DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 31-38 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/22/2025.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 6/23/2026 is entered and fully considered. In view of the amendment the previous rejections are removed and new rejections are made with new prior art.
Claim Objections
The amendment to claim 20 results in “wherein the (d) absorber compound is represented by a formula formula (d-1)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-23, 25-30 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BURTOVYY et al. (US 2020/0199391) in view of LORENZETTI et al. (US 2010/0222471).
Regarding claims 20, 25, and 26,
BURTOVYY teaches a composition that includes a monomer according to formula (I):
In the formula the m is 0, 1, or 2, and the R groups are for example hydrogen, halogen, alkyl and alkoxy groups [0011]-[0015]. The R groups can also be a -Z-Aryl which is the same as applicant’s [0015]-[0020]. In addition to the monomer, the composition includes a latent organo-transition metal catalyst and a compound capable of releasing Bronsted acid when subject to photolytic conditions abstract.
The reference does not teach including an absorber compound corresponding to the claimed formula (d-2). However, LORENZETTI teaches using UV-absorbers with polymers where the polymer can be a norbornene [0018]. The monomer in BURTOVYY is a norbornene polymer. The UV-absorber has a formula in [0049]:
The R1 can be a C1-24 alkyl and R2 can be C1-18 alkyl [0049] which corresponds to claimed R23 and R24.
The R3 (with adjacent hydrogen) can be another hydrogen or C1-4 alkyl [0049] which corresponds to claimed R21 and R22.
There is one OH group which makes m21=1.
At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the UV absorber of LORENZETTI to stabilize the polymer in BURTOVYY.
Regarding claim 21 and 22,
As described in the rejection to parent claim 20, the composition is taught in modified BURTOVYY to improve stability. The same composition will have the same properties of a substantially transparent layer.
Regarding claim 23,
The references teach using a compound that falls within the claimed generic structure for absorber material. The compound within the generic structure is expected to perform the same function when used in the same composition.
Regarding claim 27,
BURTOVYY also teaches an organo-ruthenium or osmium latent catalyst [0132]-[0141] where the X can be halogen or an anionic ligand. The generic formula correspond to applicant’s generic formulas [0132]. Y can be O or S [0135]. Y’ and L are the same as claimed Y’ and L [0136]-[0137], and a ligand can be formed X-L [0138]. The remaining R groups, Ar groups and substituents are all the same [0139]-[0142].
Regarding claim 28,
BURTOVYY teaches a compound:
In the compound Y is a halogen and R30-31 are hydrogen, alkyl, or alkoxy [0150].
Regarding claim 29,
BURTOVYY teaches the ratios of compounds used is a result effective variable and can be employed in any amount to bring the intended result [0160]. At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to change the relative loadings of components to obtain a desired result, MPEP 2144.05.II.
Regarding claim 30,
BURTOVYY teaches viscosity can be 8-12 cP (mPas) at 40°C [0098] which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 39,
The references do not expressly teach the amount of absorber compound that can be added to the composition. However, at the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to discover a workable amount of stabilizer material to achieve the desired improvement in stability.
Claim(s) 20-23, 25, 26, 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RHODES et al. (US 2021/0079133) in view of LORENZETTI et al. (US 2010/0222471).
Regarding claims 20, 25, and 28,
RHODES teaches a composition according to formula (I) [0030]-[0031]. Formula (I) corresponds to applicant’s formula (I) and is:
In formula (I) “m” is similarly 0, 1, or 2 [0033].
R1-4 has significant overlap with applicant’s R1-4 and can similarly be a -Z-aryl [0035]. The Z again has significant overlap with applicant’s Z [0037]-[0038]. Likewise, the R5-6 if used also corresponds to applicant’s R5-6 [0039]. The aryl can be phenyl with some of the same substitutions [0040].
RHODES also teaches a latent catalyst of organo-ruthenium carbide [0097] which corresponds to the latent organo-transition metal catalyst.
RHODES teaches including a photoactive compound [0104] according to formula (V):
This photoactive compound corresponds to applicant’s compound capable of releasing a Bronsted acid in claim 28 when X is chlorine (a halogen) [0106] and the R30-31 contain overlapping substituent groups [0106].
The reference does not teach including an absorber compound corresponding to the claimed formula (d-2). However, LORENZETTI teaches using UV-absorbers with polymers where the polymer can be a norbornene [0018]. The monomer in RHODES is a norbornene polymer. The UV-absorber has a formula in [0049]:
The R1 can be a C1-24 alkyl and R2 can be C1-18 alkyl [0049] which corresponds to claimed R23 and R24.
The R3 (with adjacent hydrogen) can be another hydrogen or C1-4 alkyl [0049] which corresponds to claimed R21 and R22.
There is one OH group which makes m21=1.
At the time of filing the invention it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the UV absorber of LORENZETTI to stabilize the polymer in RHODES.
Regarding claim 21 and 22,
As described in the rejection to parent claim 20, the composition is taught in modified RHODES to improve stability. The same composition will have the same properties of a substantially transparent layer.
Regarding claim 23,
The references teach using a compound that falls within the claimed generic structure for absorber material. The compound within the generic structure is expected to perform the same function when used in the same composition.
Regarding claim 26,
RHODES teaches a generic formula (I) where the R groups can be hydrogen [0035]. The resulting structure is the claimed TD. When m is zero the resulting structure is claimed NB. The reference also teaches perfluoro substituents and various alkyl groups.
Regarding claim 30,
RHODES teaches the composition can be less than 8-12 cP (mPas) at 40°C [0077] which falls within the claimed range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
MACLEAY et al. (US 4,868,246) also teaches a UV stabilizer using formula:
R6 can be C1-4 alkyl or chloride (similar to the chloro- in RAVICHANDRAN) column 4 line 21. This formula corresponds to the claimed formula where R21 and R22 are H and C1-4 alkyl. However, MACLEAY states that the stabilizers work for an array a polymers but do not teach polymers incorporating the claimed monomer used in BURTOVYY.
/AUSTIN MURATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712