DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maehara (US Pub. No. 2017/0186519).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, and 4: Maehara teaches a magnetic powder comprising Sm, Fe, and N wherein the Sm to Fe ratio is .123 (9.2/76.8) and the N to Fe ratio is .176 (13.54/76.8) (abstract, [0047], Table 1, Example 2 wherein N is the balance of the recited composition). Maehara does not teach the presence of Ca. Maehara teaches an example wherein the particles that make up the powder have D10 of 2.7 µm, a D90 of 7.8 µm, a D50 of 4.9 µm, wherein (D90-D10)/D50 (span) is 1.04 (Table 3, Example 2).
Regarding Claim 3: Maehara teaches the powder wherein Sm, Fe, and N make up 99.63 wt% (Table 1, Example 2, wherein N is the balance of the composition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maehara (US Pub. No. 2017/0186519).
Maehara teaches the powder of claim 1 as set forth above. Maehara teaches that the circularity of the particles should be ≥ 0.50 ([0077]-[0079]).
Maehara does not teach with sufficient specificity the claimed circularity range of 0.80 or more. However, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05). Furthermore, “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). In the present case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the circularity of the particles to increase fluidity which reduces stress in the particles during magnetic field pressing and increases magnetic characteristics ([0079] of Maehara).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 September 16, 2026