DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/687,118 filed 2/27/2024 which claims priority from PCT/IB2022/058187 filed 8/31/2022 and Provisional Application No. 63/239,160 filed 8/31/2021. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . A preliminary amendment was received 2/27/2024 that cancels claims 5, 19-36, 38, and 45-63. Claims 1-4, 6-18, 37, and 39-44 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-18, 37, and 39-43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarek et al. (US 2017/0334500 A1, from IDS received 2/27/2024, hereinafter “Jarek”), and further in view of Giannotti et al. (US 2018/0321843 A1, hereinafter “Giannotti”).
Regarding claim 1, Jarek teaches a virtual cockpit system for a recreational vehicle, the virtual cockpit system comprising a display, a controller and a processor, the display being configured for presenting information to an operator of the recreational vehicle, the controller being configured for allowing interactions between the operator and the virtual cockpit system. More specifically, systems and methods to present information to recreational vehicle riders and to provide customizable visual information to recreational vehicle riders (Jarek, abstract). In one example, operator interface 150 includes a touch screen display and interface controller 156 interprets various types of touches to the touch screen display as inputs and controls the content displayed on touch screen display (Jarek, [0086]).
the processor being configured for executing instructions which upon being executed cause: displaying, on the display, a first graphical user interface (GUI) component representing a first set of information, the first set of information relating to operating conditions of the recreational vehicle. More specifically, Figures 9-11, 16-17, and 25-29 depict that the display can have multiple regions displaying different content. At least Figures 9, 11, 17, 18A, 18B, 19A, 19B, 20A, 20B, 21A, 21B, 28, and 29 depict that one of the regions can show vehicle data/operating conditions of the vehicle (Jarek, [0103]).
displaying, on the display, a second GUI component representing a second set of information, the second set of information relating to infotainment functionalities associated with the recreational vehicle. More specifically, at least Figures 9, 10, 17, 22A, 22B, 23, 24, 26, 27, and 29 depict that one of the regions can show vehicle infotainment functionalities (Jarek, [0103]). At least Figure 9, depicts a maps/navigation component on the right side and a vehicle operating conditions component on the left side.
However, Jarek may not explicitly teach every aspect of
upon receiving, from the controller, a first control command based on an interaction of the operator with the display, modifying a first display ratio of the first GUI component and a second display ratio of the second GUI component, wherein the interaction of the operator with the display comprises a request to resize the first GUI component and the second GUI component.
Gianonotti discloses the sizes and the positional relationship of a plurality of divided regions provided in a display are changed in a more convenient manner in a vehicle (Giannotti, abstract, Figure 1). The divided regions can include infotainment applications or vehicle information/controlling applications (Giannotti, [0016]). Resizing control 306 is displayed that can be dragged to resize the displayed regions simultaneously (Giannotti, [0046]-[0048], at least Figures 3A and 3B, 5, 6A-6D, and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Jarek and Giannotti that a virtual cockpit system for a vehicle that displays at least an infotainment component and a vehicle operations component simultaneously would include simultaneously modifying the display sizes of the components in response to an operator request via display interaction. With Jarek and Giannotti disclosing simultaneously displaying regions within a vehicle display that include infotainment components and vehicle components, and with Giannotti disclosing the ability to simultaneously resize the components by dragging a single user interface control in a direction, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a virtual cockpit system for a vehicle that displays at least an infotainment component and a vehicle operations component simultaneously would include simultaneously modifying the display sizes of the components in response to an operator request via display interaction in order to facilitate being able to display multiple components within a fixed screen size yet be able to prioritize viewability by adjusting the size of all displayed components with a single interaction all while minimizing the diverting of focus of operating the vehicle. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this virtual cockpit system for a vehicle that displays at least an infotainment component and a vehicle operations component simultaneously.
Regarding claim 2, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises a digital focus controller and the first control command is received further to the operator interacting with the digital focus controller. More specifically, the resizing control 306 (construed as the digital focus controller) is displayed that can be dragged to resize the displayed regions simultaneously (Giannotti, [0047]-[0048], at least Figures 3A and 3B, 5, 6A-6D, and 8).
