DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Application filed on 2/27/2024. Claims 1-3,7,9,13,16-17,19,23,28,30,38-39,43,45-46,48-49,54,56,65 and 67 are pending the case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7, 13, 16-17, 39, 43, 48, 54, 65, and 67 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikholm et al. (US 20180174618 A1, hereinafter Wikholm) in view of Watanable et al. (US 20160269759 A1, hereinafter Watanable).
As to independent claim 1, Wikholm teaches a computer-implemented method of editing a video file (“A system for editing at least one media clip” Abstract), the method including the steps of:
(i) receiving a selection of a video file to edit, the video file including a duration (“FIG. 5 shows several clips 510, 520, 530, 540, 550, 560 available to be reviewed. As such, each of the clips 510-560 provide for respective preview windows for a user to select portions for a final compilation” Paragraph 0055, this implies that each clip including a duration);
(ii) presenting a frame of the video file (e.g. a first frame of the video file) on a screen of a computing device, the computing device including the screen (“the current viewed frame of the original or source video clip, shown as clip 540 in FIG. 5” paragraph 0055);
(iii) the computing device receiving an input corresponding to a position on the presented frame of the video file on the screen of the device, the input including a width coordinate (“ The portion of interest may be selected by highlighting, starting the highlighting at a first, initial position and ending the highlighting at a second, final position, so that the selected, highlighted portion includes all the media of interest between (and including) the first, initial and second, final positions…the selected section are represented by the start and end points in pixel position on the video frame being displayed.” Paragraph 0055);
(iv) presenting a frame of the video file on the screen of the computing device, the presented frame being a frame at a time in the video file that corresponds to the width coordinate as a proportion of the width of the presented frame on the screen, or to the height coordinate as a proportion of the height of the presented frame on the screen, of the duration of the video file, from the start of the video file (“In particular the portion of interest of the current viewed frame of the original or source video clip, shown as clip 540 in FIG. 5, is highlighted, so that the start and end points in time of the selected section are represented by the start and end points in pixel position on the video frame being displayed” paragraph 0055, “the start and end pixel positions relate to the source clip or preview window from which the highlighted portion is selected.” Paragraph 0013);
(v) repeating steps (iii) and (iv) until an input is received by the computing device identifying the presented frame as a start frame of a portion of the video file (“In particular, once in the timeline the selected portion or portions may be edited. For example, if the user wishes to increase or decrease the length of a selected portion of a clip, for example clip 580, this can be accomplished by dragging the circles 581, 582 at the edge of the clip: either in the timeline 570, or within the clip 540 from which the portion 580 has been selected.” Paragraph 0059);
(vi) repeating steps (iii) and (iv) until an input is received by the computing device identifying the presented frame as an end frame of the portion of the video file (“In particular, once in the timeline the selected portion or portions may be edited. For example, if the user wishes to increase or decrease the length of a selected portion of a clip, for example clip 580, this can be accomplished by dragging the circles 581, 582 at the edge of the clip: either in the timeline 570, or within the clip 540 from which the portion 580 has been selected.” Paragraph 0059);
(vii) saving the portion of the video file that is defined by the start frame of the portion of the video file received in step (v) and the end frame of the portion of the video file received in step (vi) (“A system for editing at least one media clip comprising highlighting means to highlight a selected portion of the media clip, recording means to record data in respect of said highlighted portion, and storage means to store said recorded data.” Abstract).
Wikholm teaches the selected section are represented by the start and end points in pixel position in a horizontal direction on the video frame being displayed (Paragraph 0055). However, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate.
Watanable teaches the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate (“the television 200 may specify the acquisition destination of a plurality of partial videos which are necessary in order to generate the partial video which corresponds to the cursor position and acquire the specified plurality of partial videos from within the MPD data based on the left upper coordinates, width, and height of the cursor. Then, a process may be performed in which an unnecessary portion is cut out from each partial video,.” Paragraph 0181).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow for exact, precise control over an element's dimensions and select a necessary portion of the video file (Watanable [0181]).
