DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/11/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 18,695,351 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
In light of the approval of the terminal disclaimer filed on 08/11/2026, the examiner has withdrawn the previous double patenting rejection from the Non-Final office action.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 6, Eftel fails to disclose “the anchoring ring is configured to lift the native valve leaflet after the valve stent is mounted in place, the valve stent and the valve clamping and fixing device are configured to clamp at least one of the native valve leaflet and chordae tendinea tissue between the valve stent and the valve clamping and fixing device.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. The limitation “the anchoring ring is configured to lift the native valve leaflet after the valve stent is mounted in place” is considered a recitation of intended use, wherein Eftel’s prosthesis comprising an anchoring ring 52 connected on the clamping mechanism 54 (as seen in the annotated Figure 5) is capable of being implanted to lift the native valve leaflet, as the device is disclosed as being used for increasing the stabilization of cardiac devices to improve paravalvular leakage and prevent upward displacement into the left atrium as a result of very strong forces generated by the left ventricle during systolic contraction (paragraphs [0012-0014] and [0034]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art does not expressly disclose wherein the heart valve prosthesis further comprises a sealing device, wherein the sealing device comprises an adaptive segment and an abutment segment, wherein the adaptive segment comprises a first arc segment, a second arc segment, and a leak-proof membrane, wherein the first arc segment is connected to the valve stent, the valve stent provides a fulcrum for the first arc segment, at least part of the first arc segment is configured to fit against an atrial wall after the valve stent is mounted in place, and the first arc segment is configured to rotate about the fulcrum toward a center of the valve stent to drive the second arc segment to rotate in a same direction as the first arc segment rotates when the atrial wall squeezes the first arc segment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eftel et al. U.S. Publication 2014/0200662 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, Eftel et al. discloses a heart valve prosthesis (abstract) capable of anchoring to a native valve leaflet (as seen in Figure 4, paragraph [0016-0017], [0041]), comprising a valve stent 50 and a valve clamping and fixing device 52/54 connected to the valve stent 50, wherein the valve clamping and fixing device comprises a clamping mechanism 54 comprising at least one clamping arm (as seen in the annotated Figure 5 above) and an anchoring ring 52, a proximal end of the clamping mechanism is connected to the valve stent, a distal end of the clamping mechanism is free (see annotated Figure 5), and at least part of the anchoring ring 52 is disposed on the clamping mechanism 54 (as seen in the annotated Figure 5 and paragraphs [0016], [0019], [0094]); the limitation “the anchoring ring is configured to lift the native valve leaflet after the valve stent is mounted in place” is considered a recitation of intended use, wherein Eftel’s prosthesis comprising an anchoring ring 52 connected to the clamping mechanism 54 (as seen in Figures 3, 5-6 and paragraphs [0089] and [0094]) is capable of being implanted to lift the native valve leaflet, as the device is disclosed as being used for increasing the stabilization of cardiac devices to improve paravalvular leakage and prevent upward displacement into the left atrium as a result of very strong forces generated by the left ventricle during systolic contraction (paragraphs [0012-0014] and [0034]). In addition, Eftel discloses the valve stent and the valve clamping and fixing device are configured to clamp at least one of the native valve leaflet and chordae tendineae tissue between the valve stent and the valve clamping and fixing device (paragraphs [0031], [0096] and as seen in Figure 4), and the anchoring ring 52 is configured to clamp the valve stent after the valve stent is mounted in place.
Regarding Claim 2, Eftel et al. discloses wherein the valve clamping and fixing device has a first form (pre-expanded, paragraphs [0092], [0094-0095] and as seen in Figure 6) and a second form (fully expanded, paragraphs [0092], [0094] and as seen in Figur 5), wherein the clamping mechanism is configured to capture the native valve leaflet when the valve clamping and fixing device is in the first form; and when the valve stent radially expands so that the anchoring ring pulls chordae tendineae and drives the native valve leaflet to lift upwards, the valve clamping and fixing device is in the second form (paragraph [0096] and as seen in Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Eftel et al. discloses wherein the clamping mechanism 54 is configured to be located between the native valve leaflet and a ventricular wall when the valve clamping and fixing device is in the first form, and part of the anchoring ring 52 is configured to be located between the native valve leaflet and the chordae tendineae tissue when the valve clamping and fixing device is in the first form (as seen in Figure 4, paragraph [0096]).
Regarding Claim 4, Eftel et al. discloses wherein the valve stent 50 and the clamping mechanism 54 are an integrated structure (paragraph [0044]), and at least part of the clamping mechanism fits against an outer side of the valve stent in a natural state (as annotated in Figure 5).
Regarding Claim 7, Eftel et al. discloses where the heart valve prosthesis is configured to treat a mitral valve (paragraph [0046]), the clamping arm is configured to capture and clamp an anterior valve leaflet when the valve clamping and fixing device is in a first form (pre-expansion, paragraph [0022], [0092], [0094-0095]), and a connection point between the anchoring ring and the valve stent is configured to be located in a posterior valve leaflet region when the valve clamping and fixing device is in the first form.
Regarding Claim 8, Eftel et al. discloses wherein the clamping mechanism comprises clamping arms that are a first clamping arm 54 and a second clamping arm 54, the anchoring ring 52 is connected to the first clamping arm and the second clamping arm (as seen in the annotated Figure 5), and the first clamping arm and the second clamping arm are configured to capture and clamp different native valve leaflets respectively (as seen in Figure 4 and paragraphs [0031], [0094]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eftel et al. U.S. Publication 2014/0200662 A1 in view of Eidenschink et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0325947 A1.
