DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-4, 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/23/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8, 13, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (CN 112892564) and in view of Stilldragon “3 ways to manage a reflux still column” and in view of Zeng (CN 106492859) and in view of Su (CN 103316702).
Yu describes a method of making a black phosphorus-treated copper-based catalyst (abstract). The method of making involves combining a source of black phosphorus precursor into a copper powder catalyst (page 2, step 2).
The black phosphorus can be in the form of black phosphorus quantum dots, nanosheets or powder (page 3, para. 1).
The black phosphorus is combined with a dispersion liquid with copper where it is soaked and then refluxed for 10 hrs at 70 degrees C (embodiment 1). The dispersion is ultrasonicated (embodiment 1). This meets the feature “the reaction is one or more of a hydrothermal reaction, a stirring reflux reaction or ball milling” of Claim 5.
The product is then roasted, reduced and dried (see steps 1 and 2 on page 2). The roasting is performed under an H2 atmosphere (Claim 3 and 9).
Yu describes use of a dispersion liquid, but does not describe what the dispersion liquid is.
Stilldragon describes refluxing to be managed using the boiling point of the solvent (see temperature principle, para. 1). Therefore, water’s boiling point is 100 degrees C, while ethanol’s boiling point is about 78.4 degrees C (Temperature principle, para. 1).
Zeng describes a copper-based catalyst (see “Summary of the invention, para. 2”). In one example, Zeng combines elemental copper with a phosphorus-containing component and adds an aqueous solution of citric acid and refluxes the mixture (page 3, para. 4). The mixture is refluxed at a temperature of 140-160 degrees C (page 3, para. 4).
Therefore, since Stilldragon explains that different solvent having different boiling points, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the refluxing temperature of the copper-phosphate mixture to 140-160 degrees C, as taught by Zeng for use with Yu by the adjusting the dispersion liquid to have one with a higher boiling point.
As to Claim 8, Yu teaches that the solvent used can include N-methylpyrrolidone (page 3, para. 3).
As to Claim 13, Yu teaches that the particles are sieved (page 4, para. 2).
As to Claim 14, Yu teaches that the roasting can be performed at 300-500 degrees C in N2 gas (page 2, last para).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu, Stilldragon, Zeng and Su as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of He (CN 1986058).
Yu teaches that the surfactant added can include polyvinylpyrrolidone (Page 3, para. 1). Yu does not teach how much surfactant is added.
He describes a catalyst (title). The catalyst can include phosphorus and copper (page 4, para. 4). The reference explains that when surfactant is loaded, the amount added should range from 1-10wt% (page 6, last para).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the polyvinylpyrrolidone surfactant of Yu, in an amount of 1-10wt%, as taught by He because He explains that this amount is effective for use in producing a catalyst that contains phosphorus and copper metal, which would lead to predictable and expected results.
References Made of Record
The following additional references from the examiner’s search are made of record:
Liu (CN 114914424).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 12, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Yu teaches use of an ammonium salt as the surfactant. The reference does not teach use of a cetyltrimethyl ammonium bromide (Claim 10). Also, the process does not teach inclusion of phytic acid.
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 September 30, 2026