Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed September 23, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10 remain pending in the application. Claims 1, 3, 5, and 6 have been amended. All previous claim objections and 112 rejections have been overcome by the amendments made.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tomohiro et al. (JP-2021061230-A), hereafter referred to simply as Tomohiro. Blue Powder Metallurgy (“Density of Graphite”) is provided as evidence, hereafter referred to simply as Blue Powder Metallurgy.
Regarding Claim 1, Tomohiro teaches an anode material, comprising artificial graphite (“A negative electrode material for a non-aqueous secondary battery that contains graphite,” paragraph 8; “The type of graphite is not particularly limited, as long as it is capable of intercalating and releasing lithium ions; it may be natural graphite or artificial graphite,” paragraph 61), and there are pores inside and/or on surface of the artificial graphite (“has a cumulative pore volume of 0.100 mL/g or less in the range of pore diameter from 0.01 μm to 1 μm,” paragraph 8),
and the anode material has a pore volume of V cm3/kg [“pore volume in the range of 0.01 μm to 1 μm is a value measured using the mercury intrusion method (mercury porosimetry), and is 0.100 mL/g or less,” paragraph 28; “on the other hand, preferably 0.001 mL/g or more,” paragraph 28],
a true density of D g/cm3 (“The theoretical density of graphite is 2.26 g/cm3,” first sentence of Blue Powder Metallurgy; Tomohiro does not specify a true density range of its disclosed graphite, so theoretical density of graphite will be used as an example value instead),
and a specific surface area of S m2/g [“specific surface area (SA) by the BET method preferably of 0.5 m2/g or more,” paragraph 49; “on the other hand, preferably of 10.0 m2/g or less,” paragraph 49],
wherein 4.0 ≤ V*S/D ≤ 10. (Using example V and S values contained in the disclosed ranges from Tomohiro for demonstration purposes, along with the theoretical density of graphite D evidenced by Blue Powder Metallurgy: For V = 10 mL/kg, S = 2 m2/g, D = 2.26 g/cm³, V*S/D = 8.85), and
the pore volume is obtained by calculation in a pore size range of 17A to 3000A using a BJH Desorption cumulative volume of pores model. (Tomohiro’s disclosed anode material meets the structural limitations above and would be capable of having the same result when tested in the claimed manner.)
Regarding Claim 2, Tomohiro further teaches that the anode material satisfies at least one of the following features:
(1) the anode material has a particle size D50 of 10 µm to 30 µm [“The negative electrode material according to one embodiment of the present invention has a volume-based average particle diameter (also referred to as "average particle diameter d50”),” paragraph 57; “the particle is preferably 1 μm or more, more preferably 3 μm or more, even more preferably 4 μm or more, and particularly preferably 5 μm or more,” paragraph 57; “the particle size is preferably 50 μm or less, more preferably 40 μm or less, even more preferably 30 μm or less,” paragraph 57].
Regarding Claim 3, Tomohiro further teaches the anode material satisfies at least one of the following features:
(1) the anode material has a pore volume of V cm3/kg, wherein 5 < V <8 [“pore volume in the range of 0.01 μm to 1 μm is a value measured using the mercury intrusion method (mercury porosimetry), and is 0.100 mL/g or less,” paragraph 28; “on the other hand, preferably 0.001 mL/g or more,” paragraph 28];
(2) the anode material has a specific surface area of S m2/g, wherein 1.78 < S <3.0 [“specific surface area (SA) by the BET method preferably of 0.5 m2/g or more,” paragraph 49; “on the other hand, preferably of 10.0 m2/g or less,” paragraph 49].
Regarding Claim 4, Tomohiro further teaches that the pore comprises at least one of micro-pore and meso-pore (“range of pore diameter from 0.01 μm to 1 μm,” paragraph 28).
Regarding Claim 6, Tomohiro further teaches that the anode material has an interplanar spacing d002 of (002) plane determined by X-ray diffraction, wherein 3.355Å ≤ d002 ≤ 3.365Å [“the interplanar spacing (d002) of the (002) plane, determined by X-ray wide-angle diffraction according to the JSPS method, is preferably 0.340 nm or less,” paragraph 53; “The d002 value is more preferably 0.338 nm or less, and even more preferably 0.337 nm or less,” paragraph 53].
Regarding Claim 8, Tomohiro further teaches that the artificial graphite comprises an artificial graphite primary particle and/or an artificial graphite secondary particle [“the shape of the graphite is preferably spheroidal graphite (spheroidized graphite),” paragraph 63; “spheroidized graphite particles can be produced by applying a spheroidization treatment using known techniques,” paragraph 63].
Regarding Claim 9, Tomohiro further teaches that the anode material satisfies at least one of the following features:
(1) the anode material further comprises an amorphous carbon (“contains graphite having amorphous carbonaceous material on at least a portion of its surface,” paragraph 8); and
(2) the anode material further comprises an amorphous carbon, and a mass ratio of the amorphous carbon in the anode material is 0.1 wt% to 5 wt% (“the amount of amorphous carbon precursors relative to graphite, as residual carbon (amorphous carbon), is usually 0.01% or more, preferably 0.1% or more, more preferably 0.5% or more, even more preferably 1% or more, particularly preferably 2% or more, and most preferably 3% or more,” paragraph 80).
