DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is not clearly understood because it requires the nozzle body to be both stationary and pivotable. This appears to be a contradiction since stationary means it does not move. The claim has been read as requiring the nozzle body to be one or the other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Velasco (US 2020/0216034).
Velasco discloses a vehicle roof module (30,48,50) forming a vehicle roof on a motor vehicle (32), as shown in Figure 1. The roof module (30,48,50) has a panel component (30,48,50) whose outer surface forms at least sections of a roof skin (30,48,50), as shown in Figure 1. The roof skin (30,48,50) acts as an outer sealing surface of the roof module (30,48,50), as shown in Figure 1. The roof module (30,48,50) has at least one environment sensor (42) which sends and receives electromagnetic signals for charting the vehicle environment via a see-through area (36) and having at least one cleaning apparatus (38), as shown in Figures 1-5. The cleaning apparatus (38) cleans the see through area (36), as disclosed in paragraph [0022]. The cleaning apparatus (38) comprises essentially oblong nozzle bodies (68,70,78), each having a plurality of ejection nozzles (40,72,80), as shown in Figure 4.
In reference to claim 2, each nozzle body (68,70,78) is essentially tube or hose shaped having a hollow cross section, as shown in Figure 4 and disclosed in paragraph [0034].
In reference to claim 3, each nozzle body (68,70,78) has a plurality of holes or slits (40,72,80), as shown in Figures 4 and 5.
In reference to claim 4, each ejection nozzle (40,72,80) is oriented essentially in the same or different direction in relation to the see through area (36), as shown in Figure 2C. The nozzles are spaced along the tube/nozzle body, as shown in Figure 4, which wraps around the see through area, as shown in Figure 2C.
In reference to claim 6, the nozzle body(68,70,78) has a plurality of ejection nozzles (40,72,80) oriented in a manner in relation to the see-through area that an air current strikes the see through area from the outside along a movement direction. The ejection nozzles wrap completely around the see through area (36), as shown in Figure 2C. Some of the ejection nozzles are oriented in the claimed manner.
In reference to claim 7, the panel component (30,48,50) has an essentially oblong guide channel in front of the see through area (36) and formed between rails (52), as shown in Figure 3. The guide channel is offset rearward in the direction of an interior with respect to the outer surface of the roof skin (30,48,50) and is configured for at least partially receiving the at least one nozzle body (68,70,78), as shown in Figures 1-3.
In reference to claim 8, the guide channel is inserted in the roof skin (30,48,50) in the manner of a groove or channel, as shown in Figure 3.
In reference to claim 9, the nozzle body (68,70,78) is pivotable in the guide channel about axis (A) in the guide channel, as disclosed in paragraph [0030].
In reference to claims 10 and 11, the claims further limit only one of the options of claim 1 without claiming that it must be present. Anything that meets one of the alternatives of claim 1 meets this limitation without having the flow guiding contour. References that disclose these features are located on the attached PTO 892.
In reference to claim 12, the nozzle body (68,70,78) is integrated in a support body (38), as shown in Figures 3-5.
In reference to claim 13, the roof module (30,48,50) comprises a fan of a vehicle cooling system, as disclosed in paragraphs [0039] and [0040]. A compressor is disclosed. Compressors have fans. Waste heat from components is used to heat the air in the nozzle body (80) which is a form of cooling. The compressor, including the fan, is directly or indirectly connected to the nozzle body (80) by means of a supply line (76) so an air current generated by the fan is ejected from the ejection nozzles (80) in the form of a guided air current for purposes of cleaning and/or de-icing the see through area (36), as shown in Figures 2-5.
In reference to claim 14, the cleaning apparatus is connectable to a fan of a vehicle cooling system, as disclosed in paragraphs [0039] and [0040]. A compressor is disclosed. Compressors have fans. Waste heat from components is used to heat the air in the nozzle body (80) which is a form of air conditioning. The compressor, including the fan, is directly or indirectly connected to the nozzle body (80) by means of a supply line (76) so an air current generated by the fan is ejected from the ejection nozzles (80) in the form of a guided air current for purposes of cleaning and/or de-icing the see through area (36), as shown in Figures 2-5.
In reference to claim 15, the environment sensor (42) is a lidar sensor, as disclosed in paragraph [0028].
In reference to claim 17, a vehicle has the roof module of claim 1, as shown in Figure 1.
In reference to claim 18, the cleaning apparatus (38) is connected to a fan of the compressor via a supply line (76), as shown in Figure 4 and disclosed in paragraph [0039]. Air current generated by the fan is ejected from the ejection nozzle (80) for purpose of cleaning and de-icing the see through area (36).
In reference to claim 19, the fan is comprised in the roof module or in an air conditioning system, as shown in Figure 4.
In reference to claim 20, the cleaning apparatus comprises several supply lines (64,66,76) for different cleaning fluids, as disclosed in paragraphs [0034] and [0040].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velasco et al. (US 2020/0216034) in view of Lewis et al. (3,693,740).
Velasco et al. does not disclose the specifics of the nozzle body.
Lewis et al. teaches forming airtight tubes (1,2,3) by providing a lacquer coating synthetic plastic to a flexible material, as disclosed on lines 37-40 of column 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the nozzle bodies of Velasco et al. of a flexible material covered by means of a seal lacquer coat in an airtight manner, as taught by Lewis et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to provide sufficient flexibility to curl the nozzle bodies and maintain an airtight seal between nozzles to transport air from one end to the other end as disclosed.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Velasco et al. (US 2020/0216034) in view of Krishnan et al. (US 2019/0278078).
Velasco et al. discloses a supply line (76) of the cleaning apparatus interacts in such a manner with the environment sensor (42) that waste heat of a component is dissipated via the supply line (76) and heats a cleaning fluid flowing via the supply line (76), as disclosed in paragraph [0040].
However, Velasco et al. does not explicitly state the component is the environment sensor.
Krishnan et al. teaches using waste heat from a environment sensor (26) to heat cleaning air for the see through area (20), as shown in Figure 5 and disclosed in paragraph [0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the waste heat from the environment sensor to heat the supply line of Velasco et al., as taught by Krishnan et al. with a reasonable expectation for success to provide a simple and effective way to cool the sensor and use warm air to clean the see through area in a compact module to reduce cost.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 March 26, 2026