DETAILED ACTION
This is responsive to Application 18/687,395 filed 02/28/2024 in which claims 1-23 are presented for examination.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 11, 22 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 12-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centonza et al (US 2022/0022264 A1) in view of Baldemair et al (US 2014/0198772 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Centonza teaches a base station (Centonza: Fig. 4; base station transmitting SSB) comprising:
a transmitter configured to transmit, on a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), a synchronization signal to a user equipment (UE) device at a pre-determined first time interval before a time-slot in which Random Access Channel (RACH) uplink transmissions are transmitted (Centonza: Fig. 5; [0059], transmitting SSB/synchronization signal in PDSCH before PRACH/RACH).
Centonza does not explicitly disclose the synchronization signal comprising a plurality of copies of a sequence.
Baldemair teaches the synchronization signal comprising a plurality of copies of a sequence (Baldemair: Fig. 7; [0055], the synchronization signal sequence s(t)).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill of art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Centonza wherein the synchronization signal comprising a plurality of copies of a sequence as disclosed by Baldemair to provide a system for synchronization signal design for wireless devices in a long range extension mode (Baldemair: Abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Centonza teaches a user equipment (UE) device (Centonza: Figs. 4-5; [0059], UE) comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, on a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), a synchronization signal from a base station at a pre-determined first time interval before a time-slot in which Random Access Channel (RACH) uplink transmissions are transmitted (Centonza: Fig. 5; [0059], transmitting SSB/synchronization signal in PDSCH before PRACH/RACH).
Centonza does not explicitly disclose the synchronization signal comprising a plurality of copies of a sequence.
Baldemair teaches the synchronization signal comprising a plurality of copies of a sequence (Baldemair: Fig. 7; [0055], the synchronization signal sequence s(t)).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill of art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Centonza wherein the synchronization signal comprising a plurality of copies of a sequence as disclosed by Baldemair to provide a system for synchronization signal design for wireless devices in a long range extension mode (Baldemair: Abstract).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Centonza in view of Baldemair teaches wherein the base station operates in accordance with a Time Division Duplex (TDD) deployment in which downlink resources and uplink resources are located on a same carrier (Centonza: [0007]; [0272]; Baldemair: [0078]).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Centonza in view of Baldemair teaches wherein the base station operates in accordance with a Frequency Division Duplex (FDD) deployment in which downlink resources are located on a downlink carrier and uplink resources are located on an uplink carrier (Centonza: [0007]; [0272]; Baldemair: [0078]).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Centonza in view of Baldemair teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit M×N copies of the sequence, where M represents a first number of copies of the sequence spread across at least a portion of downlink frequency resources utilized to transmit the synchronization signal and N represents a second number of copies of the sequence spread across at least a portion of downlink time resources utilized to transmit the synchronization signal (Baldemair: Fig. 12; [0069]-[0070], repetition of synchronization signal s(t) spread over time and over frequency).
Regarding claim 5, Centonza in view of Baldemair teaches a controller configured to determine M and N based on at least one of the following: carrier bandwidth availability (Baldemair: Fig, 12; [0069]-[0070] minimum bandwidth of 1.4 MHz), a Coverage Enhancement (CE) level, a received downlink signal quality or strength reported by the UE device, and a Voltage-Controlled Crystal Oscillator (VCXO) tolerance of the UE device.
Regarding claim 12, Centonza in view of Baldemair teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the plurality of copies of the sequence in non-consecutive resources of the PDSCH (Baldemair: Fig. 12, [0068] the signal 26 may not be consecutive).
Regarding claim 13, Centonza in view of Baldemair teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit data for the UE device in time-frequency resources of the PDSCH that are interspersed between the non-consecutive resources of the PDSCH that are occupied by the plurality of copies of the sequence (Baldemair: Fig. 12, [0068] the signal 26 may not be consecutive).
Claims 6, 7, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centonza et al (US 2022/0022264 A1) in view of Baldemair et al (US 2014/0198772 A1) in further view of Hsieh et al (US 2020/014095 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Centonza in view of Baldemair does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit, to the UE device prior to the UE device entering a sleep state, at least one message containing one or more synchronization signal parameters for the synchronization signal.
Hsieh teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit, to the UE device prior to the UE device entering a sleep state, at least one message containing one or more synchronization signal parameters for the synchronization signal (Hsieh: Fig. 3; [0041]-[0045] SSB transmit before sleep period).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill of art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Centonza in view of Baldemair wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit, to the UE device prior to the UE device entering a sleep state, at least one message containing one or more synchronization signal parameters for the synchronization signal as disclosed by Hsieh to provide a system for power saving (Hsieh: Abstract).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Centonza in view of Baldemair and Hsieh teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the one or more synchronization signal parameters in at least one dedicated Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (Hsieh: Fig. 2; [0034]).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Centonza in view of Baldemair and Hsieh teaches a controller configured to determine a projected wake-up time for the UE device, wherein the transmitter is further configured to begin transmitting the synchronization signal during a second time interval that begins at the projected wake-up time (Hsieh: Figs. 5-6; [0050]-[0052]).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Centonza et al (US 2022/0022264 A1) in view of Baldemair et al (US 2014/0198772 A1) in further view of Hsieh et al (US 2020/014095 A1) in further view of Yang et al (US 2022/0078709 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Centonza in view of Baldemair and Hsieh does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the one or more synchronization signal parameters via Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) signaling.
Yang teaches wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the one or more synchronization signal parameters via Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) signaling (Yang: [0204]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill of art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Centonza in view of Baldemair and Hsieh wherein the transmitter is further configured to transmit the one or more synchronization signal parameters via Media Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) signaling as disclosed by Yang to provide a system for power saving (Yang: Abstract).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478