DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication filed on November 12, 2025 in response to the first office action on merit.
Remarks
Pending claims for reconsideration are claims 1-6. Applicant has
Amended claims 1, and 4.
Added new claims 7-11.
Response to Arguments
In response to argument- Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims filed on November 12, 2025 have been considered but they are deemed moot in view of the new grounds of rejection (see 102 and 103 rejections below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Patil et al. (US 2021/0160958 Al/ or “Patil” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 1, Patil discloses “A transmitting station comprising a processor configured to” (Fig. 16A: Processor 1630 of AP 1602; and Para 0023):
“divide data, in which a sequence number is allocated, into fragments” (Fig. 8: Step 830; and Para 0081: fragmentation/MPDU is are created);
“allocate a first packet number to the fragments” (Fig. 8: Step 840; and Para 0082: assigns packet number to the MPDUs/fragments);
“encrypt the fragments on a basis of the first packet number” (Fig. 8: Step 858; and Para 0083: the MPDUs/fragments are encrypted);
“transmit the fragments encrypted as a wireless signal to a receiving station” (Fig. 8: Step 862; and Para 0084: the encrypted MPDUs/fragments are transmitted);
“and control retransmission of the data on a basis of a response from the receiving station, wherein when retransmitting the data, the processor resets the first packet number to an initial value” (Para 011: Fig. 8: Step 845, new packet number are assigned to the MPDUs/fragments; and Para 0090),
“requests the receiving station to reset a second packet number managed by the receiving station to an initial value for decryption of the fragments encrypted” (Para 0109: a receiver may flush it buffer when receiving retransmitted packer, where a flush indicator is provided to reset the receiver buffer),
“and reconfigure an unsuccessfully transmitted fragment” (Para 0107: retransmit packets with reconfiguration of Sequence Number (CN) and Packet Number (PN)).
Regarding claim 2, in view of claim 1, Patil discloses “wherein: when retransmitting the data, the processor further requests the receiving station to delete the unsuccessfully transmitted fragment and subsequent fragments, and reconfigures a fragment with a sequence number including the unsuccessfully transmitted fragment, and subsequent fragments” (Para 0109: a receiver may flush it buffer when receiving retransmitted packer, where a flush indicator is provided to reset the receiver buffer).
Regarding claim 4, Patil discloses “A receiving station comprising a processor configured to” (Fig. 16B: Processor 1635 of STA 1604; and Para 0023):
“detect success or failure of reception of fragments encrypted included in a wireless signal received from a transmitting station, a sequence number and a packet number being allocated to the fragments” (Fig. 13: Step 1354; and Para 0103: the receiving using validates the CRC for each encrypted MPDU);
“decrypt the fragments encrypted for which reception has succeeded on a basis of a first packet number allocated to the fragments encrypted for which the reception has succeeded” (Fig. 13: Step 1356; and Para 0103: decrypts the encrypted MPDUs);
“perform replay detection of the fragments decrypted, on a basis of the first packet number, and a second packet number managed corresponding to the fragments decrypted” (Fig. 13: Step 1380; and Para 0104: performs replay check based on the packet numbers);
“send out a response including a reception status of the fragments encrypted to the transmitting station depending on a detection result” (Para 0107: based on an acknowledgement retransmit determination is made; and Para 0109: the fragment is retransmitted),
“wherein the processor resets the second packet number to an initial value in response to a request from the transmitting station when retransmitting data” (Para 0109: a receiver may flush it buffer when receiving retransmitted packer, where a flush indicator is provided to reset the receiver buffer).
Regarding claim 5, in view of claim 4, Patil discloses “further comprising: a buffer that holds fragments for which the reception has succeeded, wherein the processor clears the buffer in response to a request from the transmitting station when retransmitting the data” (Para 0109: a receiver may flush it buffer when receiving retransmitted packer, where a flush indicator is provided to reset the receiver buffer).
Regarding claim 7, in view of claim 4, Patil discloses “wherein performing the replay detection includes comparing a packet number extracted from one of the fragments decrypted with the second packet number” (Para 0104: a replay attack is determined based packet number (PN)).
Regarding claim 8, in view of claim 7, Patil discloses “wherein performing the replay detection includes discarding the one of the fragments decrypted if the packet number extracted from the one of the fragments decrypted is less than or equal to the second packet number” (Para 0097: a replay attack is determined if PN number is repeated or not increasing or decreasing).
Regarding claim 9, in view of claim 7, Patil discloses “wherein performing the replay detection includes discarding the one of the fragments decrypted if the packet number extracted from the one of the fragments decrypted is not a sequential number” (Para 0108: a replay attack is determined if PN number is not monotonically increasing).
Regarding claim 10, in view of claim 4, Patil discloses “wherein the processor is configured to increment the second packet number for each of the fragments decrypted that passes the replay detection” (Para 0108: a replay attack is determined if PN number is not monotonically increasing).
Regarding claim 11, in view of claim 4, Patil discloses “wherein the processor is configured to perform the replay detection after performing the decryption of the fragments” (Fig. 13: Step 1356 is decryption step, and Step 1380 is a replay check based on the packet number; and Para 0103-0104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil in view of Ming Gan (U.S. Patent Application Publication No.: US 20220149991 A1 / or “Gan” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 3, in view of claim 1, Patil disclose retransmit packets with reconfiguration of Sequence Number and Packet Number (Patil Para 0107).
But Patil fails to specially disclose encrypting the packet based on Counter-mode with CBC-MAC protocol (CCMP) method.
However, Gan discloses “wherein: the processor encrypts the fragments by a Counter-mode with CBC-MAC protocol (CCMP) method” (Gan, Para 0073: encrypting the packet based on Counter-mode with CBC-MAC protocol (CCMP) method).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the teachings of encrypting the packet based on CCMP method of Gan to the of Patil to create a system where packets are encrypted CCMP method to secure the content and the ordinary person skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine to enhance security of the packets being transmitted by using message integrity code (Gan, Para 0073).
Regarding claim 6, in view of claim 4, Patil in view of Gan disclose “wherein: the processor decrypts the fragments encrypted, by a Counter-mode with CBC-MAC protocol (CCMP) method” (Gan, Para 0073) [see motivation of claim 3].
Relevant Prior Arts
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bang et al. (U.S. Patent No.: US 11082887 B2) discloses:
[Abstract] A method for frame retransmission performed by a first wireless terminal in a wireless LAN system comprises the steps of: dividing an MSDU received from an upper layer of a first wireless terminal into multiple MPDUs; transmitting the multiple divided MPDUs to a second wireless terminal, wherein each of the multiple divided MPDUs includes division information and transmission sequence information; if an ACK frame for notifying of successful reception of the multiple divided MPDUs is not received until a preset time elapses, transmitting, to the second wireless terminal, a BAR frame for determining at least one MPDU to be retransmitted by the first wireless terminal among the multiple divided MPDUs; receiving a BA frame from the second wireless terminal in response to the BAR frame, wherein the BA frame includes frame information indicating a last MPDU successfully received by the second wireless terminal among the multiple divided MPDUs; and performing a retransmission procedure on the basis of the frame information.
Lambert et al. (U.S. Patent No.: US 9264404 B1) discloses encrypting data using CCMP (Col 1: lines 57-62).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ABDULLAH ALMAMUN/Examiner, Art Unit 2431
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431