DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, methyl acrylate, Eosin Y, and a composition comprising decellularized porcine corneal tissue functionalized with methacrylate anhydride and photo-initiated with Eosin Y as a photoinitiator, triethanolamine as a co-initiator and N-vinylcaprolactam as a co-monomer in the reply filed on 9/23/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant did not provide any arguments.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicants elected species (i.e. a composition comprising decellularized porcine corneal tissue functionalized with methacrylate anhydride and photo-initiated with Eosin Y as a photoinitiator, triethanolamine as a co-initiator and N-vinylcaprolactam as a co-monomer) was deemed to be free of the prior art. The search was extended to another species. As a result, claims 1 and 4 have been examined and claims 2-3 and 5-12 are withdrawn from consideration. While applicant’s elected species may read on one or more withdrawn claims, they have not been fully examined for patentability, and thus a determination of allowability cannot be made with respect to these claims at this time.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending in this application.
Claims 2-3 and 5-12 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to a non-elected species/invention.
Claims 1 and 4 are presently under consideration as being drawn to the elected species/invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahearne et al. (Tissue Eng Part C Methods. 2015 Oct;21(10):1059-69) and Sani et al. (Sci Adv. 2019 Mar 20;5(3):eaav1281).
With respect to claim 1, Ahearne et al. teach hydrogels fabricated from decellularized corneal extracellular matrix for corneal stroma regeneration (abstract).
Ahearne et al. also teach that the elastic modulus of the hydrogels appears quite low when compared to native corneal tissue (page 1067, left column, 4th para).
Ahearne et al. further teach that “[S]everal studies have applied different crosslinking techniques to improve the mechanical properties of hydrogels such as UV A-riboflavin crosslinking and these could be used to improve the materials' mechanical strength. This crosslinking approach should be particularly beneficial for CMHs since a significant quantity of the collagen within the hydrogels was removed during media changes and additional crosslinking would be expected to help retain more collagen within the hydrogel” (page 1067, left column, 5th para).
Ahearne et al. do not teach that the decellularized corneal extracellular matrix is functionalized with an acrylate.
Sani et al. teach that a transparent, flexible, and adhesive photocrosslinkable hydrogel for the treatment of corneal stromal defects is obtained by reacting a gelatin solution with methacrylic anhydride (abstract; page 11, right column, 2nd para; figure 1 A).
Sani et al. also teach that “[T]he visible light cross-linking scheme has been proven to improve cell viability, compared to UV cross-linked systems. Briefly, the visible light photons excite the photoinitiator molecules (Eosin Y) to a triplet state, which allow them to accept hydrogen atoms from coinitiator molecules (TEA). The deprotonated radicals then undergo vinyl-bond cross-linking with co-monomer (VC) via chain polymerization. This will result in accelerated gelation of the polymeric scaffolds. This visible light photocrosslinking chemistry is an FDA-approved system and has been used previously as a safe photocrosslinking system for biomedical applications” (para bridging left and right columns on page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to functionalize the decellularized corneal extracellular matrix of Ahearne et al. with methacrylic anhydride (i.e. methacrylic anhydride) because Sani et al. teach that a transparent, flexible, and adhesive photocrosslinkable hydrogel for the treatment of corneal stromal defects is obtained by reacting a gelatin solution with methacrylic anhydride.
The skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Ahearne et al. suggest applying different crosslinking techniques in order to improve the mechanical properties of hydrogels.
With respect to claim 4, the MPEP 2144.05 A states that “[G]enerally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997)”.
Since Applicant has not disclosed that the specific limitations recited in the instant claims are for any particular purpose or solve any stated problem, absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill to discover the optimum weight ratio of decellularized corneal extracellular matrix to acrylate by normal optimization procedures known in the pharmaceutical art.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658