Regarding Claim 5, Eftel et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the anchoring ring has at least two connection points with the clamping mechanism, and the at least two connection points between the anchoring ring and the clamping mechanism are at different heights; or the anchoring ring has at least two connection points with the clamping mechanism and the valve stent, and a connection point between the anchoring ring and the clamping mechanism, and the connection point between the anchoring ring and the valve stent are at different heights. Eidenschink et al. teaches a heart valve prosthesis in the same field end endeavor comprising a valve stent 1500 comprising a clamping mechanisms 1530 (paragraph [0108]) and an anchoring ring 1524, wherein the anchoring ring 1524 has at least two connection points with the clamping mechanism 1530, the at least two connection points are at different heights (as seen in Figure 8) and a connection point between the anchoring ring and the valve stent are at different heights to form a curved having a sine wave for the purpose of anchoring to the commissures of the native valve (paragraph [0107]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eftel’s anchoring ring to further include at least two connection point with the clamping mechanism at different heights and connection points between the anchoring ring and the valve stent to be at different hearts as taught by Eidenschink et al. for the purpose of creating an anchoring ring that is curved to form a sine wave and allow the anchoring ring to attach to the commissures of the native valve to provide additional anchoring to the prosthetic heart.
Regarding Claim 6, Eftel et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the clamping mechanism comprises a single clamping arm, the anchoring ring is connected to the clamping arm and the valve stent, and a height of a connection point between the anchoring ring and the valve stent is lower than a height of a connection point between the anchoring ring and the clamping arm. Eidenschink et al. teaches a heart valve prosthesis in the same field end endeavor comprising a valve stent 1500 comprising a clamping mechanisms 1530 (paragraph [0108]) and an anchoring ring 1524, wherein the anchoring ring 1524 has a connection points with the clamping mechanism 1530, the connection points are at different heights (as seen in Figure 8) and a connection point between the anchoring ring and the valve stent are at different heights to form a curved having a sine wave for the purpose of anchoring to the commissures of the native valve (paragraph [0107]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eftel’s anchoring ring to further include a connection point with the clamping mechanism at different heights as taught by Eidenschink et al. for the purpose of creating an anchoring ring that is curved to form a sine wave and allow the anchoring ring to attach to the commissures of the native valve to provide additional anchoring to the prosthetic heart.
Regarding Claim 10, Eftel et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the clamping mechanism comprises a plurality of clamping arms, wherein connection points between the anchoring ring and the plurality of clamping arms are at different heights, so that the anchoring ring is in a wavy shape. Eidenschink et al. teaches a heart valve prosthesis in the same field end endeavor comprising a valve stent 1500 comprising a clamping mechanisms 1530 (paragraph [0108]) and an anchoring ring 1524, wherein the anchoring ring 1524 has at least two connection points with the clamping mechanism 1530, the at least two connection points are at different heights (as seen in Figure 8) and a connection point between the anchoring ring and the valve stent are at different heights to form a curved having a sine wave for the purpose of anchoring to the commissures of the native valve (paragraph [0107]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eftel’s anchoring ring to further include at least two connection point with the clamping mechanism at different heights and connection points between the anchoring ring and the valve stent to be at different hearts as taught by Eidenschink et al. for the purpose of creating an anchoring ring that is curved to form a sine wave and allow the anchoring ring to attach to the commissures of the native valve to provide additional anchoring to the prosthetic heart.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eftel et al. U.S. Publication 2014/0200662 A1 in view of Chen et al. et al. CN107212950A.
Regarding Claim 9, Eftel et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the valve clamping and fixing device further comprises a control filament, the control filament is detachably connected to the first clamping arm and the second clamping arm, and the control filament is configured to be pulled to enable the first clamping arm and the second clamping arm to open to capture the native valve leaflet. Chen et al. teaches a heart valve prosthesis 1000 in the same field of endeavor comprising a valve stent and a clamping mechanism 1124, wherein the clamping mechanism 1124 comprises a control filament 1700 detachably connected to a first and second clamping arm (see Figure 8b) for the purpose of aiding in the antimigration of the device and allows for the tightening and fixation of the prosthesis to the target position (paragraph [0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Eftel’s valve clamping device to further include a control filament as taught by Chen et al. for the purpose of aiding in the antimigration of the device and allows for the tightening and fixation of the prosthesis to the target position.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eftel et al. U.S. Publication 2014/0200662 A1.
Regarding Claim 11, in the embodiment used in the rejection above, Figure 5 of Eftel et al. does not expressly disclose wherein a distal end of the valve stent is provided with a plurality of auxiliary support stems, and the plurality of auxiliary support stems are configured to be located in an atrium after the valve stent is mounted in place, and at least part of the plurality of auxiliary support stems are configured to fit against an atrial wall after the valve stent is mounted in place. In an alternative embodiment as seen in Figure 21-22, Eftel et al. teaches a valve stent in the same field of endeavor comprising a distal end having a plurality of auxiliary support stems 212 for the purpose of having lateral extension elements extending into the atrium to improve sealing and anatomical positioning of the device (paragraphs [0119], [0122], [0124]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Figure 5 of Eftel’s to further include a plurality of auxiliary support stems as taught in Figures 21-22 for the purpose of having lateral extension elements extending into the atrium to improve sealing and anatomical positioning of the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774