DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Applicant has not provided an explanation of relevance of cited document(s) discussed below.
Reference US 2021/0034100 A1 is a general background reference covering: Embodiments of a deadfront article for a display are disclosed herein. The deadfront article includes a substrate having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface. Also included is a semitransparent black layer disposed onto at least a first portion of the second surface of the substrate. The semitransparent black layer is configured to obscure the display when the display is inactive and to allow viewing of the display when the display is active. (see abstract).
Reference US 2015/0294554 A1 is a general background reference covering: In one aspect of the disclosed implementations, a device includes one or more motion sensors for sensing motion of the device and providing activity data indicative of the sensed motion. The device also includes one or more feedback devices for providing feedback, a notice, or an indication to a user based on the monitoring. The device also includes one or more processors for monitoring the activity data, for determining one or more activity metrics based on the activity data, and for causing one or more of the feedback devices to produce an indication to the user that an activity goal has been achieved by the user based on one or more of the activity metrics. The device further includes a portable housing that encloses at least portions of the motion sensors, the processors and the feedback devices. (see abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (KR 102058456 B1).
Regarding claim 1, KR 102058456 B1 discloses a dead front panel for an electronic device (e.g., a display device and a home appliance including the same, and more particularly, to a display device and a home appliance including the same in harmony with the design of the installed home appliance, Technical Field), comprising:
a transparent substrate corresponding to a surface of the electronic device, having a display window area through which light is emitted by a display element of the electronic device when the display element is illuminated, and having a non-display window area (e.g., As shown in FIG. 1, the upper end 30a of the display device 30 is positioned on the upper end 22a of the first object 22 and on the virtual first straight line L1. The lower end 30b of the display device 30 is disposed at the lower end 23a of the second object 23 spaced below the first object 22 and the virtual second straight line L2. It may be a position disposed to be positioned on. In this case, the virtual first and second straight lines L1 and L2 may be arranged in parallel with each other. The upper end 30a and the lower end 30b of the display device 30 may be the upper end 31a and the lower end 31b of the transparent protective layer 31, page 3); and
a layer of colorant applied to a back surface of the transparent substrate at both the display window area and the non-display window area (e.g., And a printed layer formed on a rear surface of the half mirror layer and surrounding the display unit, wherein the display unit has the same color as the color of the printed layer in the image display area of the display unit in the on state. It is characterized by, Abstract).
KR 102058456 B1, in one embodiment (figure 1), does not specifically disclose a thickness of the layer in combination with a transmittance of the colorant permitting visibility of the light emitted by the display element when illuminated and obfuscating visibility of the display element when not illuminated.
KR 102058456 B1, in second embodiment (figure 4), discloses a thickness of the layer in combination with a transmittance of the colorant permitting visibility of the light emitted by the display element when illuminated and obfuscating visibility of the display element when not illuminated (e.g., The half mirror layer 33 has the same reflectance as the normal mirror, but the light emitted from the rear of the light source, that is, the display 37, is transmitted from the rear side so that the image displayed on the display 37 is displayed in the half mirror layer 33.) Can be clearly seen. Accordingly, the half mirror layer 33 transmits light emitted from the image display area of the display unit 37 when the display unit 37 is turned on, so that the user can fully recognize the image.
In addition, the half mirror layer 33 may reflect the light when the display unit 37 is off to perform a mirror function as well as conceal the display unit 37. In addition, since the half mirror layer 33 is made of the same color as or similar to the color of the main body 20 made of a metal material, the half mirror layer 33 may be recognized as a single object with the main body 20 without giving a heterogeneity to the main body 20, page 5, figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified KR 102058456 B1 to include a thickness of the layer in combination with a transmittance of the colorant permitting visibility of the light emitted by the display element when illuminated and obfuscating visibility of the display element when not illuminated as taught by KR 102058456 B1 in second embodiment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified KR 102058456 B1, in first embodiment by the teaching of KR 102058456 B1 in second embodiment to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 2, KR 102058456 B1 discloses wherein the layer is a first layer of the colorant, the dead front panel further comprising:
a second layer of the colorant applied to the first layer at the non-display window area, a thickness of the second layer in combination with the thickness of the first layer and the transmittance of the colorant rendering the non-display window area to visibly match the display window area when the display element is not illuminated (e.g., n addition, the present invention may include a half mirror layer 33 to be described later having the display device 30 having the same or similar color as the color of the main body so as to give a sense of unity with the main body 20, 20a, page 4).
