DETAILED ACTION
Election
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 06/19/2026 is acknowledged. As such, claims 49 and 53 have been examined.
Applicant’s election of Group II Subgroup xii in the reply filed on 06/19/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 49 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 49: Lines 2-3 state “and rotating blade device for processing a web material” should say “and a rotating blade device for processing the web material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
• A “device” as recited in claim 49 (first, “device” is a generic placeholder for “means”; second, the generic placeholder is modified by the functional language “adapted to combine a signal of the mutual contact senor and a signal of the angular position sensor and to provide… an indication…”; third, the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function – e.g., there is no language defining the structure of the “device” in claim 49). Referring to the specification a “central control unit” in P. 0119 appears to be the structure of the device as it performs the stated function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 49 and 53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 49, the claim states “a machine for converting a web material, comprising a feed path of a web material, and rotating blade device for processing a web material; wherein the rotating blade device comprises: a supporting structure;” in lines 1-4 of the claim. It is unclear what the bounds of the instant invention is as it is unclear from the preamble to which device is being claimed. Further, it is unclear if the “rotating blade device” is descripting the rotation of a blade device or if it is instead reciting “a rotating blade device”.
The claim also states “a device adapted to combine a signal of the mutual contact sensor and a signal of the angular position sensor and provide, for said each rotating blade, an indication of the presence or absence of the mutual contact between the rotating blade and the counter-blade in a plurality of points distributed along a longitudinal extension of a respective one of the rotating blade and of the counter- blade” in lines 28-35 of the claim. It is unclear as to what the “device” is the device is defined by the function it performs without providing sufficient structure for the device to perform the stated function.
Regarding claim 53, this claim is rejected as indefinite due to its dependency on claim 49.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montagnani (WO 2019/239283 A1) in view of Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG (DE 4336955 A1).
Regarding claim 49, Montagnani teaches a machine for converting a web material (Montagnani; Figs. 1-14) of a web material (Montagnani; Fig. 1; N), and a rotating blade device (Montagnani; Figs. 1, 6, 11, and 13; 3, 201, and 202) for processing a web material, comprises:
a supporting structure (Montagnani; Figs. 1, 6, 11, and 13; 17, and 217);
a rotating blade-holder (Montagnani; Figs. 1, 6, 11, and 13; 15, 15B, 203, and 205), which rotates around a rotation axis and on which a set of rotating blades (Montagnani; Figs. 1, 6, 11, and 13; 19, 19B, 203A, and 205A) is arranged;
a counter-blade (Montagnani; Figs. 1, 6, 11, and 13; 21, 21B, 21C, 204, and 206) carried on said supporting structure and adapted to coact with said set of rotating blades (Montagnani; P. 00016); wherein each rotating blade of said set of rotating blades and the counter-blade are configured so that, during rotation of the rotating blade-holder said each rotating blade and the counter-blade have a point of mutual contact at a first end of the rotating blade and out of mutual contact at a second end of the rotating blade, the point of mutual contact between said each rotating blade and the counter-blade shifting gradually from the first end to the second end of the rotating blade along a longitudinal extension of the rotating blade (Montagnani; P. 0021); wherein the feed path of the web material (Montagnani; Fig. 1; N) passes between the rotating blade-holder and the counter-blade (Montagnani; Fig. 6; N, 15 and 21);
a mutual contact sensor (Montagnani; Figs. 1-2, 6, 11, and 13; 31, 104, 105, 107, 231, and 232) adapted to detect presence or absence of the mutual contact between said each rotating blade and the counter-blade (Montagnani; P. 0027);
Montagnani does not teach an angular position sensor, adapted to detect an angular position of the rotating blade-holder and a device adapted to combine a signal of the mutual contact sensor and a signal of the angular position sensor and provide, for said each rotating blade, an indication of the presence or absence of the mutual contact between the rotating blade and the counter-blade in a plurality of points distributed along a longitudinal extension of a respective one of the rotating blade and the counter- blade.
Heidelberger teaches an angular position sensor (Heidelberger; Figs. 1-4; 4), adapted to detect an angular position of the rotating blade-holder (Heidelberger; P. 0021), which is useful to monitor where the blades are co-acting (Heidelberger; P. 0021) and a device (Heidelberger; Fig. 4; 10) adapted to combine a signal of the mutual contact sensor and a signal of the angular position sensor and provide, for said each rotating blade, an indication of the presence or absence of the mutual contact between the rotating blade and the counter-blade in a plurality of points distributed along a longitudinal extension of a respective one of the rotating blade and the counter- blade (Heidelberger; P. 0023). This helps to extend the life of the blades while also reducing downtime due to readjustments (Heidelberger; P. 0021).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the rotating blade device taught by Montagnani to include an angular position sensor as such sensors help monitor where the blades are co-acting and to include a device to combine signals from the sensors to monitor the perforating or cutting of a web as such monitoring helps to extend the life of the blades while also reducing downtime due to readjustments.
Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Montagnani (WO 2019/239283 A1) in view of Heidelberger Druckmaschinen AG (DE 4336955 A1) as applied to claim 49 above, and further in view of Vitiello et al. (US 2020/0369424 A1).
Regarding claim 53, Montagnani in view of Heidelberger teaches the machine of claim 49, wherein said machine (Montagnani; Figs. 1-14) operates at a constant speed (Montagnani; P. 0052); wherein the degree of interference between the set of rotating blades and the counter-blade of the rotating blade device is varied dependent on different variables (Montagnani; P. 0057-0058, 0074-0076, 85, 91); wherein the rotating blade device (Montagnani; Figs. 1, 6, 11, and 13; 3, 201, and 202) further comprises a control unit (33) which is adapted to automatically adjust mutual interaction between the set of rotating blades and the counter-blade (P. 0056-0057) and/or to generate a notification as a function of the signal provided by the mutual contact sensor (Montagnani; Figs. 1-2, 6, 11, and 13; 31, 104, 105, 107, 231, and 232; P. 0070).
Montagnani in view of Heidelberger does not teach wherein said machine operates at a variable speed; wherein the degree of interference between the set of rotating blades and the counter-blade of the rotating blade device varies as the speed varies.
Vitiello teaches a device (Vitiello; Figs. 1-4) with a set of rotating blades (Vitiello; Figs. 1 and 3-4; 9) and a counter-blade (Vitiello; Figs. 1-2; 13) that operates at a variable speed (Vitiello; P. 0010 and 0047). This is beneficial as it allows the device to continuously run without the need to stop and start to ensure precise cuts and to maximize line speed (Vitiello; P. 0004-0006). As Montagnani teaches that it is known to change the degree of interference between the set of rotating blades and the counter-blade of the rotating blade device is varied dependent on different variables it would have been obvious to it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the device taught by Montagnani such that the device operated at a variable speed like the device taught by Vitiello as it allows the device to continuously run without the need to stop and start to ensure precise cuts and to maximize line speed and to modify the degree of interference between the blades and counter-blade according to a variable as taught by Montagnani to vary based on variable speed as Vitiello teaches speed as a variable.
Conclusion
/ROBERT D CORNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724