DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments and amendments received May 13, 2026 have been fully considered. With regard to 35 U.S.C. § 102, Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not disclose [see applicant argument pages 6-9]. This language corresponds to the newly amended language of claims 1-14, specifically to independent claims 1 and 2.
As such, these have been considered but they are directed to newly amended language, which is addressed below. See the rejection below for how the art on record in view of a newly added reference reads on the newly amended language as well as the examiner's interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set. The rejection is modified to 103 rejection based art of Okada. Okada teaches a system for selecting camera for display based choices or priority while other images on standby. The user, while watching displayed image, user can also select one of a plurality standby image for further processing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordes et al. US 2020/0145644 further in view of Okada US 2014/0253741.
In regarding to claim 1 Cordes teaches:
1. A control system for controlling a display screen forming a background to a video set wherein multiple cameras are available to capture video of a subject against the screen
[0101] Some embodiments of the invention include multiple taking cameras. For example, FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of an immersive content production system 700 that includes two taking cameras 112a and 112b and FIG. 8 is a simplified top view of production system 700. FIGS. 7 and 8 depict a performer 210 in a performance area 102 surrounded at least partially by multiple displays 104 that display scenery images 214 to be captured by the multiple taking cameras. The multiple taking cameras (shown as a first taking camera 112a and a second taking camera 112b) can be directed at a performance area 102 (including the virtual environment presented on the displays 104 (e.g., the LED or LCD display walls) to concurrently capture images. Although only one performer 210 is depicted in the performance area 102 in FIG. 7, multiple performers can be within the performance area as well as multiple props and set decorations.
Cordes, 0101-0103, emphasis added
however, Cordes fails to explicitly teach but Okada teaches: and an output selector is configured to receive captured video streams from the cameras and select the stream from a first camera of the multiple cameras as its output,
[0033] The user operation section 180 allows the user to perform image selecting operation and switching operation. Although not shown in FIG. 1, the user operation section 180 includes a user interface including buttons and switches. An output of the user operation section 180 is sent to the image display section 170, the switching section 175, and the priority image selector 190. The user can operate the user operation section 180 and switch the image between a main image and a switching candidate image at a desired timing, while watching the screen of the image display section 170. The user can also select one of a plurality of standby images so as to replace the selected standby image with the switching candidate image.
Okada, 0033-0034 and figs. 1-3, emphasis added
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okada with the system of Cordes in order an output selector is configured to receive captured video streams from the cameras and select the stream from a first camera of the multiple cameras as its output, as such, provides a camera system that can reduce quality degradation of a necessary image even in a case where a network bandwidth is insufficient for video signal transmission..—0005.
Furthermore, Okada teaches: the control system comprising a display controller configured to compute an image of a [background scene.. see Cordes as outlined above] from the point of view of a second camera other than the first camera while an image of the background scene from the point of the view first camera is displayed on the display screen.
[0033] The user operation section 180 allows the user to perform image selecting operation and switching operation. Although not shown in FIG. 1, the user operation section 180 includes a user interface including buttons and switches. An output of the user operation section 180 is sent to the image display section 170, the switching section 175, and the priority image selector 190. The user can operate the user operation section 180 and switch the image between a main image and a switching candidate image at a desired timing, while watching the screen of the image display section 170. The user can also select one of a plurality of standby images so as to replace the selected standby image with the switching candidate image.
Okada, 0033-0034 and figs. 1-3, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 2 Cordes teaches:
2. A video capture system for capturing video in a set comprising a display screen providing a background and wherein multiple cameras are available to capture video of a subject against the screen,
[0101] Some embodiments of the invention include multiple taking cameras. For example, FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of an immersive content production system 700 that includes two taking cameras 112a and 112b and FIG. 8 is a simplified top view of production system 700. FIGS. 7 and 8 depict a performer 210 in a performance area 102 surrounded at least partially by multiple displays 104 that display scenery images 214 to be captured by the multiple taking cameras. The multiple taking cameras (shown as a first taking camera 112a and a second taking camera 112b) can be directed at a performance area 102 (including the virtual environment presented on the displays 104 (e.g., the LED or LCD display walls) to concurrently capture images. Although only one performer 210 is depicted in the performance area 102 in FIG. 7, multiple performers can be within the performance area as well as multiple props and set decorations.
