DETAILED ACTION
The Examiner thanks the Applicant for the well-prepared amendment. The Examiner appreciates the Applicant’s effort to carefully analyze the Office action, and make appropriate arguments and amendments.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 responded on July 06, 2026 are pending, claims 1, 6, 8, 9, 11, and 14 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 6, filed July 06, 2026, with respect to claims 6, 8, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 6, 8, has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that Zhu does not discloses "mapping pattern information of RIS to reflect a beam of the BS to a synchronization SSB" and "transmitting configuration information including the patterninformation of the RIS to an RlS controller controlling the RIS". It is not clear what pattern information refers to and therefore makes configuration information unclear. Zhu discloses in [0073] The index of SSBi ϵ B may uniquely map to the transmitted spatial filter (i.e beam) at the gNB…to the IRS and [0060-61] the gNB may determine the best departure angles at the gNB for transmitting beams to the IRS and the best arrival angles at the IRS for receiving signals from the gNB and the gNB may transmit different SSBs each with a uniquely mapped spatial filter (beam). The new added determining step does not clarify the pattern information and configuration. Zhu discloses in [0060-61] the gNB may determine the best departure angles at the gNB for transmitting beams to the IRS and the best arrival angles at the IRS for receiving signals from the gNBThe measured gNB signal strength at the rUE may be considered a good reference to represent the gNB signal strength received by the IRS (e.g., when the rUE is located close to the IRS). The rUE may feed back the measured data to the gNB and the best transmit beam from the gNB to the IRS may be computed based on the strongest received signal strength at the rUE. It is suggested to recite additional clarification of pattern information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US 2022/0407222 A1, hereinafter "Zhu") in view of Sahraei et al. (US 2024/0015797 A1, hereinafter "Sahraei").
Regarding claim 1, Zhu discloses a method of supporting beamforming by a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
determining a location of a reconfiguration intelligent surface (RIS) based on a distance between a user equipment (UE) and the RIS, a bearing angle of the RIS and a maximum received power if the UE for a signal transmitted by the BS reflected from the RIS (Zhu, [0060-61, 0073] The measured gNB signal strength at the rUE may be considered a good reference to represent the gNB signal strength received by the IRS (e.g., when the rUE is located close to the IRS). The rUE may feed back the measured data to the gNB and the best transmit beam from the gNB to the IRS may be computed based on the strongest received signal strength at the rUE; one of the rUEs (rUE #1) may be located in a position that shares the same azimuth and vertical arrival angles at IRS with respect to the impinging signals from the gNE) ;
mapping pattern information of the RlS to reflect a beam of the BS to a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Zhu, [0073] the gNB may determine the SSB set…The index of SSBi ϵ B may uniquely map to the transmitted spatial filter (i.e beam) at the gNB…to the IRS);
transmitting configuration information including the pattern information of the RIS to an RlS controller controlling the RIS (Zhu, [0073] may represent the best departure angles at the gNB for transmit beams to the IRS); receiving a random access preamble from the UE through the RIS (Zhu, [0088] UE performs random access using the RACH occasion corresponding to an SSB that was transmitted over a reflected beam (i.e. RIS)), Zhu discloses transmits UE a SSB but does not explicitly disclose through the RIS based on the configuration information.
Sahraei from the same field of endeavor discloses transmitting the mapped SSB to a user equipment (UE) through the RIS based on the configuration information (Sahraei, [0096] the second UE 120b may receive the type 1 SSB, transmitted by the base station 110, via one or more beams reflected from the RIS 710) and receiving a random access preamble from the UE through the RIS (Sahraei, [0099] the PRACH communication, transmitted by the UE, may be reflected from the RIS in a direction such that the base station may not be able to receive the PRACH communication on the Rx beam that corresponds to the Tx beam used by the base station to transmit the SSB).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified intelligent reflecting surface disclosed by Zhu and intelligent reflecting surface disclosed by Sahraei with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency and lower the cost (Sahraei, [0004]).
Regarding claim 2, Zhu discloses wherein mapping the pattern information of the RlS to the SSB further comprises mapping a combination of the beam of the BS and the pattern information of the RlS to the SSB (Zhu, [0012] determining an arrival angle of the subsequent synchronization signal block signal burst at the reflection surface device. The method may also include establishing a connection with the reflection surface device based on the transmit beam and the arrival angle).
