DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a control system configured to;” should be -- a control system configured to: -- ([claim 1, line 12]; [claim 9, line 5]; [claim 17, line 8]). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Correa Ramirez et al. (U.S. 2020/0178887).
With regard to claim 1, Correa Ramirez teaches an in-bed haptic system (Fig. 1; [abstract] Sleep tracking systems and techniques for monitoring two or more co-sleepers in a single bed) comprising:
a pneumatic pad configured for placement between a user and a bed (Fig. 1; [0055] a sleep monitoring system. In FIG. 1, a mattress 110 for two sleepers, first sleeper 106 and second sleeper 108; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper) and comprising:
an array of actuation cells (Fig. 2; [0076] Sleep monitoring sensor apparatuses having sensors 216 may be configured to be located in any of a variety of locations in a bed arrangement; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper. In such implementations, the carrier may include one or more relatively thin, inflatable bladders that extend over one or more regions of the mattress), wherein each actuation cell in the array of actuation cells is configured to actuate in response to fluid being introduced into an actuation cell (Figs. 10-12; [0086] the carrier may include one or more relatively thin, inflatable bladders that extend over one or more regions of the mattress. Such bladders may be constructed so as to be able to be pressurized to some degree with a fluid, such as air (or, if desired, an incompressible fluid such as water); [0100]-[0101] the pump 1048 and the exhaust valve 1044 may be actively controlled by the controller (not shown) so as to maintain an average pressure in the bladder 1032 that is within predefined maximum and minimum absolute gauge pressures…); and
an array of pressure sensors ([0085] – [0086] such sensors may be spatially segregated if used in a multi-sleeper context, e.g., each sleeper may have their own set of one or more distributed-area sensors and data from each set of one or more distributed-area sensors may be assumed to be attributable to one sleeper…The bladders may be connected with one or more pressure sensors, e.g., directly (e.g., when the pressure sensor is mounted within the inflatable volume of the bladder) or indirectly (e.g., when a bladder has a tube or other fluidic flow passage that connects a pressure port in the bladder with a pressure sensor located at some location outside of the bladder), that are configured to provide measurements of the pressure within the bladder), each pressure sensor in the array of pressure sensors configured to output pressure measurements corresponding to the array of actuation cells ([0086] The bladders may be connected with one or more pressure sensors, e.g., directly (e.g., when the pressure sensor is mounted within the inflatable volume of the bladder) or indirectly (e.g., when a bladder has a tube or other fluidic flow passage that connects a pressure port in the bladder with a pressure sensor located at some location outside of the bladder), that are configured to provide measurements of the pressure within the bladder);
an input device comprising a touch sensitive display ([0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device) and configured to:
display a set of haptic sequences that can be applied to the array of actuation cells in a user interface of the input device ([0131] The resonator strips 3230 may act as a resonant backboard that conducts vibrations produced by a haptic device in an alarm 3228 to a different location, e.g., to a region where a person's head is likely to be positioned, and/or to a larger area, e.g., to a 1 ft by 1 ft patch); and
receive an input at the touch sensitive display of a selected haptic sequence of the set of haptic sequences ([0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person); and
a control system configured to;
receive an indication of the selected haptic sequence ([0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person);
receive the pressure measurements ([0137] a configuration allows the sensors 3516, which may be pressure sensors, to be located near the centers of mass for the sleepers 3506 and 3508 on the mattress 3510, while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508); and
actuate actuation cells of the array of actuation cells using the selected haptic sequence and the pressure measurements ([0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person; [0137] a configuration allows the sensors 3516, which may be pressure sensors, to be located near the centers of mass for the sleepers 3506 and 3508 on the mattress 3510, while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
each pressure sensor in the array of pressure sensors is configured to output the pressure measurements corresponding to an actuation cell in the array of actuation cells ([0164] the sleeper identification system may register that pressure sensors that are mounted on the carrier are producing sensor output that indicates movement patterns consistent with a living organism being on the mattress; [0167] determination may be made as to whether a person is present on the mattress, e.g., by referencing output from a sleeper presence monitoring system; [0224] input/output 5305, which may be used to communicate with a sleep monitoring sensor apparatus, such as that provided on carrier 5320);
the selected haptic sequence defines a pressure profile for actuation cells in the array of actuation cells ([0086] The bladders may be connected with one or more pressure sensors, e.g., directly (e.g., when the pressure sensor is mounted within the inflatable volume of the bladder) or indirectly (e.g., when a bladder has a tube or other fluidic flow passage that connects a pressure port in the bladder with a pressure sensor located at some location outside of the bladder), that are configured to provide measurements of the pressure within the bladder); and
