Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/031091 (filed 08/17/22), which application claims priority to JP 2021-140507 (filed 08/30/21).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The spacing of the lines of the specification is such as to make reading difficult. New application papers with lines 1 1/2 or double spaced (see 37 CFR 1.52(b)(2)) on good quality paper are required.
Amendment(s)
The Preliminary Amendment filed 02/27/24 and 03/12/24 (specification) is/are entered. Claims 1-29 are pending.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 02/27/24 are approved by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS statements filed 05/22/24 and 03/19/25 have been considered. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Construction
The examiner notes that both subscript variables “d” and “e” may be 0, thereby making the units “δ” and “ε” optional.
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-25, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 107739430 (IDS).
CN 107739430 discloses conductive polymeric materials useful in conductive polymeric electrochromic devices (Abstract). Polymeric materials include ProDOT(Me)2-EDOT-ProDOT(Me)2 (molecular weight 103-105) and dopant anions such as PF6- or PTSA (para 0043-53; examples) of English language translation):
.
The above repeating units meet the instant claimed compound represent by Z1-αa-αb-αc-Z2.
With respect to dependent claims 23-24, The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. resistivity, activation energy, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
The reference is anticipatory.
Claim(s) 15, 26, 27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 107739430 (IDS) in view of WO 2020-262443 (IDS).
CN ‘430 is relied upon as set forth above. With respect to dependent claims listed above, the examiner submits that WO ‘443 discloses the use of polythienothiophene oligomers and battery electrodes as claimed, and additionally teaches the use of -SMe endcap units (0006; 0020), and that such would have been an obvious selection and optimization to the skilled artisan.
In view of the foregoing, the above claims have failed to patentably distinguish over the applied art.
The remaining references listed on forms 892 and 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
Conclusion
/MARK KOPEC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
MK
May 23, 2025