DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 3-4 are cancelled. Claims 1-2 and 5-13 as filed on 24 September 2026 are pending and under examination.
Rejections Withdrawn
Rejection of claims 1 and 3-13 under 35 U.S.C. 102 is withdrawn with applicant amendment of claims.
Rejection of claims 1 and 3-13 under Double Patenting over US 11472887 B2 is withdrawn with applicant amendment of claims where LCDR1 of SEQ ID NO: 4 does not comprise a lysine (K) at positions 1 and 7 together.
Rejection Maintained – Amended as Necessitated by Applicant Amendment of Claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein each X residue in SEQ ID NO: 4 is is independently lysine (K), arginine (R), or glycine (G), provided that the two X residues are not both lysine (K).” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim to identify what amino acid in SEQ ID NO: 4 is referred to.
For the purpose of examination the examiner has read the claim as reading:
“wherein the X residue in position 1 of SEQ ID NO: 4 is a lysine (K), arginine (R), or glycine (G); and the X residue in position 7 of SEQ ID NO: 4 is a lysine (K), arginine (R), or glycine (G); where the X in position 1 and the X in position 7 are not both lysine (K).”
Claims 2 and 5-13 fail to correct the lack of antecedent basis of claim 1.
Claims 1-2 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or it may be satisfied by the disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. “Functional” terminology may be used “when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” but “merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing one has invented a genus and not just a species. Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F3d 1336, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1171 (Fed Cir. 2010).
Scope of the Claimed Genus
Claim 1 is to a MUC1 binding antibody or antigen binding fragment that binds the C-terminal extracellular domain of MUC1 and comprises a heavy chain comprising HCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, and 3, respectively, with a light chain comprising LCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 4, 5, and 6, respectively, and the LCDR1 of SEQ ID NO: 4 comprises 2 variable amino acids at positions 1 and 7. The claim includes the following combination of amino acids at positions 1 and 7: G K, G R, G G, K R, K G, R K, R G, and R R.
Claims 2 and 5-13 provide no limitations on the sequence of the CDRs of the MUC1 binding antibody.
Summary of Species Disclosed in the original specification
Applicant discloses 4 antibodies: PAb001 which was mutated to produce three MUC1 binding antibodies that comprise the mutations 1) HCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, and 3 with LCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 4 where both Xs are an Arginine (R) and would then be RASQDIRSYLS, SEQ ID NO: 5, and SEQ ID NO: 6, respectively; and 2) HCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, and 3 with LCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 4 where the first X is an Arginine (R) and the second X is a Glycine (G) and would then be RASQDIGSYLS, SEQ ID NO: 5, SEQ ID NO: 6, respectively; and 3) HCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, and 3 with LCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 4 where the first X is an Arginine (K) and the second X is a Arginine (R) and would then be KASQDIRSYLS, SEQ ID NO: 5, SEQ ID NO: 6, respectively.
PAb001 comprises HCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, and 3, respectively, with LCDR 1, 2, and 3 of SEQ ID NO: 4 where both Xs are a Lysine (L) and would then be LASQDILSYLS, SEQ ID NO: 5, and SEQ ID NO: 6, respectively.
These are shown in Figures 1-5 along with their binding activity to MUC1.
State of the Relevant Art
MUC1 is a 200 to 500 nm transmembrane glycoprotein that comprises multiple domains including a number of glycosylated extracellular domains (Choi (US 20200024361 A1) (Of Record)) ([0002]). Choi further teaches MUC1 is located at the cell surface of the apical membrane of normal epithelial cells and in the linear or luminal epithelial cells of numerous organs. MUC1 forms a physical barrier that protects the basal epithelial from dehydration, pH changes, pollen, and microorganisms ([0002]). The C terminal of MUC1 is cleaved into two fragments and in cancers one fragment is isolated from cancer cells and enters the blood while the other remains cell-bound to cancer cells ([0004]). The presence of MUC1 on cancer cells sends a continuous proliferation signal ([0004]). The C-terminal extracellular domain of MUC1 is a known target of antibodies for use in treatment of cancer (Abstract and claim 1).
