DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1, “the evolution” should be “an evolution”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “implementing means” is interpreted as “a processing unit” according to paragraph 62 of the published present application. The limitation “predicting means” is interpreted as “a processing unit” according to paragraph 62 of the published present application.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “training means” is interpreted as “a processing unit” according to paragraph 62 of the published present application.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “generating means” is interpreted as “a processing unit” according to paragraph 62 of the published present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nair et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20220050015) in view of Govrin et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20230213928).
Regarding claim 1, Nair teaches a method for predicting the evolution of a defect of a bearing comprising: predicting an evolution of the identified defect of the bearing (Abstract) from a type of the identified defect (Paragraph 97, “The life module 340 is configured to predict a defect propagation based on location of the defect and type of the defect”) and from operating parameters of the bearing and from a model of the bearing (Abstract, “The bearing model is based on one of condition data associated with operation of the bearing, historical condition data of the bearing, bearing specification and technical specification of a technical system including the bearing. The method further includes predicting a defect in the bearing based on the bearing model and predicting the remaining life of the bearing based on the predicted defect”).
Nair is silent about identifying a defect of the bearing and extracting geometrical parameters of the identified defect by a trained deep learning algorithm from a picture of the bearing, predicting an evolution of the identified defect of the bearing from the extracted geometrical parameters of the identified defect
Govrin teaches identifying a defect of the bearing and extracting geometrical parameters of the identified defect (Paragraph 41, “According to some embodiments, the system is configured to monitor a mode of failure of a bearing, and further including: identifying at least one segment including boundaries of a perimeter of a surface defect within the received signals, such that identifying the at least one change in the received signals includes identifying a change or rate of change of the shape and/or propagation of the at least one segment, and wherein the mode of failure includes a critical defect size, and wherein generating at least one model of a trend in the identified change includes modeling a trend in the growth of the surface defect in specific mode of operation of the bearing”) by a trained deep learning algorithm (Paragraph 98, “According to some embodiments, identifying a previously unknown failure mode may include applying the received signals and/or the identified segment to a machine learning algorithm 324 configured to determine a mode of failure of the machine or the component thereof. According to some embodiments, the machine learning algorithm 324 may be trained to identify a potential failure mode of the identified segment”) from a picture of the bearing (Paragraph 27, “According to some embodiments, the at least one signal includes at least one image, a portion of an image, a set of images, or a video”), predicting an evolution of the identified defect of the bearing from the extracted geometrical parameters of the identified defect (Paragraph 41, “According to some embodiments, the system is configured to monitor a mode of failure of a bearing, and further including: identifying at least one segment including boundaries of a perimeter of a surface defect within the received signals, such that identifying the at least one change in the received signals includes identifying a change or rate of change of the shape and/or propagation of the at least one segment, and wherein the mode of failure includes a critical defect size, and wherein generating at least one model of a trend in the identified change includes modeling a trend in the growth of the surface defect in specific mode of operation of the bearing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Govrin’s system includes optical sensors and machine learning to predicte evolution of a defect of a bearing because it would increase accuracy and efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Nair and Govrin teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Govrin further teaches generating a recommendation based on the predicated evolution of the identified defect (Paragraph 162).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Govrin’s system includes optical sensors and machine learning to predicte evolution of a defect of a bearing because it would increase accuracy and efficiency.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Nair and Govrin teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Govrin further teaches wherein the picture of the bearing is a picture of the bearing mounted in a machine (Paragraphs 27 and 101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Govrin’s system includes optical sensors and machine learning to predicte evolution of a defect of a bearing because it would increase accuracy and efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Nair and Govrin teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Govrin further teaches wherein the defect comprises a spall, and wherein the extracted geometrical parameters comprise a size of the spall, a perimeter of the spall and a location of the spall on the picture (Paragraphs 154-155).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Govrin’s system includes optical sensors and machine learning to predicte evolution of a defect of a bearing because it would increase accuracy and efficiency.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Nair and Govrin teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Govrin further teaches wherein the method further includes training the deep learning algorithm to identify the defect of the bearing and to extract the geometrical parameters of the identified defect from pictures stored in a reference data base (Paragraphs 41, 77 and 98).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use Govrin’s system includes optical sensors and machine learning to predicte evolution of a defect of a bearing because it would increase accuracy and efficiency.
The combination of Nair and Govrin is silent about wherein the deep learning algorithm comprises a neuronal network.
However, neuronal network is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use neuronal network, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to be aware that known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 6-8, the claims are commensurate in scope with the above claims 1-2 and 5, and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Nair and Govrin teaches all the features of claim 6 as outlined above, Govrin further teaches a system for predicting the evolution of a defect of a bearing comprising a device for predicting according to claim 6 and a mobile device (Fig.1, 112 and 74) configured to take the picture of the bearing while the bearing is mounted in a machine (Paragraphs 27 and 101) and configured to communicate with the device for predicting (Paragraphs 41, 70 and 77).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use neuronal network, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to be aware that known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
The combination of Nair and Govrin is silent about communicate wirelessly.
However, wireless communication is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use wireless communication, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to be aware that known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
/XIN Y ZHONG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855