DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Examiner notes that there are two sets of nonstatutory double patenting rejections below, one over copending Application No. 18689189 (first) and the other over copending Application No. 18721171 (second)
Claims 1-3 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18689189 in view of Kamota JP H07128602 A.
Regarding claim 1, 18689189 claim 10 (which depends on claim 1) teaches an optical scanning device (claim 10) comprising:
a movable reflector (claim 1);
18689189 claim 10 does not explicitly teach but Kamota teaches a first light-emitting element installed over the movable reflector (8 in Figs. 3, 7-8); and a first light detection element detecting light emitted from the first light-emitting element (9 in Figs. 3, 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18689189 claim 10 to include a first light-emitting element installed over the movable reflector; and a first light detection element detecting light emitted from the first light-emitting element similar to Kamota with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing monitoring of the status of the movable reflector.
Regarding claim 2, 18689189 claim 10 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
18689189 claim 10 does not explicitly teach but Kamota teaches wherein the first light-emitting element is installed on a side opposite to a side of the movable reflector on which a reflecting surface of the movable reflector is located (8 is on opposite side of reflector for scanning in Figs. 3, 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18689189 claim 10 to include the first light-emitting element is installed on a side opposite to a side of the movable reflector on which a reflecting surface of the movable reflector is locate similar to Kamota with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing monitoring of the status of the movable reflector.
Regarding claim 3, 18689189 claim 10 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
18689189 claim 10 does not explicitly teach but Kamota teaches wherein the first light detection element comprises a plurality of light detection units located on both sides of a virtual plane that passes through a rotation axis of the movable reflector and is perpendicular to the reflecting surface of the movable reflector (9a and 9b in Fig. 8, [0010, 20, 23, 30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18689189 claim 10 such that the first light detection element comprises a plurality of light detection units located on both sides of a virtual plane that passes through a rotation axis of the movable reflector and is perpendicular to the reflecting surface of the movable reflector similar to Kamota with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing monitoring of the status of the movable reflector.
Regarding claim 7, 18689189 claim 10 as modified above teaches a sensor device comprising:
the optical scanning device according to Claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above);
a second light-emitting element (claim 10); and
a second light detection element that detects light emitted from the second light-emitting element, reflected by the movable reflector, and reflected or scattered by an object that exists outside of the optical scanning device (claim 10).
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18689189 in view of Kamota JP H07128602 A and further in view of Honda JP H0334134 A.
Regarding claim 4, 18689189 claim 10 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
18689189 claim 10 does not explicitly teach but Honda teaches further comprising a torsion bar connected to the movable reflector, wherein at least a portion of the torsion bar is electronically connected to the first light-emitting element (leaf spring 22 is formed of a conductor and connected to the power source and LED 30; pg. 4 paragraphs 2-3 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18689189 claim 10 to include a torsion bar connected to the movable reflector, wherein at least a portion of the torsion bar is electronically connected to the first light-emitting element similar to Honda with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of decreasing the additional electrical wiring needed for the light source to function.
Claims 5-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of copending Application No. 18689189 in view of Kamota JP H07128602 A and Honda JP H0334134 A and further in view of Miyazaki JP 2004170499 A.
Regarding claim 5, 18689189 claim 10 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 4,
a frame body that is located in at least a part of a region surrounding the movable reflector and connected to the torsion bar (claim 1),
18689189 claim 10 does not explicitly teach further comprising wherein a dividing portion is provided on portions, located on both sides of the rotation axis of the movable reflector, of the frame body.
Miyazaki teaches a dividing portion on portions of a frame (terminals 13 separated by movable holder 4 in Fig. 1, similar electrical spacing in Fig. 14; lns. 159 – 185 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18689189 claim 10 such that a dividing portion is provided on portions, located on both sides of the rotation axis of the movable reflector, of the frame body similar to Miyazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing rotations of the device without short circuiting the light source.
Regarding claim 6, 18689189 claim 10 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 5,
wherein a resin body is provided over at least a part of the frame body (claim 1) .
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-3 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18721171 in view of Kamota JP H07128602 A.