the control system is configured to actuate the actuation cells in accordance with the pressure profile corresponding to each actuation cell using the pressure measurements corresponding to each actuation cell ([0137] a configuration allows the sensors 3516, which may be pressure sensors, to be located near the centers of mass for the sleepers 3506 and 3508 on the mattress 3510, while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508; [0086] The bladders may be connected with one or more pressure sensors, e.g., directly (e.g., when the pressure sensor is mounted within the inflatable volume of the bladder) or indirectly (e.g., when a bladder has a tube or other fluidic flow passage that connects a pressure port in the bladder with a pressure sensor located at some location outside of the bladder), that are configured to provide measurements of the pressure within the bladder).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
one or more haptic sequences in the set of haptic sequences define a temperature profile for the array of actuation cells ([0061] sleep data may include, but are not limited to: body temperature, bed temperature…; [0067] the sleep monitoring sensor apparatus may include at least one temperature sensor; [0080] A mesh of temperature sensors may be used to measure a temperature distribution across a mattress, which may allow for body temperature of a sleeper to be monitored); and
the temperature profile causes the control system to change a temperature of one or more portions of the array of actuation cells during the actuation of the actuation cells ([0211] if the sleep data includes sleep stage data and it appears that such sleep stage data indicates that the sleeper is about to wake up, the sleep monitoring system may cause the thermostat to change to a higher temperature setting and may cause a coffee maker to start brewing a cup of coffee; [0212] capable of measuring parameters of the subjects' sleeping environments chosen from ambient temperature… to actuate changes in the sleeper's sleeping environment).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
receiving the input of the selected haptic sequence comprises receiving a selection of a portion of the array of actuation cells to apply the selected haptic sequence ([0077] the number and arrangement of sensors may be selected according to a variety of factors (desired degree of sensor coverage, cost, complexity, etc.); [0139] multiple different devices are included in each alarm (which may be referred to herein as “multi-mode” alarms), the particular device that is activated when it is desired to activate the alarm may be user-selectable. For example, a user may specify that they prefer audible alarms over haptic alarms, and, in such circumstances, when a multi-mode alarm for that user is to be activated, the speaker of the alarm may be caused to emit noise while the haptic device of the alarm may be left inactive); and
in response to receiving the selected haptic sequence, the control system is configured to apply the selected haptic sequence to the selected portion of the array of actuation cells ([0139] multiple different devices are included in each alarm (which may be referred to herein as “multi-mode” alarms), the particular device that is activated when it is desired to activate the alarm may be user-selectable. For example, a user may specify that they prefer audible alarms over haptic alarms, and, in such circumstances, when a multi-mode alarm for that user is to be activated).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the input device is configured to display a graphic corresponding to the array of actuation cells ([0092] the user may lie on the bladder while adjustments to the absolute gauge pressure are made and then indicate to the controller, e.g., by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device that is communicatively connected with the wake-up alarm system); and
the selection of the portion of the array of actuation cells comprises a user input to the touch sensitive display selecting the portion of the array of actuation cells from the graphic ([0092] the user may lie on the bladder while adjustments to the absolute gauge pressure are made and then indicate to the controller, e.g., by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device that is communicatively connected with the wake-up alarm system).
With regard to claim 7, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
a set of haptic patterns comprises an option for inputting a custom haptic actuation sequence ([0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person);
in response to the user inputting the custom haptic actuation sequence, the input device is configured to generate a user defined haptic sequence ([0139] if a user specifies that they prefer haptic alarms over audible alarms, then the wake-up alarm system may cause the haptic device to activate while keeping the speaker inactive. In some implementations, two users that are both associated with a particular wake-up alarm system with multi-mode alarms may each specify their preferences, and the wake-up alarm system may be configured to override the preferences for one of those users if an alarm is to be activated to wake that user while the other user is present in the bed); and
in response to receiving the user defined haptic sequence, the control system is configured to actuate the array of actuation cells in accordance with the user defined haptic sequence ([0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person; [0137] a configuration allows the sensors 3516, which may be pressure sensors, to be located near the centers of mass for the sleepers 3506 and 3508 on the mattress 3510, while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508).