As to dependent claim 2, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm further teaches wherein the computing device is a PC, laptop, desktop computer, tablet computer, smartphone, mobile phone, or a smart TV (“For example the ways in which a user may interact with an electronic device may be by use of an implement such as a finger, or a pen, a mouse button on a lap top or tablet, or some other interactive device. ” paragraph 0078).
As to dependent claim 7. Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm further teaches wherein the input received by the computing device corresponding to the position on the presented frame of the video file on the screen of the device is the position of a pointer (e.g. a cursor) displayed on the screen, wherein the position of the pointed (e.g. a cursor) displayed on the screen is movable using a user input device, such as a mouse (e.g. without pressing any mouse buttons), or such as a keyboard (e.g. using arrow keys) or a trackpad (e.g. on a laptop) (“the step of rolling the mouse over the clip without clicking will cause the media to be played, and the speed at which the media is played may depend on the speed with which the mouse is moved over the clip.” Paragraph 0066; “The user would initiate the invention to play each clip, and use a suitable pointing device to move over the clip and play it back at a speed comfortable to the user. As the user becomes aware that the portion of the clip of interest is near, the speed of playback may be slowed by slowing the movement of the pointing device over the clip. On ascertaining a section of interest, the user may engage a highlighting function of the invention and highlight a section of the clip that appears to be of interest.” paragraph 0072; “Preferably the start and end positions represent respective pixel positions of the start and of the end of the media clip selection. Preferably the start and end pixel positions relate to the source clip or preview window from which the highlighted portion is selected.” Paragraph 0012-0013).
Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate.
Watanable teaches the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate (“the television 200 may specify the acquisition destination of a plurality of partial videos which are necessary in order to generate the partial video which corresponds to the cursor position and acquire the specified plurality of partial videos from within the MPD data based on the left upper coordinates, width, and height of the cursor. Then, a process may be performed in which an unnecessary portion is cut out from each partial video, and the partial video which corresponds to the cursor position may be generated by joining the plurality of partial videos after processing.” Paragraph 0181).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow for exact, precise control over an element's dimensions and select a necessary portion of the video (Watanable [0181]).
As to dependent claim 13, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wilkholm further teaches:
(a) wherein the input received by the computing device identifying the presented frame as the start frame of the portion of the video file includes a pressing down of a mouse button, and where the input received by the computing device identifying the presented frame as the end from of the portion of the video file includes a release of the previously pressed down mouse button (“ FIG. 7 shows such a mouse 720, connected in this case to a computer 730, in which a user may roll the mouse 720 over a clip 700 and in accordance with conventional mechanisms click and drag the mouse to select a desired sub section 710 of the clip” paragraph 0063, this implies click, drag, and release the pressed down mouth button); or
(b) wherein the input received by the computing device identifying the presented frame as the start frame of the portion of the video file includes a pressing down of a mouse button, and where the input received by the computing device identifying the presented frame as the end frame of the portion of the video file includes a press of a different button of the mouse.
As to dependent claim 16. Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm further teaches wherein the input received by the computing device identifying the presented frame as the start frame of the portion of the video file includes a mouse click, and the input received by the computing device identifying the presented frame as the end frame of the portion of the video file includes a further mouse click (“the said mouse provides for the highlighted portion to be selected by pointing and clicking.” Paragraph 0026).
As to dependent claim 17, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm further teaches wherein the computing device is arranged to receive user input via a touch screen interface, wherein the input received by the computing device corresponding to the position on the presented frame of the video file on the screen of the device, is the position of a touch on the screen (“Preferably the start and end positions represent respective pixel positions of the start and of the end of the media clip selection. Preferably the start and end pixel positions relate to the source clip or preview window from which the highlighted portion is selected.” Paragraph 0012-0013; “For example the ways in which a user may interact with an electronic device may be by use of an implement such as a finger, or a pen, a mouse button on a lap top or tablet, or some other interactive device.” paragraph 0078).
Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate.
Watanable teaches the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate (“the television 200 may specify the acquisition destination of a plurality of partial videos which are necessary in order to generate the partial video which corresponds to the cursor position and acquire the specified plurality of partial videos from within the MPD data based on the left upper coordinates, width, and height of the cursor. Then, a process may be performed in which an unnecessary portion is cut out from each partial video, and the partial video which corresponds to the cursor position may be generated by joining the plurality of partial videos after processing.” Paragraph 0181, “The rectangular cursor described above may be a cursor which is able to move one dot at a time vertically and horizontally. Then, the television 200 may display the partial video which corresponds to the cursor position on the tablet terminal 300.” Paragraph 0179-0180).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise the input comprising a width coordinate and a height coordinate. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to allow for exact, precise control over an element's dimensions and select a necessary portion of the video (Watanable [0181]).
As to dependent claim 39, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm further teaches
(a) wherein the method includes highlighting a portion of the width of the presented frame corresponding to the portion of video between the start frame identified in step (v) and the width coordinate of the input in step (iii) corresponding to the position on the presented frame of the video file on the screen of the device; or (b) wherein the method includes highlighting a portion of the height of the presented frame corresponding to the portion of video between the start frame identified in step (v) and the height coordinate of the input in step (iii) corresponding to the position on the presented frame of the video file on the screen of the device (“On ascertaining a section of interest the user may engage a highlighting function of the invention and highlight a section of the clip that appears to be of interest. On highlighting, the last bit of the highlighted section is played back to allow the user to confirm that the correct section of the clip has been selected. On highlighting, the selected portion of the media clip may be allocated a colour code, and this colour code will be attached to the selected portion and also will be retained in the original media clip so that the user may easily link a selected portion of the clip to the originating, source video.” Paragraph 0072-0073).
As to dependent claim 43, Wikholm teaches the method of any previous claim 1, Wikholm further teaches wherein the start and end points of the portion of the video are selectable in either order, and wherein the start point is determined as the earlier of the two selected points in steps (v) and (vi), and the end point is determined as the later of the two selected points in steps (v) and (vi) (“In particular, once in the timeline the selected portion or portions may be edited. For example, if the user wishes to increase or decrease the length of a selected portion of a clip, for example clip 580, this can be accomplished by dragging the circles 581, 582 at the edge of the clip: either in the timeline 570, or within the clip 540 from which the portion 580 has been selected.” Paragraph 0059).
As to dependent claim 48, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm furhter teaches wherein the method of editing a video to create a clip video which includes one or more portions of an original video, is provided in a web browser interface, the web browser running on a computing device such as a smartphone, a desktop computer, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a smart TV (“a lap top or tablet” paragraph 0078, “a browser and a server would only need to send the instructions on how the server is to make the video from the media content it has access to”, paragraph 0069 last sentence).
As to dependent claim 54, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm further teaches wherein a video navigation tool is displayed on the screen of the computing device, the navigation tool arranged to receive user input, wherein the video navigation tool includes trim buttons for the start frame of the portion and for the end frame of the portion, to make them frame accurate (“In addition, other editing functions would be available to the user, for example editing functions such as trimming, transitions and effects would be available to the user.” Paragraph 0068).
Claims 65 and 67 are substantially the same as claim 1 and are therefore rejection under the same rationale as above.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikholm et al. in view of Watanable et al. and further in view of Jang et al. (US 20180356953 A1, hereinafter Jang).
As to dependent claim 23, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 17, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach
(a) wherein a long duration press (e.g. at least two seconds) is used to confirm the initiation of a selection of the start frame of the video, and the selection of a portion of the video, and the two ends of the clip may be marked by detecting a sliding a finger across the screen, and the detecting a finger release from the screen to define the end frame of the portion of the video; or
(b) wherein a long duration press (e.g. at least two seconds) is used to confirm the initiation of a selection of the start frame of the video, and a further long press (e.g. at least two seconds) indicates the end of the selection, to define the end frame of the portion of the video.