Regarding claim 1, 18721171 claim 6 (which depends on claim 1) teaches an optical scanning device (claim 6) comprising:
a movable reflector (claim 1);
a first light-emitting element (claim 1); and
a first light detection element detecting light emitted from the first light-emitting element (claim 1).
18721171 claim 6 does not explicitly teach but Kamota teaches the first light-emitting element installed over the movable reflector (8 in Figs. 3, 7-8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18721171 claim 6 to include a first light-emitting element installed over the movable reflector similar to Kamota with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing monitoring of the status of the movable reflector.
Regarding claim 2, 18721171 claim 6 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
18721171 claim 6 does not explicitly teach but Kamota teaches wherein the first light-emitting element is installed on a side opposite to a side of the movable reflector on which a reflecting surface of the movable reflector is located (8 is on opposite side of reflector for scanning in Figs. 3, 7-8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18721171 claim 6 to include the first light-emitting element is installed on a side opposite to a side of the movable reflector on which a reflecting surface of the movable reflector is locate similar to Kamota with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing monitoring of the status of the movable reflector.
Regarding claim 3, 18721171 claim 6 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
18721171 claim 6 does not explicitly teach but Kamota teaches wherein the first light detection element comprises a plurality of light detection units located on both sides of a virtual plane that passes through a rotation axis of the movable reflector and is perpendicular to the reflecting surface of the movable reflector (9a and 9b in Fig. 8, [0010, 20, 23, 30]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18721171 claim 6 such that the first light detection element comprises a plurality of light detection units located on both sides of a virtual plane that passes through a rotation axis of the movable reflector and is perpendicular to the reflecting surface of the movable reflector similar to Kamota with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing monitoring of the status of the movable reflector.
Regarding claim 7, 18721171 claim 6 as modified above teaches a sensor device comprising:
the optical scanning device according to Claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1 above);
a second light-emitting element (claim 6); and
a second light detection element that detects light emitted from the second light-emitting element, reflected by the movable reflector, and reflected or scattered by an object that exists outside of the optical scanning device (claim 6).
Claim 4 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18721171 in view of Kamota JP H07128602 A and further in view of Honda JP H0334134 A.
Regarding claim 4, 18721171 claim 6 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
18721171 claim 6 does not explicitly teach but Honda teaches further comprising a torsion bar connected to the movable reflector, wherein at least a portion of the torsion bar is electronically connected to the first light-emitting element (leaf spring 22 is formed of a conductor and connected to the power source and LED 30; pg. 4 paragraphs 2-3 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18721171 claim 6 to include a torsion bar connected to the movable reflector, wherein at least a portion of the torsion bar is electronically connected to the first light-emitting element similar to Honda with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of decreasing the additional electrical wiring needed for the light source to function.
Claim 5 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18721171 in view of Kamota JP H07128602 A and Honda JP H0334134 A and further in view of Miyazaki JP 2004170499 A.
Regarding claim 5, 18721171 claim 6 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 4,
a frame body that is located in at least a part of a region surrounding the movable reflector and connected to the torsion bar (claim 1),
18721171 claim 6 does not explicitly teach further comprising wherein a dividing portion is provided on portions, located on both sides of the rotation axis of the movable reflector, of the frame body.
Miyazaki teaches a dividing portion on portions of a frame (terminals 13 separated by movable holder 4 in Fig. 1, similar electrical spacing in Fig. 14; lns. 159 – 185 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18721171 claim 6 such that a dividing portion is provided on portions, located on both sides of the rotation axis of the movable reflector, of the frame body similar to Miyazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing rotations of the device without short circuiting the light source.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of copending Application No. 18721171 in view of Kamota JP H07128602 A, Honda JP H0334134 A, and Miyazaki JP 2004170499 A, and further in view of Kono JP 2015152869 A.
Regarding claim 6, 18721171 claim 6 as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 5,
18721171 claim 6 does not explicitly teach but Kono teaches wherein a resin body is provided over at least a part of the frame body (reinforcing member 61 made of resin…is proved on back of frame portion 6 in Fig. 2, [0024]) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified 18721171 claim 6 such that a resin body is provided over at least a part of the frame body similar to Kono with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of strengthening the frame without causing a short circuit in the light source circuit.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamota JP H07128602 A.
