DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 8-14 in the reply filed on July 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8-9, 12 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 19-20, the phrase "such as" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 8-9 are rejected because they are dependents of canceled claim 7.
Claims 17-18 are rejected because they are dependents of canceled claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2002179712 (appears on the PTO-892).
JP teaches an emulsifier of the formula R1-O(AO)n-X wherein R1 is a C1-C36 alkyl, alkenyl, phenyl, or alkylphenyl; A is two or more groups selected from ethylene and propylene; X is an anionic hydrophile group and n is 2-200 (see abstract; para 0007 and 0023-0024).
JP teaches that more specifically X is SO3M (see para 0023-0024) and CH2COOM (para 0028) wherein M represents H, sodium and ammonium (see para 0030). JP meets the limitations of the claims other than the differences that are set forth below.
JP teaches general formulas of its compound, and the general formulas of JP encompass Formula I of the present invention. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the claimed substituents of R1, R2, z and X of the present invention because JP teaches that R1 may be a C1-C36 alkyl, alkenyl, phenyl, or alkylphenyl; A which is equivalent to present (CH2-CHR2-O), may be ethylene or propylene, n, which is equivalent to present “z”, may be 2-200 and X is SO3M or CH2COOM.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art teaches various alkoxylated compounds.
/CEPHIA D TOOMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771 18687037/20260919