Cordes, 0101-0103, emphasis added
however, Cordes fails to explicitly teach but Okada teaches: the system comprising: an output selector configured to receive captured video streams from the cameras and select the stream from a first camera of the multiple cameras as its output;
[0033] The user operation section 180 allows the user to perform image selecting operation and switching operation. Although not shown in FIG. 1, the user operation section 180 includes a user interface including buttons and switches. An output of the user operation section 180 is sent to the image display section 170, the switching section 175, and the priority image selector 190. The user can operate the user operation section 180 and switch the image between a main image and a switching candidate image at a desired timing, while watching the screen of the image display section 170. The user can also select one of a plurality of standby images so as to replace the selected standby image with the switching candidate image.
Okada, 0033-0034 and figs. 1-3, emphasis added
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okada with the system of Cordes in order the system comprising: an output selector configured to receive captured video streams from the cameras and select the stream from a first camera of the multiple cameras as its output, as such, provides a camera system that can reduce quality degradation of a necessary image even in a case where a network bandwidth is insufficient for video signal transmission..—0005.
Furthermore, Okada teaches: and one or more display controllers configured to compute an image of a background scene from the point of view of a second camera other than the first camera while an image of the [background scene….see under Cordes as outlined above] from the point of the view first camera is displayed on the display screen.
[0033] The user operation section 180 allows the user to perform image selecting operation and switching operation. Although not shown in FIG. 1, the user operation section 180 includes a user interface including buttons and switches. An output of the user operation section 180 is sent to the image display section 170, the switching section 175, and the priority image selector 190. The user can operate the user operation section 180 and switch the image between a main image and a switching candidate image at a desired timing, while watching the screen of the image display section 170. The user can also select one of a plurality of standby images so as to replace the selected standby image with the switching candidate image.
Okada, 0033-0034 and figs. 1-3, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 3 Cordes and Okada teaches:
3. A video capture system as claimed in claim 2, furthermore, Cordes teaches: wherein the display controller is configured to provide the image to the display screen for display in response to the designation of the output of the second camera for selection by the output selector.
Cordes, 0101-0104
In regarding to claim 4 Cordes and Okada teaches:
4. A video capture system as claimed in claim 2, furthermore, Cordes teaches: comprising a user input device for receiving input from a user, that input representing the said designation of the output of the second camera.
Cordes, 0113, 0126
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordes et al. US 2020/0145644 and Okada US 2014/0253741 as applied to claims 2-4 above, and further in view of Jun et al. US 2017/0253122.
In regarding to claim 5 Cordes and Okada teaches:
5. A video capture system as claimed in claim 2, however, Cordes fails to explicitly teach but Jun teaches: comprising multiple display controllers,
[0309] That is, the vehicle control device according to an embodiment of the present disclosure generates information to be displayed on the HUD 801, the cluster 802, and the CID 803, as one image (synthesized image), divides the generated one image (synthesized image) and displays the same on the corresponding displays 9 e.g., the HUD 801, the cluster 802, and the CID 803), whereby a high quality seamless image may be displayed on the corresponding displays (e.g., the HUD 801, the cluster 802, and the CID 803) without data transmission delay caused as a plurality of controllers independently controlling a plurality of displays share data.
Jun, Fig. 2, item 6 and 17, 0046, 0283, 0309
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jun with the system of Cordes and Okada in order comprising multiple display controllers, as such, provides high quality seamless image without data transmission delay and a difference in image quality between a plurality of displays..—Abstract.
Furthermore, Cordes teaches: each display controller being assigned to compute an image of the background scene from the point of view of respective one of the cameras.