It has been well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site in a conventional antibody requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which comprises three CDRs (or hypervariable regions) which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. E.g., Almagro et. al., Front. Immunol. 2018; 8:1751 (Of Record) (see Section “The IgG Molecule” in paragraph 1 and Figure 1). While affinity maturation techniques can result in differences in the CDRs of the antibody compared to its parental antibody (page 3 “The IgG Molecule”, second and third paragraphs), those techniques involve trial-and-error testing and the changes that maintain or improve affinity are not predictable a priori. E.g., id., (page 6 ending paragraph onto page 7). But while this overall structure is shared amongst antibodies from a wide variety of sources (human, rat, mouse, rabbit), the structure of each monoclonal antibody uses to bind its particular epitope on an antigen is structurally distinct and is formed by a recombination event that results in high variability at the amino acid sequence level (see Section 3 “Antibody Structure and the Antigen Binding Site” and Figure 1). The epitope of an antibody does not provide structure or sequence information about the antibody that binds it.
Further, the skilled artisan has long recognized that even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the VH and VL, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Brown et al., J. Immunol., 156(9):3285- 91 (1996) (Of Record). Brown teaches that although a single amino acid change in CDR2 of heavy chain of a particular antibody was tolerated, the antibody lost binding upon introduction of two amino acid changes in the same region. Brown, p. 3290 and Tables 1 and 2. Table 1 of Brown shows that even a conservative substitution does not ensure that functionality of the antibody is retained. These older citations are supported my more recent discoveries of why these substitutions change antibody activity. Marvin et. al., Biochemistry, 42(23):7077-7083 (2003) (Of Record) teaches that changes to the heavy and light chains altered binding affinity (Table 2) with changes to the CDR having large impacts but the changes with the largest impact were from residues in the CDR, but not from ones interfacing with the antigen ( Page 7081 in col 1 “Conclusions and Discussion” and Page 7082 in Figure 4).
This is confirmed by Chiu et al., Antibodies, 8(55):1-80. (2019) (Of Record). Chiu teaches that the complementarity-determining regions (HCDRs 1-3 and LCDRs 1-3) determine antigen binding requiring specific sequences and orientation of those sequences to properly form tertiary structures that can recognize and bind antigens (Page 4 in 1.2.2 first and last paragraphs and Figure 3). Chiu teaches that antibody modeling with known LCDRs 1-3, HCDR1 and HCDR2 could not predict HCDR3. The field has shown repeatedly over decades that Structure-Based antibody engineering is unable to predict antibody sequences (Page 6 in 1.2.6, Pages 10-11 in Section 2 in particular second paragraph of page 11). Chiu notes the advancement in antibody engineering but notes it is still not possible to predict the point mutations that would improve affinity in both antibodies and multispecific molecules (Page 51 in lines 6-12).
In general, absent at least the conserved structure of the CDRs of the heavy chain and light chain of an antibody, the skilled artisan generally would not be able to visualize or otherwise predict an antibody with a particular set of functional properties would look like structurally. An epitope does not inform one of skill in the art of the structure of the antibody that binds it and a partial structure of only some CDRs or some of the CDR sequences does not provide sufficient information to identify the undefined CDR identity.
Are the disclosed species representative of the claimed genus?
MPEP § 2163 states that a “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The specification discloses 4 MUC1 binding antibodies with fully defined CDR sequences of the heavy and light chain.
Given the variability encompassed by the genus of antibodies that bind MUC1 where changes to the CDRs change the binding activity in unpredictable ways the described species cannot be considered representative of the genus as the description of an antibody with its fully defined CDRs only provides written description on that antibody and not ones with varying CDR sequences.
