include variances of power, and variances of variances, higher order moments and cumulants calculated on a band-limited basis, combinations of discrete frequencies, beams, and frames designed to uncover hidden randomly modulated periodicities, functions of higher order spectra, recombinations of frequencies designed to recover the total power from harmonically related frequencies].
Regarding claims 8 and 23, Tinker teaches the method of claim 5 and the system of claim 20, wherein a duration that the power measure of the seismic signal exceeds the power measure thresholds defines a time window for the seismic signal for classifying the seismic signal [[0224] other appropriate transforms that may be applied in either processing Paths include the Hilbert transform, the series representing the RMS power over a moving window much shorter in duration than the data frame, the series representing an estimated point-by-point signal-to-noise ratio (SNR); [0363] associating the most recent events with events of like classification from the table of single array tracks and the list of events, based on minimizing time between events within an allowable time window; locating events; performing source specific spatial tracking of located events; associating proximate spatial tracks containing the events with an Activity; initiating, maintaining, and monitoring of Activities; and managing the Enterprise Database 74].
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Tinker teaches the method of claim l and the system of claim 16, wherein determining the location of the seismic event comprises: determining an initial location estimate of the seismic event [[0327-0331] track objects; [0259] the slowness vector is a projection of the velocity vector on a horizontal surface. The prior art passive seismic sensor arrays for the most part have been planar in nature, i.e., along the surface of the Earth; [0256] beamforming operation, applied as a spatial filter, may be implemented in the time domain by, for example, applying time delays associated with a hypothetical plane wave impinging upon the sensor array along the specified main response axis and velocity, to the data received in each frame originating from each individual array element, and then summing the data from all array elements to produce a new set of data frames (a delay-and-sum beamformer). This operation is repeated for each defined beam main response axis and velocity]; determining a time of flight for each detected seismic signal based on a distance between its respective seismic signal detector and the initial location estimate and a velocity estimate based on the respective frequency content classification of the corresponding detected seismic signal [[0032] compression waves, shear waves, and surface waves travel at different propagation velocities, and over large distances. The clear phase separation exhibited for multi-modal wave propagation renders interpretation of reflections, depth phases, and the like apparent, and useful to understand the origin and the nature of the seismic sources]; and varying the initial location estimate to minimise the difference between the determined time of flight and the measured onset timing for each detected seismic signal to determine the location of the seismic event [[0363] classification from the table of single array tracks and the list of events, based on minimizing time between events within an allowable time window; [0367] objective of this function is to associate the most recent events with the same classification from the input list of single array tracks and events based on minimizing the time difference between events, within a predefined allowable time window.].
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Tinker teaches the method of claim 9 and the system of claim 22, wherein determining the initial location estimate of the seismic event comprises determining an initial location area based on an order of arrival of the three or more seismic signals based on the respective seismic signal onset timings of the classified seismic signals [[0270] delay τl depends on both the position of the lth element relative to the first and the AOA of the plane wave makes impinging upon the sensor array. The additional distance the wavefront travels to reach an element a distance d away in a three-dimensional geometry; [0320] detection cells for all beams are made available for analyses that group cells together to form patterns in time, frequency, and space, i.e. cluster analysis. Therefore, the cluster analysis is in effect, also a pattern chaining stage. The cluster analysis stage 66D is the final step in the processing of a single data frame, or “single-cycle processing” and results in a set of discrete single-cycle detection objects that capture signals of interest identified from both time-domain and frequency-domain detection operations; [0383] proximity measures … area … track object].
Regarding claims 11 and 26, Tinker teaches the method of claim l and system of claim 16, wherein the seismic event is an ordnance impact [[0018] global monitoring systems of seismic surveillance networks include monitoring for earthquake activities and detection of large explosions. Passive monitoring systems according to the invention differ from seismic surveillance networks such as for monitoring earthquake activities and detection of large explosions].
Regarding claims 12 and 27, Tinker teaches the method of claim 11 and the system of claim 24, further comprising determining whether the ordnance impact corresponds to an exploded ordnance or an unexploded ordnance [[0034] GMS analyzes large seismic sources, such as earthquakes and nuclear explosions, while the disclosed system detects and analyzes much smaller sources, such as footsteps, vehicles, and powered hand tools].
