Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “angle relative to the first and second wires” in claim 1, “a reference potential” in claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 9 recites “the second and third wires are connected to a reference potential.”. The specification/drawings are silent on where the reference potential is located that connects the second and third wire. A reference potential is defined as:
Reference potential is the stable, well-known electrode potential of a reference electrode used to measure the potential of another electrode in an electrochemical cell.
As per Copilot search. The examiner will use this definition to interpret the claim language in claim 9.
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, the limitation of “a reference potential” seems unclear. While the specification does not mention a “reference potential”. It is unclear where the “reference potential” is located in the device, what the purpose is for “reference potential”, and what the structure is for the “reference potential”.
A reference potential is defined as:
Reference potential is the stable, well-known electrode potential of a reference electrode used to measure the potential of another electrode in an electrochemical cell.
As per Copilot search. The examiner will use this definition to interpret the claim language in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140175078 A1 – Davignon in view of US 20210331203 A1 – Nakano and US 20230144393 A1 – Kawada.
Regarding claim 1, Davignon is directed towards a heater/sensor device. Davignon does teach a sensor assembly comprising: ([0015] The object 10 preferably comprises at least one sensor device 2.), a first wire attached to a first side of the first sheet ([0026] It is also possible to provide that several of the four mentioned strand types comprise at least one function element 70 or at least one conducting strand 60.); and a second wire arranged parallel to the first wire and attached to a second side of the first sheet that is opposite the first side (Figure 3a and [0029] It is also possible to provide that several strand types have an identical function or conducting strands 60 with identical function. This relates particularly to the seam threads arranged in each case on the same side of a support and to an accompanying strand.);
Davignon does not expressly teach a third wire attached to a first side of the second sheet facing the second side of the first sheet; and a fourth wire arranged parallel to the third wire and attached to a second side of the second sheet that is opposite the first side of the second sheet, a first sheet of an electrically non-conducting material, a second sheet of the electrically non-conducting material arranged parallel to the first sheet; and a heater assembly arranged adjacent to the sensor assembly, wherein the third and fourth wires are arranged at an angle relative to the first and second wires.
Although Davignon does not expressly teach a third wire attached to a first side of the second sheet facing the second side of the first sheet; and a fourth wire arranged parallel to the third wire and attached to a second side of the second sheet that is opposite the first side of the second sheet, the same structure that is used for the first, second wires, and first sheet can be used for multiple functions such as but not limited to heating and sensing circuits found in ¶0024-0027,and so can be used form a third wire attached to a first side of the second sheet facing the second side of the first sheet; ([0026] It is also possible to provide that several of the four mentioned strand types comprise at least one function element 70 or at least one conducting strand 60.); and a fourth wire arranged parallel to the third wire and attached to a second side of the second sheet that is opposite the first side of the second sheet, (Figure 3a and [0029] It is also possible to provide that several strand types have an identical function or conducting strands 60 with identical function. This relates particularly to the seam threads arranged in each case on the same side of a support and to an accompanying strand.), since “the courts have held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960): (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.)” MPEP § 2144.04-VI-B.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to add a third wire attached to a first side of the second sheet facing the second side of the first sheet; and a fourth wire arranged parallel to the third wire and attached to a second side of the second sheet that is opposite the first side of the second sheet since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Kawada is directed towards a heater and sensor unit. Kawada does teach a heater assembly arranged adjacent to the sensor assembly ([0043] FIG. 4A is a view showing a positional relationship between a contact portion of the load sensor and the seat heater and is a view showing a state where four heater wires overlap the contact portion.), wherein the third and fourth wires are arranged at an angle relative to the first and second wires. (Figure 4A and 4B).
The combination of the heater and sensors positioning of Kawada with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heater and sensors to be close to each other for a low profile fit and remain electrically isolated.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include a heater assembly arranged adjacent to the sensor assembly and wherein the third and fourth wires are arranged at an angle relative to the first and second wires because the heater and sensors positioning of Kawada with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heater and sensors to be close to each other for a low profile fit and remain electrically isolated.
