DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on May 12, 2026. Claims 17, 19-25, and 27-28 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
2. The outstanding rejections of Claims 17-28 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 17, 19-25, and 27-28 filed on May 12, 2026.
Specification
3. The amendments to the specification regarding the title received on May 12,2026. These amendments to the title are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19-25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0060492 A1) in view of Luo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0187905 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Wei et al. teach a method comprising:
based on information (read as sensing information) being provided to a first sensing responder (Fig.1 @ 108), from a sensing initiator (Fig.1 @ 104) that is an access point (AP) (read as “In wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing systems, sensing devices, e.g., sensing initiators and sensing responders, can exchange sensing information and execute various operations in response to the sensing information.”(Fig.1; Paragraph(s) [0002] and [0044]) Also, “… the sensing initiator 104 is an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) that includes at least one AP with at least one antenna (e.g., initiator antenna-1 106-1 and/or initiator antenna-2 106-2), at least one transceiver operably connected to the at least one antenna, and at least one controller operably connected to the corresponding transceiver.”(Paragraph [0046]) Also, “the sensing responder 108 may be implemented as part of a wireless station (STA) device (e.g., non-AP STA MLD) that wirelessly connects to wireless APs.”(Paragraph [0047])),
in a first measurement exchange among the plurality of measurement exchanges, transmitting, by the first sensing responder, a first sensing signal to at least one of the sensing initiator or a second sensing responder, based on a first frame transmitted by the sensing initiator in the first measurement exchange (read as sensing-related measurement(s) (Fig.1; Paragraph [0057])); and
in a second measurement exchange among the plurality of measurement exchanges, receiving, by the first sensing responder, a second sensing signal from the sensing initiator or the second sensing responder, based on a second frame transmitted by the sensing initiator in the second measurement exchange. (read as sensing-related measurement(s) (Fig.1; Paragraph [0057]))
However, Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach a measurement session establishment information, wherein the measurement session establishment information including one measurement session identification information related to a plurality of measurement exchanges;
Luo et al. teach a measurement session establishment information ((read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24))), wherein the measurement session establishment information including one measurement session identification information related to a plurality of measurement exchanges (read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) comprising Measurement Setup ID (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) with a Measurement Setup ID as taught by Luo et al. with the Sensing initiator and Sensing responder as taught by Wei et al. for the purpose of enhancing WLAN sensing specific measurements by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 27, teach a first sensing responder (Fig(s).1 @ 108 and 12 @ 1200) comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig.12 @ 1206); and
at least one processor (Fig.12 @ 1202) coupled with the at least one transceiver (Fig.12 @ 1206), wherein the at least one processor (Fig.12 @ 1202) is configured to:
based on information (read as sensing information) being provided to the first sensing responder (Fig.1 @ 108), through the at least one transceiver (Fig.12 @ 1206), from a sensing initiator (Fig.1 @ 104) that is an access point (AP) (read as “In wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing systems, sensing devices, e.g., sensing initiators and sensing responders, can exchange sensing information and execute various operations in response to the sensing information.”(Fig.1; Paragraph(s) [0002] and [0044]) Also, “… the sensing initiator 104 is an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) that includes at least one AP with at least one antenna (e.g., initiator antenna-1 106-1 and/or initiator antenna-2 106-2), at least one transceiver operably connected to the at least one antenna, and at least one controller operably connected to the corresponding transceiver.”(Paragraph [0046]) Also, “the sensing responder 108 may be implemented as part of a wireless station (STA) device (e.g., non-AP STA MLD) that wirelessly connects to wireless APs.”(Paragraph [0047])),
in a first measurement exchange among the plurality of measurement exchanges, transmit, through the at least one transceiver, a first sensing signal to at least one of the sensing initiator or a second sensing responder, based on a first frame transmitted by the sensing initiator in the first measurement exchange (read as sensing-related measurement(s) (Fig.1; Paragraph [0057])); and
in a second measurement exchange among the plurality of measurement exchanges, receive, through the at least one transceiver, a second sensing signal from the sensing initiator or the second sensing responder, based on a second frame transmitted by the sensing initiator in the second measurement exchange. (read as sensing-related measurement(s) (Fig.1; Paragraph [0057]))
However, Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach a measurement session establishment information, wherein the measurement session establishment information including one measurement session identification information related to a plurality of measurement exchanges;
Luo et al. teach a measurement session establishment information ((read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24))), wherein the measurement session establishment information including one measurement session identification information related to a plurality of measurement exchanges (read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) comprising Measurement Setup ID (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) with a Measurement Setup ID as taught by Luo et al. with Sensing responder as taught by Wei et al. for the purpose of enhancing WLAN sensing specific measurements by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 28, teach a sensing initiator that is an access point (AP) (Fig(s).1 @ 104 and 12 @ 1200) comprising:
at least one transceiver (Fig.12 @ 1206); and
at least one processor (Fig.12 @ 1202) coupled with the at least one transceiver (Fig.12 @ 1206), wherein the at least one processor (Fig.12 @ 1202) is configured to:
based on measurement session establishment information being provided, through the at least one transceiver (Fig.12 @ 1206), to a first sensing responder (Fig.1 @ 108) (read as “In wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing systems, sensing devices, e.g., sensing initiators and sensing responders, can exchange sensing information and execute various operations in response to the sensing information.”(Fig.1; Paragraph(s) [0002] and [0044]) Also, “… the sensing initiator 104 is an access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD) that includes at least one AP with at least one antenna (e.g., initiator antenna-1 106-1 and/or initiator antenna-2 106-2), at least one transceiver operably connected to the at least one antenna, and at least one controller operably connected to the corresponding transceiver.”(Paragraph [0046]) Also, “the sensing responder 108 may be implemented as part of a wireless station (STA) device (e.g., non-AP STA MLD) that wirelessly connects to wireless APs.”(Paragraph [0047]))
