Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takahiko WO 2021/006283.
1. Takahiko discloses a vehicle lamp module (1 Fig 1), comprising: a light source 41, a reflector 50, a lens 80, a light blocker 36, and a radiator (30-34, see Fig 1), with the reflector 50 being arranged opposite to the light source (Fig 1), and the reflector has a reflective surface 50r for reflecting light rays emitted by the light source to form a light beam along an optical axis 80a of the vehicle lamp module (see beam pattern shown in Fig 1 along axis 80a); the lens 80 is configured to project the light rays reflected by the reflector 50; and the light source 41 is arranged on the radiator (arranged on 31-34), and the radiator dissipates heat from the light source (30 is taught as being a heat sink, see the top of page 3).
2. Takahiko discloses the vehicle lamp module according to claim 1, wherein the light blocker 36 is arranged between the light source 41 and the lens (80, Fig 1).
3. Takahiko discloses the vehicle lamp module according to claim 2, wherein the light blocker 36 is arranged on the radiator (shown on radiator part 31, of radiator 30-34 Fig 1).
4. Takahiko discloses the vehicle lamp module according to claim 3, wherein the light blocker 36 and the radiator are of an integral structure (teaches/shows shade 36 may be part of the base plate 31 see bottom of page 9).
5. Takahiko discloses the vehicle lamp module according to claim 1, wherein the light blocker 36 is arranged in one-to-one correspondence with the light source (shown one-to-one with 41 in Fig 1).
8. Takahiko discloses a motor vehicle headlamp (abstract) comprising a vehicle lamp module (1, Fig 1), with the vehicle lamp module including a light source 41, a reflector 50, a lens 80, a light blocker 36, and a radiator (30-34, see Fig 1), with the reflector 50 being arranged opposite to the light source (Fig 1), and the reflector has a reflective surface 50r for reflecting light rays emitted by the light source to form a light beam along an optical axis 80a of the vehicle lamp module (see beam pattern shown in Fig 1 along axis 80a); the lens 80 is configured to project the light rays reflected by the reflector 50; and the light source 41 is arranged on the radiator (arranged on 31-34), and the radiator dissipates heat from the light source (30 is taught as being a heat sink, see the top of page 3).
9. Takahiko discloses a motor vehicle (vehicle and vehicle headlamp discussed in abstract), comprising a vehicle lamp module (abstract, 1, Fig 1) with the vehicle lamp module including a light source 41, a reflector 50, a lens 80, a light blocker 36, and a radiator (30-34, see Fig 1), with the reflector 50 being arranged opposite to the light source (Fig 1), and the reflector has a reflective surface 50r for reflecting light rays emitted by the light source to form a light beam along an optical axis 80a of the vehicle lamp module (see beam pattern shown in Fig 1 along axis 80a); the lens 80 is configured to project the light rays reflected by the reflector 50; and the light source 41 is arranged on the radiator (arranged on 31-34), and the radiator dissipates heat from the light source (30 is taught as being a heat sink, see the top of page 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahiko in view of Peng CN 106641944 (see English translation).
6. Takahiko discloses the vehicle lamp module according to claim 1, but is silent to teaching that when the vehicle lamp module comprises includes a plurality of light sources, the light blocker is shared by more than one of the light sources. Peng teaches when a vehicle lamp module comprises includes a plurality of light sources (see Fig 1, multiple light sources 21, 40a, 40b), a light blocker (43a 60, and 43b) is shared by more than one of the light sources (Fig 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling of the claimed invention to look to the teachings of Peng and utilize having multiple light sources corresponding to a shared light blocker in the device of Takahiko for headlight applications where having greater luminance is desired or where including auxiliary or additional light sources is desired utilizing a common shield (see page 4 of Peng for providing near, far, and auxiliary lighting in a motor vehicle lamp).
7. Takahiko in view of Peng teach the vehicle lamp module according to claim 6, Takahiko further teaches wherein the surface of the light blocker 36 close to the light sources is a flat surface or a stepped surface (surface of 36 close to 41 can be interpreted as flat or stepped, given that the face light blocker 36 facing light source 41 is flat and the structure itself is stepped with respect to base 31, see Fig 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. ZHU US ‘256, CHEN US’636, GUAN US’543, and TATSUKAWA US’332 all disclose automobile headlamps that utilize a shielding member in the beam bath of emitted light in a manner similarly to the claimed invention.
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875