DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “141”, “133b”, “134a”, “134b”, “135a” and “135b”. Also, in Fig. 10 “133b” points to two different items.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “at least one direction-change assembly” in Line 15 of the Claim. It is not clear if there can be more than one “direction-change assembly” as recited in Line 15 or “direction-change assembly” is singular as recited in Line 7 of the claim rendering the claim indefinite. For examination purposes, “at least one direction change assembly” is being interpreted as “the direction change assembly”.
The remaining claims are rejected because they depend on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-28, 31-36 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingram-Tedd et al. 2019/0161273.
In Re Claim 20, Ingram-Tedd et al. teach a load handling device (100) for lifting and moving storage containers (106) stacked in a grid based storage system framework structure including a first set of parallel rails or tracks and a second set of parallel rails or tracks extending substantially perpendicularly to the first set of rails or tracks in a substantially horizontal plane to form a grid having a grid pattern with a plurality of grid spaces, (abstract) wherein the grid is supported by a set of uprights (See Uprights, Fig. 5) to form a plurality of vertical storage locations beneath the grid for containers to be stacked between and be guided by the uprights in a vertical direction through the plurality of grid spaces, (See Fig. 5) the load handling device comprising: a skeleton including a frame (Body shown Fig. 11-13) defining a volume having an upper portion (Upper portion shown, Fig. 11-13), a lower portion (Lower portion connected to slides 210, Fig. 11-13), and a middle halo (Outer rim shown in Fig. 11-13 between top portion and bottom portion) between the upper portion and the lower portion; a first set of wheels (200) arranged on the lower part of the skeleton and a second set of wheels (200) arranged on the lower part of the skeleton, the first set of wheels being configured and arranged to engage with a first set of parallel tracks and the second set of wheels being configured and arranged to engage with a second set of parallel tracks; (see Fig. 5) and a direction-change assembly (300) arranged to raise or lower the first set of wheels with respect to the skeleton, and or lower or raise the second set of wheels with respect to the skeleton to engage and disengage the first and second sets of wheels with the first and second sets of parallel tracks, the direction-change assembly being located between the middle halo and the first set of wheels and or the second set of wheels, and wherein the direction-change assembly includes a cam mechanism (300, 310) (Fig. 11-13). (Paragraph 72 and 75)
In Re Claim 21, Ingram-Tedd teaches a wheel chassis (Wheel panel shown, Fig. 11), wherein the cam mechanism is fixed directly to the wheel chassis (See Fig. 12) for mounting a pair of respective first set of wheels or second set of wheels.
In Re Claim 22, Ingram-Tedd teaches a fixed brace (moveable panels, Paragraph 77) constrained by one or more mountings (232) on the skeleton to move only in a vertical direction. (Paragraph 77)
In Re Claim 23, Ingram-Tedd teaches a wherein the direction-change assembly is configured and arranged to raise or lower the first set of wheels and synchronously, and respectively, lower or raise the second set of wheels with respect to the skeleton. (See Paragraph 77, “at the same time”)
In Re Claim 24, Ingram-Tedd teaches wherein the cam mechanism comprises: engagement means between a traveler (300) and a fixed brace (310). (Fig. 13a, Fig. 13b)
In Re Claim 25, Ingram-Tedd teaches a single cam arrangement, or a double cam arrangement, or a triple cam arrangement. (See Fig. 13a, 13b)
In Re Claim 26, Ingram-Tedd teaches wherein the cam mechanism is configured and arranged in a single vertical plane between the middle halo and a respective pair of wheels. (See Fig. 12)
In Re Claim 27, Ingram-Tedd teaches at least a single motor, wherein the direction-change assembly is operated by the single motor, or by more than one motor (Paragraph 76). (See Fig. 13a, 13b)
In Re Claim 28, Ingram-Tedd teaches a drive belt, wherein respective pairs of the first set of wheels and the second set of wheels are driven by the drive belt, and the cam mechanism is located within an area defined by a path of the drive belt. (See Paragraph 79)
In Re Claim 31, Ingram-Tedd teaches wherein at least a part of the cam mechanism includes 3-D printed features, and/or is substantially topologically optimized. (See Fig. 12 and 13)
In Re Claim 32, Ingram-Tedd teaches wherein the load handling device comprises: a lifting device (104, Paragraph 63 and 64) supported by the upper portion of the skeleton, for lifting containers into the volume.
