DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bizzotto et al. (US 2011/0199773 A1) in view of Wang (US 2002/0167813 A1)and Willing et al. (EP 0022962 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bizzotto et al. teaches an optical component holder for assembling a lighting device (see abstract of Bizzotto et al), said optical component holder (10; see at least figure 1 and 2) comprising:
a central portion (see center portion of 10 in at least figure 1) and an edge portion (see edge of 10 in at least figures 1 and 2), wherein said edge portion (see figure 1) delimits said central portion (see at least figure 1 and 2; center portion of 10), and wherein said central portion (center portion of 10; see figure 1 and 2) and said edge portion (see at least figure 1 and 2) extend substantially in a longitudinal plane (see at least figures 1 and 2);
at least one flexible flap (12) being attached to said edge portion (see figure 1 and 2) of said optical component holder (10) and extending substantially in a transversal plane being substantially perpendicular to said longitudinal plane (see at least figure 1 and 2), said at least one flexible flap (12) comprising a locking snap- fit arrangement (see paragraph [0032] where snap in elements are disclosed), wherein said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A) comprises a lower portion being (see at least figures 1 and 2) adjacent to said edge portion (see figure 1 and 2) of said optical component holder (10), an upper portion arranged at a distance from said lower portion (see at least figure 1 and 2) in said transversal plane, said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A) further comprising a releasing portion (see figure 1 and 2);
a housing connection (see H in at least figure 2) being arranged for attaching said optical component holder (10) to said lighting device (see at least figures 1 and 2), said housing connection (see at least figures 1 and 2) being attached to said edge portion (see figure 2) of said optical component holder (10) and extending in said transversal plane and comprising a locking element (R);
a releasing element (see figure 1;12B) accompanied with one or more ratchet surfaces (see at least figure 1 and 2) that are facing away from said central portion (see center portion of 10) of said optical component holder (10) for releasing said locking element (R);
wherein at least one flexible flap (see figure 1 and 2;12) has a lower portion (see at least figure 1 and 2) of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A) that comprises a contact surface (see at least figures 1 and 2) facing said edge portion, said lower portion (see at least figure 1 and 2) of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A) further comprising a wedge element (see shape of 12A in at least figure 1 and 2) extending substantially parallelly to said longitudinal plane and facing said central portion (center portion of 10) of said optical component holder (10), said lower portion (see at least figures 1 and 2) of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A) being movable between a locked position and an unlocked position in said longitudinal plane (see figure 3 and 4 where 12A is in a locked positioned), said lower portion (see at least figure 1 and 2) of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A) having a transversal cross-section being substantially parallel to said transversal plane (see figure 1 and 2),
wherein said transversal cross-section of said lower portion (see at least figure 1 and 2) of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A) is substantially U-shaped, and wherein between said contact surface (see at least figure 1 and 2) and said longitudinal plane, a contact angle (see at least figure 1 and 2) is created that is an acute angle (see at least figure 4 where 12A forms a contact angle).
Bizzotto et al. does not explicitly teach the locking snap-fit arrangement further comprising an external visibly detectable releasing portion and wherein said at least one flexible flap for securing an optical component.
Wang (US 2002/0167813 A1) teaches the locking snap-fit arrangement further comprising an external visibly detectable releasing portion (handle 78 of latch 12) and wherein said at least one flexible flap (see paragraph [0018] where flexible member is disclosed) for securing an optical component (see paragraph [0018] where latch 12 supports lens 18)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the of the effective filing date of the invention to modify Bizzotto et al. to include an external visibly detectable releasing portion and the flexible flap for securing an optical component as taught by Wang to easily release the latching arrangement without requiring separate fasteners (see paragraph [0010] of Wang )
Bizzotto et al. does not explicitly teach the releasing element, configured on the edge portion opposite the locking element and wherein the releasing element includes an external portion that is visibly detectable and accessible to a user in the assembled lighting device.
Willing et al. teaches a releasing element (14; figure 7) configured on the edge portion opposite the locking element (15) and wherein the releasing element (14) includes an external portion that is visibly detectable and accessible to a user in the assemble lighting device (see figure 7 where 14 is accessible to a user in the assembled lighting device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the releasing element of Bizzotto et al. to be configured on the edge portion opposite to the locking element and includes an external portion visibly detectable and accessible as taught by Willing et al. as an alternative design choice and way to easily remove the components from the holder.
Regarding claim 2, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said releasing portion (see figure 2,12B) is mechanically connected to said lower portion of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A and 12B).
Regarding claim 3, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said contact surface (see at least figures 1 and 2) of said lower portion of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A) comprises two contact points (see at least figure 1 and 2 where 12A comprises a left and right contact point) arranged on said contact surface (see at least figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said releasing element (see figure 1 and 2;12B) is substantially opposite to said locking element (R).