in a first measurement exchange among the plurality of measurement exchanges, receive, through the at least one transceiver, a first sensing signal to or from the first sensing responder, based on a first frame transmitted by the sensing initiator in the first measurement exchange (read as sensing-related measurement(s) (Fig.1; Paragraph [0057])); and
in a second measurement exchange among the plurality of measurement exchanges, transmit, through the at least one transceiver, a second sensing signal to at least one of the first sensing responder or a second sensing responder, based on a second frame transmitted by the sensing initiator in the second measurement exchange. (read as sensing-related measurement(s) (Fig.1; Paragraph [0057]))
However, Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach a measurement session establishment information, wherein the measurement session establishment information including one measurement session identification information related to a plurality of measurement exchanges;
Luo et al. teach a measurement session establishment information ((read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24))), wherein the measurement session establishment information including one measurement session identification information related to a plurality of measurement exchanges (read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) comprising Measurement Setup ID (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) with a Measurement Setup ID as taught by Luo et al. with the Sensing initiator as taught by Wei et al. for the purpose of enhancing WLAN sensing specific measurements by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 19, and as applied to claim 17 above, Wei et al. teach “In wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing systems, sensing devices, e.g., sensing initiators and sensing responders, can exchange sensing information and execute various operations in response to the sensing information.”(Fig.1; Paragraph(s) [0002] and [0044])
However, Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach the first frame is a trigger frame including information for the first sensing signal transmitted from the first sensing responder to the sensing initiator.
Luo et all. Teach a method wherein: the first frame is a trigger frame including information for the first sensing signal transmitted from the first sensing responder to the sensing initiator. (read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) with a Measurement Setup ID as taught by Luo et al. with Sensing responder as taught by Wei et al. for the purpose of enhancing WLAN sensing specific measurements by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 20, and as applied to claim 17 above, Wei et al. teach “In wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing systems, sensing devices, e.g., sensing initiators and sensing responders, can exchange sensing information and execute various operations in response to the sensing information.”(Fig.1; Paragraph(s) [0002] and [0044])
However, Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach the first frame is a trigger frame including information for the first sensing signal transmitted from the first sensing responder to the second sensing responder.
Luo et al. teach a method wherein:
the first frame is a trigger frame including information for the first sensing signal transmitted from the first sensing responder to the second sensing responder. (read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) with a Measurement Setup ID as taught by Luo et al. with Sensing responder as taught by Wei et al. for the purpose of enhancing WLAN sensing specific measurements by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 21, and as applied to claim 17 above, Wei et al. teach “In wireless local area network (WLAN) sensing systems, sensing devices, e.g., sensing initiators and sensing responders, can exchange sensing information and execute various operations in response to the sensing information.”(Fig.1; Paragraph(s) [0002] and [0044])
However, Wei et al. fail to explicitly teach the second frame is a trigger frame including information for the second sensing signal transmitted from the second sensing responder to the first sensing responder.
Luo et al. teach a method wherein:
the second frame is a trigger frame including information for the second sensing signal transmitted from the second sensing responder to the first sensing responder. (read as formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) (Fig(s).6, 8, 12, 20-21, and 23-24));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting a frame (e.g.: trigger) with a Measurement Setup ID as taught by Luo et al. with Sensing responder as taught by Wei et al. for the purpose of enhancing WLAN sensing specific measurements by devices in a communication network.
Regarding claim 22, and as applied to claim 17 above, Wei et al., as modified by Luo et al., teach a method wherein:
the second frame is a trigger frame or a null data physical layer protocol data unit (NDP) announcement frame including information for the second sensing signal transmitted from the sensing initiator to the first sensing responder. (read as NDP frame (Paragraph [0096]))
Regarding claim 23, and as applied to claim 17 above, Wei et al., as modified by Luo et al., teach a method wherein:
the measurement session establishment information further includes information related to a role of the first sensing responder corresponding to the plurality of measurement exchange (read as STA INFO 1(Fig.4 @ 412-1)),
the role of the first sensing responder is indicated as a sensing transmitter role, or a sensing receiver role, or both of the sensing transmitter role and the sensing receiver role. (read as STA INFO n (Fig.4 @ 412-n))
Regarding claim 24, and as applied to claim 17 above, Wei et al., as modified by Luo et al., teach a method further comprising:
performing a measurement reporting based on the second sensing signal. (read as sensing measurement report (SMR) (Fig(s).1 and 6; Paragraph [0056]))
Regarding claim 25, and as applied to claim 24 above, Wei et al., as modified by Luo et al., teach a method wherein:
the measurement reporting is triggered by a trigger frame transmitted from the sensing initiator (read as SMR (Fig(s).1 and 6; Paragraph [0056])),
the trigger frame allocating a resource unit to the first sensing responder for transmitting the measurement reporting.(Fig.4)
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 17, 19-25, and 27-28 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Zhou et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0388778 A1) teach “a Wi-Fi sensing process.”(Fig.2; Paragraph [0066])
Lim et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0070927 A1) teach “a method for performing WLAN sensing by using multiple channels or multiple resources and a device using the same.”(Paragraph [0002])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
July 28, 2026