DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final Rejection
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/16/2026, 09/02/2025 and 02/27/2024 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it exceeds the allotted range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalczyk (US 8148992 B2) in view of Gerasimov (RU 2672775 C1, all citation provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 1, Kowalczyk teaches a system for detection and delineation of one or more conductive bodies situated at least one of upon or beneath a seafloor, comprising a source (112) AUV (Autonomous Underwater Vehicle) (104) having a hull and a receiver AUV (116) having a hull. (Col.17, lines 10-12, Col.5, lines 16-28, Fig.1)
Kowalczyk also teaches wherein the source AUV (112) comprises: a controlled electric dipole source mounted on the hull of the source AUV (electric field produced by an electric dipole, such as an electric dipole exciter). (Col.6, lines 3-10, Fig.1)
Kowalczyk also teaches a first magnetometer (1344) mounted inside the hull of the source AUV. (Col.12, lines 37-39, Fig.13)
Kowalczyk also teaches wherein the receiver AUV comprises a first pair of receiver electrodes; a second pair of receiver electrodes; a second magnetometer (additional electric or magnetic field sensors are deployed) mounted inside the hull of the receiver AUV. (Col.9, lines 23-31, Col.17, lines 62-64, Col.11, lines 60-63)
Kowalczyk also teaches a plurality of measurement electronics hosted inside the receiver AUV to operate the first pair of receiver electrodes, the second pair of receiver electrodes, the first magnetometer, and the second magnetometer. (Col.10, lines 7-10, Figs.12-13)
Kowalczyk also teaches wherein the first magnetometer and the second magnetometer are configured to measure a magnetic field, and the first pair of receiver electrodes and the second pair of receiver electrodes are configured to measure an electric field in a horizontal direction (x-direction) and in a vertical direction (z-direction)relative to the receiver AUV electromagnetic energy is transmitted from the controlled electric dipole source, wherein the first pair of receiver electrodes and the second pair of receiver electrodes each have an offset in a range from the controlled electric dipole source. (Col.11, lines 60-63, Col.6, lines 45-50, Col.2, lines 26-34, 63-65) Kowalczyk discloses the claimed invention except for an offset in a range of 30-50 meters. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate an offset in a range of 30-50 meters, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Kowalczyk also teaches the system further comprising: a plurality of source electronics hosted inside the source AUV adapted to operate the controlled electric dipole source. (Col.17, lines 48-51, Figs.12-13)
Kowalczyk also teaches a battery for powering the controlled electric dipole source, the first pair of receiver electrodes and the second pair of receiver electrodes, the plurality of source electronics, the plurality of measurement electronics, and the first magnetometer and the second magnetometer. (Col.17, lines 48-51, Col.6, lines 45-50, Col.12, line 37-39, Col.5, lines 26-28, Col.10, lines 7-10, Col.11, lines 60-63)
Kowalczyk does not explicitly teach wherein the controlled electric dipole source comprises at least two metal electrode plates mounted outside the hull of the source AUV and source electronics hosted inside the source AUV and connected to the at least two metal electrode plates with cables through the hull of the source AUV.
Gerasimov teaches wherein the controlled electric dipole source comprises at least two metal electrode plates mounted outside the hull of the source AUV and source electronics hosted inside the source AUV and connected to the at least two metal electrode plates with cables through the hull of the source AUV. (Page.5-Page.6, first paragraph, Figs.1-3)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kowalczyk to incorporate wherein the controlled electric dipole source comprises at least two metal electrode plates mounted outside the hull of the source AUV and source electronics hosted inside the source AUV and connected to the at least two metal electrode plates with cables through the hull of the source AUV as taught by Gerasimov in order to for the signal to be amplified and normalized by level and adjusting the gain while maintaining a linear operating mode.