Identifying characteristics and structure/function correlation
In the absence of a representative number of species, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics; i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. To meet this requirement in the instant case, the specification must describe structural features that the skilled artisan as of the effective filing date would have expected to convey the claimed binding activity.
As described above the structure in an antibody that provides its binding activity
is the set of 6 CDRs. As changes to the amino acids of the CDRs change its function, the CDRs of the disclosed antibodies do not disclose additional antibodies. The epitope of an antibody, no matter how specific, does not provide any structure for the CDRs of an antibody that binds that epitope.
Conclusion:
For all of the reasons presented above, one of skill in the art would not know which of the CDR combinations of the claims would meet the structural and functional requirements of the claims. The applicant has not provided a representative number of species for all antibodies that bind the epitope of the C terminus extracellular domain of MUC1 of claim 1 or the partially defined CDRs of claims 3 and 4. The functional structure of an antibody are its 6 CDRs that provide its binding activity based on the sequences of those CDRs, the CDRs of one antibody do not provide one of skill in the art with the functional CDRs of additional antibodies so the variability of the CDRs of the rejected claims mean there is no structure/function correlation, and the disclosed species do not provide written description for additional antibodies. Given the lack of shared structural properties that provide the claimed binding activity, the limited number of species described, and the fact that the species that were described cannot be considered representative of the broad genus, Applicant was not in possession of the invention as claimed.
This rejection could be overcome by limiting the claims to specific combinations
of six CDRs that applicant has shown written description for. The antibodies that have written description in the specification and appear to be free of the art are shown below.
HCDR1
HCDR2
HCDR3
LCDR1
LCDR2
LCDR3
SEQ ID NO:
1
2
3
4
5
6
Antibody 1
Substitutions for (X)
None
X1=R X2=R
None
Antibody 2
X1=R X2=G
Antibody 3
X1=K X2=R
Applicant Arguments
Applicant argues the fully defined set of CDRs of amended claim 1 which is limited to 8 antibodies were possessed by applicant overcoming the rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As stated in the rejection applicant has shown possession of three antibodies with fully defined 6 CDRs in the heavy and light chain. Applicant has not shown possession of the CDR combinations of the claims. The rejection is then maintained.
New Rejection Necessitated by Applicant Amendment of Claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (WO 2018174544 A2) (PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-2, Cho teaches anti-MUC1 antibodies (abstract) and teaches antibodies comprising SEQ ID NO: 23 and SEQ ID NO: 22 (page 5 in par 5). SEQ ID NO: 22 comprises the CDRs of instant SEQ ID NO: 1, 2, and 3 and SEQ ID NO: 23 comprises CDRs of instant SEQ ID NO: 4, 5, and 6 wherein the LCDR1 of instant SEQ ID NO: 4 comprises a first X of G and the second X of K as allowed by instant claim.
Regarding claim 5, Cho teaches the antibodies as part of antibody-drug conjugates (page 2 in par 8).
Regarding claim 6, Cho teaches the antibodies as part of a bispecific antibody (page 2 in par 2).
Regarding claims 7-9, Cho teaches the antibodies of its invention as part of CARs (page 4 in last 3 lines and page 5 in lines 1-3). Cho further teaches anti-MUC1 CAR-T immune cells including CAR-NK (page 6 in par 11).
Regarding claim 10-11, Cho teaches cancer of their invention includes liver cancer (page 8 in par 2-3) and further teaches the administration of its anti-MUC1 antibodies in a method of treating cancer (page 8 in pars 15-19).
Regarding claim 12, Cho teaches the active method steps of detecting MUC1 using the anti-MUC1 of its teaching and detecting the presence of MUC1 to diagnose cancer (page 9 in par 1-2).
Regarding claim 13, Cho teaches a host cell comprising a vector of a nucleic acid encoding the antibodies of its invention where the nucleic acid is expressed (page 9 in final 3 paragraphs and page 10 in lines 1-6 and pars 1-7).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643