DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-33 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 1-33, Applicant’s preliminary amendments to the claims filed 02/28/2024 are hard to read in the marked-up copy of claims. Examiner suggest for future filings that a clean copy of the claims with the marked-up copy be submitted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 24 recites the broad recitation “a coating on the inner surface of the support body”, and the claim also recites “the coating preferably comprising one or more of a polymer, silicon, diamond-like carbon or hydrocarbon, TiAlN, TiCN, and/or TiSi.” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. It is unclear if the limitations following the term “preferably” are actually being claimed or not. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15, 19, and 21-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wohlgemuth et al US20200340874 (hereinafter “Wohlgemuth”).
Regarding claim 1, Wohlgemuth discloses a pressure measuring cell (pressure sensor-1 includes pressure sensor element-10) comprising a membrane (membrane-11) comprising a first surface and a second surface (See fig 2), and a support body (element-20), the support body comprising a cavity (space-40) which is transversely delimited by an inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body and axially delimited at a first side by the first surface of the membrane (See Fig 2) and open at a second side opposite to the first side to form a trough-shaped chamber for accommodating a measurement medium (Flow channel-30 provides the media to be measured), wherein the inner surface of the support body is shaped such that a transverse diameter of the trough-shaped chamber at the second side of the cavity is larger than a transverse diameter at the first side of the cavity (See Fig 2 which shows a wider opening on the bottom of space-40 than the upper section of the space). (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 2, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface of the support body (element-20) is shaped such that the transverse diameter of the trough-shaped chamber monotonously decreases from the second side of the cavity towards the first side of the cavity (See Fig 2 which shows a wider opening on the bottom of space-40 than the upper section of the space). (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 3, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface of the support body (element-20) adjoins the first surface of the membrane with a slope. (See Fig 2 which shows the support element-20 connected to the membrane-11 at a sloped angle ). (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 4, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface of the support body (support element-20) comprises one or more linearly slanted sections. (See Fig 2 which shows the support element-20 with slanted portions-31 and 41). (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 5, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface of the support body (support element-20) comprises at least two linearly slanted sections (See Fig 2 which shows the support element-20 with slanted portions-31 and 41), wherein a linearly slanted section at the second side of the cavity exhibits a smaller slope with respect to the membrane than a linearly slanted section at the first side of the cavity. (See Fig 2 which shows the slanting being different compared to the upper and bottom sections.) (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 6, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface of the support body (support element-20) comprises at least two linearly slanted sections (portions-31 and 41), wherein a linearly slanted section at the second side of the cavity (space-40) exhibits a larger slope with respect to the membrane than a linearly slanted section at the first side of the cavity. (See Fig 2 which shows the slanting being different compared to the upper and bottom sections.) (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 7, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface of the support body (element-20) comprises one or more conical profile sections. (See Fig 2 which shows a conical profile section on the upper portion of support element-20) (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 8, Wohlgemuth discloses a conical profile section corresponds to a cone with an apex angle between 15° and 50°.(Paragraphs 0026, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 9, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) comprises a conical profile section adjacent to the membrane (membrane-11) and a cylindrical profile section adjoining the conical profile section. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 10, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) further comprises a further conical profile section arranged between the cylindrical profile section and the second side of the cavity (See Fig 2 which shows a conical shape at the top and bottom of the support elemnt-20). (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 11, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) comprises at least two conical profile sections (See Fig 2 which shows a conical shape at the top and bottom of the support elemnt-20), wherein a cone corresponding to a conical profile section at a second end of the cavity exhibits a smaller apex angle than a cone corresponding to a conical profile section at a first end of the cavity. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 12, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) comprises at least two conical profile sections (See Fig 2 which shows a conical shape at the top and bottom of the support elemnt-20), wherein a cone corresponding to a conical profile section at a second end of the cavity exhibits a larger apex angle than a cone corresponding to a conical profile section at a first end of the cavity. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 13, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) comprises a conical profile extending from the second side of the cavity to the first side of the cavity (See Fig 2 which shows a conical shape extending from the top to the bottom of the support elemnt-20). (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 14, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) comprises one or more concave profile sections. (See Fig 2 which shows conical shapes at the top and bottom of the support elemnt-20). (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 15, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) comprises one or more convex profile sections. (See Fig 2 which shows multiple convex profile sections at the top and bottom of the support elemnt-20). (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 19, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) comprises at least two concave or convex profile sections, wherein adjacent concave or convex profile sections adjoin to one another forming a step-like profile (See Fig 2 which shows multiple convex profile sections at the top and bottom of the support elemnt-20).. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 21, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) comprises a concave or convex profile section adjacent to a conical profile section. (See Fig 2 which shows multiple convex profile sections at the top and bottom of the support elemnt-20).. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 22, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) adjoins the first surface of the membrane perpendicularly. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 23, Wohlgemuth discloses the support body (support element-20) and the membrane (membrane-11) are made of metal. (Paragraph 0031)
