DETAILED ACTION
Status
This action is a 2nd action non-final, based on the amendments and arguments presented in the remarks filed on 7/16/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/6/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 6 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant has canceled original claim 6 and incorporated its limitations into independent claim 1. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kaneko US 20030213307 in view of new discover prior art Kato US 6066882.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-20, 25, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko US 20030213307 in view of Kato US 6066882.
As to claim 1, Kaneko teaches “A metal pressure measuring cell for absolute pressure sensing (Abstract), comprising a metal base body (Figure 3, 11a) a membrane (Figure 3, 10) and a support body (Figure 3, 14), the membrane comprising a first surface and a second surface (Figure 3, 10 consists of a top and bottom surface, which can be the first and second surface), the support body comprising a cavity which is transversely delimited by an inner surface of the support body and axially delimited at a first side by the first surface of the membrane and open at a second side opposite to the first side to form a trough-shaped chamber for accommodating a measurement medium ([0040]; [0041]), the pressure measuring cell further comprising a cap mounted on the base body (Figure 3, 13) and covering the second surface of the membrane such that a hermetically closed pressure reference volume is formed between the cap and the second surface of the membrane (Figure 3, 12 is the pressure space between cap 13 and the second surface of the membrane 10), wherein the cap is made of metal ([0041]), wherein the cap comprises a transverse cover portion (Figure 3, 13), a side wall (Figure 3, 13 has a side wall), wherein the cap is mounted on the base body by the flange (Figure 3, the flange connects the cap to the base).” Kaneko does not teach that the cap has a flange transversely adjoining the side wall.
Kato teaches “and a flange transversely adjoining the side wall (Figure 1, 11 is the cap that has a side wall and a flange, 11c, that transversely adjoins the side wall).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Kato with Kaneko. Using a flange to connect 2 elements to one another is known in the art and the direction and specific arrangement of a flange relative to other elements is seen as design choice. The Kaneko reference teaches a cap with a flange that connects the cap to the base, but only its orientation differs from the claimed invention. Kato teaches that a flange can be oriented in a transverse manner relative to a cap side wall and also connect a cap to a base. The type of connection depends on the user and the application and use of the sensor.
As to claim 2, Kaneko implicitly teaches “wherein the cap has an inner transverse area which is equal to the area of the membrane or larger than the area of the membrane (Figure 3).”
The prior art does not explicitly teach “wherein the cap has an inner transverse area which is equal to the area of the membrane or larger than the area of the membrane”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention. The prior art does teach a metal cap with an inner transverse area and also teaches a membrane with an area. Based on this, one of ordinary skill in the art has the ability to adjust the dimensions of known elements based on sensor application and material sensitivity. This would aid in sensor sensitivity.
As to claim 3, Kaneko teaches “wherein the coefficients of expansion of the base body and the cap are essentially equal (Figure 3. The prior art does teach a metal cap and a membrane. The material is taught to be metal. Based on this, one of ordinary skill in the art has the ability to adjust the dimensions of known elements based on sensor application and material sensitivity. This would aid in sensor sensitivity).”
As to claim 4, Kaneko teaches “wherein the base body and/or the cap are made of a duplex stainless, a ferritic or an austenitic steel (Figure 3. The prior art does teach a metal cap and a membrane. The material is taught to be metal. Based on this, one of ordinary skill in the art has the ability to choose one material over another based on based on sensor application and material sensitivity. This would aid in sensor sensitivity).”
As to claim 5, Kaneko teaches “wherein the cap has a circular cross-section ([0040]).”
As to claim 7, Kaneko teaches “wherein the cap is mounted on the base body by soldering ([0040] teaches welding, which is a type of soldering).”
As to claim 8, Kaneko teaches “comprising a solderable metallic layer arranged between the base body and the cap and surrounding the second surface of the membrane ([0040]).”
As to claim 9, Kaneko teaches “wherein the solderable metallic layer ([0040]).”
The prior art does not teach “is made of AgPd”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention. The prior art does teach welding 2 components to create a durable seal. Choosing the type of metallic material only requires routine skill in the art and this is obvious. The type of material depends on the sensor application and sensitivity, both of which is determined by the user.
As to claim 11, Kaneko teaches “wherein the pressure in the reference volume (Figure 3, 12 is a pressure chamber).”
The prior arts do not teach “is below 20 mbar.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention. The prior art does teach a pressure reference space in element 12. Setting the pressure depends on the user’s preference as well as the application of the sensor. This would aid in optimization.
As to claim 12, Kaneko does not teach “wherein the inner surface of the support body is shaped such that a transverse diameter (D) of the trough-shaped chamber monotonously decreases from the second side of the cavity towards the first side of the cavity.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 13, Kaneko does not teach “wherein the inner surface of the support body adjoins the first surface of the membrane with a slope.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 14, Kaneko does not teach “wherein the inner surface of the support body comprises one or more conical profile sections.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 15, Kaneko does not teach “wherein the inner surface of the support body comprises a conical profile extending from the second side of the cavity to the first side of the cavity.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 16, Kaneko does not teach “wherein the inner surface of the support body comprises one or more concave sections.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 17, Kaneko does not teach “wherein the inner surface of the support body comprises one or more convex sections.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 18, Kaneko does not teach “wherein the inner surface of the support body comprises a parabolic profile extending from the second side of the cavity to the first side of the cavity.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 19, Kaneko does teach “wherein chamber is an empty space configured to solely accommodate the measurement medium (Figure 3, 12).”
Kaneko does not teach “the trough-shaped”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 20, Kaneko teaches “wherein the membrane and the support body are formed as an integral part (Figure 3).”
Kaneko does not teach “such that the trough-shaped chamber configured to accommodate the measurement medium is formed by the integral part.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention since it is known that the alteration of known designs and elements is obvious. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed.
As to claim 25, Kaneko teaches “A pressure transducer configured to measure pressure of a measurement medium with a density anomaly, comprising a pressure measuring cell according to claim 1 (Abstract, Figure 3. The prior art teaches strain gauges that are connected to a relay board. This converts one type of signal into another type of signal).”
As to claim 26, Kaneko teaches “The pressure transducer according to claim 25, wherein the trough-shaped chamber is an empty space for accommodating solely the measurement medium (Figure 3. The shape of the support body is a design choice, and changing the size and dimensions of taught element only involves routine skill in the art. The instant application presents embodiments with different designs as different embodiments, meaning that the shape can be altered as needed).”
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko US 20030213307 in view of Kato US 6066882 and in further view of Suminto US 7775119.
As to claim 10, Kaneko teaches “between the base body and the metallic layer and surrounding the second surface of the membrane (Figure 3).” Kaneko does not teach an insulating layer.
Suminto teaches “comprising an intermediate insulating layer arranged (Column 5, lines 39-43).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Suminto with Kaneko. Having an insulating layer protects other elements within the sensing cell.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko US 20030213307 in view of Kato US 6066882 and in further view of Gouzon US 20060278283.
As to claim 27, Kaneko teaches “comprising a pressure transducer according to claim 25 (Figure 3).”
The prior art does not teach “A dosing unit for dosing an exhaust gas reduction medium”.
Gouzon teaches “A dosing unit for dosing an exhaust gas reduction medium ([0056]).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine the teachings of Gouzon with Kaneko. Using a pressure cell within a dosing system is obvious since the pressure is critical to measure over time within certain gas exhaust systems. This would aid in optimization of the dosing system.
Conclusion
/TARUN SINHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855