Regarding claim 3, KR 102058456 B1 discloses further comprising:
a black layer of colorant applied to the second layer at the non-display window area, a transmittance of the black colorant obfuscating visibility of any element through the non-display window area, regardless of whether the display element is illuminated (e.g., the present invention may include a half mirror layer 33 to be described later having the display device 30 having the same or similar color as the color of the main body so as to give a sense of unity with the main body 20, 20a. The half mirror layer 33 hides the display unit 37 when the display unit 37, which will be described later, of the display unit 30 is turned off, and at the same time, the display unit 30 is colored in the main body 20, 20a. By having the same or similar color as the body can give a sense of unity with the body (20, 20a), page 4).
Regarding claim 4, KR 102058456 B1 discloses further comprising:
an adhesive layer applied to the black layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the electronic device at the non-display window area, wherein the adhesive layer is not applied to the first layer, resulting in an air gap at the display window area between the first layer and the display element (e.g., The transparent electrode layer 39 may be made of an indium tin oxide (ITO) film. The transparent electrode layer is a sensor that has conductivity and can detect input coordinates by measuring capacitance with respect to a user's touch input. The transparent electrode layer 39 may include a sensing layer and a driving layer stacked thereon. The transparent electrode layer 39 detects a touch input made by a user due to the non-conductive property of the half mirror layer 33 stacked on the front surface (which is having an air gap at the display window area between the first layer and the display element), and the display 37 can operate the image display area by the touch input. have, page 8).
Regarding claim 5, KR 102058456 B1 discloses further comprising:
a first adhesive layer of a first adhesive applied to the black layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the electronic device at the non-display window area (e.g., Referring to FIG. 4, in the display device 30, the transparent protective layer 31, the half mirror layer 33, the print layer 35, the transparent electrode layer 39, and the display unit 37 may be sequentially stacked. . In this case, the transparent protective layer 31 and the half mirror layer 33 may be bonded to each other through the first adhesive film 51 (for example, optically clear. adhesive (OCA)), and the printed layer 35 on the back side, page 5); and
a second adhesive layer of a second adhesive applied to the first layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the electronic device at the display window area, resulting in no air gap at the display window area between the first layer and the display element, the second adhesive being transparent and different than the first adhesive (e.g., The half mirror layer 33 formed thereon and the display unit 37 having the transparent electrode layer 39 formed thereon and the second adhesive film 53 (eg, OCA) may be bonded to each other, page 5).
Regarding claim 6, KR 102058456 B1 discloses further comprising: a transparent adhesive layer applied to both the first layer and the black layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the electronic device at both the display window area and the non-display window area, resulting in no air gap at the display window area between the first layer and the display element (e.g., Referring to FIG. 4, in the display device 30, the transparent protective layer 31, the half mirror layer 33, the print layer 35, the transparent electrode layer 39, and the display unit 37 may be sequentially stacked. . In this case, the transparent protective layer 31 and the half mirror layer 33 may be bonded to each other through the first adhesive film 51 (for example, optically clear adhesive (OCA)), and the printed layer 35 on the back side. The half mirror layer 33 formed thereon and the display unit 37 having the transparent electrode layer 39 formed thereon and the second adhesive film 53 (eg, OCA) may be bonded to each other, page 5).
Regarding claim 7, KR 102058456 B1 discloses wherein the first and second layers and the black layer are each a silkscreened layer of the colorant (e.g., Referring to FIG. 4, in the display device 30, the transparent protective layer 31, the half mirror layer 33, the print layer 35, the transparent electrode layer 39, and the display unit 37 may be sequentially stacked. . In this case, the transparent protective layer 31 and the half mirror layer 33 may be bonded to each other through the first adhesive film 51 (for example, optically clear adhesive (OCA)), and the printed layer 35 on the back side. The half mirror layer 33 formed thereon and the display unit 37 having the transparent electrode layer 39 formed thereon and the second adhesive film 53 (eg, OCA) may be bonded to each other, page 5).
Regarding claim 8, KR 102058456 B1 discloses wherein the color of the colorant corresponds to a color of an enclosure of the electronic device (e.g., the present invention may include a half mirror layer 33 to be described later having the display device 30 having the same or similar color as the color of the main body so as to give a sense of unity with the main body 20, 20a, page 4).
Regarding claim 9, KR 102058456 B1 discloses wherein the transparent substrate has a front surface opposite the back surface and that is textured in correspondence with a texture of the enclosure, the back surface closer to the display element than the front surface (e.g., Referring to FIG. 4, in the display device 30, the transparent protective layer 31, the half mirror layer 33, the print layer 35, the transparent electrode layer 39, and the display unit 37 may be sequentially stacked. . In this case, the transparent protective layer 31 and the half mirror layer 33 may be bonded to each other through the first adhesive film 51 (for example, optically clear adhesive (OCA)), and the printed layer 35 on the back side. The half mirror layer 33 formed thereon and the display unit 37 having the transparent electrode layer 39 formed thereon and the second adhesive film 53 (eg, OCA) may be bonded to each other, page 5).
