DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/28/24 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
In the instant application, claim(s) 1- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Step 1:
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 is/are drawn to at least one of the four statutory categories of invention (i.e. process, machine, manufacture, or composition).
Step 2A:
However, claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
For instance, regarding independent claim(s) 1, 9, 10,
Prong 1 analysis:
The limitations of “acquire play data including a first play state in a game and an action taken by a player in the first play state, and a label indicating whether or not to be a learning target; generate a game player model for outputting an action of the learning target in response to input of a second play state based on the play data and the label; and output the game player model”, are considered to fall within the mental processes grouping. The recited limitations, as drafted, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting one or more processors and a memory, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
Furthermore, dependent claims 2-3, 6-8 merely include limitations that either further define the abstract idea (and thus don’t make the abstract idea any less abstract) or amount to no more than generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because they are merely incidental or token additions to the claims that do not alter or affect how the process steps are performed.
Prong 2 analysis:
The above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the additional elements “at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions”, “an information processing apparatus”, “a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium on which a program is recorded”, are generically recited computer elements that do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field. Nor do these additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception. Furthermore, the above-identified generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG.
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application under the 2019 PEG because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer. The claimed elements are recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and data transmission, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Each of the additional limitations are no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. As such, the claim is directed to the abstract idea.
Step 2B:
As discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements in the claim amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B.
Furthermore, in view of Berkheimer, the recited additional elements are considered as conventional activity. For instance, Somers (2019/0354759) and Gurumurthy (2020/0269136) teaches training an AI model based on a player’s gameplay data (Somers, Fig. 1, ¶¶0026, 0031, 0035, 0042-0045; Gurumurthy, Fig. 3-4, ¶¶0033-0035, 0043-0044).
In addition, with regards to the present claims, the courts have recognized the computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
For instance, regarding claims 1-3, 6-10, each claim describes physical or software elements that provide a generic environment in which to carry out the abstract idea, which is similar to the conventional activity or as insignificant extra-solution activity of selecting information, based on types of information, for collection, analysis and display in EPG, gathering, receiving and transmitting data in Symantec, TLI, OIP Techs., buySAFE,.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 is/are therefore not drawn to eligible subject matter as they are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Somers et al. (2019/0354759).
Re Claim 1,
Somers discloses a gameplay operation learning apparatus comprising: at least one memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions (Fig 1-2B, 8, ¶¶0031-0039, 0157-0158) to:
acquire play data including a first play state in a game and an action taken by a player in the first play state, and a label indicating whether or not to be a learning target (Fig 1-3, 6, ¶¶0031, 0044-0045, 0048, 0056, 0080, 0083-0085; a state capture application can be used to generate video gameplay logs, further, model inputs can be generated for each state of the gameplay where a person provides control input, wherein the model inputs can optionally be grouped or divided into different bins based on the roles or actions occurring during video gameplay, i.e., a label indicating a learning target);
generate a game player model for outputting an action of the learning target in response to input of a second play state based on the play data and the label (Fig 1-3, 6, ¶¶0044-0045, 0048, 0056, 0064, 0080, 0083-0085, 0109, 0119; the system generates different models based on different bin of training data, for example, first AI model is generated based on first bin of training data); and
output the game player model (¶¶0072, 0120-0121; the AI model is output into the video game).
Re Claim 2,
Somers discloses the label is either a first label or a second label, the first label being assigned to play data having an attribute to be a learning target, the second label being different from the first label and assigned to play data having an attribute different from the learning target; and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform machine learning using the play data to which the first label is assigned and the play data to which the second label is assigned (Fig 1-3, 6, ¶¶0044-0045, 0048, 0056, 0064, 0080, 0083-0085, 0109, 0119).
Re Claim 3,
Somers discloses the label is either a first label or a second label, the first label being assigned to play data having an attribute to be a learning target, the second label being different from the first label and assigned to play data having an attribute contrary to the attribute to be the learning target; and the at least one processor is configured to execute the instructions to perform machine learning using the play data to which the first label is assigned and the play data to which the second label is assigned (Fig 1-3, 6, ¶¶0044-0045, 0048, 0056, 0064, 0080, 0083-0085, 0109, 0119).
Re Claim 6,
Somers discloses the first label is assigned to play data having an attribute indicating that a player is a specific person (¶0083-0086).
Re Claim 8,
Somers discloses the play data includes the first play state, the action taken by the player in the first play state, and a third play state to which it shifts as a result of the action (Fig 1-3, 6-7, ¶¶0044-0045, 0048, 0056, 0064, 0080, 0083-0086, 0109, 0119, 0121, 0124).
Re Claims 9, 10,
Claims are substantially similar to claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somers et al. (2019/0354759) in view of Jamieson (2023/0064906).
Re Claim 7,
Somers discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on acquiring audio information indicating player’s voice. However, Jamieson teaches acquiring audio information indicating player’s voice (¶0025). Jamieson further teaches such a configuration can be used to train a custom machine learning model (¶0025). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Jamieson into the game system of Somers in order to improve the training of a custom machine learning model.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715