Nakano is directed towards a heating device. Nakano does teach a first sheet of an electrically non-conducting material and a second sheet of the electrically non-conducting material arranged parallel to the first sheet ([0054] The electrostatic sheet 10 includes at least an insulating sheet 11);
The combination of the insulation sheet of Nakano with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows for first and second wires, as well as the third and fourth wires, to be isolated from each other to avoid shorts while having more surface area for more effective heating and sensing.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include a first sheet of an electrically non-conducting material and a second sheet of the electrically non-conducting material arranged parallel to the first sheet because the heater and sensor of Davignon allows for first and second wires, as well as the third and fourth wires, to be isolated from each other to avoid shorts while having more surface area for more effective heating and sensing.
Regarding claim 2, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does not expressly teach the angle is greater than zero and less than or equal to 90 degrees.
Kawada does teach wherein the angle is greater than zero and less than or equal to 90 degrees (See figure 4A below).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include the angle is greater than zero and less than or equal to 90 degrees because the heater and senor positing of Kawada with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows for the wiring of each system to be separate and easier to access.
Regarding claim 3, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does not expressly teach the second and third wires contact each other.
Kawada does teach the second and third wires contact each other ([0043] FIG. 4A is a view showing a positional relationship between a contact portion of the load sensor and the seat heater and is a view showing a state where four heater wires overlap the contact portion.). The heating elements and the sensor unit of Kawada are indirectly contacting each other via element 41.
The combination of the sensor and heating wires positioning of Kawada with the heating and sensor of Davignon allows for a low-profile configuration that can fit in a small place such as but not limited to a steering wheel or a passenger seat.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include the second and third wires contact each other because the sensor and heating wires positioning of Kawada with the heating and sensor of Davignon allows for a low-profile configuration that can fit in a small place such as but not limited to a steering wheel or a passenger seat.
Regarding claim 4, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does teach the first, second, third, and fourth wires are made of an electrically conducting material ([0019] It is, for example, an electrical conductor or a conducting strand 60) and are electrically uninsulated ([0027] If at least two of the electrical function elements 70 are arranged on mutually different sides of the support 41, then uninsulated or mutually influencing function elements 70 can thus also be installed in near proximity to one another in a simple and reliable manner.).
Regarding claim 5, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does teach the second and third wires are made of an electrically conducting material ([0019] It is, for example, an electrical conductor or a conducting strand 60).
Although Davignon does not expressly teach one of the second and third wires is electrically insulated, it would be obvious due to there being only a finite number of options whether a wire has an insulated layer or not. The rational for having an insulated layer over non-isolated is to make sure the flow of electricity is protected from outside interference such as but not limited to other wires or metal frames.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention, to perform one of the second and third wires is electrically insulated and to incorporate it into the system of Davignon since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need and one of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 6, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does teach the second and third wires are made of an electrically conducting material ([0019] It is, for example, an electrical conductor or a conducting strand 60).
Although Davignon does not expressly teach at least one of the second and third wires is electrically uninsulated, it would be obvious due to there being only a finite number of options whether a wire has an insulated layer or not. The rational for having an insulated layer over non-isolated is to make sure the flow of electricity is protected from outside interference such as but not limited to other wires or metal frames.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention, to perform at least one of the second and third wires is electrically uninsulated and to incorporate it into the system of Davignon since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need and one of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Davignon does not expressly teach the heater/sensor assembly further comprising a layer of an electrically non-conducting material disposed between the second and third wires.
Kawada does teach the heater/sensor assembly further comprising a layer of an electrically non-conducting material disposed between the second and third wires (Figure 5 and [0074] the intermediate member is not limited to the foundation fabric 41 and may be, for example, a rubber sheet having elasticity.).
The combination of the insulated member between the heater and sensor of Kawada with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heater and sensor to be insulated from each other to avoid a short within the circuit.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include a layer of an electrically non-conducting material disposed between the second and third wires because the insulated member between the heater and sensor of Kawada with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heater and sensor to be insulated from each other to avoid a short within the circuit.