Regarding claim 10, KR 102058456 B1 discloses wherein the transparent substrate comprises a transparent polycarbonate substrate (e.g., Referring to FIG. 3, the display device 30 may include a transparent protective layer 31 made of tempered glass, a half mirror layer 33, a print layer 35, a display unit 37, and a transparent electrode layer 39, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 11, KR 102058456 B1 discloses an electronic device (e.g., FIG. 1, the home appliance 10 according to an embodiment of the present invention may be any one of home appliances such as a refrigerator, an air conditioner, a washing machine, an air purifier, a laundry dryer, and the like, page 3) comprising:
an enclosure (e.g., figure 1);
a display element disposed within a cavity of the enclosure and to emit light when illuminated (e.g., the display unit and having a larger area than the area of the display unit; A half mirror layer attached to a rear surface of the transparent protective layer and partially reflecting external light and transmitting light emitted from an image display area of the display unit, Abstract);
a transparent substrate having a display window area through which the light is emitted by the display element when illuminated (e.g., As shown in FIG. 1, the upper end 30a of the display device 30 is positioned on the upper end 22a of the first object 22 and on the virtual first straight line L1. The lower end 30b of the display device 30 is disposed at the lower end 23a of the second object 23 spaced below the first object 22 and the virtual second straight line L2. It may be a position disposed to be positioned on. In this case, the virtual first and second straight lines L1 and L2 may be arranged in parallel with each other. The upper end 30a and the lower end 30b of the display device 30 may be the upper end 31a and the lower end 31b of the transparent protective layer 31, page 3);
a first layer of colorant applied to a back surface of the transparent substrate at both the display window area and a non-display window area of the transparent substrate (e.g., And a printed layer formed on a rear surface of the half mirror layer and surrounding the display unit, wherein the display unit has the same color as the color of the printed layer in the image display area of the display unit in the on state. It is characterized by, Abstract);
a second layer of the colorant applied to the first layer at the non-display window area, a thickness of the second layer in combination with the thickness of the first layer and the transmittance of the colorant rendering the non-display window area to visibly match the display window area when the display element is not illuminated (e.g., in addition, the present invention may include a half mirror layer 33 to be described later having the display device 30 having the same or similar color as the color of the main body so as to give a sense of unity with the main body 20, 20a, page 4).
KR 102058456 B1, in one embodiment (figure 1), does not specifically disclose a thickness of the first layer in combination with a transmittance of the colorant permitting visibility of the light emitted by the display element when illuminated and obfuscating visibility of the display element when not illuminated.
KR 102058456 B1, in second embodiment (figure 4), discloses a thickness of the first layer in combination with a transmittance of the colorant permitting visibility of the light emitted by the display element when illuminated and obfuscating visibility of the display element when not illuminated (e.g., The half mirror layer 33 has the same reflectance as the normal mirror, but the light emitted from the rear of the light source, that is, the display 37, is transmitted from the rear side so that the image displayed on the display 37 is displayed in the half mirror layer 33.) Can be clearly seen. Accordingly, the half mirror layer 33 transmits light emitted from the image display area of the display unit 37 when the display unit 37 is turned on, so that the user can fully recognize the image, page 5)
an adhesive layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the enclosure (e.g., Referring to FIG. 4, in the display device 30, the transparent protective layer 31, the half mirror layer 33, the print layer 35, the transparent electrode layer 39, and the display unit 37 may be sequentially stacked. . In this case, the transparent protective layer 31 and the half mirror layer 33 may be bonded to each other through the first adhesive film 51 (for example, optically clear. adhesive (OCA), page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified KR 102058456 B1 to include a thickness of the first layer in combination with a transmittance of the colorant permitting visibility of the light emitted by the display element when illuminated and obfuscating visibility of the display element when not illuminated; an adhesive layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the enclosure as taught by KR 102058456 B1 in second embodiment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified KR 102058456 B1, in first embodiment by the teaching of KR 102058456 B1 in second embodiment to use for particular application.
Regarding claim 12, KR 102058456 B1 discloses wherein the display element comprises an addressable pixel-based touchscreen display element (e.g., The touch key 36 may be a capacitive touch sensor capable of detecting a user's touch input, and a masking part 35d representing at least one image or symbol may be formed in the touch area 35c. When the user touches an area corresponding to each masking unit 35d, the touch key 36 may perform a preset function for the corresponding masking unit 35d. For example, when a user's touch is applied to the masking unit 35d, the touch key 36 may detect the touch and control the GUI displayed on the image display area of the display unit 30, page 7).
