DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 5/7/2026, claims 1, 5-8, 10, 12, 14-15 and 17 are amended, claims 3- 4, 11, 13 and 19- 28 are cancelled. Claims 1- 2, 5- 10, 12, 14- 18 and 29- 30 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the remarks on 5/7/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 11 last six lines on the remarks filed on 5/7/2026, applicant argues, “Applicant respectfully submits that Prasad fails to disclose the above emphasized features for the following reasons. It is asserted with respect to claim 3 in the Office Action that paragraph [0084] of Prasad discloses the limitation "the physical-layer power-saving reference information comprises and a mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and a DRX configuration……………Prasad is silent about a mapping relationship between the PS-RNTI and a DRX configuration. Prasad fails to teach the limitation "the physical-layer power-saving reference information comprises a mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and a DRX configuration".
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that Prasad teaches in [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration (i.e. mapping with PS-RNTI)… The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). ….( information regarding DRX can be a reference information) (i.e. WUS as a scrambled with PS-RNTI indicating whether start a timer for next DRX activation duration or not i.e. mapping relationship).
On page 12, last seven lines of the remarks applicant argues, “It is acknowledged with respect to claim 6 in the Office Action that Prasad is silent about wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index”.
Examiner agrees about Prasad is silent but examiner has used secondary references to teach above limitations. Please see office action pages 18- 22 mailed on 2/10/2026.
On page 14, last five lines of the remarks, applicant argues, “Deng also fails to teach that the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index”.
Examiner disagrees and respectfully submits that as per amended claim 1’s limitations (i.e. scope has been changed hence secondary reference has been used), “wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index”; Deng teaches on page 15 last paragraph teaches about current WUS configuration parameters, the serving base station through the RRC signaling indicates the bit information (which may be a bitmap in the one bit of information or DCI in the first multi-bit information) WUS DRX service cell group, at the same time, application of suitable indication bit information service cell group of the second DRX suitable for in WUS DCI is applicable. The shown table 1 is a bitmap of the embodiments of the invention; further see page 16 first three paragraphs (i.e. bitmap of WUS DRX cell service group wherein suitable bit is accordance with first/second DRX …it can represent as DRX index).
Please refer above response for arguments on page 15 regarding DRX index.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7- 9, 10, 12, 14, 16- 18 and 29- 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0033440 A1), hereafter Prasad in view of Deng et al. (CN 110830225 A).
Regarding claim 1, Prasad teaches an information processing method, applied to a terminal (see Fig. 1, #115 as a UE (terminal) and 105 as a base station (network device)), comprising:
receiving, by the terminal, physical-layer power-saving indication information transmitted by a network device (see [0083]… some wireless communications systems may support discontinuous reception (DRX) operations to reduce power consumption at a UE 115. Specifically, a base station 105 may configure a UE 115 with a DRX cycle that includes one or more DRX active durations (in which the UE 115 performs PDCCH monitoring) and one or more DRX inactive durations (in which the UE 115 enters a sleep mode). A UE 115 in a DRX mode may be configured to monitor for a WUS (wake-up signal) outside of a DRX active duration. That is, the UE 115 may be configured with a DRX cycle that includes a set of WUS monitoring occasions; now refer to [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. ….); and
determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, whether to start a DRX on-duration timer of one or more target discontinuous reception (DRX) configurations corresponding to the physical-layer power-saving indication information (see [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. …The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). …...).
wherein the method further comprises: obtaining, by the terminal, physical-layer power-saving reference information transmitted by the network device, wherein the physical-layer power-saving reference information comprises a physical-layer power-saving configuration and a mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and a DRX configuration; wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration comprises a value of a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (see [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration (i.e. mapping with PS-RNTI). …The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). ….( information regarding DRX can be a reference information).).
wherein the determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations corresponding to the physical-layer power-saving indication information comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information and the physical-layer power-saving reference information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations; already discussed above in context with [0083] pls refer to [0084] A WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. …. The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). A WUS can be configured on a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell (PSCell). A WUS may indicate dormancy behavior for a number (e.g., 5) of secondary cell (SCell) groups. In some cases, a WUS can be jointly received by a group of UEs 115. For example, the group of UEs 115 may receive a WUS based on monitoring one or more CSS sets (i.e. information regarding DRX can be a reference information)
But Prasad fails to state about (1) different PS-RNTI values correspond to different respective physical-layer power-saving indication information; further prasad fails to teach (2) wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index.