With regard to claim 8, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
in response to a user selection of the option for inputting the custom haptic actuation sequence, the input device is configured to display a graphic corresponding to the array of actuation cells ([0092] the user may lie on the bladder while adjustments to the absolute gauge pressure are made and then indicate to the controller, e.g., by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device that is communicatively connected with the wake-up alarm system); and
the custom haptic actuation sequence is determined from a user input to the displayed graphic ([0092] the user may lie on the bladder while adjustments to the absolute gauge pressure are made and then indicate to the controller, e.g., by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device that is communicatively connected with the wake-up alarm system).
With regard to claim 9, Correa Ramirez teaches a pneumatic actuation device (Fig. 1; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper) comprising:
a pneumatic pad configured for placement between a user and a bed (Fig. 1; [0055] a sleep monitoring system. In FIG. 1, a mattress 110 for two sleepers, first sleeper 106 and second sleeper 108; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper) and comprising an array of actuation cells (Fig. 2; [0076] Sleep monitoring sensor apparatuses having sensors 216 may be configured to be located in any of a variety of locations in a bed arrangement; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper. In such implementations, the carrier may include one or more relatively thin, inflatable bladders that extend over one or more regions of the mattress), wherein each actuation cell in the array of actuation cells is configured to actuate in response to fluid being introduced into an actuation cell (Figs. 10-12; [0086] the carrier may include one or more relatively thin, inflatable bladders that extend over one or more regions of the mattress. Such bladders may be constructed so as to be able to be pressurized to some degree with a fluid, such as air (or, if desired, an incompressible fluid such as water); [0100]-[0101] the pump 1048 and the exhaust valve 1044 may be actively controlled by the controller (not shown) so as to maintain an average pressure in the bladder 1032 that is within predefined maximum and minimum absolute gauge pressures…); and
a control system configured to;
receive a haptic control sequence from a user input to an input device ([0131] The resonator strips 3230 may act as a resonant backboard that conducts vibrations produced by a haptic device in an alarm 3228 to a different location, e.g., to a region where a person's head is likely to be positioned, and/or to a larger area, e.g., to a 1 ft by 1 ft patch), the haptic control sequence generated using the user input to a user interface ([0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person) comprising one or more controls for defining a haptic output at the pneumatic pad (Fig. 1; [0055] a sleep monitoring system. In FIG. 1, a mattress 110 for two sleepers, first sleeper 106 and second sleeper 108; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper; [0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person); and
actuate the array of actuation cells using the haptic control sequence ([0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person; [0137] a configuration allows the sensors 3516, which may be pressure sensors, to be located near the centers of mass for the sleepers 3506 and 3508 on the mattress 3510, while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508).
With regard to claim 10, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the haptic control sequence indicates an actuation profile for the array of actuation cells ([0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person; [0137] a configuration allows the sensors 3516, which may be pressure sensors, to be located near the centers of mass for the sleepers 3506 and 3508 on the mattress 3510, while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508); and
the control system determines a time-varying pressure profile for actuation cells in the array of actuation cells based on the actuation profile ([0087] the amount of pressure or the time-varying amount of pressure change as measured by the pressure sensor may be monitored in order to determine various data points. For example, if there is a large change in the measured pressure (especially after relatively little or no change in pressure over an extended time period), e.g., a 50 mmHg spike in pressure, this may indicate that an object has been placed on the pressure sensor).