Regarding claim 3, Zhu discloses wherein when the UE is located between the RIS and the BS, the pattern information of the RIS is set to 'OFF' (Zhu, [0061, 69] when the rUE is located close to the IRS; when transmitting other signals/channels to the UE, the gNB may use either a direct beam (IRS off) or a reflected beam (IRS configured to reflect along a particular departure angle from the IRS)).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses wherein mapping the pattern information of the RIS to the SSB further comprises:
performing a synchronization operation with the RIS controller based on the SSB (Zhu, [0024] determining the best beam transmitted by the gNB (i.e. synchronization) and received at the IRS); and mapping a combination of the beam of the BS and the pattern information of the RlS to the SSB (Zhu, [0012] determining an arrival angle of the subsequent synchronization signal block signal burst at the reflection surface device. The method may also include establishing a connection with the reflection surface device based on the transmit beam and the arrival angle).
Regarding claim 5, Zhu discloses wherein the mapped SSB is transmitted through a scheduling signal (Zhu, [0091] the gNB may partition SSB transmission occasions into two sets; one for transmission with direct beams, and one for transmission with reflected beams).
Regarding claims 6-10, these claims recite "a base station" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claims 1-5, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 1-5 as presented above.
Regarding claim 11, Zhu discloses method of reflecting a beam supporting beamforming by a reconfiguration intelligent surface (RIS) controller in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
determining a location of a reconfiguration intelligent surface (RIS) based on a distance between a user equipment (UE) and the RIS, a bearing angle of the RIS and a maximum received power if the UE for a signal transmitted by the BS reflected from the RIS (Zhu, [0060-61, 0073] The measured gNB signal strength at the rUE may be considered a good reference to represent the gNB signal strength received by the IRS (e.g., when the rUE is located close to the IRS). The rUE may feed back the measured data to the gNB and the best transmit beam from the gNB to the IRS may be computed based on the strongest received signal strength at the rUE; one of the rUEs (rUE #1) may be located in a position that shares the same azimuth and vertical arrival angles at IRS with respect to the impinging signals from the gNE);
receiving, from the BS, a synchronization signal block (SSB) to which pattern information of an RIS is mapped (Zhu, [0073] the gNB may determine the SSB set…The index of SSBi ϵ B may uniquely map to the transmitted spatial filter (i.e. beam) at the gNB…may represent the best departure angles at the gNB for transmit beams to the IRS);
setting a phase value of an RIS element of the RIS based on the received SSB (Zhu, [0059] the gNB has already determined the best SSB beam arriving at the IRS and the corresponding arrival angles ϕa=ΦSSB, θa=ΘSSB to be assumed when configuring the phase shifts at the IRS for different departure angles for downlink communication); but does not explicitly disclose transmitting the SSB to the UE based on the phase value of the RIS element.
Sahraei from the same field of endeavor discloses transmitting the SSB to the UE based on the phase value of the RIS element (Sahraei, [0099] a base station may transmit an SSB (e.g., type 1 SSB) on a Tx beam in a direction associated with a RIS. The RIS may reflect the SSB, and a UE may receive, an Rx beam of the UE… the RIS may have a different relationship between the impinging angle and the reflecting angle in the uplink direction and the downlink direction).
It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified intelligent reflecting surface disclosed by Zhu and intelligent reflecting surface disclosed by Sahraei with a motivation to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency and lower the cost (Sahraei, [0004]).
Regarding claim 12, Zhu discloses receiving configuration information including an SSB index from the UE; and transmitting the configuration information to the BS (Zhu, [0073] rUE #1 may receive the SSB burst signals, and measure the L1-RSRP of each SSB block. In addition, rUE #1 or the IRS may transmit the measured L1-RSRP values back to the gNB (or SSBi according to Fig. 8 115)).
Regarding claim 13, Zhu discloses wherein a combination of the number of beams of the BS and the pattern information of the RIS is mapped to the first SSB (Zhu, [0012] determining an arrival angle of the subsequent synchronization signal block signal burst at the reflection surface device. The method may also include establishing a connection with the reflection surface device based on the transmit beam and the arrival angle).
Regarding claims 14-15, these claims recite "a reconfiguration intelligent surface (RTS) controller" that disclose similar steps as recited by the method of claims 11-12, thus are rejected with the same rationale applied against claims 11-12 as presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUNA WEISSBERGER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2415