DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the limitation “the grooves formed on the surface and the mesopores connected to the grooves have a funnel shape in which an average diameter of the mesopores connected to the surface gradually decreases”. The first part of the limitation indicates that both the mesopores and the grooves have a funnel shape but the second instance indicates that only the mesopores have an average diameter which gradually decreases. It is therefore unclear if the grooves are also funnel shaped if they also should have an average diameter that gradually decreases, given that the two limitations are linked together with the phrase “in which”.
Furthermore, “in which an average diameter of the mesopores connected to the surface gradually decreases” is unclear because “average diameter” implies a single average of a single mesopore. This implies therefore that the limitation is claiming a gradual “average diameter” decrease throughout distribution of all mesopores in the spherical mesoporous silica (i.e. a population of smaller mesopore and a population of larger meospores with a gradual transition between the two). However, it appears that the limitation is intended to capture the feature of a conical structure wherein the diameter of the pore starts larger at the surface and gradually decreases towards the center of the spherical mesoporous silica (see Applicant’s specification, page 3, lines 4-8). Due to the different interpretations yielding significantly different structures, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear and therefore the claim is indefinite. MPEP 2173.02.
Claims 2-4 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 106179282).
Regarding claim 1, Chen et al. discloses a porous microsphere having taper holes uniformly distributed throughout the surface thereof including mesopores. (Abstract, page 4, first full paragraph). Chen et al. further discloses that the microsphere may be made of SiO2. (page 4, 6th paragraph). The taper holes therefore meet the limitation “an average diameter of the mesopores connected to the surface gradually decreases” and in a structure that has mesopores, is spherical and contains silica. A visualization of the pores as well as “grooves” formed between the pores can be seen in Fig. 1-3
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN 106179282).
Regarding claim 2, Chen et al. discloses an average diameter of the microspheres in the range of 200-2000 nm (page 4, 3rd full paragraph.), overlapping with the presently claimed range. (page 4, 4th full paragraph). As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 3, Chen et al. discloses that the surface area of the porous microsphere lies in the range of 100-600 m2/g, overlapping with the presently claimed range. (page 4, 4th full paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, Chen et al. discloses an average pore diameter in the range of 1-60 nm and an average pore volume of 0.1 to 1.1 cm3/g, overlapping with the presently claimed range. (page 4, 1st and 4th full paragraphs).
Conclusion
/ALEXANDRE F FERRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 02/07/2026