DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 03/29/2024 has been entered.
Claims 2-15 have been cancelled.
Claims 16-34 have been added.
Claims 1 and 16-34 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 16-18, 22-24 and 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddy et al (“Reddy” hereinafter, U.S.P.N. 10,565,731 B1) in view of Bleyer et al (“Bleyer” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0012835 A1).
As per claim 1, Reddy discloses a method comprising: receive image data from one or more image devices (figure 24: receive input image from an image device, as shown in figure 6; column 21, lines 32-35: the imaging components 602 may be “wide screen cameras, 3D cameras, HD cameras, video cameras, among other types of cameras”), the image data including data representatives of an object in a physical environment (column 21, lines 37-41: the image data captures an object in a physical environment, the object may be a 6DOF controller); determining a plurality of candidate blobs within the image data (column 10, lines 42-52: Reddy teaches “ The image system may determine the orientation of the controller or object by applying a classifier or regressor to the patches having image data associated with the controller and then determine a translation of the controller based at least in part on the orientation and a prior 6DOF pose”, the patches in the image are the claimed “candidate blobs”); determining a location associated with individual ones of the plurality of candidate blobs (figures 16-24: a plurality of image points are identified from the image patches with locational information and orientation data); generating one or more sets of associations for individual ones of the plurality of candidate blobs (figure 16: numeral 1606: a set of candidates are determined to generate a 6DoF pose of the controller object); generating a plurality of candidate poses for the object based at least in part on the sets of associations (numeral 1608 in figure 16 and numeral 2406: a set of candidate poses are generated); and selecting a pose of the object from the plurality of candidate poses (numeral 2408 and 2410, at least a pose of the controller object is selected and outputted).
However, Reddy teaches using a classifier/regressor to detect the image blobs/patches. However, Reddy does not explicitly teach “individual ones of the candidate blobs having an intensity above an intensity threshold”.
Bleyer at paragraph [0054] teaches using an intensity threshold method to detect foreground objects (controller 602 with LEDs 610 in figure 6) for image classification and segmentation.
Reddy and Bleyer are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor, ie. augmented reality imaging.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Reddy in view of Bleyer’s teaching using intensity threshold for image classification/segmentation. One would be motivated to do so because both Reddy and Bleyer teach capturing and determining poses of a controller with LEDs as a “foreground object”, and “foreground objects will appear in the image information as predominately bright, and background objects will appear as predominately dark. The image segmentation component can leverage this property by labelling scene points with brightness values above a prescribed environment-specific intensity threshold value as pertaining to foreground objects, and labelling scene points having brightness values below a prescribed environment-specific intensity threshold value as corresponding to background objects” (Bleyer: paragraph [0054]).
As per claim 16, the combination Reddy and Bleyer teaches filtering the image data to remove data having an intensity below an intensity threshold (as taught in Reddy and Bleyer only the foreground object with intensity above a threshold is retained and processed for pose tracking, other image data is removed/ignored).
As per claim 17, the combination of Reddy and Bleyer teaches wherein generating one or more sets of associations is based at least in part on a nearest neighbor based at least in part on the location associated with the individual ones of the plurality of candidate blobs (Reddy: column 45, lines 22-30: “the image system may assign an identity to the image points based on the identity of the closest predicted image point within the candidate having the most inliers”).
As per claim 18, the combination of Reddy and Bleyer teaches wherein determining the location associated with individual ones of the plurality of candidate blobs further comprises determining a size of the individual ones of the plurality of candidate blobs (Reddy: column 5, lines 58-63: “ In some cases, the application of the pixel regressor may be used to identify areas or groups of pixels that are highly likely to contain an image point of the object and the suppression may be utilized to identify which pixel of the group of pixels contains the image point”).
As per claim 22, the combination of Reddy and Bleyer teaches wherein the object is a hand-held controller (as shown in Reddy figure 12, and Bleyer figure 6 the controllers are hand-held controllers).
As per claim 23, the combination of Reddy and Bleyer teaches performing one more actions within a virtual environment based at least in part on the selected pose (both Reddy and Bleyer systems are about tracking controller poses in a virtual/augmented environment).
As per claim 24, see explanation in claim 1. Reddy teaches a display, and wireless communication interface and at least a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable media for storing the instructions (see figure 7 in Reddy for display 708, communication interface 704 processor 712 and computer-readable media 714).
As per claim 27, see explanation in claim 18.
As per claim 28, see explanation in claim 23.
As per claim 29, see explanation in claim 1, and both Reddy and Bleyer’s systems are computer-like system, which inherently include a non-transitory computer readable medium.
As per claim 30, see explanation in claim 17.
As per claim 31, see explanation in claim 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-21, 25-26 and 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667