DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 09/09/2026 is acknowledged. The election was made with traverse.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions as grouped shares a common special technical feature over the cited prior art. This is not found persuasive, please see the rejection as set forth below. Therefore, there is no special technical feature connecting the Groups.
Claim(s) 15-20 have been withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or a linking claim.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Please note that after a final requirement for restriction, the Applicants, in addition to making any response due on the remainder of the action, may petition the Commissioner to review the requirement. Petition may be deferred until after final action on or allowance of claims to the invention elected, but must be filed not later than appeal. A petition will not be considered if reconsideration of the requirement was not requested. (See § 1.181.).
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be amended in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(b) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. Any amendment of inventorship must be accompanied by a request under 37 CFR 1.48(b) and by the fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 1-14 are under current examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tirtowidjojo (US 8558029 B2) and IP (IP.com Journal, 2009, 9(6A), 13) in combination.
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Tirtowidjojo teaches same method of making of phenolic glycol ethers, such as ethylene glycol phenyl ether, propylene glycol ether, dialkylene phenolic glycol ether using same reactants phenols and ethylene oxide or propylene oxide in presence of Lewis base (encompass alkali hydride) with examples of NaOH and KOH (entire application). Since the process described in the cited prior art is same as in the instant specification (see below)
,
the glycosylated phenol impurities formed during the process, 2-hydroxyphenylethanol, 4-hydroxyphenylethanol (formed when phenol is treated with ethylene oxide), 2-hydroxyphenylpropanol, 4-hydroxyphenylpropanol (formed when phenol is treated with propylene oxide) are also same as in the instant application and as also evidenced from the instant application paragraphs 0002-0005 as reproduced above (entire application). The cited prior art further teaches purification using distillation (encompass thin layer evaporation) of ethylene glycol phenyl ether, propylene glycol ether, dialkylene phenolic glycol ether (heavier fractions) from the glycosylated phenol impurities, and water (lighter fraction) and how adjustment of levels of base, such as NaOH favors mono (ethylene glycol phenyl ether, propylene glycol ether),and di product ratios dialkylene phenolic glycol ether in purified streams containing NaOH with less than 1wt% of glycosylated phenol impurities (see figure 1A, mono and di product from 12 having no glycosylated phenol impurities):
The cited prior art teaches presence of water in the mixture and a dehydrating step to remove a portion of water from the phenolic glycol product (entire article and figures). Since the impurities of the cited prior art are same and are present in presence of NaOH (same as in the instant claims), the impurities are expected to form same salt as in the instant claims whether recognized by the cited prior art. Further, since the impurities in the cited prior art product mixture is same as in the instant claims, the boiling point of impurities is expected to satisfy limitation of the instant claim 12.
In the same field of endeavor, Ip teaches purification of glycol ethers heavy streams (obtained from treating phenol and alkylene oxide and base catalyst NaOH, KOH, same method as in the instant specification and Tirtowidjojo) to obtain higher order alkoxylates, i.e., di, tri etc. using base NaOH, KOH using thin film evaporation (entire article). Ip teaches advantages of using thin film evaporation to avoid heat related decomposition impurities (entire article)
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Tirtowidjojo teaches same method of making of phenolic glycol ethers, such as ethylene glycol phenyl ether, propylene glycol ether, dialkylene phenolic glycol ether using same reactants phenols and ethylene oxide or propylene oxide in presence of Lewis base (encompass alkali hydride) with examples of NaOH and KOH and purification using distillation to same purity as in the instant claims, but fails to teach thin film evaporation and amount of base in the heavy stream.
Ip teaches purification of glycol ethers heavy streams (obtained from treating phenol and alkylene oxide and base catalyst NaOH, KOH, same method as in the instant specification and Tirtowidjojo) to obtain higher order alkoxylates, i.e., di, tri etc. using base NaOH, KOH using thin film evaporation (entire article). Ip teaches advantages of using thin film evaporation to avoid heat related decomposition impurities but fails to teach amount of base in the heavy stream.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
Thus, with the guidance provided by the combination of Tirtowidjojo and IP, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use thin film evaporation of heavy stream in presence of base to obtain purified form dialkylene phenolic glycol ether to avoid impurities due to excessive heat and decomposition.
With regards to the amount of base- Tirtowidjojo teaches that amount of base may be adjusted depending on desired amount of mono/diproduct ratio. Thus, it would have been prima-facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that depending on desired product stream, amount of base may be adjusted. Thus, the cited prior art meets limitation of the instant claims.
Based on the above established facts, it appears that the combination of teachings of above cited prior art read applicants’ process.
Therefore, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness
To establish a prima facie case of obviousness, three basic criteria must be met: (1) the prior art reference must teach or suggest all the claim limitations; (2) there must be some suggestion or motivation, either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings; and (3) there must be a reasonable expectation of success; and (MPEP § 2143).
In this case, Tirtowidjojo teaches same method of making of phenolic glycol ethers, such as ethylene glycol phenyl ether, propylene glycol ether, dialkylene phenolic glycol ether using same reactants phenols and ethylene oxide or propylene oxide in presence of Lewis base (encompass alkali hydride) with examples of NaOH and KOH and purification using distillation to same purity as in the instant claims and Ip teaches purification of glycol ethers heavy streams (obtained from treating phenol and alkylene oxide and base catalyst NaOH, KOH, same method as in the instant specification and Tirtowidjojo) to obtain higher order alkoxylates, i.e., di, tri etc. using base NaOH, KOH using thin film evaporation (entire article). Ip teaches advantages of using thin film evaporation to avoid heat related decomposition impurities.
So, the combination of prior art read applicants claims.
In KSR International Vo. V. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d (U.S. 2007), the Supreme Court particularly emphasized “the need for caution in granting a patent based on a combination of elements found in the prior art,” (Id. At 1395) and discussed circumstances in which a patent might be determined to be obvious. Importantly, the Supreme Court reaffirmed principles based on its precedent that “[t]he combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” (Id. At 1395). See MPEP 2143 - Examples of Basic Requirements of a Prima Facie Case of Obviousness [R-9].
In this case at least prong (E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success would apply.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103.”KSR, 550 U.S. at ___, 82 USPQ2d at 1397. If any of these findings cannot be made, then this rationale cannot be used to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, there is a reasonable expectation of success that dialkylene phenolic glycol ether may be purified from heavy stream using base, such as NaOH and thin film evaporation and can be made by combination of the above cited prior art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking advantage of the teaching of the above cited references and to make the instantly claimed process with a reasonable expectation of success. Modifying such parameters is prima facie obvious because an ordinary artisan would be motivated to develop an alternative process for economic reasons or convenient purposes from a known individual reaction steps, and to arrive at applicants’ process with a reasonable expectation of success, since it is within the scope to modify the process through a routine experimentation.
Conclusion
/PANCHAM BAKSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1623