Regarding claims 13 and 28, Tinker teaches the method of claim 12 and the system of claim 25, wherein determining whether the ordnance impact corresponds to an exploded ordnance or an unexploded ordnance comprises determining whether the frequency content in an acoustic frequency band exceeds an acoustic frequency threshold [[0303] detections of SOI's declared based upon the value of particular statistics compared to a threshold; [0340] frequency domain classifiers are also applied using the features derived in the previous stages. For example, one derived series represents comparisons of the spectral power of the signal with the time averaged power of the ambient noise on a per-frequency basis. In one classification algorithm, that series is used in the determination of patterns in the spectral content on a single cycle as well as a multiple-cycle basis].
Regarding claim 14, Tinker teaches the method of claim l, wherein determining the respective seismic signal onset timing is determined by the respective seismic signal detector [[0032] compression waves, shear waves, and surface waves travel at different propagation velocities, and over large distances. The clear phase separation exhibited for multi-modal wave propagation renders interpretation of reflections, depth phases, and the like apparent, and useful to understand the origin and the nature of the seismic sources; [0216] Array Server Subsystem 18 of a first Network Segment 12. Instances of the APA 20 shown in FIG. 3A for the first Network Segment simultaneously and independently process the seismic data acquired by respective allocated sensor arrays 22].
Regarding claims 15 and 30, Tinker teaches the method of claim l and the system of claim 16, wherein the location of the seismic event is determined substantially in real time following detecting the three or more seismic signals [[0003] information with minimal latency, referred to as “real time” or, in a manner timely enough to facilitate an effective response; [0354] information set arrives and is processed in an asynchronous fashion from multiple arrays to support the provision of real time information across the User Interface in a manner timely enough to facilitate effective response].
Regarding claim 29, Tinker teaches the location determining system of claim l6, where instead of the server module, each of the three or more seismic signal detectors is configured for determining a respective seismic signal onset timing corresponding to an arrival time of the classified seismic signal at the respective seismic signal detector [[0268] array processor receives a frame of data which is entered into the array queue of the array server subsystem; [0249] Spatial Coherence Signal Processor 66A is to condition the received data, and to then apply a signal processing operation that combines the individual channels to emphasize the spatial coherency of the data streams (generically known as a “beamformer” operation)].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. (see below).
In the Office Action of 5 November 2025, claims 1-30 are pending with claims 1-30 being rejected. No claims are amended.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Claims 1-30 stand rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tinker (US 2022/0091289 Al). Applicant respectfully traverses the rejections for the following reasons.
By way of overview, Tinker is directed to determining localization information for sources of seismic energy positioned underground based on a first three dimensional array containing sensors located below the ground surface (e.g., see FIG. 6A) and coherently processes the signals to determine an angle of arrival for a signal of interest. In combination with data from a second three dimensional array of seismic sensors a position of the source of seismic energy is determined (see Abstract of Tinker). Essentially, and in contradistinction to the presently claimed subject matter, Tinker is directed to a beamforming approach to determining a source of seismic energy.
The Examiner just points out that this contradistinction is never explained further. Tinker is basically directed to time difference of arrival or triangulation algorithms for determination seismic source location [[0359]] using seismic sensors [[abstract]]. This appears to be the same concern of the instant invention which explains that it would be desirable to provide a method and system that would determine the origin or location of low level seismic events, such as ordnance impacts, that could be deployed over large areas in instant para. 0005.
Turning now to the rejection of claim 1, the step of: "classifying, by the respective seismic signal detector a corresponding detected seismic signal with a respective frequency content classification based on determining whether a frequency content of the corresponding detected seismic signal exceeds a frequency content threshold" [Emphasis Added], as relevantly recited in claim 1, is said to be disclosed in paragraphs [0013], [0160], [0311] and [0312] of Tinker.
Applicant respectfully submits that Tinker fails to disclose the classification of a detected seismic signal with a respective frequency content classification based on determining whether a frequency content of the corresponding detected seismic signal exceeds a frequency content threshold.