Regarding claim 1, Kamota teaches an optical scanning device (3 in Figs. 3, 7-8) comprising:
a movable reflector (6 in Figs. 3, 7-8);
a first light-emitting element installed over the movable reflector (8 in Figs. 3, 7-8); and
a first light detection element detecting light emitted from the first light-emitting element (9 in Figs. 3, 7-8).
Regarding claim 2, Kamota teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
wherein the first light-emitting element is installed on a side opposite to a side of the movable reflector on which a reflecting surface of the movable reflector is located (8 is on opposite side of reflector for scanning in Figs. 3, 7-8).
Regarding claim 3, Kamota teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
wherein the first light detection element comprises a plurality of light detection units located on both sides of a virtual plane that passes through a rotation axis of the movable reflector and is perpendicular to the reflecting surface of the movable reflector (9a and 9b in Fig. 8, [0010, 20, 23, 30]).
Regarding claim 7, Kamota teaches a sensor device comprising:
the optical scanning device according to Claim 1 (see rejection to claim 1);
a second light-emitting element (10 in Figs. 1-13, [0037-38]); and
a second light detection element that detects light emitted from the second light-emitting element, reflected by the movable reflector, and reflected or scattered by an object that exists outside of the optical scanning device (light receiving device 15 in Figs. 12-13, [0037-38]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamota JP H07128602 A in view of Honda JP H0334134 A.
Regarding claim 4, Kamota teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 1,
Kamota does not explicitly teach but Honda teaches further comprising a torsion bar connected to the movable reflector, wherein at least a portion of the torsion bar is electronically connected to the first light-emitting element (leaf spring 22 is formed of a conductor and connected to the power source and LED 30; pg. 4 paragraphs 2-3 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kamota to include a torsion bar connected to the movable reflector, wherein at least a portion of the torsion bar is electronically connected to the first light-emitting element similar to Honda with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of decreasing the additional electrical wiring needed for the light source to function.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamota JP H07128602 A in view of Honda JP H0334134 A and further in view of Miyazaki JP 2004170499 A.
Regarding claim 5, Kamota as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 4,
Kamota does not explicitly teach further comprising a frame body that is located in at least a part of a region surrounding the movable reflector and connected to the torsion bar, wherein a dividing portion is provided on portions, located on both sides of the rotation axis of the movable reflector, of the frame body.
Honda teaches a frame body surround at least a part of a region surrounding the movable reflector and connected to the torsion bar (fixed body 21 in Fig. 1; pg. 4 paragraph 2 of translation)
Miyazaki teaches a dividing portion on portions of a frame (terminals 13 separated by movable holder 4 in Fig. 1, similar electrical spacing in Fig. 14; lns. 159 – 185 of translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kamota to include a frame body that is located in at least a part of a region surrounding the movable reflector and connected to the torsion bar similar to Honda with a reasonable expectation of success, wherein a dividing portion is provided on portions, located on both sides of the rotation axis of the movable reflector, of the frame body similar to Miyazaki with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing rotations of the device without short circuiting the light source.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamota JP H07128602 A in view of Honda JP H0334134 A and Miyazaki JP 2004170499 A, and further in view of Kono JP 2015152869 A.
Regarding claim 6, Kamota as modified above teaches the optical scanning device according to Claim 5,
Kamota does not explicitly teach but Kono teaches wherein a resin body is provided over at least a part of the frame body (reinforcing member 61 made of resin…is proved on back of frame portion 6 in Fig. 2, [0024]) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kamota such that a resin body is provided over at least a part of the frame body similar to Kono with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of strengthening the frame without causing a short circuit in the light source circuit.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kitazawa US 20210173198 A1 teaches a mirror rotating around inner and outer torsion bars ([0046-51])
Fujimoto US 10730742 B2 teaches a mirror rotating around inner and outer torsion bars (Fig. 11)
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645