Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
However, applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application or the filing date of said application to overcome any rejection herein because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 and 6 recite a content of BaO being 0-20.0%, however, note that BaO cannot be 0. Specifically, note that as these claims depend on claims 1 and 2 which now require a mass ratio of ZrO2+Na2O/BaO = 1.91 or less, BaO cannot be 0 as this would make the ratio undefined.
Claim 10 is rejected for being dependent on claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107963808 (cited by Applicants).
Regarding claims 1-11: ‘808 teaches chemically strengthened optical glass (abstract, 0102-0103), which necessarily results in a CS surface layer, the glass comprising in mass% a composition as shown below.
“The glass composition, the composition of which is expressed in weight percent: SiO2: 20-40%; ZrO2: 1-12%; TiO2: 10-28%; Nb2O5: 2-15%; Na2O: 4-25%; La2O3: 3 -20%; ZnO: 0-10%; Al2O3: 0-10%; Li2O: 0-10%; K2O: 0-5%; MgO: 0-10%; CaO: 0-10%; SrO: 0- 10%; BaO: 0-10%; B2O3: 0-15%; WO3: 0-10%; Gd2O3: 0-10%; Y2O3: 0-10%; Yb2O3: 0-10%; Sb2O3: 0-1 %.”
The above SiO2 and TiO2 ranges fall within that claimed, the Na2O and CaO ranges overlap the ranges claimed (MPEP 2144.05), the above ZrO2, Na2O and BaO ranges allow for ratio relationships overlapping the ratio claimed (MPEP 2144.05) and the minimum endpoint of the above La2O3 3-20% is so close to the maximum end point of the now claimed range of “less than 3%” to render it obvious (MPEP 2144.05, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
‘808 also teaches the following,
“Further, the refractive index nd of the glass is 1.68-1.77, preferably 1.69-1.76; the Abbe number νd is 25-34, preferably 26-33.”
While ‘808 may not explicitly discuss the impact resistance features claimed as determined by the test method claimed, given that ‘808’s glass meets that claimed and is made by a similar chemical strengthening method as Applicants (see Applicants method of using a molten salt of KNO3 and/or NaNO3 at 370-550oC for 1-1440, preferably 60-800min in par 0114 and 0116 compared to ‘808’s method of using a molten salt of KNO3 and/or NaNO3 at 370-480oC for 4-8hrs (240-480min) in par 0102), one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties when tested similarly (MPEP 2112).
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated by USPub20220162115.
Regarding claims 1-11: ‘115 teaches chemically strengthened optical glass having a CS (DOL) surface layer (abstract, 0117, 0133, 0146), the glass can comprise the following composition in mol% which allows for compositions, when converted to mass%, overlapping that claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
For instance, the above composition allows for composition such as the following,
Taught composition (mol%)
Allows for composition (Mol%)
Wt% conversion (approx.)
SiO2
20-50
45.5
34.7
Al2O3
0-2
0
0
B2O3
0-10
0
0
P2O5
0-5
0
0
Li2O
0-15
0
0
Na2O
0-30
14.5
11.4
K2O
0-10
2
2.4
ΣR2O
5-25
16.5
MgO
0-5
0
0
CaO
0-5
0
0
SrO
0-3
0
0
BaO
0-15
5
9.7
ΣR’O
5-15
5
ZnO
0-5
0
0
TiO2
20-35
28
28.5
Nb2O5
1-15
3
10.1
Σ TiO2+Nb2O5
22-45
31
Ln2O3
0-5
0
0
ZrO2
0-5
2
3.1
Σ(Sb2O3, SnO2, As2O3, SO3, Cl, F)
0-0.5
0
0
Note that the above illustrated composition provides for a mass ratio of (ZrO2 3.1 +Na2O 11.4)/BaO 9.7 of 1.49.
‘115 teaches that their glasses have a refractive index (nd) of 1.65-2.05 (0015) overlapping the range claimed (MPEP 2144.05) and an Abbe number of 20-30 (0019).