Paragraph [0013] of Tinker recites: [0013] Embodiments of monitoring systems according to the invention form patterns of beams along directions defined by an array response pattern and use multiple volumetric arrays to detect, locate, and classify multiple, spatially distinct sources, some of which may be simultaneous. Example applications of the disclosed passive system automatically sense seismic energy generated beneath ground level from natural sources. The sources may result from intentional or unintentionally induced seismicity, or the use of equipment in an underground setting. The system automatically determines the nature of the source of energy, its characteristics, its location, and whether there has been a change in the source location and source characteristics over time.
Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portion of Tinker goes no further than observing that the Tinker system classifies spatially distinct sources and is wholly silent on the classification of a given detected seismic signal.
The Examiner disagrees because the paragraph cited above explains that Tinker is concerned with classifying multiple spatially distant seismic sources and that the system automatically determines the nature of the source of energy, its characteristics, its location, and whether there has been a change in the source location and source characteristics over time [[0013]]. Sensor arrays are used for acquisition of seismic signals and determining the location of the source of the seismic signals [[0002]].
Paragraph [0160] of Tinker further recites: [0160] Because the seismic strain originating with an elastic wave traveling in the earth media is a vector field, it is desirable (but not required) that the sensor capture all the components of particle motion (strain). Thus, the array elements may each be a three-component-seismic sensor package comprising three seismometers, geophones, or accelerometers, that respond to strain along one axis, and are oriented such that the three principal components of strain may be output as three separate signals. However, the sensor may also be a sensor that responds equally to strain in any direction, also called an omni-directional sensor.
As can be seen from inspection, paragraph [0160] of Tinker refers to the sensor package but with otherwise no reference to any classification of a detected seismic signal.
Paragraphs [0311] and [0312] of Tinker are set out below: [0311] In some embodiments, the frequency terms in the sum over frequency are made subject to filtering functions within the frequency domain prior to any other operation but post beamforming. Such operations may be performed using the frequency response of any standard filter, or may be performed using appropriate window functions in the frequency domain, or may be performed by applying multiple taper functions in the frequency domain. The filter operation may also be performed by any adaptive filter for active noise reduction based on a single channel or beam. In other embodiments, the argmax( ) function is applied to each frequency bin to find the point in slowness space that maximizes the power in that frequency band. This is, for each frequency bin, (M,l)f,max = argmax(P(M,|,fc)) (31) points represent one method of deriving discrete points in time be examined to detect SOI's. For example, the points max may be subjected to a threshold based on formulations of a constant-false-alarm rate, signal-to-noise (power) ratio, or accumulations of power over sequential analysis frames within that pixel of slowness space. Additional threshold criteria may be based on minimum F statistics. With the threshold operation defined as threshold(F); F > thresh; =F or 1 F < thresh; =[] or 0.
Applicant respectfully submits that paragraphs [0311] and [0312] of Tinker are wholly unrelated to any classification of a given seismic signal in terms of frequency content but instead describe a frequency bin filtering process that is being applied as part of an overall optimisation process defined by Equation (29) at paragraph [0308] of Tinker.
The Examiner disagrees because Tinker teaches monitoring systems [using] patterns of beams along directions defined by an array response pattern and [using] multiple volumetric arrays to detect, locate, and classify multiple, spatially distinct sources, some of which may be simultaneous [[0013]]. Additionally, Tinker teaches frequency content and the propagation velocities across the sensor array determine the wavelengths of the signals of interest [[0169]]; and [that the system] evaluates each frame of data associated with each sensor for analyzable content, with similar operations as those performed on the beamformed data, but using different operational parameter sets to detect signals of interest. Time and Frequency Domain Detection are described in detail in respective sections of the Detailed Description [[0225]]. Finally, Tinker teaches frequency thresholding [[0311-0312]]. This appears to be exactly what is claimed.
In relation to the feature of: "determining for each of the classified seismic signals a respective seismic signal onset timing corresponding to an arrival time of the classified seismic signal at the respective seismic signal detector", as relevantly recited in claim 1, paragraphs [0032] and [0051] of Tinker are asserted as disclosing this feature.
The Examiner disagrees because Tinker is directed to determine the origin and nature of seismic sources using various seismic waves [0032]. Tinker determines the source location in various embodiments [by generating] beams for determining the angles of arrival of signals from a source of seismic energy. Additional information at the single sensor level may include time of arrival to support multiple methods of source location [0051]. Generally these approaches to determining location appear to be triangulation algorithms [[0359]] or localization algorithms [[0400]].
