DETAILED ACTION
2. This communication is a first office action, non-final rejection on the merits. Claims 17-36 field as preliminary amendment, are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 17-23, 25, 29-32 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (1) (a) as being anticipated by Handing (DE-10-2013-015420).
As Per Claim 17, Handing teaches, a bumper crossmember (2 of bumper system 1) for a vehicle ( Figs. 1-2), comprising: a crossmember with a longitudinal extent thereof configured to extend in a vehicle transverse direction and convexly curved in a direction facing away from the vehicle, ( Figs. 1-2) the crossmember comprising a hat-shaped cross-sectional profile with an upper limb (4, Fig.3-a,b, 7-c) , a lower limb ( 5, Fig.3-b, 7-c), and a connecting piece ( 2,3) connecting the two limbs (4, 5) to form a crossmember cavity, wherein a flange ( 6,7) is formed on each limb at an end thereof opposite the connecting piece (Fig.3a,b), and each flange (6, 7 Fig. 7c) is angled towards an outside of the crossmember relative to a plane of the respective limb on which the flange is formed,(Fig 3a,.7c) ([0061]), wherein the flanges have, at least in some regions, a flange connecting piece ( 9, Fig.7c) formed thereon extending over a portion of the respective limb, and wherein each end of the crossmember has a respective crash box attachment portion (Crashbox -21, Fig.1,2,4,6) [0061]), wherein, between the two crash box attachment portions, ( Figs. 1-2) [0061]) the crossmember has at least one deformation zone provided by a concave structure formed in the connecting piece connecting the limbs in a direction of the crossmember cavity, (deformation zone : see below in Fig.1a)
and wherein, in a region of the concave structure along the longitudinal extent of the crossmember, the flange connecting piece has a greater flange height than adjacent portions of the flange connecting piece due to a convex protrusion of the flange connecting piece. ( Tµ Figs. 3b, 7c). also see Abstract., [0066], Figs. 2, 4,5,6).
As per Claim 18, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 17. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the concave structure transitions into adjacent portions of the connecting piece along the longitudinal extent of the crossmember with a curved transition section. (See :Figs.1, 7c, 4-6).
As per Claim 19, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 18. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the transition section has a radius of curvature which corresponds to a radius of curvature of the concave structure. (See :Figs.1, 7c, 4-6).
As per Claim 20, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 17. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the convex protrusion transitions into adjacent portions of the flange connecting piece along the longitudinal extent of the crossmember with a curved transition section. (protrusion , See Fig.1b below )
As per Claim 21, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 20. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the transition section has a radius of curvature that is smaller than a radius of curvature of the convex protrusion. (See Fig.1b above in claim 20).
As per Claim 22, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 17. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the crossmember has a plurality of deformation zones arranged between the two crash box attachment portions. (See Fig. 1a below, plurality of deformation zone).
As per Claim 23, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 22. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the crossmember comprises two deformation zones with an apex region of the concave structure thereof arranged closer, in relation to a longitudinal extent of the crossmember, to a center of the crossmember than to either of the crash box attachment portions. ( See Figs. 1, 4, 6)
As per Claim 25, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 17. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the flange connecting pieces of the two limbs terminate in the crash box attachment portions. ( See Fig.1, 3a,3b, 7c).
As per Claim 29, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 17. However, Handing further teaches, wherein a front side of the crossmember cavity is closed in at least one section by a striking plate. ( strike plate 11, [0066], Fig. 3b).
As per Claim 30, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 17. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the crossmember is formed from a high-strength steel. (High strength steel , [0005]).
As per Claim 31, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 17. However, Handing further teaches, wherein two crash boxes (21, Fig.1, 2, 4, 6) are connected to the crossmember to the crash box attachment portions of the crossmember such that upper and lower walls of the crash boxes engage on an outside over the two limbs of the crossmember, and side walls of the crash boxes are supported on a rear side of the connecting piece of the crossmember. ( See Fig.1,2,4,5,6).
As per Claim 32, Handing teaches the limitation of Claim 17. However, Handing further teaches, wherein the crossmember has a greater depth adjacent the crash box attachment portions towards a center of the crossmember than in the crash box attachment portions, and wherein the crash box attachment portions transition into those having a greater depth with interposition of a deformation zone provided by a concave portion of the connecting piece. (See Fig.1a, 2, 4-6).
As Per Claim 33, Handing teaches, a bumper crossmember (2 of bumper system 1) for a vehicle ( Figs. 1-2) comprising: a crossmember with a longitudinal extent thereof configured to extend in a vehicle transverse direction and convexly curved in a direction facing away from the vehicle, Figs. 1-2) the crossmember comprising a hat-shaped cross-sectional profile with an upper limb, (4, Fig.3-a,b, 7-c) ,
a lower limb( 5, Fig.3-b, 7-c),, and a connecting piece ( 2,3) connecting the two limbs (4,5) to form a crossmember cavity, wherein a flange (6,7) is formed on each limb (4,5) at an end thereof opposite the connecting piece(Fig.3a,b),, and each flange (, 6,7, Fig. 7c) is angled towards an outside of the crossmember relative to a plane of the respective limb on which the flange is formed (Fig. 3a, 7c), wherein the flanges (6,7) have, at least in some regions, a flange connecting piece formed thereon extending over a portion of the respective limb (4,5), and wherein each end of the crossmember has a respective crash box attachment portion, (Crashbox -21, Fig.1,2,4,6) [0061]),wherein the crossmember has a greater depth adjacent the crash box attachment portions towards a center of the crossmember than in the crash box attachment portions,
and wherein the crash box attachment portions transition into those having a greater depth with interposition of a deformation zone provided by a concave portion of the connecting piece. ( Tµ Figs. 3b, 7c). also see Abstract., [0066], Figs. 2, 4,5,6).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 24, 26, 27 ,28 ,34, 35 and 36 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MUHAMMAD SHAFI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3666C