DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 9/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Group II (claims 10-20) is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/8/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eibeck et al (US 20080262133 A1). Chempoint (“Lupasol WF”, 2026) is cited as evidentiary reference.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 5 and 7, Eibeck teaches a polyamide composition that can be used for making automobile components [0120], comprising A) from 10 to 99% by weight of at least one thermoplastic polyamide, B) from 0.1 to 5% by weight of at least one polyethyleneimine homo- or copolymer, C) from 0.05 to 3% by weight of a lubricant, D) from 0.05 to 3% by weight of a copper-containing stabilizer or of a sterically hindered phenol or mixtures thereof, E) from 0 to 60% by weight of further additives, the sum of the percentages by weight of components A) to E) adding up to 100% [abstract].
The A) thermoplastic polyamide reads on the claimed polyamide (A).
The B) polyethyleneimine homo- or copolymer can be Lupasol WF [0124]. As evidenced by Chempoint, Lupasol WF is a branched polyethylenimine polymer, which reads on the claimed a branched polyamine (B) and polyethyleneimine homopolymer or copolymer as specified in claim 3. The polyethyleneimines have molecular weight of 100-3,000,000 [0030], which overlaps the claimed range of at least 400 but not more than 2,000 specified in claim 4. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select a branched polyethylenimine polymer having molecular weight of 100-3,000,000 as the sole B) in Eibeck’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The D) a sterically hindered phenol includes Irganox 1098 [0056] which reads on the claimed sterically hindered phenol (C) as specified in claim 5, as evidenced by the applicant [0099 spec.]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select Irganox 1098 as the sole D) in Eibeck’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The E) additives include dyes and pigments including phthalocyanines [0110, 0113] which reads on the claimed phthalocyanine-based dye (D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select phthalocyanines as the sole E) in Eibeck’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The copper-containing stabilizer contains halide ion [0045]. However, Eibeck teaches “D) from 0.05 to 3% by weight of a copper-containing stabilizer or of a sterically hindered phenol or mixtures thereof” (see above). Therefore, the D) can contain 0% by weight of a copper-containing stabilizer when it contains a sterically hindered phenol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a composition according to Eibeck containing a sterically hindered phenol only, without a copper-containing stabilizer, meeting the claimed “wherein a concentration of halide ions (F) measured by combustion ion chromatography relative to a total mass of the polyamide composition is not more than 500 ppm by mass” and “wherein a concentration of halide ions (F) measured by combustion ion chromatography relative to a mass of the azine-based dye or phthalocyanine-based dye (D) is less than 1% by mass” in claim 7.
Regarding claim 2, Eibeck teaches that preferred polyamides include Nylon 66 [0019, 0048] which reads on the claimed polyamide 66.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select polyamide 66 as the sole A) in Eibeck’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07. When polyamide 66 is the sole A), it meets the claimed limitation “an amount of polyamide 66 relative to a total mass of the polyamide (A) is at least 50% by mass”.
Regarding claim 6, Eibeck teaches that the E) additives include dyes and pigments including phthalocyanines and carbon black [0113].
The obviousness analysis may “take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 421 (2007). For example, the analysis may “include recourse to logic, judgment, and common sense available to the person of ordinary skill that do not necessarily require explication in any reference or expert opinion.” Perfect Web Techs., Inc. v. InfoUSA, Inc., 587 F.3d 1324, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2009). The Patent Trial and Appeal Board has held that mixing equivalent components in a 1:1 ratio represented no more than application of the “logic, judgment, and common sense available to the person of ordinary skill” in the art. Ex parte Swanzy, Appeal 2017-004875 at 8-9.
In this case, Eibeck discloses phthalocyanines and carbon black as equally suitable alternatives to one another and therefore recognizes the equivalence of the two. It would have would have been prima facie obvious, using no more than ordinary creativity, logic, judgment, and common sense, to combine phthalocyanines and carbon black in equal amounts (i.e. in a 1:1 ratio) based on the fact that both are disclosed in parallel as being equally suitable for use in this capacity.
As stated above, Eibeck teaches from 0 to 60% by weight of E). Including phthalocyanines and carbon black in a 1:1 ratio to obtain this total amount will result in a composition that includes 0-30 wt% of carbon black, based on 10 to 99 wt% of polyamide. This amount overlaps the claimed range of 0.01-0.5 wt% per 100 parts by mass of the polyamide (A).
Regarding claim 8, Eibeck teaches from 0.1 to 5% by weight of B) the branched polyamine, from 0.05 to 3% by weight of D) the sterically hindered phenol, and from 0 to 60% by weight of E) phthalocyanine-based dye as stated above. This leads to a ratio of a weight ratio between the branched polyamine and the sterically hindered phenol being in the range of 0.033-100, overlapping the claimed range of from 0.06 to 30; and a weight ratio between the sterically hindered phenol and the phthalocyanine-based dye being in the range of 0.008 or higher, overlapping the claimed range of from 0.5 to 60, as calculated by the examiner.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 9, Eibeck teaches that the composition further comprises a filler [0101].
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762