DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the damping fluid”. This limitation lacks antecedent basis in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " the damping fluid is selected and distributed in the internal cavity such, when comparing a frequency response function of the vibration damping toolholder with and without the damping fluid present, that a natural frequency corresponding to a peak of the vibration damping tool holder is reduced by at most 15%". The scope of this limitation is unclear. This limitation recites comparing a frequency response function of the claimed device with an alternate device that does not have damping fluid present. It is not clear how this further defines the claimed device and it is unclear how to determine the scope of the claim in terms of a comparison to an alternate construction of the device. Additionally “such, when..” is awkward wording. It is further unclear what it means for a frequency to correspond to a peak of the holder. What is the peak of the holder? The scope is thus unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-9, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn (US 3,642,378).
Re Claim 1, Hahn discloses a vibration damping toolholder 10 for a metal cutting tool, the toolholder comprising: a holder body 12/13, wherein the holder body has a first holder body end, a second holder body end and a longitudinal axis extending from the first holder body end to the second holder body end, the holder body being provided with an internal cavity 18 which is delimited by an internal cavity surface, which extends inside the holder body along the longitudinal axis, and which has a first cavity end at the first holder body end; a tuning mass 21 movably arranged inside the cavity, which, when in a neutral rest position, extends along the longitudinal axis, and which has a first tuning mass end at the first holder body end; a damping medium 25, which surrounds the tuning mass inside the cavity; and a single primary spring element 22 (col. 2, line 30-31) positioned inside the cavity, and which has a longitudinal extension from an outer spring element end to an inner spring element end (Fig. 1-2; col. 2), wherein the damping medium 25 is a fluid (col. 2, line 19-20) and wherein the first holder body end is a front holder body end for supporting a cutting head 15 (Fig. 1-2; col. 2). Hahn does not disclose the outer spring element end is immovably fixed to the first cavity end at the longitudinal axis, and the inner spring element end is immovably fixed to the first tuning mass end at the longitudinal axis. Instead, the spring element 22 of Hahn extends from the opposite end (Fig. 1). It would be obvious to have the spring element extend from the opposite end in order to obtain a desired configuration and also since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Re Claim 2, Hahn discloses the damping of the primary spring element is structural damping (Fig. 1-2; col. 2).
Re Claim 3, Hahn discloses the tuning mass is suspended by the primary spring element only (Fig. 1-2; col. 2).
Re Claim 4, Hahn discloses the primary spring element is bendable and the tuning mass is pivotable over an angle around axes at the primary spring element which are perpendicular to the longitudinal axis by the primary spring element bending (Fig. 1-2; col. 2).
Re Claim 6, Hahn discloses the cavity, the tuning mass, and the primary spring element each have a circular cross section (Fig. 1-2; col. 2).
Re Claim 8, as best understood, Hahn discloses the damping fluid is a liquid (Fig. 1-2; col. 2).
Re Claim 9, as best understood, Hahn discloses the damping fluid is selected and distributed in the internal cavity such, when comparing a frequency response function of the vibration damping toolholder with and without the damping fluid present, that a natural frequency corresponding to a peak of the vibration damping tool holder is reduced by at most 15% (Fig. 1-2; col. 2).
Re Claim 15, Hahn discloses a boring tool comprising the vibration damping toolholder as claimed in claim 1 (Fig. 1-2; col. 2).
Re Claim 16, Hahn discloses a cutting head 15, wherein the cutting head is connected to the holder body at the first holder body end (Fig. 1-2; col. 2).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hahn in view of Takahashi (PGPub 2002/0190449).
Re Claim 5, Hahn does not disclose the first cavity end, the first tuning mass end and the primary spring element are integral and made of a one piece workpiece. However, Takahashi teaches the first cavity end 19, the first tuning mass end and the primary spring element 17A are integral and made of a one piece workpiece (Fig. 1-7). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize integral and one piece workpiece, as taught by Takahashi, for the purpose of obtaining desired geometry and to simplify manufacturing as well as to increase strength of the component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Hahn does not disclose a cavity extending along the longitudinal axis that includes a fluid damping medium arranged to surround the tuning mass as part of the claimed vibration damping system. Accordingly, Hahn fails to disclose the claimed damping medium "which surrounds the tuning mass inside the cavity" as required by claim 1. Hahn also fails to disclose the claimed combination of a single primary spring and the fluid-surrounded tuning mass. Amended claim 1 further requires a specific internal architecture comprising a single primary spring element fixed between the first cavity end and the tuning mass. The Office Action does not identify, and Hahn does not disclose, this combination of features arranged as claimed.” -In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that Hahn explicitly discloses holder body 12/13 being provided with an internal cavity 18 with fluid 25 surrounding tuning mass M and a single primary spring element 22 (col. 2, line 30-31) positioned inside the cavity and fixed to the tuning mass (Fig. 1; col. 2, line 19-35). The office action explicitly maps each of these elements to the Figures and provides citations from Hahn so it is not quite clear why Applicant is stating that “The Office Action does not identify, and Hahn does not disclose, this combination of features arranged as claimed”. The rejection is upheld.
All other arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ryan J. Walters/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799