In Re Claim 33, Ingram-Tedd teaches a method of changing the engagement of sets of wheels (200) with a track, of a load handling device (Fig. 12) having a skeleton including a frame (Body shown Fig. 11-13) defining a volume having an upper portion (Upper portion shown, Fig. 11-13), a lower portion (Lower portion connected to slides shown, Fig. 11-13), and a middle halo (Outer rim shown in Fig. 11-13 between top portion and bottom portion) between the upper portion and the lower portion; a first set of wheels (200, Fig. 10-13) arranged on the lower part of the skeleton and a second set of wheels (200, Fig. 10-13) arranged on the lower part of the skeleton, the first set of wheels being configured and arranged to engage with a first set of parallel tracks and the second set of wheels being configured and arranged to engage with a second set of parallel tracks; (Abstract) and a direction-change assembly (300, 310, Fig. 11-13) arranged to raise or lower the first set of wheels with respect to the skeleton, and or lower or raise the second set of wheels with respect to the skeleton to engage and disengage the first and second sets of wheels with the first and second sets of parallel tracks, (Paragraph 74) the direction-change assembly being located between the middle halo and the first set of wheels and or the second set of wheels, (Fig. 11-13) and wherein the direction-change assembly includes a cam mechanism (300, 310), where the load handling device operates on a grid framework structure including tracks, (Paragraph 74) the method comprising: applying a force to a traveler (pin, Paragraph 76) of the direction-change assembly in a first direction F1, causing cam mechanism to move to a first limit (end of cam 310, Fig. 11-13); (Paragraph 76) or applying a force to the traveler of the direction-change assembly in a second direction F2, causing cam mechanism to move to a second limit (end of cam 310, Fig. 11-13); (Paragraph 76)
In Re Claim 34, as best understood, Ingram-Tedd teaches a kit of parts for modular assembly of a load handling device having a skeleton including a frame (Body shown Fig. 11-13) defining a volume having (Upper portion shown, Fig. 11-13), a lower portion (Lower portion connected to slides 210, Fig. 11-13), and a middle halo (Outer rim shown in Fig. 11-13 between top portion and bottom portion) between the upper portion and the lower portion; a first set of wheels (200) arranged on the lower part of the skeleton and a second set of wheels (200) arranged on the lower part of the skeleton, the first set of wheels being configured and arranged to engage with a first set of parallel tracks (See Fig. 5 and 6) and the second set of wheels (See Fig. 5 and 6) being configured and arranged to engage with a second set of parallel tracks; (See Fig. 5 and 6) and a direction-change assembly (300, 310) arranged to raise or lower the first set of wheels with respect to the skeleton, (Paragraph 74) and or lower or raise the second set of wheels with respect to the skeleton to engage and disengage the first and second sets of wheels with the first and second sets of parallel tracks, (Paragraph 74) the direction-change assembly being located between the middle halo and the first set of wheels and or the second set of wheels, (Fig. 11-13) and wherein the direction-change assembly includes a cam mechanism (300, 310), the kit comprising: the skeleton, the first set of wheels and the second set of wheels, wherein the skeleton is configured to be mounted on the first set of wheels and the second set of wheels; (Fig. 11-13) and at least one direction-change assembly including at least one cam mechanism, each cam mechanism having a traveler (Pin, Paragraph 74), a fixed brace (310), a follower (arm shown, Fig. 11-13) and a cam pathway (Slot of 310, Fig. 11-13).
In Re Claim 35, Ingram-Tedd teaches at least two cam mechanisms (Fig. 13a) and a transfer belt (Paragraph 79).
In Re Claim 36, Ingram-Tedd teaches, comprising: at least one direction change motor (Paragraph 76).
In Re Claim 38, Ingram-Tedd teaches, comprising at least one of: a set of wheels (200, Fig. 11-13), a drive assembly, a gripper assembly, a lifting assembly, a communications system, and/or a sensor means.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingram-Tedd and in view of Kensil 2019/0229003.
In Re Claim 29, Ingram-Tedd teaches the device of Claim 20 as discussed above.
Ingram-Tedd does not teach sensing means for determining engagement of the first set of wheels or second set of wheels with the parallel tracks.
However, Kensil teaches a sensing means (31a, 31b, 31c, 31d) for determining engagement of the first set of wheels or second set of wheels with the parallel tracks (22a). (Paragraph 32)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to add a sensing means to the device of Ingram-Tedd as taught by Kensil with a reasonable expectation for success in order to drive more accurately.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingram-Tedd and in view of Pankonien et al. 12,140,414.
In Re Claim 37, Ingram-Tedd teaches the device of Claim 34 as discussed above.
Ingram-Tedd is silent concerning at least one part has 3-D printed features.
However, Pankonien et al. teach at least one part has 3-D printed features. (Claim 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the application was filed to use a part comprising 3-D printed features in the kit of Ingram-Tedd as taught by Pankonien et al. with a reasonable expectation for success in order to produce less waste during production.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Fryer et al., Fjeldheim et al., and Austrheim teach load handling devices operating on a grid with a first set of wheels and a second set of wheels and a direction change assembly.
GLENN F. MYERS
Examiner
Art Unit 3652
/GLENN F MYERS/Examiner, Art Unit 3652