Regarding claim 3, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 2, wherein the digital focus controller is displayed as an intersection of the first GUI component and the second GUI component on the display and, a right movement of the digital focus controller, by the operator, causes to increase a length of the first GUI component and reduce a length of the second GUI component displayed on the display, and a left movement of the digital focus controller, by the operator, causes to reduce the length of the first GUI component and increase the length of the second GUI component displayed on the display. More specifically, the resizing control 306 is displayed that can be dragged to simultaneously resize the displayed regions simultaneously (Giannotti, [0019], [0046]-[0048], at least Figures 3A and 3B, 5, 6A-6D, and 8).
Regarding claim 4, Jarek and Giannotti suggest the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the controller comprises a physical focus controller and the first control command is received further to the operator interacting with the physical focus controller. With both Jarek and Giannotti disclosing displaying and configuring multiple components in a vehicle display including receiving inputs with both digital controls (touch screen display) and physical controls (buttons/switches/dials) (Jarek, [0102]; Giannotti, [0044]), with Giannotti disclosing the resizing control 306 (construed as a focus controller) which is used to configure the displayed components, and with Jarek additionally disclosing configuring the displayed components with touch input (digitally) but also with physical scroll buttons (Jarek, [0106], [0107] and [0109], items 322, 324), the combination of Jarek and Giannotti would suggest using the physical scroll buttons of Jarek as physical focus controllers.
Regarding claim 6, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first display ratio defines a first portion of the display being occupied by the first GUI component and the second display ratio defines a second portion of the display being occupied by the second GUI component. More specifically, at least Figures 3A, 3B, 5, 6A-6D, and 8 depict at least two components occupying a certain ratio of the display (Gianotti, at least Figures 3A, 3B, 5, 6A-6D, and 8).
Regarding claim 7, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the modified first display ratio defines a first modified portion of the display being occupied by the first GUI component and the modified second display ratio defines a second modified portion of the display being occupied by the second GUI component. More specifically, at least Figures 3A, 3B, 5, 6A-6D, and 8 depict at least the modifying of the ratio of two components occupying a display (Gianotti, at least Figures 3A, 3B, 5, 6A-6D, and 8).
Regarding claim 8, Jarek and Giannotti suggest the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first display ratio defines 2/3rd portion of the display being occupied by the first GUI component and the second display ratio defines 1/3rd portion of the display being occupied by the second GUI component. More specifically, the example grid of Figure 4 is a depiction of the control of the sizes of the components and is used to assist the resizing of said components via a snapping mechanism. The grid is 7x4, but it is suggested that all of the cells in the grid could be other sizes, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize results in a grids of different numbers of rows and columns (Giannotti, [0053]-[0056]). A grid divisible into thirds results in an option for first and second component occupying 2/3rd and 1/3rd portions of the display respectively.
Regarding claim 9, Jarek and Giannotti suggest the virtual cockpit system of claim 8, wherein the modified first display ratio defines 1/3rd portion of the display being occupied by the first GUI component and modified second display ratio defines 2/3rd portion of the display being occupied by the second GUI component. More specifically, the example grid of Figure 4 is a depiction of the control of the sizes of the components and is used to assist the resizing of said components via a snapping mechanism. The grid is 7x4, but it is suggested that all of the cells in the grid could be other sizes, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize results in a grids of different numbers of rows and columns (Giannotti, [0053]-[0056]). A grid divisible into thirds results in an option for first and second component occupying 2/3rd and 1/3rd portions of the display, respectively, that can be modified using the resizing control such that the first and second components would occupy 1/3rd and 2/3rd portions of the display respectively.
Regarding claim 10, Jarek and Giannotti suggest the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first display ratio defines 1/3rd portion of the display being occupied by the first GUI component and the second display ratio defines 2/3rd portion of the display being occupied by the second GUI component. More specifically, the example grid of Figure 4 is a depiction of the control of the sizes of the components and is used to assist the resizing of said components via a snapping mechanism. The grid is 7x4, but it is suggested that all of the cells in the grid could be other sizes, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize results in a grids of different numbers of rows and columns (Giannotti, [0053]-[0056]). A grid divisible into thirds results in an option for first and second component occupying 1/3rd and 2/3rd portions of the display respectively.