[0101] Some embodiments of the invention include multiple taking cameras. For example, FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of an immersive content production system 700 that includes two taking cameras 112a and 112b and FIG. 8 is a simplified top view of production system 700. FIGS. 7 and 8 depict a performer 210 in a performance area 102 surrounded at least partially by multiple displays 104 that display scenery images 214 to be captured by the multiple taking cameras. The multiple taking cameras (shown as a first taking camera 112a and a second taking camera 112b) can be directed at a performance area 102 (including the virtual environment presented on the displays 104 (e.g., the LED or LCD display walls) to concurrently capture images. Although only one performer 210 is depicted in the performance area 102 in FIG. 7, multiple performers can be within the performance area as well as multiple props and set decorations.
Cordes, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8.
In regarding to claim 6 Cordes and Okada teaches:
6. A video capture system as claimed in claim 2, furthermore, Jun teaches: comprising fewer display controllers than the number of the cameras.
Jun, 0283, 0309
In regarding to claim 7 Cordes, Okada and Jun teaches:
7. A video capture system as claimed in claim 6, furthermore, Cordes teaches: wherein each display controller is configured to, when it is not providing image output to the screen and it is signal led with the identity of second camera whose stream is to be selected as output, compute an image of the background scene from the point of view of that camera.
Cordes, 0072, 0124,
In regarding to claim 8 Cordes, Okada and Jun teaches:
8. A video capture system as claimed in claim 6, furthermore, Cordes teaches: comprising a camera selection controller configured to: receive an input representing the designation of the second camera to provide output;
Cordes, 0101-0104
signal the identity of the second camera to one or more of the display controllers;
Cordes, 0101-0104
and a predetermined time after such signaling, cause that display controller to provide image output to the screen and cause the output selector to select the stream from that camera as its output.
Cordes, 0101-0104
In regarding to claim 9 Cordes, Okada and Jun teaches:
9. A video capture system as claimed in claim 6, furthermore, Cordes teaches: comprising a camera selection controller configured to: receive an input representing the designation of a camera to provide output;
Cordes, 0101-0104
signal the identity of that camera to one or more of the display controllers;
Cordes, 0101-0104
and in response to a signal from a display controller indicating that a background image from the point of view of that camera is available, cause that display controller to provide image output to the display screen and cause the output selector to select the stream from that camera as its output.
Cordes, 0101-0104
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cordes et al. US 2020/0145644.
In regarding to claim 10 Cordes teaches:
10. A render engine controller, the controller (Fig. 2, items 16 and 17) being configured to: receive an indication of the location of a first camera with respect to a display wall,
[0079] Motion cameras 122 can be part of a motion capture system that can track the movement of performers or objects within system 100. In some instances, motion cameras 122 can be used to track the movement of the taking camera 112 and provide a location of the taking camera to content production system 100 as part of the process that determines what portion of displays 104 are rendered from the tracked position of and the perspective of the taking camera.
Cordes, 0079, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8, emphasis added
wherein the first film camera is currently filming a shot, receive an indication of the location of a second camera with respect to the display wall to which the shot is going to switch next,
[0079] Motion cameras 122 can be part of a motion capture system that can track the movement of performers or objects within system 100. In some instances, motion cameras 122 can be used to track the movement of the taking camera 112 and provide a location of the taking camera to content production system 100 as part of the process that determines what portion of displays 104 are rendered from the tracked position of and the perspective of the taking camera.
Cordes, 0079, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8, emphasis added
the controller being configured to output the location of the first camera to a first render engine of a plurality of render engines,
[0048] In various embodiments, images of the virtual environment presented on the one or more displays are updated by: rendering a global-view perspective of the virtual environment; rendering a first perspective-correct view of the virtual environment from a location and perspective of the first taking camera for an area of the one or more displays within the frustum of the first taking camera; rendering a second perspective-correct view of the virtual environment from a location and perspective of the second taking camera for an area of the one or more displays within the frustum of the second taking camera; and combining the global-view rendering with the first perspective-correct view rendering and second perspective-correct view rendering such that portions of the virtual environment outside the frustums of the first taking camera and the second taking camera are from the global-view render and portions of the virtual environment within the frustum of the first taking camera and the second taking camera are from the perspective-correct view render.
