DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1, Figures 2A-B in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged. The applicant appears to have elected all of the pending claims except for the withdrawn claims 32 and 42-43.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from consideration by the examiner as being directed to nonelected species. Specifically, it is not clear where in the elected figures it is shown that at least one rotatable magnetic structure on a lateral side of the at least one stationary magnet and… when the at least one rotatable magnetic structure is at the ON position, a polarity thereof is aligned with the polarity of the at least one stationary magnet thereby forming a first pole on the first side of the switchable magnetic apparatus… and wherein, when the at least one rotatable magnetic structure is at the OFF position, the polarity thereof is opposite to the polarity of the at least one stationary magnet thereby cancelling the first pole and the magnetic flux generated therefrom. This structure appears to be shown in nonelected species from figures 17 and 18 that include lateral sides 422 and the claimed polarity alignments.
Claim 13 is withdrawn from consideration by the examiner as being directed to nonelected species. Specifically, it is not clear where in the elected figures it is shown that a plurality of ferromagnetic flux guides longitudinally sandwiching the at least one stationary magnet and the at least one rotatable magnetic structure therebetween.
Claim 34 is withdrawn from consideration by the examiner as being directed to nonelected species. Specifically, it is not clear where in the elected figures it is shown that the first poles of the front magnetic structures are spaced from the front edge. It is clear that the front edge and the first poles in the elected figures are the same poles.
Claim 37 is withdrawn from consideration by the examiner as being directed to nonelected species. Specifically, it is not clear where in the elected figures it is shown that the target side is a radially outer side of the magnetic unit; or wherein the target side is a radially inner side of the magnetic unit.
Claim 41 is withdrawn from consideration by the examiner as being directed to nonelected species. Specifically, it is not clear where in the elected figures it is shown that a first ferromagnetic component sandwiched between the at least one actuation-resistance- reduction magnet and the at least one rotatable magnet. This structure appears to be part of nonelected species shown in figure 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 33, 35-36, 38, 40, and 44-45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Cardone et al. (US 4956625).
In re claim 1, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses a magnetic unit for generating a directional magnetic field towards a target direction on a front side thereof, the magnetic unit comprising: a pair of front magnetic structures (16); and a rear magnetic structure (14) on a rear side of the front magnetic structures; wherein each of the front magnetic structures and the rear magnetic structure comprises a first pole in a target area (at 13) about a front edge of a target side; wherein, in a first state, the first poles of the front magnetic structures and the rear magnetic structure are a same pole thereby forming a target pole in the target area for engaging a work-piece about the front edge (as shown in figure 2); and wherein each of the front magnetic structures and the rear magnetic structure comprises a second pole opposite to the respective first pole, the second poles of the front magnetic structures and the rear magnetic structure are on a rear side of the front edge and at a distance thereto (as shown in the figures).
In re claim 2, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses that the rear magnetic structure has a polarity aligned with the target direction; and wherein each of the front magnetic structures has a polarity at an angle to the polarity of the rear magnetic structure (as seen in figures 1-3).
In re claim 3, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses that each of the front magnetic structures has a polarity at an angle a to a polarity of the rear magnetic structure; and wherein a= 90° (as shown in figures 1-3).
In re claims 33 and 35, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses that the first pole of the rear and front magnetic structure extends to the front edge (inherent function of the shown structure).
In re claim 36, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses that the target area comprises one or more ferromagnetic pieces (P) magnetically engaging the first poles of the front magnetic structures and the rear magnetic structure.
In re claim 38, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses that in a second state, the first pole of the rear magnetic structure is different to the first poles of the front magnetic structures thereby cancelling the target pole in the target area (as seen in figure 1).
In re claim 40, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses an actuation structure (20) for rotating the polarities thereof to switch the magnetic unit between the first and second states (polarities are rotated between the two states).
In re claim 44, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses a magnetic unit comprising: one or more magnetic components switchable between an ON state and an OFF state; wherein the one or more magnetic components in the ON state are configured for applying a magnetic field on a target side thereof (figure 2); wherein the one or more magnetic components in the OFF state are configured for cancelling the magnetic field on the target side thereof (figure 1); and wherein the one or more magnetic components are configured for repeatedly switching between the ON state and the OFF state at a frequency (inherent functionality of the shown structure).
In re claim 45, Cardone, in figures 1-3, discloses a magnetic apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardone et al. (US 4956625) in view of Ding (US 8757689).
In re claim 39, Cardone teaches the magnetic structures except for the structures being rotatable. Ding however, in figures 1-28, teaches a similar device having rotating and non-rotating magnetic structures that switch a magnetic unit between first and second states (various embodiments are shown in the figures). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have adapted a rotating magnetic structure that switches between two states as taught by Ding to the device of Cardone to eliminate the need for electrical control system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/Alexander Talpalatski/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837