With regard to claim 11, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the pneumatic pad (Fig. 1; [0055] a sleep monitoring system. In FIG. 1, a mattress 110 for two sleepers, first sleeper 106 and second sleeper 108; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper) further comprises an array of pressure sensors ([0085] – [0086] such sensors may be spatially segregated if used in a multi-sleeper context, e.g., each sleeper may have their own set of one or more distributed-area sensors and data from each set of one or more distributed-area sensors may be assumed to be attributable to one sleeper…The bladders may be connected with one or more pressure sensors, e.g., directly (e.g., when the pressure sensor is mounted within the inflatable volume of the bladder) or indirectly (e.g., when a bladder has a tube or other fluidic flow passage that connects a pressure port in the bladder with a pressure sensor located at some location outside of the bladder), that are configured to provide measurements of the pressure within the bladder), each pressure sensor in the array of pressure sensors configured to output pressure measurements corresponding to the actuation cell in the array of actuation cells ([0086] The bladders may be connected with one or more pressure sensors, e.g., directly (e.g., when the pressure sensor is mounted within the inflatable volume of the bladder) or indirectly (e.g., when a bladder has a tube or other fluidic flow passage that connects a pressure port in the bladder with a pressure sensor located at some location outside of the bladder), that are configured to provide measurements of the pressure within the bladder); and
the control system is configured:
to receive the pressure measurements from the array of pressure sensors ([0137] a configuration allows the sensors 3516, which may be pressure sensors, to be located near the centers of mass for the sleepers 3506 and 3508 on the mattress 3510, while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508); and
actuate actuation cells using the time-varying pressure profile and the received pressure measurements ([0087] the amount of pressure or the time-varying amount of pressure change as measured by the pressure sensor may be monitored in order to determine various data points. For example, if there is a large change in the measured pressure (especially after relatively little or no change in pressure over an extended time period), e.g., a 50 mmHg spike in pressure, this may indicate that an object has been placed on the pressure sensor).
With regard to claim 12, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the user input comprises a user interaction with a graphic corresponding to the array of actuation cells ([0092] the user may lie on the bladder while adjustments to the absolute gauge pressure are made and then indicate to the controller, e.g., by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device that is communicatively connected with the wake-up alarm system); and
the haptic control sequence is generated using the user interaction with the graphic ([0092] the user may lie on the bladder while adjustments to the absolute gauge pressure are made and then indicate to the controller, e.g., by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device that is communicatively connected with the wake-up alarm system).
With regard to claim 13, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the haptic control sequence defines one or more temperature profiles for the array of actuation cells ([0061] sleep data may include, but are not limited to: body temperature, bed temperature…; [0067] the sleep monitoring sensor apparatus may include at least one temperature sensor; [0080] A mesh of temperature sensors may be used to measure a temperature distribution across a mattress, which may allow for body temperature of a sleeper to be monitored); and
the control system is configured to change a temperature in actuation cells of the array of actuation cells in accordance with the one or more temperature profiles ([0211] if the sleep data includes sleep stage data and it appears that such sleep stage data indicates that the sleeper is about to wake up, the sleep monitoring system may cause the thermostat to change to a higher temperature setting and may cause a coffee maker to start brewing a cup of coffee; [0212] capable of measuring parameters of the subjects' sleeping environments chosen from ambient temperature… to actuate changes in the sleeper's sleeping environment).
With regard to claim 14, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the haptic control sequence is a first haptic control sequence ([0131] The resonator strips 3230 may act as a resonant backboard that conducts vibrations produced by a haptic device in an alarm 3228 to a different location, e.g., to a region where a person's head is likely to be positioned, and/or to a larger area, e.g., to a 1 ft by 1 ft patch) that comprises a first set of criteria for applying the first haptic control sequence to the array of actuation cells ([0131] While haptic devices such as LRAs or ERMs are quite small, they are, nonetheless, electromechanical devices and may be more noticeable to a person if positioned direction beneath that person…The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person); and
the control system is configured to:
receive a second haptic control sequence that defines a second haptic output and a second set of criteria for applying the second haptic output ([0131] While haptic devices such as LRAs or ERMs are quite small, they are, nonetheless, electromechanical devices and may be more noticeable to a person if positioned direction beneath that person; [0139] activates a haptic device for an audible-alarm-preferring first user due to the presence of a haptic-alarm-preferring second user and the first user).