However Deng teaches (1) on page 18 paragraph third .. it can use the current WUS configuration, RNTI WUS detection in addition to configuration of different PS-RNTI, such as the first DRX suitable for serving cell is PS-RNTI1, RNTI of the second DRX serving cell suitable for WUS detection is PS-RNTI2. UE detects DCI WUS different RNTI scrambling can obtain the corresponding DRX serving cell … ; further Deng states (2) on page 15 last paragraph teaches about current WUS configuration parameters, the serving base station through the RRC signaling indicates the bit information (which may be a bitmap in the one bit of information or DCI in the first multi-bit information) WUS DRX service cell group, at the same time, application of suitable indication bit information service cell group of the second DRX suitable for in WUS DCI is applicable. The shown table 1 is a bitmap of the embodiments of the invention; further see page 16 first three paragraphs (i.e. bitmap of WUS DRX cell service group wherein suitable bit is accordance with first/second DRX …it can represent as DRX index).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Deng with the teachings of Prasad to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about (1) different PS-RNTI values correspond to different respective physical-layer power-saving indication information; further prasad fails to teach (2) wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index; greater way resources can be managed/utilized to carry out effective communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 5, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 1, wherein the mapping relationship comprises one or more of the following:
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to all DRX configurations of one terminal;
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to a DRX configuration associated with one multicast and broadcast service (MBS);
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to a DRX configuration associated with one MBS session;
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to a DRX configuration with a specified DRX index;
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to a DRX configuration associated with one group-radio network temporary identity (Group-RNTI); Prasad see [0084] regarding all DRX and [0087] regarding MBS C-DRX..
Regarding claim 7, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 1, wherein the determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information and the physical-layer power-saving reference information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations comprises one or more of the following:
starting or not starting, by the terminal, DRX on-duration timers of all DRX configurations;
starting or not starting, by the terminal, a DRX on-duration timer of a target DRX configuration associated with a target MBS service or a target MBS session;
starting or not starting, by the terminal, a DRX on-duration timer of a first target DRX configuration, wherein a configuration index of the first target DRX configuration or a Group-RNTI associated with the first target DRX configuration corresponds to the physical-layer power-saving configuration;
starting or not starting, by the terminal, a DRX on-duration timer of a second target DRX configuration, wherein a configuration index of the second target DRX configuration is a DRX index indicated by a DCI bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information; Prasad [0084, 0115,0135]… whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration..
Regarding claim 8, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 1, wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises one or more of the following information: an effective duration of the physical-layer power-saving indication information, and a quantity of DRX configurations for which the physical-layer power-saving indication information is in effect; Prasad [0084, 0115,0135] effective duration.
Regarding claim 9, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 8, wherein the determining, by the terminal, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations comprises one or more of the following:
starting or not starting, by the terminal, the DRX on-duration timers of all DRX configurations within the effective duration of the physical-layer power-saving indication information;
starting or not starting, by the terminal, a first target quantity of DRX on-duration timers within the defined quantity of DRX configurations for which the physical-layer power-saving indication information is in effect, wherein the first target quantity is related to the quantity of DRX configurations for which the physical-layer power-saving indication information is in effect;
starting or not starting, by the terminal, a DRX on-duration timer of a target DRX configuration associated with a target MBS service or a target MBS session within the effective duration of the physical-layer power-saving indication information;
starting or not starting, by the terminal, a second target quantity of DRX on-duration timers associated with the target MBS service or the target MBS session within the defined quantity of DRX configurations for which the physical-layer power-saving indication information is in effect, wherein the second target quantity is related to the quantity of DRX configurations for which the physical-layer power-saving indication information is in effect;
starting or not starting, by the terminal, a DRX on-duration timer of a second target DRX configuration within the effective duration of the physical-layer power-saving indication information;
starting or not starting, by the terminal, DRX on-duration timers of a third target quantity of second target DRX configurations within the defined quantity of DRX configurations for which the physical-layer power-saving indication information is in effect, wherein the third target quantity is related to the quantity of DRX configurations for which the physical-layer power-saving indication information is in effect; Prasad [0084, 0115,0135]… whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration..