Regarding claim 6, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said flexible flap (12) comprises two flexible legs (see at least figure 1 and 2 and paragraph [0034] where flexural springs are disclosed) arranged to mechanically attach the edge portion to allow a flexible radial movement of said flexible flap (12; see figures 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 7, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said releasing element (R) is arranged at said lower portion of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A and 12B) facing away from the central portion (see at least figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 8, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said upper portion of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A and 12B; see figure 1) has a first width substantially in said longitudinal plane, said lower portion of said locking snap-fit arrangement (12A and 12B; see figure 1 and 2) has a second width substantially in said longitudinal plane, wherein said second width is greater than said first width (see at least figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 9, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said optical component holder (10; see at least figure 1 and 2) is a single injection molded element (see 10 in at least figure 1 and 2; see paragraph [0028] where 10 is a single piece of plastic).
Regarding claim 10, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said optical component holder (10; see at least figure 1 and 2) further comprises a first supporting rim (inside rim of 10) arranged at said edge portion of said optical component holder (10) and extending in said transversal plane (see at least figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said optical component holder (10; figure 1 and 2) comprises a second supporting rim (see figure 1 and 2) arranged at said edge portion of said optical component holder (10) and extending in said longitudinal plane (see at least figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 12, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said at least one flexible flap (12; see figure 1 and 2) is substantially M-shaped (see 12 in at least figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said at least one optical component holder (10; see figure 1 and 2) is substantially annular (see shape of 10 in at least figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 15, Bizzotto et al. teaches a lighting device (see abstract of Bizzotto et al.) comprising an optical element (see paragraph [0027] where optical component 14 is a lens), a housing (housing H; see paragraph [0026] and at least figure 2), and an optical component holder (support structure 10; figure 1 and 2) according to claim 1, wherein said optical element (14) is releasably affixed to said optical component holder (10; figure 2), and wherein said optical component holder (10; figure 2) is releasably affixed to said housing (H; see at least figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, wherein said locking snap-fit arrangement (12; see paragraph [0031]-[0033] and figure 1) is capable of releasably affixing an optical element (optical component 14; see figure 2 and paragraph [0027]) to the optical component holder (H; figure 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 17, Bizzotto et al. modified by Wang and Willing et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, and Bizzotto does not explicitly teach wherein the releasing element is a button. Willing et al. teaches releasing element (14) is a button (see claim 8 of Willing et al.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the releasing element of Bizzotto et al. to be a button as taught by Willing et al. as an alternative design choice and way to easily release the components from the holder.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bizzotto et al. (US 2011/0199773 A1) in view of Wang (US 2002/0167813 A1)and Willing et al. (EP 0022962 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Miller et al. (US 3,790,774).
Regarding claim 4, Bizzotto et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein said contact angle is chosen from a range between 0.1 to 55 degrees.
Miller et al. teaches wherein said contact angle is chosen from a range between 0.1 to 55 degrees (see column 4, lines 24-26 where contact angle is a 45 degree angle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the contact angle of the optical component holder of Bizzotto et al. to be chosen from a range between 0.1 to 55 degrees as taught by Miller et al., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bizzotto et al. (US 2011/0199773 A1) in view of Wang (US 2002/0167813 A1)and Willing et al. (EP 0022962 A1) as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Terao et al. (US 6,502,971 B1).
Regarding claim 14, Bizzotto et al. modified by Wang and Willing et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 8, but Bizzotto modified by Willing et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the diameter of said optical component holder is chosen from 1 cm to 50 cm, and/or wherein said first width and/or said second width of said at least one flexible flap in said transversal plane is chosen from 1 cm to 20cm.
Terao et al. teaches wherein the diameter of said optical component holder is chosen from 1 cm to 50 cm (see column 8, line 18-23, where diameter is 0.1 mm which converts to 10 cm), and/or wherein said first width and/or said second width of said at least one flexible flap in said transversal plane is chosen from 1 cm to 20 cm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the optical component of Bizzotto et al. to have a diameter chosen from 1cm to 50 cm as taught by Terao et al., since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223.
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bizzotto et al. (US 2011/0199773 A1) in view of Wang (US 2002/0167813 A1)and Willing et al. (EP 0022962 A1) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of DE 202017101141 U1.
Regarding claim 18, Bizzotto et al. modified by Wang and Willing et al. teaches the optical component holder according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein releasing element includes an identification element, selected from a color marking , an arrow and a text.
DE 202017101141 U1 teaches a releasing element (3) that includes an identification element that is an arrow (see 3 in figure 9 where an identification element that is an arrow is shown).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary sill in the art before the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the releasing element of Bizzotto et al. to include an identification element that is an arrow as taught by DE 202017101141 U1 as an obvious design choice and alternative way of helping the user of the device easily assemble and disassemble the components of the holder.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-16 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment of independent claim 1. Applicant amended intendent claim 1 to include the limitations, “said locking snap-fit arrangement further comprising an external visibly detectable releasing portion, and wherein said at least one flexible flap for securing an optical component;” A new reference, Wang (US 2002/0167813 A1), teaches the newly recited limitation.
Claims 2-16 remain rejected based on dependency on a rejected base claim.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M APENTENG/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ABDULMAJEED AZIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875