Regarding claim 13, KR 102058456 B1 discloses wherein the display element comprises a light guide optically coupled to a light-emitting element disposed within a cavity of the enclosure to which the non-display window area corresponds, the electronic device further comprising:
a black layer of colorant applied to the second layer at the non-display area, a transmittance of the black colorant obfuscating visibility of the light- emitting element through the non-display window area (e.g., Referring to FIG. 4, in the display device 30, the transparent protective layer 31, the half mirror layer 33, the print layer 35, the transparent electrode layer 39, and the display unit 37 may be sequentially stacked. . In this case, the transparent protective layer 31 and the half mirror layer 33 may be bonded to each other through the first adhesive film 51 (for example, optically clear. adhesive (OCA)), and the printed layer 35 on the back side. The half mirror layer 33 formed thereon and the display unit 37 having the transparent electrode layer 39 formed thereon and the second adhesive film 53 (eg, OCA) may be bonded to each other, page 5).
Regarding claim 14, KR 102058456 B1 discloses wherein the adhesive layer is either:
applied to the black layer and not to the first layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the enclosure at the non-display area and not at the display area, resulting in an air gap at the display window area between the first layer and the display element (e.g., The transparent electrode layer 39 may be made of an indium tin oxide (ITO) film. The transparent electrode layer is a sensor that has conductivity and can detect input coordinates by measuring capacitance with respect to a user's touch input. The transparent electrode layer 39 may include a sensing layer and a driving layer stacked thereon. The transparent electrode layer 39 detects a touch input made by a user due to the non-conductive property of the half mirror layer 33 stacked on the front surface (which is having an air gap at the display window area between the first layer and the display element), and the display 37 can operate the image display area by the touch input. have, page 8); (Note: since claim 14 is having options of 3 limitations with only one option is satisfied. Since the first limitation disclosed as shown above in page 8. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by first limitation at page 8 as shown above.
applied to both the first layer and the black layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the enclosure at both the display and non-display areas, resulting in no air gap at the display window area between the first layer and the display element, the adhesive layer being transparent; or
a first layer of a first adhesive applied to the black layer and not to the first layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the enclosure at the non-display area, the electronic device further comprising a second layer of a second adhesive applied to the first layer to adhere the transparent substrate to the enclosure at the display area, resulting in no air gap at the display window area between the first layer and the display element, the second adhesive being transparent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by (KR 102058456 B1).
Regarding claim 15, KR 102058456 B1 discloses a method comprising:
detecting a swipe gesture on a dead front panel under a display window area of which a pixel-based touchscreen display element is disposed, the dead front panel having a transparent substrate and a layer of colorant applied to a back surface of the transparent substrate (e.g., Referring to FIG. 4, in the display device 30, the transparent protective layer 31, the half mirror layer 33, the print layer 35, the transparent electrode layer 39, and the display unit 37 may be sequentially stacked. . In this case, the transparent protective layer 31 and the half mirror layer 33 may be bonded to each other through the first adhesive film 51 (for example, optically clear adhesive (OCA)), and the printed layer 35 on the back side, page 5), a thickness of the layer in combination with a transmittance of the colorant permitting visibility of light emitted by the pixel-based touchscreen display element when illuminated and obfuscating visibility of the pixel-based touchscreen display element when not illuminated (e.g., The half mirror layer 33 has the same reflectance as the normal mirror, but the light emitted from the rear of the light source, that is, the display 37, is transmitted from the rear side so that the image displayed on the display 37 is displayed in the half mirror layer 33.) Can be clearly seen. Accordingly, the half mirror layer 33 transmits light emitted from the image display area of the display unit 37 when the display unit 37 is turned on, so that the user can fully recognize the image,.
In addition, the half mirror layer 33 may reflect the light when the display unit 37 is off to perform a mirror function as well as conceal the display unit 37. In addition, since the half mirror layer 33 is made of the same color as or similar to the color of the main body 20 made of a metal material, the half mirror layer 33 may be recognized as a single object with the main body 20 without giving a heterogeneity to the main body 20, page 5).
in response to detecting the swipe gesture, scrolling information displayed by the pixel-based touchscreen display element through the display window area of the dead front panel in correspondence with the swipe gesture.
in response to detecting the swipe gesture, scrolling information displayed by the pixel-based touchscreen display element through the display window area of the dead front panel in correspondence with the swipe gesture (e.g., the touch key 36 may be a capacitive touch sensor capable of detecting a user's touch input, and a masking part 35d representing at least one image or symbol may be formed in the touch area 35c. When the user touches an area corresponding to each masking unit 35d, the touch key 36 may perform a preset function for the corresponding masking unit 35d. For example, when a user's touch is applied to the masking unit 35d, the touch key 36 may detect the touch and control the GUI displayed on the image display area of the display unit 30, page 7).
Conclusion
/QUANG N VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683