DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 15-17, 24-27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as being anticipated by USPN 4,665,039.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 13, 15-17: ‘039 teaches glass compositions in wt% such as that below, converted to mol% (see Examples in Table 1).
F
SiO2
54.24
Al2O3
5.11
B2O3
16.8
Li2O
1.09
Na2O
6.30
K2O
0.69
Cs2O
0
CaO
6.97
MgO
3.26
BaO
0.43
SrO
1.26
ZrO2
1.59
TiO2
1.63
F
0
SO3
0.24
Cl
0.37
As2O3
0
Sb2O3
0
R2O
8.08
Claim 24: Given that ‘039’s glass composition meets that claimed, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same functionalities/capabilities (i.e. being phase separable as claimed) (MPEP 2112). However, it is additionally noted for the record that ‘039 teaches throughout their glass compositions being phase separable.
Claims 25-27 and 29: Given that 039’s glass composition meets that claimed, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties (MPEP 2112).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 7-8, 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 4,665,039 as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 7-8, 22-23: While ‘039 may not provide an explicit Example meeting the compositions claimed, ‘039’s glass can be of a composition in wt% (see Col. 1-4 and ‘039’s claims 1-3) that allows for compositions, converted to mol%, overlapping that claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
2. Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over USPN 4,665,039 as applied to claim 1 above, in view of USPub 20140242375.
Regarding claims 18 and 19: While ‘039 may not discuss adding SnO2 in the amounts claimed, initially note that ‘039’s glass is a borosilicate phase-separable glass for the production of porous glass and does teach that 0.05-0.7wt% As2O3, Sb2O3, etc. can be added as clarifying (fining) agents (see Col. 3, lines 56-64).
As ‘375 who similarly teaches borosilicate phase-separable glass for the production of porous glass not only suggests that As2O3, Sb2O3 and SnO2 are functionally equivalent as fining agents in such glasses (see 0036) but additionally discloses that it is desirable to add greater than 0 to less than or equal to 0.2mol% of SnO2 specifically to such glasses for fining (0036), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to either replace the As2O3 or Sb2O3 in ‘039 with that of SnO2 to act as a fining agent or alternatively, to add greater than 0 to less than or equal to 0.2mol% of SnO2 to such glasses for fining.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed July 9, 2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784