Regarding claim 10, Prasad teaches an information processing method, applied to a network device (see Fig. 1, #115 as a UE (terminal) and 105 as a base station (network device)), comprising:
determining, by the network device, whether a DRX configuration of a terminal needs to be activated (see [0083]… some wireless communications systems may support discontinuous reception (DRX) operations to reduce power consumption at a UE 115. Specifically, a base station 105 may configure a UE 115 with a DRX cycle that includes one or more DRX active durations (in which the UE 115 performs PDCCH monitoring) and one or more DRX inactive durations (in which the UE 115 enters a sleep mode). A UE 115 in a DRX mode may be configured to monitor for a WUS (wake-up signal) outside of a DRX active duration. That is, the UE 115 may be configured with a DRX cycle that includes a set of WUS monitoring occasions; now refer to [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. ….); and
transmitting, by the network device, physical-layer power-saving indication information to the terminal, wherein the physical-layer power-saving indication information is used for the terminal to determine whether to start a DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations corresponding to the physical-layer power-saving indication information (see [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. …The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). …...).
wherein the method further comprises: transmitted by the network device, physical-layer power-saving reference information the terminal, wherein the physical-layer power-saving reference information comprises a physical-layer power-saving configuration and a mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and a DRX configuration; wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration comprises a value of a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (see [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration (i.e. mapping with PS-RNTI). …The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). ….( information regarding DRX can be a reference information).).
But Prasad fails to state about (1) different PS-RNTI values correspond to different respective physical-layer power-saving indication information; further prasad fails to teach (2) wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index.
However Deng teaches (1) on page 18 paragraph third .. it can use the current WUS configuration, RNTI WUS detection in addition to configuration of different PS-RNTI, such as the first DRX suitable for serving cell is PS-RNTI1, RNTI of the second DRX serving cell suitable for WUS detection is PS-RNTI2. UE detects DCI WUS different RNTI scrambling can obtain the corresponding DRX serving cell … ; further Deng states (2) on page 15 last paragraph teaches about current WUS configuration parameters, the serving base station through the RRC signaling indicates the bit information (which may be a bitmap in the one bit of information or DCI in the first multi-bit information) WUS DRX service cell group, at the same time, application of suitable indication bit information service cell group of the second DRX suitable for in WUS DCI is applicable. The shown table 1 is a bitmap of the embodiments of the invention; further see page 16 first three paragraphs (i.e. bitmap of WUS DRX cell service group wherein suitable bit is accordance with first/second DRX …it can represent as DRX index).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Deng with the teachings of Prasad to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about (1) different PS-RNTI values correspond to different respective physical-layer power-saving indication information; further prasad fails to teach (2) wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index; greater way resources can be managed/utilized to carry out effective communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 12, Prasad teaches an information processing apparatus for a terminal, wherein the apparatus comprises: a memory, a transceiver and a processor: wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program: the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor; the processor is configured to read the computer program from the memory to perform the following operations (see Fig. 1, #115 as a UE (terminal) and 105 as a base station (network device)):
receiving physical-layer power-saving indication information transmitted by a network device (see [0083]… some wireless communications systems may support discontinuous reception (DRX) operations to reduce power consumption at a UE 115. Specifically, a base station 105 may configure a UE 115 with a DRX cycle that includes one or more DRX active durations (in which the UE 115 performs PDCCH monitoring) and one or more DRX inactive durations (in which the UE 115 enters a sleep mode). A UE 115 in a DRX mode may be configured to monitor for a WUS (wake-up signal) outside of a DRX active duration. That is, the UE 115 may be configured with a DRX cycle that includes a set of WUS monitoring occasions; now refer to [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. ….); and
determining, based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, whether to start a DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations corresponding to the physical-layer power-saving indication information (see [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. …The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). …...).