As can be seen from inspection, paragraph [0032] of Tinker is a general discussion about why the Tinker system is different to global monitoring systems which are directed to detecting signals after propagating global scale distances from the source and where there is useful phase separation among the different waveform propagation modes. Paragraph [0032] of Tinker then concludes with the observation that the Tinkler system does not adopt this principle as the sources are close to the detection system. Paragraph [0051] of Tinker refers to determining a time of arrival of a seismic signal generally but otherwise, and unsurprisingly, does not refer to the seismic signal being classified in accordance with the "classifying" limitation of claim 1 as referred to above.
The Examiner disagrees because Tinker teaches classifying or classification of multiple individual seismic sources [[0013-0014]] using sensor arrays to classify simultaneous sources occupying the same frequency band but occurring at different locations [[0016]]. Tinker discusses classifying or classification about 124 times throughout the document.
In relation to the final feature of claim 1, i.e.: "determining the location of the seismic event based on the respective seismic signal onset timings and the respective frequency content classifications of each of the classified seismic signals", paragraphs [0002], [0032] and [0367] of Tinker are referred to in Paragraph [0002] and is no more than a statement that Tinker is directed to determining the source of a seismic signal and paragraph [0032] has been discussed above.
The Examiner disagrees because Tinker explains that prior art systems do not perform location in three-dimensional space, or changes in location of sources, or classifications of the individual sources from the full range of possible sources and is directed to remedy these issues [[0014]]. See below for further discussion.
Paragraph [0367] of Tinker is set out below: [0367] The reduced list of events become the candidate set for the Associate Algorithm Stage 84. The objective of this function is to associate the most recent events with the same classification from the input list of single array tracks and events based on minimizing the time difference between events, within a predefined allowable time window. This "associate" operation is similar to a low dimensionality cluster analysis operation. The time window extends back ward from the current system time for the specified duration. The result is a reduced list of associated events that are the candidates for input to the Location Algorithm Stage 86. Location of a common source is determined based on the reduced set of associated events having identical classifications. For the case in which multiple events associate but there are no "best fit" pairs, a location for each pair of events in the association is determined. For example, a set of three events associating together could result in two event locations. The location algorithm may also be based on time difference of arrival (TDOA) when such information is available and adequate , or it may be based upon triangulation based on beam geometries of the events when no time - defining information is available or when time - defining events drawn from the signals are not tightly correlated across multiple sensor arrays 22 providing the information objects. [Emphasis Added]
While it appears that paragraph [0367] of Tinker is describing different methodologies for determining the location of a seismic event, Applicant respectfully submits that there is no disclosure of determining this location based on "the respective seismic signal onset timings and the respective frequency content classifications of each of the classified seismic signals" as required by claim 1 and where the classifying was carried in accordance with the "classifying" limitation discussed above.
To the extent the term "classification" is referred to in the cited paragraphs of Tinker, Applicant respectfully submits that this term is used in the context of classifying events and not in relation to the classification of the frequency content of respective detected seismic signals and the use of this information in combination with determined respective seismic signal onset timings to determine the location of a seismic event as set out in the presently claimed subject matter.
For at least the foregoing reason, Applicant respectfully submits that the amended independent claim 1 is allowable over Tinker. Remaining independent claim 16 is directed to an equivalent combination of limitations as claim 1 and it is submitted that this claim is also patentable over Tinker for the same reasons as claim 1. As claims 2-15 depend from and add limitations to claim 1 and claims 17-20 depend from and add limitations to claim 16, the Applicant respectfully submits that these claims are also patentable over Tinker.
The Examiner disagrees because Tinker teaches that frequency content and the propagation velocities across the sensor array determine the wavelengths of the signals of interest and [[0169]] evaluates each frame of data associated with each sensor for analyzable content, with similar operations as those performed on the beamformed data, but using different operational parameter sets to detect signals of interest. Time and Frequency Domain Detection are described in detail in respective sections of the Detailed Description [[0225]].
In summary, Tinker is basically directed to time difference of arrival or triangulation algorithms for determination seismic source location [[0359]] using seismic sensors [[abstract]].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645