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140175078 A1 – Davignon, US 20210331203 A1 – Nakano and US 20230144393 A1 – Kawada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20150336601 A1 – Maguire.
Regarding claim 7, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does not expressly teach a first circuit configured to control power supply to the fourth wire, and a second circuit configured to output a signal to the first wire and to sense a capacitance based on a frequency of the signal.
Maguire is directed towards a heating and sensor systems for a steering wheel. Maguire does teach a first circuit configured to control power supply to the fourth wire (Figure 1C and [0038] the heater mat 6 … conductive feed wires 56a-56c and 58a-58c extend between the ECU 30); and a second circuit configured to output a signal to the first wire and to sense a capacitance based on a frequency of the signal (Figure 1C and [0038] the sensor mat 8… In particular, sensor return wires 34a-34c extend between the ECU 30).
The combination of the first and second circuit of Maguire with the heat and sensor of Davignon allow for each system to be controlled separately.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include a first circuit configured to control power supply to the fourth wire and a second circuit configured to output a signal to the first wire and to sense a capacitance based on a frequency of the signal because the first and second circuit of Maguire with the heat and sensor of Davignon allow for each system to be controlled separately.
Regarding claim 8, Davignon, Kawada, Maguire and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 7. Davignon does not expressly teach the first circuit, and the second circuit operate independently of each other.
Maguire does teach the first circuit, and the second circuit operate independently of each other. (Figure 1C and [0038] shows that the first and second circuits are completely independent.).
The combination of the first and second circuits of Maguire with the heater and sensor of Davignon allow for using each circuit regardless of if the other fails.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include the first and second circuits of Maguire with the heater and sensor of Davignon allow for using each circuit regardless of if the other fails.
Regarding claim 9, Davignon, Kawada, Maguire and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 7. Davignon does not expressly teach the second and third wires are connected to a reference potential.
Maguire does teach the second and third wires are connected to a reference potential (Figure 1C shows the sensor mat 8 and heating mat 6 being connected to a common ECU 30).
The combination of the heating and sensor wires being connected to the common ECU of Maguire with the heater and sensor of Davignon allow for a common connect that can be used for trouble shooting.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include the second and third wires are connected to a reference potential because the heating and sensor wires being connected to the common ECU of Maguire with the heater and sensor of Davignon allow for a common connect that can be used for trouble shooting.
Regarding claim 10, Davignon, Kawada, Maguire and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 7. Davignon does teach the second and third wires are made of an electrically conducting material ([0019] It is, for example, an electrical conductor or a conducting strand 60).
Davignon does not expressly teach one of the second and third wires is electrically insulated and wherein at least one of the first circuit and the second circuit outputs a respective signal to the second and third wires.
Although Davignon does not expressly teach one of the second and third wires is electrically insulated, it would be obvious due to there being only a finite number of options whether a wire has an insulated layer or not. The rational for having an insulated layer over non-isolated is to make sure the flow of electricity is protected from outside interference such as but not limited to other wires or metal frames.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention, to perform one of the second and third wires is electrically insulated and to incorporate it into the system of Davignon since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need and one of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Maguire does teach at least one of the first circuit and the second circuit outputs a respective signal to the second and third wires (Figure 1C shows wires being used to control the separate heater and sensor units).
The combination of the separate wires for controlling the sensor and heater of Maguire and the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the for the units to be controlled independently from each other.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include at least one of the first circuit and the second circuit outputs a respective signal to the second and third wires the separate wires for controlling the sensor and heater of Maguire and the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the for the units to be controlled independently from each other.
Regarding claim 11, Davignon, Kawada, Maguire and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 7. Davignon does teach the second and third wires are made of an electrically conducting material ([0019] It is, for example, an electrical conductor or a conducting strand 60).
Although Davignon does not expressly teach one of the second and third wires is electrically uninsulated, it would be obvious due to there being only a finite number of options whether a wire has an insulated layer or not. The rational for having an insulated layer over non-isolated is to make sure the flow of electricity is protected from outside interference such as but not limited to other wires or metal frames.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the invention, to perform one of the second and third wires is electrically uninsulated and to incorporate it into the system of Davignon since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need and one of ordinary skill in the art would have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success.