wherein the processor is further configured to read the computer program from memory to: receive physical-layer power-saving reference information transmitted by the network device, wherein the physical-layer power-saving reference information comprises a physical-layer power-saving configuration and a mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and a DRX configuration; wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration comprises a value of a power saving radio network temporary identity (PS-RNTI) (see [0084].. WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration (i.e. mapping with PS-RNTI). …The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). ….( information regarding DRX can be a reference information).).
wherein the determining, based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations corresponding to the physical-layer power-saving indication information comprises:
determining, based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information and the physical-layer power-saving reference information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations; already discussed above in context with [0083] pls refer to [0084] A WUS may indicate whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration. …. The WUS may be a PDCCH signal defined by a specific downlink control information (DCI) format (e.g., DCI format 2_6) with a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) scrambled by a power saving radio network temporary identifier (PS-RNTI). A WUS can be configured on a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell (PSCell). A WUS may indicate dormancy behavior for a number (e.g., 5) of secondary cell (SCell) groups. In some cases, a WUS can be jointly received by a group of UEs 115. For example, the group of UEs 115 may receive a WUS based on monitoring one or more CSS sets (i.e. information regarding DRX can be a reference information)
But Prasad fails to state about (1) different PS-RNTI values correspond to different respective physical-layer power-saving indication information; further prasad fails to teach (2) wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index.
However Deng teaches (1) on page 18 paragraph third .. it can use the current WUS configuration, RNTI WUS detection in addition to configuration of different PS-RNTI, such as the first DRX suitable for serving cell is PS-RNTI1, RNTI of the second DRX serving cell suitable for WUS detection is PS-RNTI2. UE detects DCI WUS different RNTI scrambling can obtain the corresponding DRX serving cell … ; further Deng states (2) on page 15 last paragraph teaches about current WUS configuration parameters, the serving base station through the RRC signaling indicates the bit information (which may be a bitmap in the one bit of information or DCI in the first multi-bit information) WUS DRX service cell group, at the same time, application of suitable indication bit information service cell group of the second DRX suitable for in WUS DCI is applicable. The shown table 1 is a bitmap of the embodiments of the invention; further see page 16 first three paragraphs (i.e. bitmap of WUS DRX cell service group wherein suitable bit is accordance with first/second DRX …it can represent as DRX index).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Deng with the teachings of Prasad to make system more effective. Having a mechanism about (1) different PS-RNTI values correspond to different respective physical-layer power-saving indication information; further prasad fails to teach (2) wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index; greater way resources can be managed/utilized to carry out effective communication in the communication system.
Regarding claim 14, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 12, wherein the mapping relationship comprises one or more of the following:
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to all DRX configurations of one terminal;
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to a DRX configuration associated with one multicast and broadcast service (MBS);
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to a DRX configuration associated with one MBS session;
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to a DRX configuration with a specified DRX index;
one physical-layer power-saving configuration corresponds to a DRX configuration associated with one group-radio network temporary identity (Group-RNTI); Prasad see [0084] regarding all DRX and [0087] regarding MBS C-DRX..
Regarding claim 16, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to read the computer program from the memory to perform any one or more of the following:
starting or not starting DRX on-duration timers of all DRX configurations;
starting or not starting a DRX on-duration timer of a target DRX configuration associated with a target MBS service or a target MBS session;
starting or not starting a DRX on-duration timer of a first target DRX configuration, wherein a configuration index of the first target DRX configuration or a Group-RNTI associated with the first target DRX configuration corresponds to the physical-layer power-saving configuration;
starting or not starting a DRX on-duration timer of a second target DRX configuration, wherein a configuration index of the second target DRX configuration is a DRX index indicated by a DCI bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information; Prasad [0084, 0115,0135]… whether a MAC entity of the UE 115 should start a timer (e.g., drx-onDurationTimer) for the next DRX active duration..
