DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-5,7-4,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Yoshida et al. (US20090087713).
As to claim 1, Yoshida et al. discloses a method for producing a membrane electrode assembly (figure 4) for a fuel cell, in which a membrane (10), is coated on both sides with a catalytically active material (3) to form a first and a second electrode (3), and in which a sealant and/or adhesive (43) is applied to at least one end face of the coated membrane by which the coated membrane is connected to two plastic films (6) lying one on top of the other to form a gasket (6).
As to claim 2, Yoshida et al. discloses wherein that the sealant and/or adhesive (figure 4 number 43) is applied over an entire surface of the at least one end face of the coated membrane (10).
As to claim 3, Yoshida et al. discloses wherein that at least one surface of the membrane coated with catalytically active material is kept free of the sealant and/or adhesive (figure 4 number 3).
As to claim 4, Yoshida et al. discloses at least one surface of the membrane coated with catalytically active material is covered with a mask before the sealant and/or adhesive is applied (figure 4 number 81).
As to claim 5, Yoshida et al. discloses wherein the sealant and/or adhesive is sprayed, spritzed, brushed, rolled, sputtered, or vapor deposited onto the at least one end face of the coated membrane (paragraph 0094).
As to claim 7, Yoshida et al. discloses an electrode assembly (figure 4) for a fuel cell, comprising a membrane (10), which is coated on both sides with a catalytically active material to form a first and a second electrode (3, 3), and which is surrounded by two plastic films (6) lying one on top of the other to form a gasket (6), wherein a connection of the membrane (10) to the two plastic films (6) is produced via a sealant and/or adhesive (43) which is arranged exclusively on one or more end faces of the coated membrane (10).
As to claim 8, Yoshida et al. discloses wherein that the two plastic films (figure 12 number 6) of the gasket (6) have a common overlap area (a) with the coated membrane (10).
As to claim 9, Yoshida et al. discloses wherein that the two plastic films of the gasket are bonded to the membrane and/or to one another by means of an adhesive which is different from the sealant and/or adhesive (paragraph 0014).
As to claim 10, Yoshida et al. discloses fuel cell for a fuel cell stack, comprising a membrane electrode assembly (paragraph 0002).
As to claim 11, Yoshida et al. discloses wherein the membrane is a polymer membrane (paragraph 0065).
As to claim 14, Yoshida et al. discloses wherein the membrane is a polymer membrane (paragraph 0065).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 6,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. in view of Fujii et al. (CN107709446).
Yoshida et al. discloses the method for producing a membrane electrode assembly described above. Yoshida et al. fail to disclose wherein the sealant and/or adhesive is applied by plasma treatment in a plasma chamber. Fujii et al. teaches wherein the sealant and/or adhesive is applied by plasma treatment in a plasma chamber for the purpose of improving adhesion between the protective film and adhesive layer (paragraph 0161).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Yoshida et al. with wherein the sealant and/or adhesive is applied by plasma treatment in a plasma chamber for the purpose of improving adhesion between the protective film and adhesive layer (paragraph 0161).
3. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida et al. in view of Adetutu et al. (US20050233562).
Yoshida et al. discloses the method for producing a membrane electrode assembly described above. Yoshida et al. fail to disclose wherein the mask is a stamp mask. Adetutu et al. teaches wherein the mask is a stamp mask for the purpose of allowing a layer to be selectively formed over portions of another layer (paragraph 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Yoshida et al. with wherein the mask is a stamp mask for the purpose of allowing a layer to be selectively formed over portions of another layer (paragraph 0019).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724