Regarding claim 24, Wohlgemuth discloses the pressure measuring cell comprises a coating on the inner surface of the support body, the coating preferably comprising one or more of a polymer, silicon, diamond-like carbon or hydrocarbon, TiAlN, TiCN, and/or TiSi. (Paragraph 0031)
Regarding claim 25, Wohlgemuth discloses the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body (support element-20) exhibits a roughness Ra<3.0 μm. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 26, Wohlgemuth discloses the pressure measuring cell (pressure sensor-1 includes pressure sensor element-10) comprises a liner insert for the trough-shaped chamber, wherein the liner insert is arranged to cover at least part of the inner surface (inner wall-21) of the support body transversely delimiting the cavity. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 27, Wohlgemuth discloses the liner insert is made of a urea-resistant elastomer. (Paragraph 0032)
Regarding claim 28, Wohlgemuth discloses the trough-shaped chamber is an empty space configured to solely accommodate the measurement medium. (See Fig 2, which discloses the space-40 is empty for measuring media supplied by channel-30) (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 29, Wohlgemuth discloses the pressure measuring cell is a relative pressure measuring cell. (Paragraphs 0033-0034)
Regarding claim 30, Wohlgemuth discloses the membrane (membrane-11) and the support body (support element-20) are formed as an integral part such that the trough-shaped chamber configured to accommodate the measurement medium is formed by the integral part. (Paragraph 0031)
Regarding claim 31, Wohlgemuth discloses a pressure transducer (pressure sensor-1 includes pressure sensor element-10) configured to measure pressure of a measurement medium with a density anomaly, comprising a pressure measuring cell according to claim 1. (Paragraph 0033-0034)
Regarding claim 32, Wohlgemuth discloses the trough-shaped chamber is an empty space for accommodating solely the measurement medium. (See Fig 2, which discloses the space-40 is empty for measuring media supplied by channel-30) (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Regarding claim 33, Wohlgemuth discloses a dosing unit for dosing an exhaust gas reduction medium, comprising a pressure transducer according to claim 31. (Paragraphs 0016-0034, Fig 1-2,. Claims 18 and 20)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlgemuth et al US20200340874 (hereinafter “Wohlgemuth”) in view of Continental Automotive GmbH DE102008026611 (“Continental”).
Regarding claim 16, Wohlgemuth discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 1.
However, Wohlgemuth fails to disclose the inner surface of the support body comprises a parabolic profile extending from the second side of the cavity to the first side of the cavity. Continental discloses the inner surface (wall-206) of the support body (body-202) comprises a parabolic profile extending from the second side of the cavity to the first side of the cavity (recess-203). (See Fig 2, Paragraph 0023-0025)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Continental into Wohlgemuth for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow optimizing efficiency by reducing flow resistance, balancing pressure and managing velocity profiles.
Regarding claim 17, Wohlgemuth discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 16.
However, Wohlgemuth fails to disclose the parabolic profile exhibits a larger curvature at the second side of the cavity than at the first side of the cavity. Continental discloses the parabolic profile (see fig 2) exhibits a larger curvature at the second side of the cavity than at the first side of the cavity (recess-203). (See Fig 2, Paragraph 0023-0025)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Continental into Wohlgemuth for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow optimizing efficiency by reducing flow resistance, balancing pressure and managing velocity profiles.
Regarding claim 18, Wohlgemuth discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 16.
However, Wohlgemuth fails to disclose the parabolic profile exhibits a smaller curvature at the second side of the cavity than at the first side of the cavity. Continental discloses the parabolic profile exhibits a smaller curvature at the second side of the cavity than at the first side of the cavity (recess-203). (See Fig 2, Paragraph 0023-0025)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of Continental into Wohlgemuth for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow optimizing efficiency by reducing flow resistance, balancing pressure and managing velocity profiles.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlgemuth et al US20200340874 (hereinafter “Wohlgemuth”) in view of OOYA US20120240683.
Regarding claim 20, Wohlgemuth discloses the pressure measuring cell according to claim 14.
However, Wohlgemuth fails to disclose the inner surface of the support body comprises at least a concave profile section and at least a convex profile section adjoining to one another forming a step-like profile. OOYA discloses the inner surface (inner edge-34) of the support body () comprises at least a concave profile section and at least a convex profile section adjoining to one another forming a step-like profile (Paragraph 0043-0044, Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the design of OOYA into Wohlgemuth for the purpose of increasing detection accuracy. The modification would allow for increased flow control and cavitation reduction.
Conclusion
The prior art as cited on the PTO-892 is made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/NIGEL H PLUMB/ /Eric S. McCall/Examiner, Art Unit 2855 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855