Regarding claim 11, Jarek and Giannotti suggest the virtual cockpit system of claim 10, wherein the modified first display ratio defines 2/3rd portion of the display being occupied by the first GUI component and the modified second display ratio defines 1/3rd portion of the display being occupied by the second GUI component. More specifically, the example grid of Figure 4 is a depiction of the control of the sizes of the components and is used to assist the resizing of said components via a snapping mechanism. The grid is 7x4, but it is suggested that all of the cells in the grid could be other sizes, which one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize results in a grids of different numbers of rows and columns (Giannotti, [0053]-[0056]). A grid divisible into thirds results in an option for first and second component occupying 1/3rd and 2/3rd portions of the display, respectively, that can be modified using the resizing control such that the first and second components would occupy 2/3rd and 1/3rd portions of the display respectively.
Regarding claim 12, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the instructions, upon being executed by the processor in response to a second control command received from at least one of the controller and the display, cause updating of the second GUI component by representing a first infotainment functionality associated with the recreational vehicle. More specifically, there are controls to switch infotainment components between at least audio components, connected phone components, and maps/navigation (Jarek, [0108]-[0109], Figures 9, 16, 17, 22A, 22B, 23 and 24).
Regarding claim 13, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 12, wherein the instructions, upon being executed by the processor in response to a third control command received from the controller, cause updating of the second GUI component by representing a second infotainment functionality in replacement of the first infotainment functionality associated with the recreational vehicle. More specifically, there are controls to switch infotainment components between at least audio components, connected phone components, and maps/navigation (Jarek, [0108]-[0109], Figures 9, 16, 17, 22A, 22B, 23 and 24).
Regarding claim 14, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 13, wherein updating the second GUI component by representing the second infotainment functionality in replacement of the first infotainment functionality defines cycling through a carousel of possible infotainment functionalities for the operator. More specifically, there are controls to switch infotainment components between at least audio components, connected phone components, and maps/navigation. Figures 16 and 17 depict the swipe-able carousel-type controls for cycling through infotainment components in each region (Jarek, [0108]-[0109], Figures 9, 16, 17, 22A, 22B, 23 and 24).
Regarding claim 15, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 13, wherein the controller comprises an applet switcher and the second control command and the third control command are received further to the operator interacting with the applet switcher. More specifically, left-hand trigger button 312 can be used to cycle through infotainment components sequentially (Jarek, [0131], Figures 8 and 30, item 312).
Regarding claim 16, Jarek and Giannotti suggests the virtual cockpit system of claim 15, wherein the applet switcher is configured to allow the operator to circle from the first infotainment functionality to the second infotainment functionality. More specifically, left-hand trigger button 312 can be used to cycle through infotainment components sequentially (Jarek, [0131], Figures 8 and 30, item 312).
Regarding claim 17, Jarek and Giannotti suggests the virtual cockpit system of claim 13, wherein the first infotainment functionality and the second infotainment functionality are customizable by the operator. More specifically, each of the regions 342 and 344 are customizable by the operator of the vehicle (Jarek, Figures 16-17). Comparing at least Figures 18A versus 18B, 19A versus 19B, 20A versus 20B, and 21A versus 21B, the layout and appearance of each component is customized differently; parts of the components such as instant mpg, gear indicator, heated grips, altitude, and heading have different layout or appearance. Additionally, the resizing of Giannotti is construable also providing customization to the function of the infotainment components as when an area is made bigger or smaller, the amount of detail/functionality is changed (Giannotti, at least Figures 6A-6D and 8).