Regarding claim 3, Kowalczyk teaches wherein: the first pair of receiver electrodes are mounted on the hull of the receiver AUV and separated from one another in the x-direction; and the second pair of receiver electrodes are mounted on the hull of the receiver AUV and separated from one another in the z- direction. (Col.6, lines 45-50, Col.2, lines 26-34, 63-65)
Regarding claim 5, Kowalczyk teaches wherein the controlled electric dipole source operates in a frequency range of between 1-100 Hz. (Col.15, lines 10-12, Col.13, lines 3-6)
Regarding claim 6, Kowalczyk teaches a processor configured to use measurements from the first magnetometer, the second magnetometer the first pair of receiver electrodes, and the second pair of receiver electrodes to create a conductivity structure of the one or more conductive bodies. (Col.12, lines 4-10, Fig.13)
Regarding claim 7, Kowalczyk teaches the system according to claim 1, the system comprising an AUV that acts as both the source AUV and the receiver AUV, the AUV having a hull comprising: a controlled electric dipole source mounted on the hull of the AUV. (Col.6, lines 3-10, Col.17, lines 10-12, Col.5, lines 16-28, Fig.1)
Kowalczyk also teaches a plurality of magnetometers mounted inside the hull of the AUV; a plurality of receiver electrode pairs; and a plurality of measurement electronics hosted inside the AUV. (Col.12, lines 37-39, Col.9, lines 23-31, Col.17, lines 62-64, Col.11, lines 60-63, Fig.13)
Kowalczyk also teaches wherein the plurality of magnetometers are configured to measure the magnetic field, and the plurality of receiver electrode pairs are configured to measure the electric field in the horizontal direction (x-direction) and in a vertical direction (z- direction) relative to the AUV when electromagnetic energy is transmitted from the controlled electric dipole source. (Col.11, lines 60-63, Col.6, lines 45-50, Col.2, lines 26-34, 63-65)
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalczyk in view of Gerasimov and Helwig (US 20090315539 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kowalczyk does not explicitly teach wherein the first magnetometer and the second magnetometer are at least one of 3-axes or total field magnetometers.
Helwig teaches wherein the first magnetometer and the second magnetometer are at least one of 3-axes or total field magnetometers. (Paragraph 40)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Kowalczyk to incorporate wherein the first magnetometer and the second magnetometer are at least one of 3-axes or total field magnetometers as taught by Helwig in order to provide a complete directional vector of a magnetic field.
Claim(s) 8 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kowalczyk.
Regarding claim 8, Kowalczyk teaches a method of detection and delineation of one or more conductive bodies situated at least one of upon or beneath a seafloor, the method comprising: transmitting electromagnetic energy from a source AUV (Autonomous Underwater Vehicle) having a hull equipped with a controlled electric dipole source. (Col.17, lines 10-12, Col.5, lines 16-28, Col.6, lines 3-10 Fig.1)
Kowalczyk also teaches measuring an electric field with at least one first receiver and at least one second receiver mounted on a hull of a receiver AUV, wherein the at least one first receiver comprises a first pair of receiver electrodes mounted on the hull of the receiver AUV and separated from one another in a horizontal direction (x-direction), and wherein the at least one second receiver comprises a second pair of receiver electrodes mounted on the hull of the receiver AUV and separated from one another in a vertical direction (z-direction), wherein the first pair of receiver electrodes and the second pair of receiver electrodes each have an from the controlled electric dipole source. (Col.11, lines 60-63, Col.6, lines 45-50, Col.2, lines 26-34, 63-65) Kowalczyk discloses the claimed invention except for an offset of range of 30-50 meters. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate an offset of 30-50 meters, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Kowalczyk also teaches measuring a magnetic field with at least one first magnetometer mounted inside the hull of the source AUV and at least one second magnetometer mounted inside the hull of the receiver AUV, wherein the source AUV and the receiver AUV are moving along a survey line. (Col.12, lines 37-39, Col.9, lines 23-31, Col.17, lines 62-64, Col.11, lines 60-63, Fig.13)
Regarding claim 10, Kowalczyk teaches wherein the electromagnetic energy transmitted by the controlled electric dipole source discrete frequencies in a frequency range of 1-100hz. (Col.15, lines 10-12, Col.13, lines 3-6)
Regarding claim 11, Kowalczyk teaches wherein the controlled electric dipole source has a output sequence. (Col.6, lines 3-10) Kowalczyk discloses the claimed invention except for a 15 second output sequence. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filled to incorporate a 15 second output sequence, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 12, Kowalczyk teaches wherein the source AUV and the receiver AUVs are 30 meters above the seafloor. (Col.16, lines 9-11, Col.5, lines 55-63)
Regarding claim 13, Kowalczyk teaches obtaining a conductivity structure of the one or more conductive bodies by feeding an electric field measurement and a magnetic field measurement to a trained Convolutional Neural Network. (Col.4, lines 10-15, Col.12, lines 4-10, Fig.13)
Regarding claim 14, Kowalczyk teaches wherein the one or more conductive bodies are hydrothermal at least one of vent fields or marine mineral deposits comprising ferromanganese crusts, seafloor massive sulfides, or polymetallic nodules. (Col.2, lines 38-41, Col.7, lines 39-48, Claim 4, Fig.4)
Regarding claim 15, the claim discloses substantially the same limitations, as claim 6. All limitations as recited have been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 15, and do not introduce any additional narrowing of the scopes of the claims as analyzed. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for the same rational over the prior art cited in claim 6.
Conclusion
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645