Regarding claim 17, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 12, wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises one or more of the following information: an effective duration of the physical-layer power-saving indication information, and a quantity of DRX configurations for which the physical-layer power-saving indication information is in effect; Prasad [0084, 0115,0135] effective duration.
Regarding claim 18, Prasad teaches an information processing apparatus for a network device, wherein the apparatus comprises: a memory, a transceiver and a processor:
wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program: the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive data under the control of the processor: the processor is configured to read the computer program from the memory to perform the information processing method according to claim 10; pls refer to claim 10’s citations.
Regarding claim 29, Prasad teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is configured to be executed by a computer to perform the method according to claim 1; pls refer to claim 1’s citations.
Regarding claim 30, Prasad teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is configured to be executed by a computer to perform the method according to claim 10; pls refer to claim 10’s citations.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0033440 A1), hereafter Prasad in view of Deng et al. (CN 110830225 A) and further in view of Shrivastava et al. (US Pub. No. 2024/0187823 A1), hereafter Vinay.
Regarding claim 2, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 1, but Kadiri fails to state about wherein the target DRX configuration comprises a DRX configuration for a point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission, or the target DRX configuration comprises the DRX configuration for the PTM transmission and a DRX configuration for a point-to-point (PTP) transmission; however Vinay teaches in [0008] regarding …a method of a user equipment (UE) for multicast broadcast service (MBS) discontinuous reception (DRX) in a wireless communication system, the method comprises: receiving, from a base station, a DRX configuration for the MBS…; now refer to [0041].. herein for DRX scheduling or configuration for MBS includes configuring a MBS bearer to have a DRX configuration that is identical to a unicast DRX configuration if the MBS bearer includes a PTP reception path. The method includes configuring the MBS bearer to have a DRX configuration different from the unicast DRX configuration if the MBS bearer includes a PTM reception path; further see [0042- 0044]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Vinay with the teachings of Prasad in view of Deng to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the target DRX configuration comprises a DRX configuration for a point-to-multipoint (PTM) transmission, or the target DRX configuration comprises the DRX configuration for the PTM transmission and a DRX configuration for a point-to-point (PTP) transmission; greater way standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 6, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiri et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0033440 A1), hereafter Prasad in view of Deng et al. (CN 110830225 A) and in further view of Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0247501 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 3, but Prasad is silent about
the determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information and the physical-layer power-saving reference information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, the physical-layer power-saving configuration, the mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and the DRX configuration, and the indication information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations; however Kim teaches about determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information and the physical-layer power-saving reference information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations comprises:
determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, the physical-layer power-saving configuration, the mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and the DRX configuration, and the indication information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations (refer to [0351] a PS-RNTI for DCI format 2_6 by ps-RNTI [0352] a number of search space sets, by dci-Format2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 on the active DL BWP of the PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space [0353] a payload size for DCI format 2_6 by SizeDCI_2-6 [0354] a location in DCI format 2_6 of a Wake-up indication bit by PSPositionDCI2-6, where [0355] the UE may not start the drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle when a value of the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit is ‘0’, and [0356] the UE starts the drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle when a value of the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit is ‘1’ [0357] a bitmap, when the UE is provided a number of groups of configured SCells by Scell-group s-for-dormancy-outside-active-time, where [0358] the bitmap location is immediately after the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit location). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Prasad in view of Deng to make system more efficient. Having a mechanism wherein determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information and the physical-layer power-saving reference information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations comprises: determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, the physical-layer power-saving configuration, the mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and the DRX configuration, and the indication information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations; greater way energy efficient communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 15, Prasad in view of Deng teaches as per claim 12, but Prasad is silent about