While ‘115 may not explicitly discuss the impact resistance features claimed determined by the exact test method claimed (i.e. using a 16.0g SUS ball), given that ‘115’s glass meets that claimed and is made by a similar chemical strengthening method as Applicants (see Applicants method of using a molten salt of KNO3 and/or NaNO3 at 370-550oC for 1-1440, preferably 60-800min in par 0114 and 0116 compared to ‘115’s method of using a molten salt of KNO3 at 350-500oC for 2-8hrs (120-480min) in par 0117, 0133, 0146), one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties when tested similarly (MPEP 2112).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, and 7 of copending Application No. 17/913440 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims overlap in scope with the copending Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed November 20, 2025 with respect to CN108069591 have been considered but are moot as this reference is no longer applied in the present Office Action.
Specifically, in view of ‘591 requiring their glass to have greater than 0-10wt% ZrO2, 10-25wt% Na2O and 0-4wt% BaO, ‘591 cannot meet the limitation of the mass ratio now claimed. Note that the smallest ratio following the above ranges would be 2.5 (0ZrO2+10Na2O/4BaO=2.5) falling outside the claimed range of 1.91 or less.
Applicant's arguments filed November 20, 2025 with respect to CN107963808 and USPub20220162115 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Initially, Applicants argue that ‘808’s Examples fail to include La2O3 content being less than 3wt% as now required by the claims and as ‘808 only teaches a range of 3-20wt%, one skilled in the art would not be motivated to adjust to less than 3wt% as claimed.
This is not persuasive. Initially, while the Examiner agrees that ‘808’s Examples may not include a La2O3 content as claimed, it has been held by the courts that a reference is not limited to their Examples but instead, what it teaches as a whole. In the instant case, as pointed out by Applicants, ‘808 does teach a range of 3-20wt%. While Applicants attempt to argue that one skilled in the art would not be motivated to adjust to less than 3wt% as claimed based on ‘808’s taught range of 3-20wt%, it is noted that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Specifically, the minimum endpoint of the La2O3 3-20% is so close to the maximum end point of the now claimed range of “less than 3%” to render it obvious. As Applicants have yet to provide any evidence of unexpected results or criticality for their claimed range, the rejection is proper.
Applicants argue that ‘115’s Examples fail to meet the combination of the individual La2O3, CaO, TiO2 and SiO2 ranges now claimed.
This is not persuasive. Initially, while the Examiner agrees that ‘115’s Examples may not meet all the range requirements now claimed, it has been held by the courts that a reference is not limited to their Examples but instead, what it teaches as a whole. In the instant case, as discussed in the Office Action, 115’s glass can comprise the following composition in mol% which allows for compositions, when converted to mass%, overlapping that claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
For instance, the above composition allows for composition such as the following,
Taught composition (mol%)
Allows for composition (Mol%)
Wt% conversion (approx.)
SiO2
20-50
45.5
34.7
Al2O3
0-2
0
0
B2O3
0-10
0
0
P2O5
0-5
0
0
Li2O
0-15
0
0
Na2O
0-30
14.5
11.4
K2O
0-10
2
2.4
ΣR2O
5-25
16.5
MgO
0-5
0
0
CaO
0-5
0
0
SrO
0-3
0
0
BaO
0-15
5
9.7
ΣR’O
5-15
5
ZnO
0-5
0
0
TiO2
20-35
28
28.5
Nb2O5
1-15
3
10.1
Σ TiO2+Nb2O5
22-45
31
Ln2O3
0-5
0
0
ZrO2
0-5
2
3.1
Σ(Sb2O3, SnO2, As2O3, SO3, Cl, F)
0-0.5
0
0
Note that the above illustrated composition provides for a mass ratio of (ZrO2 3.1 +Na2O 11.4)/BaO 9.7 of 1.49.
As Applicants have yet to provide any evidence of unexpected results or criticality for any of their ranges, the rejection is proper.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784