Jang teaches (b) wherein a long duration press (e.g. at least two seconds) is used to confirm the initiation of a selection of the start frame of the video, and a further long press (e.g. at least two seconds) indicates the end of the selection, to define the end frame of the portion of the video (“The controller 180 can determine a touch input according to whether a touch force of the touch input satisfies a touch force-related condition…The reference force may be plural. For instance, the reference force may be set as a second force larger than a first force. In this instance, for a touch input having a touch force between the first force and the second force and a touch input having a touch force between the second force and a third force, the controller 180 can determine the touch inputs as different touch inputs.” Paragraph 0136-0140
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise (a) wherein a long duration press (e.g. at least two seconds) is used to confirm the initiation of a selection of the start frame of the video, and the selection of a portion of the video, and the two ends of the clip may be marked by detecting a sliding a finger across the screen, and the detecting a finger release from the screen to define the end frame of the portion of the video; or (b) wherein a long duration press (e.g. at least two seconds) is used to confirm the initiation of a selection of the start frame of the video, and a further long press (e.g. at least two seconds) indicates the end of the selection, to define the end frame of the portion of the video. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience in making selections.
Claims 3, 9, 19, 28,30, 49, 56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikholm et al. in view of Watanable et al. and further in view of Streater et al. (US 20200195982 A1, hereinafter Streater).
As to dependent claim 3, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach
(a) wherein the screen area includes four edges, wherein the frame of the video file presented on the screen of the computing device includes edges which coincide with the four edges of the screen area; or
(b) wherein the screen area includes four edges, wherein the frame of the video file presented on the screen of the computing device is presented over the whole of the screen area.
Streater teaches (a) wherein the screen area includes four edges, wherein the frame of the video file presented on the screen of the computing device includes edges which coincide with the four edges of the screen area; or (b) wherein the screen area includes four edges, wherein the frame of the video file presented on the screen of the computing device is presented over the whole of the screen area (“There is provided a Web Player (1715), such as a JavaScript player (e.g. Blackbird's JavaScript player), in which the Web Player runs in a browser a full-screen” Paragraph 0007).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise (a) wherein the screen area includes four edges, wherein the frame of the video file presented on the screen of the computing device includes edges which coincide with the four edges of the screen area; or (b) wherein the screen area includes four edges, wherein the frame of the video file presented on the screen of the computing device is presented over the whole of the screen area. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with video editing.
As to dependent claim 9, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 7, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach the method further teaches (a) wherein when the pointer is further left than the far left of the window, it is the first frame of the video that is displayed; or
(b) wherein when the pointer is further right than the far right of the window, it is the last frame of the video that is displayed; or
(c) wherein when the pointer is further up than the top of the window, it is the first frame of the video that is displayed; or
(d) wherein when the pointer is further down than the bottom of the window, it is the last from of the video that is displayed.
Streater teaches “the horizontal band corresponds to 320 frames of video, compared with ten frames for the token image. This range of 320 frames can be navigated successfully with the pointer.” Paragraph 0409; “The method may be one which is so arranged that, when the pointer device points to a token near to the edge of the displayed subset of the continuous band, the band automatically scrolls, so that the token moves towards the centre of the displayed range, thereby allowing access to a region beyond the original displayed area.” (Paragraph 0417).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise (a) wherein when the pointer is further left than the far left of the window, it is the first frame of the video that is displayed; or (b) wherein when the pointer is further right than the far right of the window, it is the last frame of the video that is displayed; or (c) wherein when the pointer is further up than the top of the window, it is the first frame of the video that is displayed; or (d) wherein when the pointer is further down than the bottom of the window, it is the last from of the video that is displayed. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with video editing.
