DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 26-29, 31-36, 38-41, 46, 48, and 49 in the reply filed on August 26, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 20-51 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract employs legal phraseology such as the term “comprises”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Content of Specification
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS: See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP § 608.01(m). The claim or claims must commence on a separate sheet or electronic page (37 CFR 1.52(b)(3)). Where a claim sets forth a plurality of elements or steps, each element or step of the claim should be separated by a line indentation. There may be plural indentations to further segregate subcombinations or related steps. See 37 CFR 1.75 and MPEP 608.01(i)-(p).
The claimed invention is defined by the positively claimed elements, the structural elements listed on separate indented lines listed in the body of the claim after the transitional phrase, “comprising”.
A claim is only limited by positively claimed elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims”. MPEP 2115 Material or Article Worked Upon by Apparatus.
It is noted that the claims mention a metalloprotein, a sample, and a fluid. However, such are not positively claimed as elements of the invention. Such are considered as articles or materials intended to be worked upon, can be used with the apparatus.
It is noted that the term “or” provides for alternatives, not requirements.
As to claim 38, it is noted that the claim only requires the semiconductor material to be a diamond. A process by which the diamond was produced does not further structurally limit the invention. The claims are directed to an apparatus not a process of manufacture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 26-29, 31-36, 38-41, 43, 46, 48, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 26-29, it is unclear how the invention being claim “a system” can be defined relative to itself “the system” (the entire invention) such as in the phrase “operate the system” in claim 26 and “operation of the system” in claims 27-29. The other components of system do not provide for any illumination. Therefore, it appears as if the phrase should read as “operate the illumination source” and “operation of the illumination source” to be accurate and consistent with the specification.
As to claim 26, it is unclear what is the nexus of “the properties” to the prior recited “one or more properties” because the claim does not clearly recite such. It appears is if the phrase should read as “one of the one or more properties”.
Dependent claims 27-29, 31, 31-36, 38-41, 46, 48, and 49 are rejected via dependency upon a rejected claim.
The term “about” in claims 27-28, 36, 39, and 41 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “about” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. There is no indication in the claim as what variances from the exact recited values and/or values other than the exact values are considered as “about” the exact values. What may be considered as "about" such values to . one person may not be considered as such to another and vice versa.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 27 recites the broad recitation of about 200 ns to about 100 ms, and the claim also recites about 2 ms to about 20 ms, or about 5 ms which are the narrower statements of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. It is noted that same is applicable to ranges recited in claims 36, 39, and 41 because each of the claims recite a broad range and further narrow range values
Furthermore, as to claims 27-29 and 31, the claims should be amended to recited “the controller is configured to control…” such as previously recited in claim 26.
As to claim 32, as to the alternative, “the controller is in operable communication with a processor”, it is unclear how it can be required for the controller to be operable communication with a processor because the alternative does not require such processor to be an element of the system.
Furthermore, the phrase “to loading factor” appears to be grammatically incorrect. It appears as if the phrase should read as “to a loading factor”. Same is applicable to claim to claim 34 that appears to read as a loading factor or the loading factor and also the last paragraph of claim 46.
As to claim 34, it is unclear what is structurally required for memory to be considered as associated with the processor because the claim does not clearly recite such. Any structures can be subjectively considered as “associated with” anything one desires.
As to claim 40, it is unclear what/which quantum sensor elements are being referenced by the phrase “the quantum sensor elements”. If such are intended to be “the plurality of quantum sensor elements”, then the claim should recite such.
The term “randomly shaped” in claim 41 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “randomly shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term randomly shaped does not provide for any definitive shape. What may be considered as randomly shaped to one person may not be considered as such to another and vice versa.
The term “disc-like” in claim 41 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “disc-like” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What may be considered as disc-like to one person may not be considered as such to another and vice versa.
It is unclear what is further structurally required by claim 43 because the claim is directed to the unclaimed sample that is not an element of the system and is not required to be present. The sample does not further structurally define the system.
As to claim 46, it is unclear what is the nexus of the “plurality of physical properties of the metalloprotein” to the previously recited one or more properties recited in claim 26 because the claim does not provide for such.
As to claim 48, it is unclear what/which property is being referenced by “the property” because the claim does not clearly recite such and claim 26 previously recites “one or more properties of a metalloprotein”.
It is unclear how claim 49 further structurally limits the system of claim 26 because the claim does not provide for any additional structural element nor any additional structure of any prior positively claimed element. The system is not required to be used for any diagnostic purposes. The claim does not provide for any steps that define any process of use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because recites a use but fails to recite steps that define a process of use.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-29, 31-33, 36, 38-41, 43, and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang, Pengfei, et al. "Nanoscale magnetic imaging of ferritins in a single cell." Science advances 5.4 (2019).