With regard to claim 15, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
in response to the first set of criteria being satisfied, the control system is configured to actuate the array of actuation cells in accordance with the first haptic control sequence ([0131] The resonator strips 3230 may act as a resonant backboard that conducts vibrations produced by a haptic device in an alarm 3228 to a different location, e.g., to a region where a person's head is likely to be positioned, and/or to a larger area, e.g., to a 1 ft by 1 ft patch); and
in response to the second set of criteria being satisfied, the control system in configured to actuate the array of actuation cells in accordance with the second haptic control sequence ([0131] While haptic devices such as LRAs or ERMs are quite small, they are, nonetheless, electromechanical devices and may be more noticeable to a person if positioned direction beneath that person; [0139] activates a haptic device for an audible-alarm-preferring first user due to the presence of a haptic-alarm-preferring second user and the first user).
With regard to claim 16, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the first set of criteria defines a sleep period for the user ([0062] Each of these types of sleep data may be determined on a continuous basis, e.g., driven by the sampling rate of the sensors used, or discretized into regular epochs or periods, e.g., determined for every 30 seconds or 60 seconds… a person may experience multiple sleep stages during a particular epoch or period, but the sleep monitoring system may assign a sleep stage to that epoch that is representative of the predominant sleep stage experienced during that epoch); and
the second set of criteria defines a wake period for the user ([0061] the number of wake events that occur during a sleep session after sleep onset occurs, the number of times that a person gets out of bed during a sleep session (and subsequently re-enters the bed during the sleep session), time spent in one or more of the five commonly-recognized sleep stages of Wake, N1, N2, N3, and REM during the sleep session, and time spent in one or more of other commonly recognized sleep stages, e.g., deep sleep, light sleep, REM sleep, or any other determinable sleep state).
With regard to claim 17, Correa Ramirez teaches an in-bed haptic system (Fig. 1; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper) comprising:
a pneumatic pad configured for placement between a user and a bed (Fig. 1; [0055] a sleep monitoring system. In FIG. 1, a mattress 110 for two sleepers, first sleeper 106 and second sleeper 108; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper) and comprising an array of inflatable cells ([0086] the carrier may include one or more relatively thin, inflatable bladders that extend over one or more regions of the mattress);
an input device ([0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like) configured to:
display a user interface for defining a haptic output (Fig. 1; [0055] a sleep monitoring system. In FIG. 1, a mattress 110 for two sleepers, first sleeper 106 and second sleeper 108; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper; [0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person); and
in response to receiving an input to the user interface, generate a haptic control sequence for applying to the array of inflatable cells (Fig. 1; [0055] a sleep monitoring system. In FIG. 1, a mattress 110 for two sleepers, first sleeper 106 and second sleeper 108; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper; [0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person); and
a control system configured to;
receive the haptic control sequence ([0131] The resonator strips 3230 may act as a resonant backboard that conducts vibrations produced by a haptic device in an alarm 3228 to a different location, e.g., to a region where a person's head is likely to be positioned, and/or to a larger area, e.g., to a 1 ft by 1 ft patch); and
actuate the pneumatic pad (Fig. 2; [0076] Sleep monitoring sensor apparatuses having sensors 216 may be configured to be located in any of a variety of locations in a bed arrangement; [0086] a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper. In such implementations, the carrier may include one or more relatively thin, inflatable bladders that extend over one or more regions of the mattress) using the haptic control sequence ([0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person).
With regard to claim 18, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the input defines a region of the pneumatic pad for applying the haptic control sequence ([0086] In some implementations, a pneumatic sensor system may be used to collect sleep data for a sleeper); and
the control system is configured to actuate the array of inflatable cells in the region of the pneumatic pad ([0086] the carrier may include one or more relatively thin, inflatable bladders that extend over one or more regions of the mattress).
