DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
“Shielding means” in claim 1 is interpreted to mean an insulating member based on the specification par. 256.
“Original position detection means” in claims 14-15 is interpreted to mean at least one a position switch or lever based the specification par. 225.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites “an edge of the upper hole” which lacks antecedent basis. It will be interpreted as –an edge of an upper hole--.
Claim 10 recites “the plurality of choke pieces” which lacks antecedent basis and it unclear if it referring to the “a choke piece” recited in claim 9. It will be interpreted as --the choke piece comprises a plurality of choke pieces--.
Claim 14 recites “wherein a control of contact or proximity of the insulating member and the upper plate is performed by an original position detection means.” It is unclear how a position lever/switch can control contact of the insulating member and upper plate, additionally structure is needed to take the signal produced by the switch/lever for “control of contact.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Tateda (US 4137442 A).
Claim 1. Tateda discloses a cooking appliance (Fig. 1) comprising:
a casing (oven with an outer casing, Fig. 1) in which a cooking chamber (oven cavity 1, Fig. 1) is provided;
a door configured to open and close the cooking chamber (door 10, Fig. 1);
a moving assembly (browning unit 3, Fig. 2) configured to be movable vertically inside the cooking chamber (lever 9 can shift the browning unit up and down, col 5, lines 50-60) and provided with a heater (browning unit 3 with a heat generating means 14, col 3 lines 35-50), and
a shielding means configured to prevent leakage of electromagnetic waves through a gap between the casing and the moving assembly (choke mechanism 17 to prevent the supporting pipe 15 which holds up the browning unit, col 3, lines 50-60, Fig. 3, and has an insulating bearing 28).
Claim 2. Tateda discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the shielding means is provided at a lower end of the moving assembly (choke mechanism 17 is near the lower end of the browning unit 3, Fig. 3) and includes an insulating member (insulating bearing 28), an outer edge thereof protrudes outward further than the moving assembly (outer edge of 17 is protrudes outward from the browning unit, Fig. 3).
Claim 3. Tateda discloses the cooking appliance of claim 2, wherein the shielding means further includes a protection cover (reflector plate 13) provided in the casing to laterally surround the moving assembly (reflector plate 13 surrounds the browning unit, Fig. 2).
Claim 4. Tateda discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the shielding means is provided with a resonance chamber that traps or offsets electromagnetic waves (clearance 31, Fig. 3, col 4 lines 40-47).
Claim 5. Tateda discloses the cooking appliance of claim 3, wherein the insulating member or the protection cover is provided with a resonance chamber that traps or offsets electromagnetic waves (insulated bearing 28 is part of the clearance 31, Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (KR 20070008043 A) in view of Kwon (US 2018/0092486 A1).
Claim 1. Park discloses a cooking appliance (Fig. 1) comprising:
a casing (cavity assembly 20, Fig. 1) in which a cooking chamber (oven cavity, Fig. 1) is provided;
a door configured to open and close the cooking chamber (door not shown, page 16);
a
a shielding means configured to prevent leakage of electromagnetic waves through a gap between the casing and the moving assembly (choke member 42, Fig. 1, abstract).
Park does not disclose a moving assembly configured to be movable vertically inside the cooking chamber.
Kwon discloses a moving heater module (110, 163 and all associated actuation structure) in an accommodation space (interior of 10) of a microwave (Fig. 13) the heater module configured to move into the cooking space (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park to incorporate the teachings of Kwon and have Park’s heater move vertically down into the chamber. Doing so would have the benefit of providing a mixed heating regime for the microwave oven that can provide the benefits of mixed cooking (par. 4, Kwon).
Claim 2. Park in view of Kwon discloses the cooking appliance of claim 1, wherein the shielding means is provided at a lower end of the moving assembly (42 is at the bottom of the heater 38, Fig. 2) and includes an insulating member (insulating member between heater and choke, page 14), an outer edge thereof protrudes outward further than the moving assembly (42 protrudes out from the heater, Fig. 1).
Claim 3. Park in view of Kwon discloses the cooking appliance of claim 2, wherein the shielding means further includes a protection cover (42) provided in the casing to laterally surround the moving assembly (42 surrounds the heater, Fig. 1, which is mounted on Kwon’s actuator).
Claim 7. Park in view of Kwon discloses the cooking appliance of claim 3, wherein the protection cover is provided at one portion of an upper plate forming an upper surface of the cooking chamber (42 is at one portion of the upper plate 30, Fig. 2).
Claim 8. Park in view of Kwon discloses the cooking appliance of claim 7, wherein an upper hole (heater opening 34, Fig. 2) is formed in the upper plate to penetrate vertically, which serves as a path for the moving assembly to move vertically (combined prior art has the heater move up and down vertically from the opening).
Claim 9. Park in view of Kwon discloses the cooking appliance of claim 3, wherein a choke piece (choke structure 42c) is provided at an edge of the upper hole (heater opening 34, Fig. 2) to shield electromagnetic wave leakage in the cooking chamber.
Claim 10. Park in view of Kwon discloses the cooking appliance of claim 9, wherein the plurality of choke pieces are formed at equal intervals from each other (plurality of choke pieces separated by intervals, Fig. 3).
Claim 11. Park in view of Kwon discloses the cooking appliance of claim 9, wherein the choke piece is vertically bent from an edge of the upper hole to extend upward (Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kwon as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kim ‘751 (2014/0079751 A1).
Claim 5. Park in view of Kwon does not disclose the cooking appliance of claim 3, wherein the insulating member or the protection cover is provided with a resonance chamber that traps or offsets electromagnetic waves.
Kim ‘751 discloses a microwave wherein the choke cover has a chamber (Fig. 7) for chocking electromagnetic waves (par. 41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park in view of Kwon to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘751 and have a choke chamber disclosed in Kim ‘751. Doing so would have the benefit of eliminating microwaves (par. 41, Kim ‘751).
Claim 6. Park in view of Kwon and Kim ‘751 discloses the cooking appliance of claim 5, wherein the insulating member and the protection cover have a structure in which a predetermined portion thereof vertically overlaps (insulating member is between the heater and choke, page 14, and with a raised portion of the choke with the chamber structure, a portion of the choke or protection cover will vertically overlap with the insulating member).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Kwon as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Kim ‘680 (US 2017/0245680 A1).
Claim 12. Park in view of Kwon does not disclose the cooking appliance of claim 11, wherein a choke groove recessed on one side is formed in the choke piece.
Kim ‘680 discloses a microwave oven wherein the chock 43 includes a plurality of incised grooves 45 (fig. 3) in directions of long and short sides to offset and eliminate microwaves (par. 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Park in view of Kwon to incorporate the teachings of Kim ‘680 and have grooves on the choke pieces. Doing so would have the benefit of eliminating microwaves (par. 67, Kim).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not disclose that the insulating member and the upper plate overlap each other or come into contact with each other.
Conclusion
/SIMPSON A CHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/ELIZABETH M KERR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761