Cordes, 0048, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8, emphasis added
and output the location of the second film camera to a second render engine of the plurality of render engines,
[0048] In various embodiments, images of the virtual environment presented on the one or more displays are updated by: rendering a global-view perspective of the virtual environment; rendering a first perspective-correct view of the virtual environment from a location and perspective of the first taking camera for an area of the one or more displays within the frustum of the first taking camera; rendering a second perspective-correct view of the virtual environment from a location and perspective of the second taking camera for an area of the one or more displays within the frustum of the second taking camera; and combining the global-view rendering with the first perspective-correct view rendering and second perspective-correct view rendering such that portions of the virtual environment outside the frustums of the first taking camera and the second taking camera are from the global-view render and portions of the virtual environment within the frustum of the first taking camera and the second taking camera are from the perspective-correct view render.
Cordes, 0048, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8, emphasis added
each render engine being configured to prepare a respective rendered image for displaying on the display wall in dependence on the location received by each render engine respectively;
[0048] In various embodiments, images of the virtual environment presented on the one or more displays are updated by: rendering a global-view perspective of the virtual environment; rendering a first perspective-correct view of the virtual environment from a location and perspective of the first taking camera for an area of the one or more displays within the frustum of the first taking camera; rendering a second perspective-correct view of the virtual environment from a location and perspective of the second taking camera for an area of the one or more displays within the frustum of the second taking camera; and combining the global-view rendering with the first perspective-correct view rendering and second perspective-correct view rendering such that portions of the virtual environment outside the frustums of the first taking camera and the second taking camera are from the global-view render and portions of the virtual environment within the frustum of the first taking camera and the second taking camera are from the perspective-correct view render.
Cordes, 0048, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8, emphasis added
the controller being configured to selectively connect the first and second render engines to a display controller for displaying the image rendered by the connected render engine on the display wall.
[0048] In various embodiments, images of the virtual environment presented on the one or more displays are updated by: rendering a global-view perspective of the virtual environment; rendering a first perspective-correct view of the virtual environment from a location and perspective of the first taking camera for an area of the one or more displays within the frustum of the first taking camera; rendering a second perspective-correct view of the virtual environment from a location and perspective of the second taking camera for an area of the one or more displays within the frustum of the second taking camera; and combining the global-view rendering with the first perspective-correct view rendering and second perspective-correct view rendering such that portions of the virtual environment outside the frustums of the first taking camera and the second taking camera are from the global-view render and portions of the virtual environment within the frustum of the first taking camera and the second taking camera are from the perspective-correct view render.
Cordes, 0048, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8, emphasis added
In regarding to claim 11 Cordes teaches:
11. A render engine controller as claimed in claim 10, the controller being configured to connect a render engine to the display controller if that render engine is receiving an output from the controller that indicates the location of the camera that is being used to film a (current) shot.
Cordes, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8
In regarding to claim 12 Cordes teaches:
12. A render engine controller as claimed in claim 10, the controller being configured not to connect a render engine to the display controller if that render engine receives an output from the controller that indicates the location of a camera to which the shot is going to switch.
Cordes, 0101-0104 and Figs. 6-8
In regarding to claim 13 Cordes teaches:
13. The render engine controller as claimed in claim 12, the controller being configured to be connected to fewer render engines than there are cameras in use.
Cordes, 0088-0091
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cordes et al. US 2020/0145644 further in view of Okada US 2014/0253741.
In regarding to claim 14 Cordes teaches:
14. A render engine controller as claimed in claim 10, however, Cordes fails to explicitly teach but Okada teaches: the controller being configured to delay a switch from one camera to another if it is determined that the frustums of those cameras intersect, and otherwise to not delay such a switch.
Okada, 0031-0033, 0060 and Figs. 1-2
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Okada with the system of Cordes in order the controller being configured to delay a switch from one camera to another if it is determined that the frustums of those cameras intersect, and otherwise to not delay such a switch, as such, provides a camera system that can reduce quality degradation of a necessary image even in a case where a network bandwidth is insufficient for video signal transmission..—0005.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL T TEKLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2481