DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/27/2024 and 03/01/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekels [DE 102016014192], Applicant cited prior art.
Claim 1, Sekels discloses a device for moving a magnetic object [12] in a container [14], having dipoles [5/9] grouped around the container and a quadrupole [6/7/11], wherein the magnetic fields of the dipoles and of the quadrupole can be moved relative to one another [abs], wherein two pairs of dipoles [5/9] are arranged in different planes [figures 4a and 4e], at a distance from one another [figures 4a and 4e], and wherein two quadrupoles [6/11 and 7] are arranged in a plane between the planes of the two dipoles [highlighted portion of page 5].
Claim 2, Sekels discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein magnets are arranged in Halbach cylinders [highlighted portion of page 4] in order to generate the dipoles [5/9] and the quadrupoles [6/11, 7], and enclose a space [3] intended for the container [14].
Claim 3, Sekels discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein two Halbach cylinders, each having magnets for generating the dipoles [5/9] and/or the quadrupoles are arranged concentric to one another [figures 4a and 4e; highlighted portion of page 5].
Claim 4, Sekels discloses the device according to claim 2, wherein the Halbach cylinders, which enclose one another concentrically, can be moved relative to one another [highlighted portion of pages 4 and 5].
Claim 5, Sekels discloses the device according to claim 2, wherein the dipoles [5/9] and quadrupoles [6/11, 7], which are configured as Halbach cylinders [highlighted portion of page 5], have a drive apparatus, in each instance, and are mounted so as to rotate relative to one another [highlighted portion of page 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sekels [DE 102016014192], in view of Schostek [EP-2347699-A1], both Applicant cited prior art.
Claim 8, Sekels discloses the device according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic object [12] is configured to be introduced into a human body or an animal body [abs, particles 12 are in a human body].
Sekels fails to specifically teach that Sekels magnetic object is arranged in a probe.
Schostek teaches a magnetic object [5] that is arranged in a probe [1/2/26] that is configured to be introduced into a human body [15] or an animal body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the magnetic object of Sekels in a probe as taught by Schostek in order to provide data as the magnetic particle is moved through the body via a magnetic field [Schostek abs]
Claim 9, Sekels as modified discloses the device according to claim 8, wherein Schostek teaches that the probe [1/2/269] has at least one sensor [16] for capturing data.
Claim 10, Sekels as modified discloses the device according to claim 8, wherein Schostek teaches that an induction coil [3] is arranged in the probe [1/2/26].
Claim 11, Sekels discloses the device according to claim 1, with the exception of the magnetic object is configured as a permanent magnet.
Schostek teaches a magnetic object [5] that is configured to be introduced into a human body [15] wherein the magnetic object is configured as a permanent magnet [abs].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention configure the magnetic object of Sekels as a permanent magnet as taught by Schostek in order to guide provide a means to direct the magnetic object in the body since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837