As to dependent claim 19, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 17, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach
(a) wherein when the position of the touch on the screen is further left than the far left of the window, it is the first frame of the video that is displayed; or
(b) wherein when the position of the touch on the screen is further right than the far right of the window, it is the last frame of the video that is displayed; or
(c) wherein when the position of the touch on the screen is further up than the top of the window, it is the first frame of the video that is displayed; or
(d) wherein when the position of the touch on the screen is further down than the bottom of the window, it is the last frame of the video that is displayed.
Streater teaches “the horizontal band corresponds to 320 frames of video, compared with ten frames for the token image. This range of 320 frames can be navigated successfully with the pointer.” Paragraph 0409; “The method may be one which is so arranged that, when the pointer device points to a token near to the edge of the displayed subset of the continuous band, the band automatically scrolls, so that the token moves towards the centre of the displayed range, thereby allowing access to a region beyond the original displayed area.” (Paragraph 0417).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise (a) wherein when the position of the touch on the screen is further left than the far left of the window, it is the first frame of the video that is displayed; or (b) wherein when the position of the touch on the screen is further right than the far right of the window, it is the last frame of the video that is displayed; or (c) wherein when the position of the touch on the screen is further up than the top of the window, it is the first frame of the video that is displayed; or (d) wherein when the position of the touch on the screen is further down than the bottom of the window, it is the last frame of the video that is displayed. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with video editing.
As to dependent claim 28, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach wherein the video file is stored in a compressed format structure on a server, and wherein the video file is stored in the compressed format structure on the server, the compressed format structure including a hierarchy of levels of temporal resolution of frames, each respective level of the hierarchy including frames corresponding to a respective temporal resolution of the respective level of the hierarchy, but not including frames which are included in one or more lower levels of lower temporal resolution of frames of the hierarchy.
Streater teaches wherein the video file is stored in a compressed format structure on a server, and wherein the video file is stored in the compressed format structure on the server, the compressed format structure including a hierarchy of levels of temporal resolution of frames, each respective level of the hierarchy including frames corresponding to a respective temporal resolution of the respective level of the hierarchy, but not including frames which are included in one or more lower levels of lower temporal resolution of frames of the hierarchy (“converting the video feed into a compressed format structure, the compressed format structure including a hierarchy of levels of temporal resolution of frames, each respective level of the hierarchy including frames corresponding to a respective temporal resolution of the respective level of the hierarchy, but not including frames which are included in one or more lower levels of lower temporal resolution of frames of the hierarchy;” paragraph 0011).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise wherein the video file is stored in a compressed format structure on a server, and wherein the video file is stored in the compressed format structure on the server, the compressed format structure including a hierarchy of levels of temporal resolution of frames, each respective level of the hierarchy including frames corresponding to a respective temporal resolution of the respective level of the hierarchy, but not including frames which are included in one or more lower levels of lower temporal resolution of frames of the hierarchy. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with video editing.
As to dependent claim 30, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 28, Wikholm does not appear to expressly wherein the minimum number of frames to download to the computing device and decompress is calculated from the number of pixels horizontally or vertically across the video image, and wherein only enough frames are downloaded to allow every pixel across the image, which is a possible position of the pointer or touch, to correspond to a different frame.
Streater teaches the computer code may be executable in the browser to maximise frame rate, without buffering, by downloading, decompressing and displaying appropriate groups of video frames as it plays back (paragraph 080).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to wherein the minimum number of frames to download to the computing device and decompress is calculated from the number of pixels horizontally or vertically across the video image, and wherein only enough frames are downloaded to allow every pixel across the image, which is a possible position of the pointer or touch, to correspond to a different frame. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with video editing.
As to dependent claim 49, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method of editing a video to create a clip video which includes one or more portions of an original video, is provided in an app downloadable to the computing device, wherein the computing device is a smartphone, a desktop computer, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a smart TV.
Streater teaches wherein the method of editing a video, is provided in an app downloadable to the computing device, wherein the computing device is a smartphone, a desktop computer, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a smart TV (“a computer code different example could be provided in an application for a smartphone, for a tablet computer, for a desktop computer, for a smart watch or for a smart TV.” Paragraph 0086).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise wherein the method of editing a video to create a clip video which includes one or more portions of an original video, is provided in an app downloadable to the computing device, wherein the computing device is a smartphone, a desktop computer, a tablet computer, a laptop computer, or a smart TV. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with video editing.