Regarding Claim 10, Tomohiro further teaches a battery comprising the anode material according to claim 1 (“the object of the present invention is to provide a negative electrode material for a non-aqueous secondary battery,” paragraph 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohiro in view of Iwao et al. (JP 6707935 B2), hereafter referred to simply as Iwao.
Regarding Claim 5, although Tomohiro teaches a “range of pore diameter from 0.01 μm to 1 μm,” paragraph 28 (which converts to 100-10,000 Å), Tomohiro does not specifically teach that the pores have an average pore size of 50 Å to 200 Å. However, Iwao teaches an anode material of artificial graphite where the pores have an average pore size of 50 Å to 200 Å [“the mode pore diameter (PD) in the range of 0.01 μm to 1 μm,” paragraph 95]. Iwao teaches the motivation here is that ““When the mode pore size (PD) in the range of 0.01 μm to 1 μm falls outside this range, the electrolyte cannot efficiently penetrate the voids within the particles, and the Li ion insertion and deinsertion sites within the particles cannot be efficiently utilized. As a result, low-temperature input/output characteristics and cycle characteristics tend to deteriorate,” paragraph 95.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the graphite disclosed in Tomohiro such that the average pore size is within the range taught by Iwao in order to allow for more efficient Li ion insertion/de-insertion and thus reduce deterioration of cycling characteristics, as taught by Iwao.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tomohiro in view of Satow et al. (US 20150318545 A1), hereafter referred to simply as Satow.
Regarding Claim 7, Tomohiro does not explicitly teach the artificial graphite has a peak intensity ratio I002/I110 of (002) plane to (110) plane of 65.0 to 120.0 and a peak intensity ratio I004/I110 of (004) plane to the (110) plane of 3.0 to 6.0 determined by X-ray diffraction. However, Satow teaches negative electrode active material particles with a graphite structure. Satow teaches the graphite structure has a peak intensity ratio I002/I110 of (002) plane to (110) plane of 65.0 to 120.0 (“the ratio I(002)/I(110) of the diffraction intensity I(002) of the (002) plane to the diffraction intensity I(110) of the (110) plane satisfies 60 ≤ I(002)/I(110) ≤ 120 as determined by measuring the negative electrode mixture layer by an X-ray diffraction method,” paragraph 27) and a peak intensity ratio I004/I110 of (004) plane to the (110) plane of 3.0 to 6.0 determined by X-ray diffraction (“the ratio I(110)/I(004) satisfies 0.25 ≤ I(110)/I(004) ≤ 0.45,” paragraph 22; for comparative purposes, inverting the disclosed ratio yields, 2.22 ≤ I(004)/I(110) ≤ 4). For I002/I110, Satow explains the benefit of this ratio range is that it “allows the crystal grains in the negative electrode active material particles to be properly oriented in the negative electrode mixture layer, thereby enabling input characteristics of the negative electrode mixture layer to be enhanced,” paragraph 30. For I004/I110, Satow notes that negative electrode material satisfying the condition stated above can help a battery achieve “high capacity and high input-output characteristics during charge/discharge at high current density under low-temperature circumstances,” paragraph 22.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the graphite disclosed in Tomohiro such that I004/I110 and I002/I110 are within the ranges disclosed by Satow in order to optimize orientation of the crystal grains to enhance input and output characteristics.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on September 3, 2026 have been fully considered but were not found persuasive. The first argument is that the pore volumes disclosed by Tomohiro are not relevant because a different test method and sampling pore diameter range was used. The examiner agrees that the methods of measuring pore volume differ between Tomohiro and the instant application. However, as the applicant notes, the sampling ranges have overlap. More importantly, though, as noted in the Non-Final rejection, the claim is directed to a final product, specifically an anode material comprised of artificial graphite with the features as recited in claim 1, not the methods by which the product’s properties are measured. Tomohiro’s disclosed products meet the structural limitations. The applicant has not provided any evidence that Tomohiro’s disclosed product is structurally different from applicant’s claimed product in Claim 1.
The applicant’s second argument is that because Tomohiro does not explicitly disclose the density of graphite used in their product, their disclosed product cannot meet Claim 1. However, the evidence provided by the Examiner in the Non-Final rejection provides a standard density for graphite. A person having ordinary skill in the art would assume a disclosed material most likely has the commonly accepted density, if the disclosing inventor does not suggest otherwise.
The applicant’s final argument is that the interrelated limitation on pore volume, specific surface area, and true density of the anode material, quantified in Claim 1 as 4.0 ≤ V*S/D ≤ 10, is a novel and nonobvious relationship not acknowledged by the prior art. The Examiner agrees that the cited prior art did not acknowledge the benefits of constraining these three parameters via the interrelated range in Claim 1. Even though the prior art does not acknowledge the benefits of this interrelated range, as discussed in the rejection of Claim 1 above, the prior art teaches values for these parameters that overlap with values disclosed in the instant application (paragraphs 75-77) and are within the claimed interrelated range. Thus, it is an optimizable quantity, not unexpected. Also, the discovery of a previously unappreciated property of an already disclosed product is not considered patentably new. Please see MPEP § 2112(I) and (II).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JORDAN P WILKERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783