Regarding claim 18, this claim recites a recreational vehicle comprising the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 37, this claim recites a computer-implemented method performed by the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, therefore, the same rational of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 39, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first set of information comprises a vehicle speed of the recreational vehicle. More specifically, at least speed, fuel level, distance/range of remaining fuel, battery state, and rpm is information that can be displayed (Jarek, [0124], Fig At least Figures 9, 11, 17, 18A, 18B, 19A, 19B, 20A, 20B, 21A, 21B, 28, and 29).
Regarding claim 40, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first set of information comprises a fuel level of the recreational vehicle. More specifically, at least speed, fuel level, distance/range of remaining fuel, battery state, and rpm is information that can be displayed (Jarek, [0124], Fig At least Figures 9, 11, 17, 18A, 18B, 19A, 19B, 20A, 20B, 21A, 21B, 28, and 29).
Regarding claim 41, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first set of information comprises a battery state of charge of the recreational vehicle. More specifically, at least speed, fuel level, distance/range of remaining fuel, battery state, and rpm is information that can be displayed (Jarek, [0124], Fig At least Figures 9, 11, 17, 18A, 18B, 19A, 19B, 20A, 20B, 21A, 21B, 28, and 29).
Regarding claim 42, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first set of information comprises a range of the recreational vehicle. More specifically, at least speed, fuel level, distance/range of remaining fuel, battery state, and rpm is information that can be displayed (Jarek, [0124], Fig At least Figures 9, 11, 17, 18A, 18B, 19A, 19B, 20A, 20B, 21A, 21B, 28, and 29).
Regarding claim 43, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, wherein the first set of information comprises an engine speed of the recreational vehicle. More specifically, at least speed, fuel level, distance/range of remaining fuel, battery state, and rpm is information that can be displayed (Jarek, [0124], Fig At least Figures 9, 11, 17, 18A, 18B, 19A, 19B, 20A, 20B, 21A, 21B, 28, and 29).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarek and Giannotti”), and further in view of Kotter et al. (US 2016/0288643 A1, hereinafter “Kotter”).
Regarding claim 44, Jarek and Giannotti teach the virtual cockpit system of claim 1, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the interaction of the operator with the display comprises sliding an element to a left edge of the display or a right edge of the display, and wherein modifying the second display ratio of the second GUI component comprises removing the second GUI component from the display.
Kotter discloses a display in a vehicle that will display two regions such that the boundary can be shifted resulting in modification of the ratio of the surface portions of the two regions (Kotter, abstract). The regions can display vehicle condition information as well as entertainment information (Kotter, [0022]). The tab elements at the boundary of the regions are touch-draggable. A given example division of the screen regions are 1/3rd and 2/3rd of the screen. Figures 3B and 3C appear to depict a modification switching the ratio of regions that occupy 1/3rd and 2/3rd of the screen. When a tab is moved to the edge of the screen, the associated regions are adjusted to remove a region so only one remains (Kotter, [0061], [0066]-[0067], [0070], Figures 2A-2I and 3A-3H).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Jarek and Giannotti with Kotter that a virtual cockpit system for a vehicle that displays at least an infotainment component and a vehicle operations component simultaneously where the ratio that each component occupies the display is modified by moving an element would include that moving the element to an edge of a screen would result in removing one of the components. With Jarek, Giannotti, and Kotter disclosing simultaneously displaying regions within a vehicle display that include infotainment components and vehicle components, with Giannotti and Kotter disclosing that the ratio that each component occupies the display is modified by moving an element, and with Kotter additionally disclosing that moving the element to an edge of a screen would result in removing one of the components, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a virtual cockpit system for a vehicle that displays at least an infotainment component and a vehicle operations component simultaneously where the ratio that each component occupies the display is modified by moving an element would include that moving the element to an edge of a screen would result in removing one of the components in order to allow a vehicle operator to continue to use just one type of interaction for the modification of the size and display of components such that focus can be maintained on operating the vehicle. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this virtual cockpit system for a vehicle that displays at least an infotainment component and a vehicle operations component simultaneously.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Otsuka (US 2007/0222769 A1) – a vehicle display that is partitioned into resizable regions using touch gestures.
Morita (US 2021/0232271 A1) – a vehicle display that is partitioned into resizable regions using touch gestures.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171