With regard to claim 19, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the pneumatic pad comprises an array of pressure sensors configured to measure pressures of the array of inflatable cells ([0086] the carrier may include one or more relatively thin, inflatable bladders that extend over one or more regions of the mattress; [0085] – [0086] such sensors may be spatially segregated if used in a multi-sleeper context, e.g., each sleeper may have their own set of one or more distributed-area sensors and data from each set of one or more distributed-area sensors may be assumed to be attributable to one sleeper…The bladders may be connected with one or more pressure sensors, e.g., directly (e.g., when the pressure sensor is mounted within the inflatable volume of the bladder) or indirectly (e.g., when a bladder has a tube or other fluidic flow passage that connects a pressure port in the bladder with a pressure sensor located at some location outside of the bladder), that are configured to provide measurements of the pressure within the bladder); and
the control system is configured to:
receive the pressure measurements from the array of pressure sensors ([0086] The bladders may be connected with one or more pressure sensors, e.g., directly (e.g., when the pressure sensor is mounted within the inflatable volume of the bladder) or indirectly (e.g., when a bladder has a tube or other fluidic flow passage that connects a pressure port in the bladder with a pressure sensor located at some location outside of the bladder), that are configured to provide measurements of the pressure within the bladder); and
determine a location of one or more anatomical features of the user ([0131] The resonator strips 3230 may act as a resonant backboard that conducts vibrations produced by a haptic device in an alarm 3228 to a different location, e.g., to a region where a person's head is likely to be positioned, and/or to a larger area, e.g., to a 1 ft by 1 ft patch. While haptic devices such as LRAs or ERMs are quite small, they are, nonetheless, electromechanical devices and may be more noticeable to a person if positioned direction beneath that person; [0137] while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508).
With regard to claim 20, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the input defines a region of a user's body for applying the haptic control sequence ([0131] The resonator strips 3230 may act as a resonant backboard that conducts vibrations produced by a haptic device in an alarm 3228 to a different location, e.g., to a region where a person's head is likely to be positioned, and/or to a larger area, e.g., to a 1 ft by 1 ft patch. While haptic devices such as LRAs or ERMs are quite small, they are, nonetheless, electromechanical devices and may be more noticeable to a person if positioned direction beneath that person); and
the control system actuates the pneumatic pad in the region of the user's body using the location of the one or more anatomical features ([0137] while positioning the alarms 3528 near the heads of the sleepers 3506 and 3508).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Correa Ramirez et al. (U.S. 2020/0178887) in view of Garcia Molina et al. (U.S. 2022/0175600).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Correa Ramirez teaches wherein:
the set of haptic sequences each defines a time-varying pressure profile for the array of actuation cells ([0087] the amount of pressure or the time-varying amount of pressure change as measured by the pressure sensor may be monitored in order to determine various data points. For example, if there is a large change in the measured pressure (especially after relatively little or no change in pressure over an extended time period), e.g., a 50 mmHg spike in pressure, this may indicate that an object has been placed on the pressure sensor); and displaying the set of haptic sequences for each haptic sequence in the set of haptic sequences ([0092] by pushing a button or sending an input via a smartphone app or the like; [0146] Such a first alarm off signal may be provided, for example, by way of an input button, control, or other input device that is integrated into the wake-up alarm system, or may be provided through input via a smartphone, tablet, or other device; [0131] The use of a resonator strip 3230 may allow the haptic device/alarm 3228 to be positioned off to the side of the person while allowing the vibrations produced by the haptic device to be conducted to locations directly beneath the person). However, Correa Ramirez does not specifically teach:
- comprises displaying a dynamic animation, the dynamic animation indicating the time-varying pressure profile that can be applied to the array of actuation cells
Garcia Molina teaches a bed having a mattress equipped with sensors usable by computing system to identify signals of a sleeper [abstract]. Garcia Molina also teaches displaying a dynamic animation ([0065] the control circuitry 334 can identify a heart rate or respiratory rate for the user 308 to identify that the increase in pressure is due to a person sitting, laying, or otherwise resting on the bed 302 rather than an inanimate object (such as a suitcase) having been placed on the bed 302), the dynamic animation indicating the time-varying pressure profile that can be applied to the array of actuation cells ([0042] providing a sufficient amount of time to allow the pressures within the pump manifold 143 and chamber 114A or 114B to equalize can result in pressure readings that are accurate approximations of the actual pressure within air chamber 114A or 114B; [0066] the control circuitry 334 can use information indicating bed presence and sleep states for the user 308 collected over a period of time to identify a sleep pattern for the user). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the sleep tracking system taught by Correa Ramirez, with the dynamic animation of the sleep session taught by Garcia Molina, to have achieved and facilitate simultaneous sleep data collection for multiple people, e.g., two people, that sleep in a bed together.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Selker (US Patent No. 8,917,167) teaches a user tactile feedback device working inside of a fluid sealed vessel.
Receveur et al. (US Patent No. 12,525,239) teaches a system for voice control of medical devices in a healthcare facility.
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171