DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 9/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Groups II-III (claims 9-22) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al (CN 113308160 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Li teaches an efficient heat dissipation coating composition comprising nanoplatelets of hexagonal boron nitride with a size of 100 nm to 1 μm, an acrylic resin, and a solvent [P2L20, P2L24, P3L36 and P4L54-59 Example 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20170239854 A1) in view of Li et al (CN 113308160 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claims 1-3 and 5, Zhang teaches a coating composition for thermally conductive material on the electronic circuitry comprising a dielectric polymer, hexagonal boron nitride (h-BN) powder, and a solvent [abstract, 0003]. The thickness of h-BN powders ranges from 1 to 500 nm, and the size is from 0.1 to 100 μm [0022].
The dielectric polymer is preferably acrylic resins [0020], which reads on the claimed acrylic binding resin in claim 5.
Zhang does not teach that the hexagonal boron nitride powder is nanoplatelets.
In the same field of endeavor, Li teaches an efficient heat dissipation coating composition comprising nanoplatelets of hexagonal boron nitride with a size of 100 nm to 1 μm, an acrylic resin, and a solvent [P2L20, P2L24, P3L36 and P4L54-59 Example 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select nanoplatelets of hexagonal boron nitride as the hexagonal boron nitride powder in Zhang’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Zhang’s thickness of h-BN powders of from 1 to 500 nm overlaps the claimed thickness between about 20 nm and about 1000 nm in claim 2 and the claimed thickness between about 40 nm and about 50 nm in claim 3.
Zhang’s size of h-BN powders of from 0.1 to 100 μm overlaps the claimed diameter between about 120 nm and about 3000 nm in claim 2 and the claimed diameter between about 130 nm and about 550 nm in claim 3.
Li’s size of 100 nm to 1 μm overlaps the claimed diameter between about 120 nm and about 3000 nm in claim 2 and the claimed diameter between about 130 nm and about 550 nm in claim 3.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim(s) 4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Li as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Yamazaki et al (US 20170335160 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 6-8, Zhang teaches that the composition comprises 10 to 80 wt % dielectric polymers and 20 to 90 wt % h-BN powder in a solvent [0019-0021].
Zhang is silent about the amount of solvent. However, Zhang teaches that the thermally conductive materials are suitable for various thermal management applications [0002]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would be able to select any suitable amount of solvent for the specific application.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamazaki teaches a composition for a three-dimensional integrated circuit capable of forming a filling interlayer excellent in thermal conductivity [abstract] comprising acrylic resin (A), h-BN particles as the filler (B), and a dimethylformamide solvent (E) [0027, 0063, 0064, 0228, 0342, 0375]. The (B) is used in 40-400 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the resin (A) [0063]; and the (E) is used in 0-10,000 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the resin (A) [0385]. Thus, the composition contains 4-29 wt% of (B), 1-71 wt% of (A), and 0-95 wt% of (E), as calculated by the examiner.
Depending on the densities of the (A), (B) and (E), the above ranges in weight percent are expected to overlap the claimed 3.0-18.0% by volume of h-BN in claim 4, 2.0-7.7% by volume of acrylic resin in claim 6, and 80-90% by volume of solvent in claim 7. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The dimethylformamide reads on the claimed solvent as specified in claim 8.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762