Wang discloses a system for detecting one or more properties of a molecular metal ligand in a sample, the system comprising:
a quantum sensor configured to be exposed to the sample (introduction para 3) and nitrogen-vacancy spin defect in a semiconductor (abstract).;
an illumination source configured to apply an illumination signal to the quantum sensor (laser, experimental setup para l);
a detector configured to detect a photoluminescence intensity emitted from the quantum sensor (results para 1); and
a controller configured to control operation of the illumination source to deliver pulsed illumination (fig 1 item A); wherein a characteristic of the detected photoluminescence is indicative of one of the properties of the molecular metal ligand in the sample (Fig l item C).
As to claims 27-28, see the use of a 5-µs laser, followed by an interaction time of 0.1-3.3 ms (Fig l item C).
As to claim 29, when the pulsing of the laser is stopped can be considered as extinguishing the pulses.
As to claim 31, the controller is used to control operation of the detector during an excitation phase of the pulsed illumination (AFM controlled by an MFP3D controller, Experimental setup para 2).
As to claim 32, Wang discloses a measured rate of decay using TEM (inherently requires a processor) and further correlates the rate of decay to the rate of ferritin loading/concentration (results para 4).
As to claim 33, Wang discloses a comparison between a measured rate of decay with a background rate of decay (Figure 1 item C).
As to claim 36, Wang discloses the use of laser providing for 532 nm pulses. (caption of Figure 1 on page 2).
As to claims 38-41, Wand discloses the use of a diamond (fabrication of NV sensors para 1); NV centers at a depth of 5 to 11 nm. (fabrication of NV sensors para 1).; a plurality of quantum sensor elements (multiple NV centers, fabrication of NV sensors para 1), the use of a solution when scanning the cell sample, (immunofluorescence microscopy and Fabrication of NV sensors para 2); the use of single crystal nanopillars (fabrication of NV sensors para 1, diamond nanopillars are a single crystal structure); and nanopillars with a diameter of 400mn (Tilt between cell cube and diamond nanopillars para 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34-35, 46, and 48 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, Pengfei, et al. "Nanoscale magnetic imaging of ferritins in a single cell." Science advances 5.4 (2019).
Wang does not specify automatically, from a mathematical model, calibration curve, or lookup table stored in memory associated with the processor, loading factor for the metalloprotein, and wherein the calibration curve or lookup table associates values of rate of decay with values for loading factor.
The Applicant is advised that the Supreme Court recently clarified that a claim can be proved obvious merely by showing that the combination of known elements was obvious to try. In this regard, the Supreme Court explained that, “[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill in the art has a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp.” An obviousness determination is not the result of a rigid formula disassociated from the consideration of the facts of the case. Indeed, the common sense of those skilled in the art demonstrates why some combinations would have been obvious where others would not. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. Furthermore, the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR Int’l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 Sup. Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143).
Common sense, predictability, knowledge, and skill of one of ordinary skill in the art may suffice to establish obviousness.
Wang discloses the determination of loading factors; however, it does disclose a relationship between rate of decay and the loading factor of the metal ligand (fig 1 item C).
The use of calibration curves or tables to determine the loading factor of a molecular metal ligand is considered an obvious selection in light of the relationship between rate of decay and loading factor as disclosed in Wang. Therefore, it would have been obvious to and within the common sense, knowledge, and skill of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to construct a calibration curve or table to determine the loading factor by comparison.
Similarly, Wang does not disclose the measurement of the concentration using the rate of decay, however it does disclose the measurement of the target species concentration using mass-spectrometry (EPR and mass spectrometric assays para 2). The use of calibration curves or tables, and subsequent multiplication to determine the target species concentration (iron in DI), is considered a well-known alternative to the use of mass spectrometry for determining the concentration of a species. Both arrangements (calibration curves and multiplication or mass spectrometry) are well known in the art, and it would be obvious to a skilled person that they could be directly substituted in this case, without changing the way the invention works.
Wang does not explicitly disclose the use of a mathematical model, it does disclose a relationship between rate of decay and the loading factor of the metal ligand (fig 1 item C - caption "relaxation time is fitted to be 0.1 and 3.3ms by exponential decay"), therefore the use of a mathematical model to approximate this relationship or any other physical properties of the molecular metal ligand would have been obvious to and within the common sense, knowledge, and skill of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Torelli; Marco Diego et al.; BLANK; Aharon et al.; Mazed; Mohammad A.; and Hollenberg; Lloyd et al. disclose quantum sensing.
/BRIAN R GORDON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798