Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (JP H11-240481 A) hereinafter, Watanabe.
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches an electric bicycle (Fig 24) comprising:
a frame (Fig 24);
a handlebar (Fig 24) operatively connected to the frame;
a front wheel (Fig 24) operatively connected to the handlebar;
a rear wheel (6) operatively connected to the frame (Fig 24);
a transmission (Fig 7, 14-15, and 20-21) connected to the frame, the transmission having:
an input shaft (39, 141);
an output shaft (13, 91, 139) operatively connected to the input shaft, the output shaft being parallel to the input shaft (Fig 7, 14-15, and 20-21); and
a housing (2) housing at least a portion of the input shaft and the output shaft (Fig 15 and 24);
a crankshaft (4) operatively connected to the input shaft to drive the transmission (Fig 7, 14-15, and 20-21);
an electric motor (14) operatively connected to the input shaft to drive the transmission (Fig 7, 14-15, and 20-21);
a drive sprocket (66) connected to and driven by the output shaft (Fig 7, 14-15, and 20-21);
a driven sprocket connected to the rear wheel to drive the rear wheel (Fig 7, 14-15, and 20-21);
a flexible drive member (5) engaging the drive and driven sprockets (Fig 7, 14-15, and 20-21),
a lowest point of the housing being vertically lower than the drive sprocket, the driven sprocket and the flexible drive member (Fig 24);
a pair of crank arms connected to the crankshaft (Fig 7, 14-15, and 20-21); and
a battery pack (7) connected to the frame and electrically connected to the electric motor (Second Para of Page 2 and Fig 24).
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe teaches that the electric motor is disposed in the housing of the transmission (Fig 8, 15, 21).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe teaches that the electric bicycle of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of gears (92, 93, 94) operatively connecting the input shaft to the output shaft, the plurality of gears being disposed in the housing (Fig 14-15).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches that the transmission further includes at least one shift assembly (95, 96) for selecting at least one gear of the plurality of gears, the at least one shift assembly being disposed in the housing (Fig 14-15).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe teaches that the at least one shift assembly includes an electric shift motor (50, Fig 14-15).
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe teaches that the transmission further includes:
a motor gear (56, 145b) operatively connected to and driven by the electric motor, the motor gear being disposed in the housing; an input gear (60, 145a) connected to the input shaft, the input gear engaging and being driven by the motor gear (through 57), the input gear driving the input shaft, the input gear being disposed in the housing (Fig 8-9, and 21).
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe teaches that the electric bicycle of claim 6, further comprising a cycloidal drive (137) operatively connecting the electric motor to the motor gear, the cycloidal drive being disposed in the housing (third to last paragraph of page 11 and Fig 21).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches that the output shaft is vertically higher than the input shaft (Fig 21).
Regarding claim 9, Watanabe teaches that the output shaft is rearward of the input shaft (Fig 20).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe teaches that the drive sprocket and the output shaft are coaxial (Fig 21).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe teaches that the crankshaft extends through the input shaft (Fig 21).
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe teaches that the crankshaft and the output shaft are disposed in part in the housing; and the input shaft is disposed in the housing (Fig 21).
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe teaches that the electric bicycle of claim 1, further comprising a torque sensor for sensing a torque applied to the input shaft (fourth to last paragraph of page 11), the electric motor being controlled based at least in part on a torque sensed by the torque sensor, the torque sensor being disposed in the housing (Sixth paragraph of page 2, fourth to last paragraph of page 11, Para [0090] and Fig 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP H11-240481 A) in view of Kim et al (DE 10 2018 217 097 A1) hereinafter, Kim.
Regarding claims 14-15, Watanabe teaches the bicycle of claim 1. However, Watanabe does not teach the crankshaft arrangement of claims 14 15.
Kim teaches that the crankshaft defines a crankshaft axis; the flexible drive member defines a perimeter; the crankshaft axis is outside of the perimeter; and a lowest point of the drive sprocket is vertically higher than the crankshaft axis (see Fig 1 and 2E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the invention, to modify Watanabe’s bicycle, with Kim’s arrangement, for highest possible power density and the smallest possible space requirement (fourth paragraph of page 2).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references noted on the attached PTO-892 form teach electric bicycles of interest.
/HOSAM SHABARA/Examiner, Art Unit 3611