Maguire does teach at least one of the first circuit and the second circuit outputs a respective signal to the second and third wires (Figure 1C shows wires being used to control the separate heater and sensor units).
The combination of the separate wires for controlling the sensor and heater of Maguire and the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the for the units to be controlled independently from each other.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include at least one of the first circuit and the second circuit outputs a respective signal to the second and third wires the separate wires for controlling the sensor and heater of Maguire and the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the for the units to be controlled independently from each other.
Kawada does teach the heater/sensor assembly further comprising a layer of an electrically non-conducting material disposed between the second and third wires (Figure 5 and [0074] the intermediate member is not limited to the foundation fabric 41 and may be, for example, a rubber sheet having elasticity.).
The combination of the insulated member between the heater and sensor of Kawada with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heater and sensor to be insulated from each other to avoid a short within the circuit.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include a layer of an electrically non-conducting material disposed between the second and third wires because the insulated member between the heater and sensor of Kawada with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heater and sensor to be insulated from each other to avoid a short within the circuit.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140175078 A1 – Davignon, US 20210331203 A1 – Nakano and US 20230144393 A1 – Kawada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20160270447 A1 – Borkovec.
Regarding claim 12, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does not expressly teach at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth wires includes a single strand wire.
Borkovec is directed towards a smoking device. Borkovec does teach at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth wires includes a single strand wire ([0044] The second heating wire 450 is a solid wire).
The combination of the solid wire of Borkovec with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heating wires to heat at a higher temperature.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth wires includes a single strand wire because the solid wire of Borkovec with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heating wires to heat at a higher temperature.
Regarding claim 13, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does not expressly teach at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth wires includes a multi-strand wire
Borkovec is directed towards a smoking device. Borkovec does teach at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth wires includes a multi-strand wire ([0045] 450 can be envisaged, e.g. a stranded wire, an oval wire, a wire with a surface structure etc.).
The combination of the stranded wire of Borkovec with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heating wires to heat at a lower temperature.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include at least one of the first, second, third, and fourth wires includes a multi-strand wire because the stranded wire of Borkovec with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the heating wires to heat at a lower temperature.
Claim 14 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140175078 A1 – Davignon, US 20210331203 A1 – Nakano and US 20230144393 A1 – Kawada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210206418 A1 – Ito, US 20150122797 A1 – Eggers, and US 20110056930 A1 - Letzas.
Regarding claim 14, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. Davignon does teach the cover layer being electrically non-conducting ([0015] for example, at least one covering 500, made from leather, for example, and/or at least one surface to be heated or to be monitored.).
Davignon does not expressly teach a cover layer arranged adjacent to the first wire, a first adhesive layer disposed between the cover layer and the first wire to adhere the first wire to the cover layer, the first adhesive layer being electrically non-conducting, the second adhesive layer being electrically non-conducting, and a second adhesive layer disposed between the fourth wire and a base portion of the steering wheel to adhere the fourth wire to the base portion of the steering wheel.
Ito is directed towards a sensor and heater unit. Ito does teach a cover layer arranged adjacent to the first wire, ([0004] The surface skin 40 covers an outer circumferential surface of the capacitance sensor 90.), a first adhesive layer disposed between the cover layer and the first wire to adhere the first wire to the cover layer ([0005] the surface skin 40 and the detection electrode layer 91 are bonded by an adhesive layer 41.
The combination of the outer cover and adhesive of Ito with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the sensor unit to be held in place while the unit is in motion.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include a cover layer arranged adjacent to the first wire and a first adhesive layer disposed between the cover layer and the first wire to adhere the first wire to the cover layer because the outer cover and adhesive of Ito with the heater and sensor of Davignon allows the sensor unit to be held in place while the unit is in motion.