As to dependent claim 56, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 54, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach wherein the pointer (e.g. a cursor) is movable on the screen, orthogonally to the length of the video navigation tool, and in response in the video navigation tool the number of frames represented locally in the navigation tool is decreased locally, i.e. the number of frames represented in the navigation tool per unit distance along the navigation tool is decreased locally.
Streater teaches a method for enabling efficient navigation of video including facilitating navigation of a sequence of source images, the method using tokens representing each source image which are scaled versions of each source image and which are arranged adjacently on a display device in a continuous band of token images so that a pointer device can point to a token and the identity of the corresponding image is available for further processing (paragraph 0395).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise wherein the pointer (e.g. a cursor) is movable on the screen, orthogonally to the length of the video navigation tool, and in response in the video navigation tool the number of frames represented locally in the navigation tool is decreased locally, i.e. the number of frames represented in the navigation tool per unit distance along the navigation tool is decreased locally. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to enhance user experience with video editing.
Claims 38 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikholm et al. in view of Watanable et al. and further in view of Voss (US 20150348588 A1).
As to dependent claim 38, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach wherein the saved portion of the video file is sendable to social media such as Instagram or TikTok, possibly via a pop up window which may be used to fill in any text description or hashtags, or the like.
Voss teaches wherein the saved portion of the video file is sendable to social media such as Instagram or TikTok, possibly via a pop up window which may be used to fill in any text description or hashtags, or the like (“Edited segments may be saved and shared using their cropped lengths, and combined with other segments as desired.” Paragraph 0064, “a method of sharing in some immediately assessable form on the other side. This may include links or previews of Facebook™, Twitter™, or other social media applications.” Paragraph 0054).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise wherein the saved portion of the video file is sendable to social media such as Instagram or TikTok, possibly via a pop up window which may be used to fill in any text description or hashtags, or the like. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help a user share relevant content with a community.
As to dependent claim 45, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 1, Wikholm FIG. 4(c), shows the selected portions of FIG. 4(b) combined to form a final clip. However, Wikholm does not appear to teach wherein a selected portion of the video content is appended into a video window, where one or more clips are collectable in the video window to form a video that is a composite of selected portions of the video content.
Voss teaches wherein a selected portion of the video content is appended into a video window, where one or more clips are collectable in the video window to form a video that is a composite of selected portions of the video content (“The edit may be a move of the selected portion to some other segment. Regardless of the type of edit, the edited segment or the set of segments can then be played at step 1180.” Paragraph 0068).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise wherein a selected portion of the video content is appended into a video window, where one or more clips are collectable in the video window to form a video that is a composite of selected portions of the video content. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help a user share relevant content with a community.
As to dependent claim 46, Wikholm teaches the method of claim 45, Wikholm does not appear to expressly teach wherein the video that is a composite of the selected portions of the video content is stored in response to receiving a user command, and wherein the stored video that is a composite of the selected portions of the video content is sent to social media.
Voss teaches wherein the video that is a composite of the selected portions of the video content is stored in response to receiving a user command, and wherein the stored video that is a composite of the selected portions of the video content is sent to social media (“Edited segments may be saved and shared using their cropped lengths, and combined with other segments as desired.” Paragraph 0064, “a method of sharing in some immediately assessable form on the other side. This may include links or previews of Facebook™, Twitter™, or other social media applications.” Paragraph 0054).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Wikholm to comprise wherein the video that is a composite of the selected portions of the video content is stored in response to receiving a user command, and wherein the stored video that is a composite of the selected portions of the video content is sent to social media. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to help a user share relevant content with a community.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Khan US 20160225408 A1 Video recording and editing system.
Williams et al. US 20190146651 A1Graphical user interface for navigating a video
/MAHELET SHIBEROU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171