the processor is further configured to read the computer program from the memory to: determine, based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, the physical-layer power-saving configuration, the mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and the DRX configuration, and the indication information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations; however Kim teaches regarding indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index ( see [0350] regarding UE configured with DRX mode; refer to [0351] a PS-RNTI for DCI format 2_6 by ps-RNTI [0352] a number of search space sets, by dci-Format2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 on the active DL BWP of the PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space [0353] a payload size for DCI format 2_6 by SizeDCI_2-6 [0354] a location in DCI format 2_6 of a Wake-up indication bit by PSPositionDCI2-6, where [0355] the UE may not start the drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle when a value of the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit is ‘0’, and [0356] the UE starts the drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle when a value of the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit is ‘1’ [0357] a bitmap, when the UE is provided a number of groups of configured SCells by Scell-group s-for-dormancy-outside-active-time, where [0358] the bitmap location is immediately after the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit location); the processor is further configured to read the computer program from the memory to: determine, based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, the physical-layer power-saving configuration, the mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and the DRX configuration, and the indication information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations (refer to [0351] a PS-RNTI for DCI format 2_6 by ps-RNTI [0352] a number of search space sets, by dci-Format2-6, to monitor PDCCH for detection of DCI format 2_6 on the active DL BWP of the PCell or of the SpCell according to a common search space [0353] a payload size for DCI format 2_6 by SizeDCI_2-6 [0354] a location in DCI format 2_6 of a Wake-up indication bit by PSPositionDCI2-6, where [0355] the UE may not start the drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle when a value of the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit is ‘0’, and [0356] the UE starts the drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle when a value of the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit is ‘1’ [0357] a bitmap, when the UE is provided a number of groups of configured SCells by Scell-group s-for-dormancy-outside-active-time, where [0358] the bitmap location is immediately after the ‘PDCCH monitoring’ bit location). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Prasad in view of Deng to make system more efficient. Having a mechanism wherein the physical-layer power-saving configuration further comprises: indication information, used for indicating whether a downlink control information (DCI) bearing the physical-layer power-saving indication information carries a DRX index, and/or used for indicating a correspondence between a specified flag bit in the DCI and the DRX index ; and the determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information and the physical-layer power-saving reference information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations comprises: determining, by the terminal based on the physical-layer power-saving indication information, the physical-layer power-saving configuration, the mapping relationship between the physical-layer power-saving configuration and the DRX configuration, and the indication information, whether to start the DRX on-duration timer of one or more target DRX configurations; greater way energy efficient communication can be carried out in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Papasakellariou (US Pub. No. 2022/0417979 A1) teaches in [0095] regarding a UE (such as the UE 116) that is configured with discontinuous reception (DRX) mode operation, can also be configured to monitor PDCCH on a primary cell, outside an Active Time for a DRX cycle, for detection of a DCI format, referred to as DCI format 2_6 with CRC bits scrambled by a power saving RNTI (PS-RNTI), and a location of a Wake-up indication bit in DCI format 2_6. A ‘0’ value for the Wake-up indication bit, when reported to higher layers, indicates to not start the drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle and a ‘1’ value for the Wake-up indication bit, when reported to higher layers, indicates to start the drx-onDurationTimer for the next long DRX cycle. When the UE is configured search space sets to monitor PDCCH for detection of a DCI format 2_6 and the UE fails to detect the DCI format 2_6, the UE behavior for whether or not the UE starts the drx-onDurationTimer for the next DRX cycle on the primary cell can be configured by higher layers (to start the drx-onDurationTimer or to not start the drx-onDurationTimer). The drx-onDurationTimer is the duration at the beginning of a DRX cycle. When the UE has both multicast and unicast traffic, the buffer for multicast traffic or the buffer for unicast traffic for the UE can be empty prior to a start of a next DRX cycle; further see [0122] regarding bitmap addition.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479