Re is aNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species B, the spaced-apart cell cover arrangement, the composite flame suppression pad, the thermally conductive silicone pad TIM, different vertical lengths S1/S2, and the mono frame module case, corresponding to at least claims 1-8 and 10-16 in the reply filed on 7/30/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art CN 216085170 does not disclose the features of a cell cover at least partially surrounding at least some of a plurality of pouch-type battery cells, wherein an end of the cell cover is inserted into the busbar frame assembly, as recited in independent claims 1 and 18. This is not found persuasive because CN 216085170 does disclose a cell cover 2 at least partially surrounding at least some of a plurality of pouch-type battery cells 3, wherein an end of the cell cover is inserted into the busbar frame assembly 4. See figures 1 and 2 page 5 of translation.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 2/27/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 2/27/2024 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 2/27/2024, 10/28/2025, 11/26/2025, 1/2/2026 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 11, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Qin (CN 216085170).
Regarding claim 1, Qin discloses a battery pack comprising: a plurality of pouch-type battery cells each having an electrode lead;
a busbar frame assembly 4 coupled to at least some of the electrode leads of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells; and
a cell cover 2 at least partially surrounding at least some of the pouch-type battery cells,
wherein an end of the cell cover is inserted into the busbar frame assembly (page 5 of translation).
Regarding claim 2, the cell cover 2 is configured to support the plurality of pouch-type battery cells in an upright state. Figure 1.
Regarding claim 3, further comprising a pack case 1 accommodating the pouch-type battery cells in an internal space of the pack case,
wherein the cell cover 2 partially surrounds the pouch-type battery cell so that at least one side of the pouch-type battery cell is exposed toward the pack case. Figure 1.
Regarding claim 4, the pouch-type battery cell has a receiving portion in which an electrode assembly is accommodated and an edge portion around the receiving portion,
wherein the cell cover 2 is configured to surround two sides of the receiving portion and a part of the edge portion of the pouch-type battery cell. The cell cover does not cover the bottom of each battery cell and covers a part of the edge portion. Figure 1.
Regarding claim 5, the cell cover 2 is configured to cover the two sides of the receiving portion and an upper or a lower edge portion of the pouch-type battery cell. Figure 2.
Regarding claim 6, the cell cover 2 comprises:
a first side cover portion covering a first side of the pouch-type battery cell;
a second side cover portion covering a second side of the pouch-type battery cell; and
an upper cover portion connecting the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion and covering an upper end part of the pouch-type battery cell. Figure 2.
Regarding claim 11, the busbar frame assembly 4 is located at a front side and a rear side of the plurality of pouch-type battery cells, the front and rear ends of the cell cover being inserted into the busbar frame assembly. Figure 1.
Regarding claim 15, the cell cover is configured in a form of bending a plate (figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qin (CN 216085170) as applied to claim 1, in view of Yuan (CN 106450569).
Regarding claim 12, a thermal barrier is interposed between adjacent cell covers, and regarding claim 14, further including an insulating pad in contact with a surface of the cell cover, Yuan teaches a certain square electrical core 120 generate heat instability, a lot of heat generated by the square electric core 120 to be transmitted to the other normal square electric core 120, thus the whole thermal runaway power battery module 100, to the driver the life safety of people and causing great threat. In view of this, in the embodiment of the invention, between the power battery module 100 in two adjacent square electrical core 120 is provided with an insulating layer 110 to transmit effectively restrain heat destabilization (page 4 of translation). Because the power battery module 100 of the square electric core 120 still generates heat when working normally, if the heat cannot be radiated into the battery module, it will cause damage to the individual battery and even the threat the life safety of personnel. In view of this, in this embodiment, preferably, the conductive layer 130 of one side or two sides is set with a heat conducting layer 130, so that the heat conducting layer 130 absorbing the square electric core 120 emanating from heat when working, and the heat radiated to the power battery module 100 through an external heat dissipation device (page 5 of translation). See figure 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to add a thermal barrier layer in between each two adjacent radiating fins of Qin, as taught by Yuan, for the benefit of keeping the heat generated by each cell contained and prevent heat destabilization.
Regarding claim 13, an end of the thermal barrier together with the cell cover is inserted into the busbar frame assembly, Yuan teaches a same shape of insulating layer as the heat conducting layer. See figure 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to make the insulating layer of Qin the same shape and overlay on the radiating fins of Qin, as taught by Yuan, and insert the thermal barrier into the busbar frame assembly along with each cell cover, for the benefit of preventing thermal runaway on the entire radiating fin.
Regarding claim 16, Qin does not disclose nor suggest the cell cover includes an insulating coating layer on an inner surface thereof. Yuan teaches a heat insulation layer having a graphite sheet coated on its outer side. Because the graphite itself has conductivity, so based on security considerations, attaching a heat conducting insulating layer on its outer side, which avoids danger occurs when the square electric core 120 leakage occurs, drivers and life safety of people due to threats (page 5-6 of translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to add a graphite layer to the heat radiating fins of Qin, as taught by Yuan, for the benefit of reducing leakage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art is Qin (CN 216085170).
Regarding claim 7, Qin does not disclose nor suggest “the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion have different sizes.” Regarding claim 10, Qin does not disclose nor suggest “any one of the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion extends protruding further toward the side where the busbar frame assembly is located than the other one of the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion.”
Qin discloses a battery system having radiating fins to radiate heat generated by battery cells in a uniform manner (page 3 translation) because non-uniform heat radiation is a problem in the art (page 2 of translation). The Examiner notes that the first side cover portion and the second side cover portion having different sizes would create non-uniform heat dissipation.
Claim 8 depends from claim 7.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751