Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 3-4 and 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/4/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/27/24 and 3/4/24 are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third kind of channels” of claims 11-13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes the limitation of “the first kind of channels and the second kind of channels differ such that an amount of fluid flowing through the first kind of channel is different to an amount of fluid flowing through the second kind of channel” which includes use language. Thus this language makes it impossible to determine if the claimed apparatus is being read on until it is applied to system which makes the claim indefinite as it makes it unclear when infringement occurs (when system is made or when system used) MPEP 2173.05 (p). The claim will be examined as reading “the first kind of channels and the second kind of channels are configured to differ such that an amount of fluid flowing through the first kind of channel is different to an amount of fluid flowing through the second kind of channel”.
Claim 2 includes the limitation of “the difference in the amount of fluid flowing through the first kind of channel and the second kind of channel is between a factor of 1.1 and 5” which is use language. Thus this language makes it impossible to determine if the claimed apparatus is being read on until it is applied to system which makes the claim indefinite as it makes it unclear when infringement occurs (when system is made or when system used) MPEP 2173.05 (p). The claim will be examined as reading “the difference in the amount of fluid configured to flow through the first kind of channel and the second kind of channel is between a factor of 1.1 and 5”.
Further, claim 2 is unclear as the limitation of “the difference in the amount of fluid flowing through the first kind of channel and the second kind of channel is between a factor of 1.1 and 5”. This would be unclear to one skilled in the art. It is not clear if this is measurement of the amount in the channels or a flow rate, further it is unclear if this is a single channel to single channel comparison or if it is a total of one type channel to another. Thus any reading possible of these will be considered to read on the limitation.
the first kind of channel has a first flow resistance and the second kind of channel has a second flow resistance, wherein the first flow resistance and the second flow resistance are different
Claim 5 is unclear as the limitation of “the first kind of channel has a first flow resistance and the second kind of channel has a second flow resistance, wherein the first flow resistance and the second flow resistance are different”. This would be unclear to one skilled in the art. It is not clear if this is measurement of the resistance in the individual channels or the total of the channel types. Thus any reading possible of these will be considered to read on the limitation.
Claims 11 and 12 are recites the limitation "third kind of channels". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2, 5-6, 11-17 are rejected for dependence form one or more of the above rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1, 5-6, 11-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Olesen et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0032230).
Regarding claim 1, Olesen teaches a cooler (element 1) for an electronic component (elements 5) comprising a base plate (element 2) having an outer surface (contacting elements 5)and an inner surface (flat surface which element s19 come off of), wherein channel walls (elements 19) are arranged on the inner surface (per fig. 2 & 3) defining fluid channels (per fig. 2), wherein at least a first kind of channels (elements 11 & 12) and a second kind of channels (“cells” defined by 13 & 14; para. 0043) are provided, wherein a geometry of the first kind of channels and the second kind of channels differ (per fig. 2 & 3) such that an amount of fluid flowing through the first kind of channel is different to an amount of fluid flowing through the second kind of channel (note this is inherent as the fluid in the manifold is the total of the individual cells).
Regarding claim 5, Olesen teaches the first kind of channel has a first flow resistance and the second kind of channel has a second flow resistance, wherein the first flow resistance and the second flow resistance are different (inherent in the size and number of turns in cells verse the manifolds the resistances would be different), .
Regarding claim 6, Olesen teaches the first flow resistance and/or the second flow resistance of the channels depends on a fluid flow direction (inherent in the structure as the changes in shape, and thus their effects on pressure change (resistance) vary based on direction – for example the leaving element 10 and splitting is a different pressure change than merging at 10 to leave).
Regarding claim 11, Olesen teaches wherein the channel walls of the second channels comprise structures causing a reverse flow in one flow direction and a straight flow in the opposite direction (per annotated fig. 3 below; this is reasonable rad on by the curves resulting in flow heading the opposite direction from the previous part of the channel).
Regarding claim 12, Olesen teaches the second channels comprise alternating curved sections (per annotated fig. 3 above), wherein a reversing channel is located at each curved section (per annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 13, Olesen teaches the second channels comprise an elongated section (per annotated fig. 3 above) between each curved section (per annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 14, Olesen teaches an incoming end (per annotated fig. 3 above) of an outer wall (per annotated fig. 3 above) of the reversing channel is flush with an outer wall of the elongated section (per annotated fig. 3 above).
Regarding claim 17, Olesen teaches a semiconductor power module comprising a cooler according to claim 1 (per claim 1 above and para. 0003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Olesen et al. (U.S. PGPub 2013/0032230).
Regarding claim 2, Olesen does not expressly teach the difference in the amount of fluid flowing through the first kind of channel and the second kind of channel is between a factor of 1.1 and 5.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Olesen to meet this ratio as it is simple matter of the number of cells used, and by reducing to 2:1->5 ratio this would be met, it is further noted such a range is taught as the claims only require one or more cells and the specification teaches appliciaotn based on items being cooled (para. 0020) , since it has been held that omission of an essential elements and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art. In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184.
Regarding claim 15, Olesen teaches the base plate s rectangular (per fig. 3) having a width and a length (per fig. 3).
Olesen does not teach the lengths is at least three times the width. It would have been obvious matter of design choice to make this the lengths is at least three times the width, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change is size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 (IV)
Regarding claim 16, Olesen does not teach the base plate is manufactured by hot or cold forging. This is a product-by-process claim and “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” MPEP 21413 (II).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Campbell et al. (U.S. Patent 9,439,325), Chang et al. (U.S. PGPub 2006/0226539), Goodson et al. (U.S. Patent 7,334,630), and Dogiamis et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0399249) teach coolers for electronics with multiple channels.
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763