DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 23 April 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Semeni et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0350421 – previously cited) in view of Holls et al. (USPN 5,372,139).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semeni et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0350421 – previously cite) in view of Holls et al. (USPN 5,372,139).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 15, Semeni discloses a device, method, and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for extracting a fetal ECG (e.g. ¶ 15, 16), comprising: processing circuitry (e.g. ¶ 107) configured to: determine a coherence between a maternal ECG and an abdominal ECG (e.g. ¶ 38, 101, Fig. 8; in order to analyze the fetal cardiac signal, signals recorded from the body surface of a pregnant woman (abdominal ECG) are processed to obtain a purified fetal cardiac signal; signal quality of the ECG electrode recordings can be assessed by comparing temporal and spectral coherence between recorded channels; periodic components are extracted from the dataset using maternal and fetal ECG beat synchronization), attenuate the maternal ECG independent of the coherence (e.g. ¶ 95, 99; as in the attenuation of the maternal signal, at each iteration, one, a subset, or the full N-dimensional space may be processed; Fig. 8B shows the maternal components are extracted from the ECG), and extract a fetal ECG from the abdominal ECG based on the coherence and the attenuated maternal ECG (e.g. ¶ 38, 95, 101, Fig. 8D; the maternal cardiac interference is removed (attenuated) and the desired fetal signals are extracted; in this case, rather than identifying the maternal heartbeats, the fetal heartbeats are identified in the remaining signal; in this enhancement phase, a subspace, which exhibits periodicity at the fetal heartrate, is enhanced; as in the attenuation of the maternal signal, one or more iterations may be performed, and at each iteration, one, a subset, or the full N-dimensional space may be processed; periodic components are extracted from the dataset using maternal and fetal ECG beat synchronization).
Semeni fails to explicitly recite that the maternal attenuation step is performed independent of the determined coherence using an impulse-response transfer function, and then that extraction uses both the coherence and the modified maternal ECG.
Holls teaches it is known to suppress maternal ECG in an abdominal fetal ECG recording using a maternal reference, comprising: at least one abdominal lead containing fetal ECG and interfering maternal ECG (e.g. Fig. 1) and an adaptive filter that muses a maternal reference to replicate the maternal component in the abdominal lead through scale factors (e.g. column 2, lines 34 – 52; the cited reference “Adaptive Noise Canceling: Principals and Applications” also teaches estimation of coefficients from maternal reference independent of a separately computed coherence spectrum).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Semeni with the maternal attenuation step as taught by Holls, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using a known method to efficiently determine fetal residual.
Regarding claims 2, 10, and 16, Semeni discloses dividing the maternal ECG and the abdominal ECG into epochs and extracting the fetal ECG for each of the epochs (e.g. Fig. 11 and ¶ 34, 66).
Regarding claims 5, 12, and 18, Semeni discloses the maternal ECG is attenuated based on a periodogram of the maternal ECG and a periodogram of the abdominal ECG (e.g. Fig. 8D and ¶ 101).
Regarding claim 7, Semeni discloses determining a signal quality of the fetal ECG using machine learning (e.g. ¶ 96; the fetal cardiac signal is enhanced by using a deflation method trained over the fetal R-peaks).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 8, 11, 14, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semeni et al. in view of Holls et al., and further in view of Wang et al. (CN 111434305 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 3, 11, and 17, Semeni in view of Holls discloses the claimed invention except for determining the coherence between the maternal ECG and the abdominal ECG in the frequency domain.
Wang teaches it is known to determine the coherence between the maternal ECG and the abdominal ECG in the frequency domain (e.g. page 2, ¶ 17 and page 6, ¶ 10; the electrocardio components of the mother and the electrocardio components of the fetus are overlapped in a frequency domain; a fetal electrocardiogram extraction method based on a convolutional encoding and decoding neural network comprises the following steps: 1) data preprocessing, collecting a path of signal on the abdomen of the mother body by using an electrode, wherein the sampling frequency is 250Hz). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the determining the coherence as taught by Semeni in view of Holls with doing so in the frequency domain as taught by Want, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a fetal electrocardiogram extraction system which is based on a convolutional coding and decoding neural network in order to improve the extraction efficiency and the extraction accuracy and a method using the system.
Regarding claim 4, Semeni in view of Holls discloses using machine learning as discussed above, but doesn’t explicitly recite using machine learning to determine the maternal ECG from the abdominal ECG.
Wang teaches it is known to determine the maternal ECG from the abdominal ECG using machine learning (e.g. page 2, ¶ 17 and page 6, ¶ 10; a fetal electrocardiogram extraction method based on a convolutional encoding and decoding neural network comprises the following steps: 1) data preprocessing, collecting a path of signal on the abdomen of the mother body by using an electrode, wherein the sampling frequency is 250Hz). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the determining of the maternal ECG as taught by Semeni in view of Holls with using machine learning to do so as taught by Wang, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a fetal electrocardiogram extraction system which is based on a convolutional coding and decoding neural network in order to improve the extraction efficiency and the extraction accuracy and a method using the system.
Regarding claims 8, 14, and 20, Semeni in view of Holls discloses using machine learning as discussed above, but doesn’t explicitly recite using machine learning to determine at least one fetal cardiac time interval based on the fetal ECG.
Wang teaches it is known to use machine learning to determine at least one fetal cardiac time interval based on the fetal ECG (e.g. page 6, ¶ 10-12; data preprocessing, collecting a path of signal on the abdomen of the mother body by using an electrode, wherein the sampling frequency is 250Hz, the signal samples are uniformly cropped to a fixed size that matches the size of the convolutional codec neural network input used in the method or the signal is acquired directly at the time of acquiring the signal, e.g., 2 or 4 seconds in length). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Semeni in view of Holls with the machine learning to determine at least one fetal cardiac time interval as taught by Wang, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of providing a fetal electrocardiogram extraction system which is based on a convolutional coding and decoding neural network in order to improve the extraction efficiency and the extraction accuracy and a method using the system.
Claim(s) 6, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semeni et al. in view of Holls et al., and further in view of Yuan et al. (CN 112826513 – in IDS).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 19, Semeni in view of Holls discloses the claimed invention except for calculating a loss function for the fetal ECG based on a number of missed heartbeats and a number of false heartbeats.
Yuan teaches it is known to calculate a loss function for the fetal ECG based on a number of missed heartbeats and a number of false heartbeats (e.g. page 3, ¶ 23 and page 7, ¶ 8; loss function score; obtained heartbeat probability sequence; ACCU/accuracy obtained by 14 electrocardiograms of the coordination data set is 90.2%, after the sliding window detection, the heart beats of misrecognition (false hearts) and missed recognition can be corrected according to the prior knowledge, and finally, the results of the fetal heart rate measured by 4 signals are selected). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Semeni in view of Holls with the calculating as taught by Yuan, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improving a loss function, and enabling the network to be more concentrated on samples which are difficult to classify in the training process by reducing the weight of the loss function of samples which are easy to classify.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cheng et al. (US PGPUB 2016/0198969) discloses fetal heart rate extraction from maternal abdominal ECG recordings.
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796