Letzas is directed towards a heating device. Letzas does teach a second adhesive layer disposed between the fourth wire and a base portion of the steering wheel to adhere the fourth wire to the base portion of the steering wheel (Figure 3 shows the heating conductor 10 connected to the steering wheel body 3 via an adhesive 12),
The combination of the adhesive layer to the core of a steering wheel of Letzas with the sensor and heater of Davignon allows the wires to remain stable when the steering wheel is in motion.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include a second adhesive layer disposed between the fourth wire and a base portion of the steering wheel to adhere the fourth wire to the base portion of the steering wheel because the adhesive layer to the core of a steering wheel of Letzas with the sensor and heater of Davignon allows the wires to remain stable when the steering wheel is in motion.
Eggers is directed towards a cooking device. Eggers does teach the first adhesive and second layer being electrically non-conducting ([0008] electrically insulative adhesive);
The combination of the electrically insulated adhesive of Eggers with the heater and sensor of Davignon provides further protection to the heater/sensor system by not allowing the current to travel from one area to another.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include the first adhesive and second layer being electrically non-conducting because the electrically insulated adhesive of Eggers with the heater and sensor of Davignon provides further protection to the heater/sensor system by not allowing the current to travel from one area to another.
Regarding claim 17, Davignon, Kawada, and Nakano does teach the limitations of claim 1. See the rejection of claim 14 above. The difference between claim 14 and claim 17 is the heater and sensor unit is placed in a seat instead of a steering wheel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to be placed in a steering wheel or a seat, since it has been held by the courts that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140175078 A1 – Davignon, US 20210331203 A1 – Nakano, US 20230144393 A1 – Kawada, US 20210206418 A1 – Ito, US 20150122797 A1 – Eggers, and US 20110056930 A1 - Letzas as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of US 20150336601 A1 - Maguire.
Regarding claim 15, Davignon, Nakano, Kawada, Ito, Eggers, and Letzas teach the limitations of claim 14. Davignon does not expressly teach a first circuit configured to control power supply to the fourth wire, and a second circuit configured to output a signal to the first wire and to sense a capacitance based on a frequency of the signal.
Maguire is directed towards a heating and sensor systems for a steering wheel. Maguire does teach a first circuit configured to control power supply to the fourth wire (Figure 1C and [0038] the heater mat 6 … conductive feed wires 56a-56c and 58a-58c extend between the ECU 30); and a second circuit configured to output a signal to the first wire and to sense a capacitance based on a frequency of the signal (Figure 1C and [0038] the sensor mat 8… In particular, sensor return wires 34a-34c extend between the ECU 30).
The combination of the first and second circuit of Maguire with the heat and sensor of Davignon allow for each system to be controlled separately.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include a first circuit configured to control power supply to the fourth wire and a second circuit configured to output a signal to the first wire and to sense a capacitance based on a frequency of the signal because the first and second circuit of Maguire with the heat and sensor of Davignon allow for each system to be controlled separately.
Regarding claim 16, Davignon, Nakano, Kawada, Ito, Eggers, Maguire and Letzas teach the limitations of claim 14. Davignon does not expressly teach the first circuit, and the second circuit operate independently of each other.
Maguire does teach the first circuit and the second circuit operate independently of each other. (Figure 1C and [0038] shows that the first and second circuits are completely independent.).
The combination of the first and second circuits of Maguire with the heater and sensor of Davignon allow for using each circuit regardless of if the other fails.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Davignon to include the first and second circuits of Maguire with the heater and sensor of Davignon allow for using each circuit regardless of if the other fails.
Regarding claim 18, Davignon, Nakano, Kawada, Ito, Eggers, and Letzas teach the limitations of claim 17. See rejection of claim 15 above.
Regarding claim 19, Davignon, Nakano, Kawada, Ito, Eggers, Maguire and Letzas teach the limitations of claim 18. See rejection of claim 16 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210190542 A1 – Wilson teaches a sensor unit with multiple wires and electrical insulation In between said wires.
US 20140253151 A1 – Kandler teaches a sensor and heating system for a motor vehicle.
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761